Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

Uncover buried treasure with the Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector. It offers many features for both serious and casual treasure hunters. This Bounty Hunter Pioneer metal detector is automated and easy to use due to its sophisticated, reliable design. It has four digital segments to identify the target and its ground balance is completely mechanical with squelch-technology. It has a user-friendly touch-pad selector that allows you to easily switch between the four different modes of operation. Push-button discrimination on this treasure hunting metal detector helps to ignore unwanted targets and the one-touch depth control enables simple usage. It has three kinds of tone, depending on the type of target, and can tell you what type of metal you've found even before you start digging. Other features, like the hand grip and extended armrest, offer extra comfort when using the Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation88%67 out of 76reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 46 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

Nice detector

10/14/2009
By ,
Sahuarita,AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This metal detector is nice,but I wish I would have noticed it,or checked into it further,before I ordered it. It doesn't have a phone jack,so headphones can be plugged into it. The other thing about it that I don't like is the tones are kind of loud and there's no volume control for it. I have taped up the the speakers to tone down the sound,but the higher pitch noise still is sort of loud. I have found some coins and a fork in my yard,plus a lot of other junk. I like the fact you can set discrimination to not pick up on iron or iron based metals,which most junk metal is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

A Solid Value

01/22/2008
By ,
Kingsport, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this is a solid value, especialy for an entry-level device. I live in thecity and have only spent about an hour in my yard so far. Every time the Pioneer detected Iron, it was made of iron. I have found 3 copper pennies so far, one from 1944. No treasure, but I have only been in my yard learning the ins and outs of the device.
PROs: Lightweight, easy to use, great price, and does exactly what it is designed to do, right out of the box.
CONs: No headphone jack, takes a while to learn to pinpoint detected object.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

EASY USE-GOOD VALUE

01/23/2008
By ,
SUMMERSVILLE WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY EASY TO USE MY FIRST TIME OUT I FOUND IT EASY TO ADJUST AND EVEN FOUND SOME MONEY. ITS IS VERY LITE AND WITH THE ARM REST SO EASY TO HOLD. I AM DISABLED AND HAVE TROUBLE WALKING. THIS IS PERFECT FOR ME
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector
01/12/2008
By ,
Parsippany, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bounty hunter pioneer x metal detector was great outdoors once it was set after doing the nail, coin, gold/silver test with the xing out zink (nails) capability and understanding the squawk sounds pertaining to coins/jewelry.
I highly recommend this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

Fun to play with

08/26/2008
By ,
King George VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This detector works very well. My family and I have had a good time using it to search for "buried treasure". If someone is looking for a basic metal detector, without all the bells and whistles, this is a good product. It is simple to use and very accurate, considering that it is the less expensive model. I recommend it highly to anyone looking to just enjoy themselves "treasure hunting".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

fun

06/16/2010
By ,
Saint Paul mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for our son for his birthday. We are very pleased with the product, it is all they said it was. It works great on land and in the water. It was easy to put together and is light weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

01/29/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. We are a family of 5 who travels, camps a lot, home schools and lives on property from the civil war era. This detector has been used a lot for all 3. So much so I am buying another one. Perfect for kids. Easy to use and understand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

Great product

12/31/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my son for christmas. He loved it!!!! The features on it are really good for the money. I researced a lot of them before buying this one. I chose it because of the waterproof coil. great for the creeks next to our home and for just in case with a child. This one had features of ones that were a lot more expensive. I looked for several days and can say its the best cheapest one I found. It has an adjustable rod so its good for kids and adults alike. We live next to a civil war battleground and my son found a bullet on his first outing christmas day. If this is your first metal detector this one will make you happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

better than the 91.00

12/16/2009
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is by far a better value than the one for 30.00 dollars more first its digital yes the coil is one inch smaller but it makes up for it in technolgy
you can order bigger coils for it I reccommend this
product to all especially for the price you get more than what you pay for
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

A fun machine

12/31/2008
By ,
Mississippi Delta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it for my wife for Christmas. We live on her family farm that has two old houses from Great -Great Grandparents. Finding lots of interesting stuff.
Unfortunately a lot of pop-tops too!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

hfam

05/23/2008
By ,
alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i wish there was an head set option for this unit. This unit is very sensitive I have found several nails and pieces of metal buried up to 8 inches deep in my back yard. On the highest sensitivity level it is to sensitive to motion however once you get used to this unit you can narrow down to approx. the size of your fist where you need to dig.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

A diamond in the rough...

01/07/2009
By ,
Riverton, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use! Bought this for my 12 year old son. In 3 (frozen snowy) days he was able to find $11.76 and 2 antique rings (one has appraised at $145!!!) Super easy to assemble - he did it all. It only takes a 9 volt battery. He and I can't wait to use it when the ground thaws. Also - his grandpa needed to find a property marker in his newly purchased home and they found it with the detector in under 5 minutes! I would advise anyone who is wanting to start into the "treasure hunting" hobby to get this. Great deal, great price and great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

A great value!

07/03/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my husband from the kids for Father's Day. I was a little leary b/c of the price...however I am very pleased with the product. Apparently, you do not have to spend a hundred or more dollars to have a decent metal detector. Best of all my husband loved it and has had some very fun quality time with the kids!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

Freakin Great!

05/28/2010
By ,
Utica, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it, love the way I can eliminate certain metals, and only look for gold. LOL. Use the death out of it, found a $2500.00 gold ring in my first day at the park. Wonderful for the outdoor treasure hunting experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector
04/19/2012
By ,
nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It really does what it is made for very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

Good item for the price

05/17/2009
By ,
North Central Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price of this item is resonable. It takes a little time to figure out, and the manual doesn't describe certain things in enough detail. The batteries seem to die a little too quick. But overall this is not a bad product. We bought it to find the stakes on the property, but it didn't pick it up we ended up noticing the stake when we were using the metal detector, it was next to a tree. We now use it to find things on the property just to get outside. We have found some decent old cans along the edge of our property. Other than that we have not really found anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

Basically Basic

01/05/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this detector for my 3 children ages 10, 7, and 4. I didn't want a toy detector, but didn't want to break the bank either. This metal detector seems to be a good compromise. I started by hiding some metal objects in the yard under leaves and grass so that we could all get used to the detector's sounds and sensitivity. They were able to find all of them and also found a key, a nut and bolt, and a very small piece of iron which all required that they dig a few inches. I have not set the detector to the most sensitive level as of yet. This detector seems very basic, but it has provided the children with hours of entertainment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

Metal detector

04/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first metal detector. I picked it up for the grand kids to use. They have only used it once so far and loved it. Need to get some warm weather and go out again! The unit arrived several days early in perfect condition so no complaints there. I would highly recommend this u it for other beginners to this sport
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

Better then expected

01/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this metal detector for my boyfriend who is a beginner. Assembly was fairly simple and then he was ready to go. The metal detector has picked up all sorts of things, and even tells us what type of metal it found. I'm definitely happy with this metal detector, we just can't wait for the weather to get better so we can spend more time using it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX Metal Detector

A very fun product

07/21/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This metal detector is very very good. So far we have only found some trash, but we can't wait to try it out at the beach and at parks. It works very well and picks up items exactly where they are and makes them easy to find. We even found a penny! I'm sure there will be many more treasures in the future!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next