Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunpentown Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

Sunpentown Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

Help your child breathe easily with the Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier. It adds moisture to the air in any room. This adorable humidifier is shaped in the form of a penguin so children will find it friendly. It also includes non-slip feet for safety. Use this one-gallon humidifier to get relief all-round the year from the heater and air conditioner drying effects. The Sunpentown humidifier features silent operation, adjustable mist intensity, and automatic shut off protection and is a great addition to your childs room.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(175 Reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
45
3 stars
13
2 stars
4
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation83%146 out of 175reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
45
3 stars
13
2 stars
4
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

Junk

12/02/2012
By ,
Celina, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT Purchase! I purchased three units as gifts. Only one unit worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

VERY GOOD!

09/17/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WELL MY SON USED TOGET VERY VERY BAD NOSEBLEEDS AND THE DOCTOR SAID TO GET A HUMIDAFIER BUT MY WIFE DIDN'T WANT TO PAY $300.00 FOR THE ONE AT A MEDICAL STORE SO WE WENT ONLINE FOUND THIS ONE { HE LOVES THE PENGUINS IN SEA WORLD SO HE LIKED THIS } AND IT IS VERY WORTHY PRODUCT ,
HE DOESN'Y GET NOSEBLEEDS ANYMORE AND WE ALL SLEEP BETTER ACTUALLY WITH SOME MOIST IN THE AIR!
THE PICTURE IS OF MY SON BEFORE HE GOT NOSEBLEEDS OHHH AND NOW HE 4 HE GOT THEM WHEN HE WAS 2 AND 3 THAT PICTURE WAS OF HIM WHEN HE WAS 3 MONTHS!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

Leaks

03/08/2009
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading the reviews, I was sure this would be a good purchase for the price. The first night I used it, was pleasantly surprised as it did give a good mist wihout making a lot of noise. Unfortunately, two days later I refilled it with water, very carefully placing the cap on tight, but not overtight, and did not move the humidifier like the manual instructed. I had not turned the unit on, as I only run it at night. Later that day, my husband came home to find the dresser which the humidifier was sitting on, and floor around it, soaked with water. The reservoir base had filled with water like other reviews had said, and left quite a mess. I refilled it and left it (not running) again in case I didn't have a good seal, but unfortunately, large amounts of water seaped out yet again. We are not able to use, and I am sad to have to return this tomorrow. I would think I got a faulty unit, but recall other reviews with this same complaint... I should have listened to them!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

Good value. Few minor flaws.

12/26/2008
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This goofy-looking humidifier has replaced the bigger one that lasted only 2 years, from the same maker.
I like this one and recommend it because it's relatively inexpensive, reasonably quiet, and one filling lasts for more than a night. It's size is just right, meaning its tank is not too heavy to fill and carry, and yet it has enough capacity for about 12 hours at max output.
Still, it has a couple of flaws one will have to work around. First, the mist is not fine enough to evaporate quickly, so if you put this unit on the floor, the floor around will get wet. Because of that you may want to place it somewhere higher up . Second, its air intake is under the bottom, which seats very low above the surface you place the unit on, so if you put it on a carpet or some other soft surface (as I did to dampen the noise), then air intake gets blocked and unit's output suffers a lot. I ended up placing this humidifier on the rubbery PC mouse pad, which is soft enough to dampen the noise, yet not too cushy to block the air. After working around these small problems, I am happy with the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

Love it!

03/14/2008
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm truly pleased with this humidifier. It works quickly, has no filters to clean or replace, is cool mist (safe for kids' bedrooms), doesn't need constant refilling, and TRULY is whisper quiet. A lot of them say they're quiet, but that's not true at all. I'm tired of trying many humidifiers that don't deliver what they promise. I've tried many kinds and have never been happy. NOW I'm happy! The dial on the front allows you to adjust the level of mist, and it can put out some monster mist! Even on the highest setting, one tank will last over two nights! Really, this is a very nice product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

Couldn't be happier!

