Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

Hunting for treasure is easier with the Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector. Featuring a sophisticated and reliable design, it comes with a patented microprocessor-controlled technology. It is highly efficient in detecting coins to depths of up to 10" and larger objects up to a depth of 4'. The Bounty Hunter 202 metal detector features a user-friendly touchpad selector that allows you to switch between four different modes of operation. The digital depth and target display provide accurate identification, thereby helping you to detect any metal that lies underneath. The notch and auto notch modes make the Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector a rugged performer. Other features like the ergonomic handgrip and extended armrest offer extra comfort when in use. It also has an interchangeable waterproof search coil with a sensitivity control and discrimination adjustment. The fully automatic ground track also makes this model easy to use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.216 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%34 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

Fantastic!

11/28/2008
By ,
Point of Rocks, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this product as a gift for my wife. She has wanted one for a very long time and I was very skeptical when they handed me the box - it felt like there was nothing in it.
When we got it home, it worked great right out of the box! We have had to really work with it to learn and understand the tones and readings to find things easier, but going back and watching the enclosed video helps too.
We recently bought a new house that had been 80% renovated and we have done the rest. There were many "treasures" left in the yard. Since we have bought the Bounty Hunter, my wife has found nearly $300 worth of copper piping in our back yard as well as about $20 in change.
We live an area where there were many Civil and Revolutionary War battles, so far we have just found musket and rifle balls but I know we are going to find something.
If you want one to start off with, this is the one you want. However, be patient with yourself and don;t blame the machine, there is some learning time involved.
Happy hunting!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

LITTLE BUT MIGHTY

03/22/2008
By ,
Rumford ,ME USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a pioneer 202 ,This metal detector keeps up with the big boys on the block! My friends have Minlabs and White's and can't beleave how good this metal detector works. Its a DEEP coin finding metal detector. My best coin so far is 1924 D VF-20 Penny. I hope this helps. Happy hunting
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

great product

02/16/2008
By ,
alma, ark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much research I had decided to purchase a Bounty Hunter brand metal detector. I chose the Pioneer 202 model because it's supposedly a nice detector for the price. Thus far, I haven't been disappointed. While I've had very little time to take it out and put it thru it's paces (being that it is currently winter), the few times I have taken it out have been productive. For instance, the very first time I used it was in the front yard of my home (built in 1928). In a 45-minute session I located and dug-up four pennies (all from the 1960's), a 1981 dime, and a coin-shaped token good for one-dollar off the purchase of a new tire from a Goodyear dealership (now how old is that token). While none of these finds could be considered valuable it was still fun to find "buried treasures" right in my front yard...and I still have a lot of yard left to search. The Pioneer 202 is really quite simple to use. Not a lot of bells and whistles, just pretty much turn it on and go. Make sure you read the owner's manual thoroughly before operating the detector. The video that comes with the detector is okay, but could be better. One very important thing to remember when operating the Pioneer 202 is only dig when you get a "strong, repeatable signal" from the detector, otherwise you'll end up digging more than the usual amount of junk. The Pioneer 202 is not a "high-dollar" detector, but it does perform quite well if you study the owner's manual and apply the correct settings to match what you are searching for. As a slightly better than entry-level detector it is well worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

great gift for someone with too much time on their

12/06/2013
By ,
missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cant wait for my first big adventure. its easy to read , operate , and understand. You have a video to familiarize yourself with this device. just cant wait to get started. My very first time with metal detecting and my very first metal detector. I always wanted one and beleive this is one i need. Really light wieght , planning on going out a full day without any problems. I am telling I just cant wait
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

Great new toy!

05/20/2011
By ,
Northern Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my Pioneer about 2 weeks ago and have been having a ball with it! I had a metal locator abut 20 years ago, and I really appreciate the new technology! The first day, I dug for anything I got a repeatable signal, practicing first to identify the object before digging. After a few hours, I was getting very accurate in guessing if I was looking at a bottle cap or coin.. on the second day, I found 38 coins with only one false reading which turned out to be a small brass shackle about 1 inch across...a very unusual discovery in the woods!
In short...this is an excellent buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

Decent product for the money.

