Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

Generic 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

Give your feline friend a surface to scratch with this 30'' Multi-Material Carpet Scratching Post. It has a carpeted post and base to help sharpen your cat's claws and keep her from scratching your furniture, rugs and window dressings, as well as provide countless hours of activity and engagement. This 30" cat scratching post is an ideal size for smaller living spaces and the carpet cover material is created using recycled remnants. Carpet color and texture vary; please allow us to select a color for you.
Average Customer Rating:
3.969 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation84%52 out of 62reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

wonderfully tall!

03/10/2010
By ,
CA, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i waited with baited breath for my 30 inch scratching post to arrive....my kitten has grown insanely fast and his 18 inch scratching post was not doing him any good! he had to bend in a funny way to scratch on it at all...when i saw this product i knew i had to have it-i was just worried about the color it would come in! lucky for me i got a nice beige colored post and my kitten LOVES it! he can reach to the very top of it and thinks its fun to wrap all 4 of his paws around it so none of him is touching the floor! its quite fun to watch! the post is sturdy-i havent seen him tip it over yet and hes fairly big for only 10 months old. i really recommend this product! (so does my kitty, Hawkeye!)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

My cats love it!

05/28/2009
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good quality, sturdy, and my cat's love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

Great Scratcher

06/04/2008
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cat's scratching preferences include drapes, floor carpeting, couches, and the sides of my mattress. I've read that you're supposed to avoid carpeted scratchers to keep them from scratching the above-mentioned types of household furniture. But you know what? My cat LOVES this scratcher precisely because it is made of carpeting. I figure I might as well buy what she will actually use. She hardly ever scratches the carpet flooring anymore. Unfortunately, I can't get her to stop scratching the side of my mattress.
Pros: It is the right height to allow her to stand full length and get a good stretch from it. (It really is 30" tall as it says.) I place cat treats on top and she likes to climb up there to get them. (It makes her work for the reward.) This scratcher is very sturdy and does not tip over when she jumps all over it (she weighs about 7-8 lbs, so I'm not sure how it would hold up with heavier cats). My cat goes so crazy with this thing that she sometimes likes to bite it as well. I think it is a good quality product for the price. (Compare this scratcher with The Ultimate Scratching Post by SmartCat and you will notice the price savings! I also have the Ultimate Scratching Post and my cat actually prefers this carpeted scratcher.)
Cons: The diameter is about 4.5", and I think my cat might like it more if it were a bit more wide, but this is only a minor con. I wish the pole had a 'topper' instead of a plastic covering on top where she could sit on top of it (she would love that). (I am considering making a 'topper' myself by gluing a piece of wood to the top that's a little wider than the pole.) (The Ultimate Scratching Post *does* have a 'topper' and she loves to sit on top of it.) Since it is made of carpeting, this scratcher does shed.
Overall, it's a great product and I am highly satisfied with my purchase. I had it shipped-to-site and the process was very convenient and quick. I also liked not having to pay for shipping!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

It tends to shed

10/01/2010
By ,
Blue Hill, Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The reason that I gave the overall rating a three is because the carpet is being pulled out by my kitten and is getting all over the floor! You can see in the picture that she has the top of the scratching post frayed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

tall tails from a sturdy 30

07/30/2009
By ,
greater Memphis area, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GOOD:
*very tall so cats can get a full stretch while scratching
*super wide base means it probably won't tip over unless your cat is really large and decides to launch itself at the very top at a high rate of speed.
*well made and sturdy. My boys like to perch themselves atop the post and act like mountain goats on a pinnacle. One of them is kinda ummm.... "chunky" and the post still does not tip or lean.
BAD:
*No choice of carpet colors or textures. You get whatever Joe Warehouse decides to put in the box. I bought 2 and they had different colors and carpet styles. Evidentally my cats only scratch on berber and one post was stringy and shag-like and the other was short pile, so they ignored them at first (I fixed this problem though. See below) . If your cat is picky about carpet texture, you're rolling the dice as to if that's what you'll receive.
OVERALL:
good product! I would recommend, unless you are picky about colors and/or your cat prefer a certain type of carpet. I ended up just getting a berber type kitchen mat and attached that to the post. Now, both cats thoroughly enjoy being able to really stretch out and scratch with a more natural posture, as opposed to the straight-forward hunching needed for the shorter post.
This is also a good value for the money in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

Carpeted tall cat scratching post

01/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made, carpeted, tall cat scratch post. My cat doesn't like sisal, and it is getting harder to find carpet posts as almost all are sisal these days. This post is well made and is sturdy and stable. Doesn't tip even when my 15lb cat jumps at it. He does manage to tear out small tufts of carpet, but this post also looks like it would be easy to recarpet. It has a plastic cap at the top instead of having carpet wrapped around the top, which is another nice feature and would make it much easier to recarpet rather than trying to wrap new carpet around the top, which is why I couldn't fix my last post. I had thought of putting a cap on the old one, but was unable to find anything in the right size. Overall, I think it was a good purchase and I'm pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

A nice scratching post for someone on a budget!