11/17/2013
By ,
Ellsworth, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was searching for a humidifier for my bedroom which I currently share with my six-month-old son. We live in Illinois and now that it's getting colder, the room was getting uncomfortably dry, and we were both waking up feeling dried out.
I searched a lot of places for the perfect humidifier; I needed it to be pretty cheap, and it also needed to include some basic safety features such as an automatic shut-off if it ran out of water. I was about to give up when I stumbled upon this one. It had gotten good reviews and included all of the things I was looking for in a humidifier (adjustable output, cool mist, something my son would enjoy when he moves into his own room someday and the humidifier goes with him), and the price was terrific.
This product is very easy to use. I haven't had any trouble with leaking at all, and it runs at top humidity all night long and into the morning for a while before I have to refill it. If you're not put off by the fact that it's a penguin (who is adorable anyway), I highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

Love my little penguins

02/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these little guys. One for the bedroom and one for the living room. They've made a tremendous difference in our house. We went from 19% humidity to 35%. Now my clothes aren't clinging to me and I'm not getting shocked every 5 seconds. They're super easy to use. Just fill the top half, place it on the bottom half, plug it in and turn the dial to your desired setting. I have them both set to medium and they last about a day and a half before needing refilled. And they shut off automatically when they're empty. So yep, I give this humidifier 2 thumbs up. It's cute, but also effective.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

Hard-Working Penguin!

02/25/2010
By ,
Nashville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off, if we were judging this little guy by cuteness, it would get five stars all the way. Simply adorable! I purchased it because it had such good reviews, so whether or not it was cute, I would have given it a chance. Now that I have, i can say that it is a very powerful humidifier. I've had three different humidifiers in the past two years, and one broke down, and the other two could not put out enough humidity for a medium sized bedroom. This guy puts out a ton of steam -- more than I've ever seen out of any humidifier. The only reason I am not giving it five stars is that twice now it has had difficulty turning on, but after a good shake,it seems to correct itself. Only time will tell if it will hold up well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

DOES NOT WORK

02/24/2014
By ,
Overland Park, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product does not change the humidity in the room I have it in. I have a humidity meter to check the humidity level. Last night when I went to bed it was at 33%. I had this humidifier on for 10 hours and the humidity level was at 28%. It not only didn't raise the level at all, it went down. It just pours out of the top like dry ice and goes onto the carpet below, soaking it. I had to put a towel underneath before I realized it wasn't changing the humidity anyway. Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

helps my grandson sleep at night

03/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. My grandson sleeps a whole lot better and deeper since we have started using this. He put his hand over the steam and it did not burn him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

good but ive had better

02/24/2014
By ,
El paso texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the humidifier works well and does what it's supposed to do but I think it has too much mist. Whenever I walk into my daughter's room it looks like a foggy night club. We have a Vicks starry night humidifier in my room and it is very pleasant with no overbearing mist. So overall it does the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

Love this little guy.

01/28/2010
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have this guy in our bedroom to help during those dry months, and it's a noticeable difference. We especially like that he's filter-free, something we specifically looked for in a humidifier. We named him pickles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

Best humidifier for the price!

01/10/2009
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this in our Music room/ Den in an arid climate and because it has done a wonderful job of keeping my husbands’ guitars in perfect shape, and as a additional bonus has helped me from getting my usual winter attack of sinusitis I'm buying another for the bedroom. Color me tickled pink!
Pros: It's quiet. It does everything you need it for. Safe cool mist (for around kids) Completely adjustable. no leaking, not a problem in a year of use. Once the room was stabilized, (all the wood was very dried out, including shelves, futon frame, and picture frames) we were able to keep it so low we only add water once a week.
Better than the others: We bought two other manufacturers offerings that leaked and were both twice the price before gladly finding this one! I am so leery of selecting ANYTHING different I am ordering another penguin.
Cons: The only slight drawback, It can make the surface under it a little damp from condensation, suggest not placing on carpet or table runner. I just use it on a hard surface now still no noise!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

Didnt work !