02/12/2014
By ,
Columbus NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have only had it a week but it seems to do what I need it for...shallow metal searches.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

Fun

01/10/2009
By ,
Miami, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We tried the product and it was very precise. We had a lot of fun and intend on using it every weekend. I recommend it highly...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

metal detecter

06/03/2008
By ,
iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i like it and is good for an older woman like me to have gets me out and moving
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

A Very Good product for finding survey markers

08/24/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our first metal detector. We could not find the survey monuments on our property by digging and searching. We purchased The Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector and found the survey monuments on our property about 6 inches below the ground surface. The metal detector found the markers within a few minutes, indicated the type of metal and the distance below the surface. We are very pleased with this product. Note the survey monuments were found in the center of the detectors circular antenna, a direct bullseye each time, we were amazed by the products ability to zero in on the object we were looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

Worth every penny

04/26/2008
By ,
Portage, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves his new detector. We bought a different brand before this one, and he hated it.
He loves all the different options and settings on here. Thumbs up from Portage, Pa.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

Light weight, easy to handle.

12/06/2012
By ,
Jamestown, CA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a great detector for people with disabilities. It's Light weight, easy to handle. I enjoy using it although I have some disabilities that limit the time I can walk around, bend and dig. So I mark the areas and my husband will dig them up. Then the fun starts, searching through the diggings to see what we can find. I have only had it a couple of weeks, but I do like it a bunch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

You'll find every bit of metal!

04/26/2011
By ,
Snow Hill, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this metal detector to find property line stakes that ended up not existing. We did find a lot of other 'treasures' along the way, including a tiny little piece of a nail, a penny, a nickel, and several other pieces. While we haven't struck it rich yet (and still have to hire a surveyor since one hasn't been done since 1934,) this was a great purchase. It will provide a lot of entertainment for us, and it certainly detected what it was made to detect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

Great metal detector

03/27/2013
By ,
45714
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This "cheap" metal detector works better than expected ! Our house burnt down in December , we bought this detector to look for lost jewelry . We found two dimond rings, three necklaces and many other lost viables in the ruble ! Paid or itself many times already. Looking forward to using it when the weather breaks on the beach and a couple old home sites !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

A Good Find

01/21/2008
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my husband after reading many reviews and visiting many metal detecting websites. We needed to find a property marker and had been searching an area where we knew it must be. We had dug seemingly everywhere, but after he got the Bounty Hunter, we went back out and within 5 minutes found the rod.
This unit is easy to use and seems to work great. We are well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

Dissapointing

02/15/2008
By ,
Ennis, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a barn built and I purchased to scan my pasture for nails so the horses don't step on them. Most nails will be on the surface, except near the barn where them may be an inch or so below the surface due to stepping on them. Well, every time it beeped it showed the item was 4 inches below the ground...ALWAYS!!! Even when I found a nail on the surface and scanned over it, it was 4 inches below the ground! Basically, it also beeped when there was nothing there after digging 12 inches below. False positives.
I wouldn't waste the money on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

Nice Metal detector

01/03/2008
By ,
Elizabethton, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my wife for Christmas, but I really bought it for myself as well. It works well. The instruction cd is very helpful. I haven't found much yet, but it's hard to dig through snow.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

a fun product

01/18/2009
By ,
arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is definitly fun. Its been a family adventure searching for treasures. One down fall is that is picks up everything can tabs, bottle caps, nails etc. the only thing we've found of value is coins. Its pretty easy to work and very light weight my five year old can even work it. I would say it's a great product for a beginner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

ok for treasure hunting.

07/18/2011
By ,
Halifax, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this detector because it say's it detects up to 4 ft, but I cannot find any information on how to tell if it does or when it does...not in the instructions or on the DVD. It only shows up to 10 inches. Not very helpful to find a septic or burried pipes or power lines. That is what I wanted it for. If you are only treasure hunting, I'm sure this would be fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector

It is a real good detector.

01/05/2009
By ,
Prattville Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only thing I can say is if you buy one you will be very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector
01/09/2010
By ,
Springhill, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the bounty hunter as a Christmas gift. Put the batteries in it beeped a couple of times and that was it. Returned it to Walmart with no problems. Maybe I just got a rare bad one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next