01/12/2014
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought this a couple of years ago for my cat after many failed attempts with other scratching posting. The main problem being that they were too short, but all the 30 inch and taller were too expensive in my opinion for something that my cat would shred to bits. This scratching post is the perfect height for my cat to stretch and scratch. It was an easy transition for him to scratch this post since it is carpeted and his main scratching vice was the rug. The previous post I had lasted almost a year before the rug part started shedding everywhere. But for the price I can't complain much! If you have a heavier cat though I would recommend a post with a heavier base because my cat is pretty slim and he can move this when you runs back and forth. I placed the post on a skid resistant mat and he hasn't been able to move it so far though :)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

Best cat scratching post for the money

11/03/2013
By ,
Fremont, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second time I have bought this post through Walmart.com with delivery to my local store. This is a great program. Products that are large and/or bulky can be difficult to stock in every single location, so the ability to purchase on-line, and then pick up locally (with no delivery charge) is a wonderful option.
The post itself is pretty generic, but the price is hard to beat. My cat was trained from a young age to scratch a post, not the furniture, and we have been pretty successful at that goal.
She's a fairly large cat, at 14 pounds, and needs the stretch of a 30" post.
I give it four stars, rather than five, simply because the post does not last. The carpeting that covers the post is inexpensive and shreds; hence we replace it once a year. But it's so inexpensive that it just makes more sense to replace a post she likes once a year than invest more money in a better constructed scratch post, that maybe she will reject.
Summary: great value product, but plan to replace frequently if your cat is an energetic scratcher. Also plan to vacuum up the bits of carpet fluff released from energetic scratching.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

Cat does not use it

07/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product is really nice. Received nice beige color one. But my cat does not even wanna touch it, so its useless for me and he still uses the wooden furniture to scratch his nails.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

Carpeted Cat Post

05/15/2014
By ,
Niagara Falls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a smaller carpeted cat post, but my kitten has grown. My cat loves this post. She is able to give a full stretch when she scratches. It is heavy. She can climb to the top of the post and it does not fall over. It is difficult to find a carpeted post and this item was perfect. It was so easy to have it shipped to my local store. It was delivered several days before the estimated date. The price was reasonable for the good quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

Nice height

06/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice to find a scratch post that's high enough for an adult cat to actually reach up and stretch/scratch on. It's a little flimsier than the one I'm replacing and I wish it had a smaller piece on top as my cat likes to jump up an perch himself - but for the price and the height of it, it's a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

Purrfect!

11/03/2013
By ,
Spokane Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant ordering this post as I have purchased much more expensive ones in the past and thought this one might not be that good, but worth a try. To my delight~ my kitty LOVES it, and did so instantly out of the box! It is plenty sturdy to not fall over, even when being scratched hard, and my kitty all but immediately rejected all her other scratchers in favor of this one. The only thing I would like differently would be a more decorative or attractive top, even the carpet would be nice. There is a plastic tube like cover, just functional. Another carpeted scratching post I have comes apart during each scratch and leaves carpet fibers everywhere, this one has been very solid and not constantly shedding. If my kitty is happy, I am happy, and we love this scratching post! I am ordering more for gifts!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

Tall post..

06/14/2014
By ,
woodstock va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cats like it which is all I need to know. Delivery was prompt as always.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

Great scratch post for cats to stretch

06/05/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My two big cats love to stand and stretch as they start to scratch. The 30" is ideal height for
adult cats.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

Tall and Sturdy

05/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My cats love this, if only it could arrive undamaged. This was the second one I've ordered and it came damaged. That's the only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating. They don't package it very well. They just stick two boxes together because it's so tall and there is no support for where the tower meets the base. This second one was for my daughter and I've ordered a replacement because Walmart returns are so easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

a product cats love

01/06/2009
By ,
South Haven, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my cats love this scratching post. Its tall enough so they get a good stretch, and it was reasonably priced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture
07/15/2012
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my adult cat because it was 30 inches tall and he could stretch out when using it. When I got it home and put it out for my cat he loved it, but every time he uses it, it moves across the floor and starts to tip over (as it is very "light" and only weighs 7 lbs and my cat is double that in weight). This might be ok for smaller cats but I don't have much hope of this lasting very long with my adult cat.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture
05/19/2012
By ,
Lebanon, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is difficult to find the 30" posts, so I was pleased to see that Walmart carried this one. Other places that did carry them were 3 times the price, which did not include an average of $25 shipping charges. This shipped quickly and was already assembled. My cats love it! I received a different color than I originally ordered, but that didn't matter. Would recommend this......I should have ordered two!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture

Cats love it; I don't

03/31/2014
By ,
Taunton, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've bought this same scratching post before, and it was tan like it is in the picture. When I went to pick this one up, it was purple! Which doesn't exactly go with my decor. And on top of it, there were stains all over it. Since I did a site-to-store order, I wasn't going to go through the hassle of exchanging it, but it would be nice to get a quality product. On the plus side, its a great height and my cats love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 30" Carpeted Cat Scratching Post Furniture
04/05/2012
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dear cat took to this carpeted scratch pole instantly. It is unusually tall, and it really gives her the stretching exercise she likes and needs. Just a super great piece of cat furniture!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1 2 3 Next