12/26/2010
By ,
west union, wv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read all the reviews on this product in hopes it was a great humidifer as i need one for my dry skin. i received it quick from ordering online opened it up and read directions and filled it full of distilled water, fired it up and hours later the tank was still full and no bubbles or mist anywhere. i pulled the tank off to check for bubbles and operaion and the water just sat there. the blower was working but didnt make any mist or do its job. so i returned it back to my local walmart and bought a sunbeam 1 touch cool mist humidifer and this baby rocks. it will filter the water for you and has a auto thermostate to kick it on and off at a certain humidity rating. very well pleased with sunbeam but i would not reccoment the penguin to anyone. it looks neat but does not perform at all !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

DON'T BUY THIS!!!!!!!!!!!

11/16/2010
By ,
Bethlehem, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DON'T BUY THIS!!! Take my advice. Trust me, you will only regret buying this because you'll have to take it back. I ran this thing for ONLY 3 DAYS!! The first night was great. Then, it happened. During the following night, it just stopped. I woke to find it had not used any water, the indicator light was off and it was silent. So, I read the user manual again to make sure I didn't make any mistakes. Nope.
I decided to run it again the next night, just to be sure it wasn't just a glitch. Again, I woke up to realize again, it didn't use any water and the indicator light was off. The funny thing about it was the second morning, I could move the knob and it would turn on. Ok, one more night. Duh! What was I thinking? The third morning...nothing.
I did read all the reviews before I purchased it and they were mainly positive. I'm certainly part of the group who are very disappointed by this product. Don't kid yourself into thinking you might be the one to get a great product.
Don't buy it. If you have just read this review...move on! Trust me, it's not worth the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

cute, but not worth it!

02/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is very cute and quite but after a few days it just stopped working. so I returned it and bought another thinking maybe I just got a dud. not after a few days the second one quit as well. I only used distilled water and shut the unit off to fill the tank. Nither unit lasted more then a week. Its a a dissapoint me seeing as its a VERY quite unit. :( very dissapointed in the product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

LOVE this product

02/08/2008
By ,
Central Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled with the humidifier I recently purchased. Our daughter had a couple of nosebleeds and family recommended that we use a humidifier. We looked at Walmart.com to see what was available. Quality for a reasonably low price. We read the reviews on the penguin humidifier from sunpentown.
It really doesn't even look like an appilance. It blends right in with my snowman collection. We use a woodburning heater and have a small house (about 1000 SQ FT) so we got two humidifiers. Since we got them, it has been much easier to breathe. The first time we used the one in the girls' room, I think they played with it and it came off of its base a little bit. If it is not seated in the base properly it doesn't work.
I was very impressed because we filled them up the first night we got them and I didn't have to refill them for about three days. I had them set on a medium setting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

Lasted 2 nights

12/07/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This humidifier worked for two nights and then broke. Now I have to deal with the hassle of returning it by mail. I definitely would NOT recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

We love "Mr Penguin"

01/20/2011
By ,
Salisbury, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our wood stove was giving the family dry ichy skin. This product solved the issue, and the youngest one loves to refill Mr Penguin, he is cute and a great conversation piece too. Price was great. Really puts out a good amount of humidity.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunpentown Penguin Ultrasonic Humidifier

humidifier for guitars

07/12/2008
By ,
Albuquerque
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this as a replacement for a more expensive Honeywell "Adult" looking humidifier which was the worst humidifier ever made.... It dumps water all over the place…..even the company service department representative said so!
At first I was concerned that the little penguin ALSO requires you fill it and turn it upside down to fill the machine. To our delight this works exactly as advertised, and keeps my husband’s music room pleasant for the acoustic guitars he has on display. As we live in New Mexico we have to acclimatize the room to keep the wood in excellent condition.
The size is perfect in the den, and happily does not over humidify the rest of the house. It is quiet and actually makes people laugh when they walk into the room and see a penguin with a little wisp of steam coming out of his mouth. Excellent product, fast delivery thanks Wal-Mart on line!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 155 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next