Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Belkin Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Belkin Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Connecting this router to your cable or DSL modem lets you share your broadband Internet account with all your networked computers. It lets you simultaneously enjoy online gaming, surf the Web, email messages, share photos or stream music.
Average Customer Rating:
3.684 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation67%38 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

The Worst

01/12/2008
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This wireless router tops my list as the worst thing I have ever purchased. It bogged my internet connection down so bad that a dial-up could have flown by me. I called the Belkin tech support 3 times & besides their being rude, they still could not help me get the thing to work. I took it back & bought a Linksys. The Linksys has easy set-up & works like a charm.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Worthless

01/15/2008
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Set-up was a breeze. I plugged it in, set up my 128 bit wep password, connected with my lap top, and I was on my way. Awesome router for the first day..
The next day (and every day since I bought the thing) my laptop lost connection with the router 4 times during the day and was disconnected all night. This is extremely frustrating because I do a lot of P2P downloads. The only way to reconnect it seems is to unplug the router and reset it.
Not happy at all. The point of a wireless router is to be able to get on the network without having to go into the office to reset the thing. Most of the time it is unplugged.
If you're reading this, consider a different product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Dissatisfied

12/18/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product never worked properly--had to call Tech support 3 times to try and get it up and running, but it never operated as advertised--in fact, it never worked. The product was returned in 3 days---Very dissatisfied as I had previously owned a Belkin Router that worked fine. I ended up buying a Linksys that has worked perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Horrible Router

03/09/2008
By ,
Lake Ariel, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I plugged it in and set it up with the included CD...it went very well...seemingly. That was until i tried to hook up my xbox 360...they it failed MISERABLY. i used a wired connection and i connected to xbox live just fine it was actually playing an online game and talking with people that it failed at...if you are a gamer expecting to be able to use this with the xbox 360...think again. i would recommend ONLY Linksys routers and network cards...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 5 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Piece of JUNK!!!!!

12/23/2007
By ,
Venice, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While not a REAL computer techy type person, I do OK. This is a piece of JUNK!!! Initial set up was easy. Getting it to work is an ENTIRELY different story! Called their "No Help" line 3 times. All they could tell me was to try changing channels..all ELEVEN channels gave a "BLAZING" 1 Mbps...WHEN it stayed connected! After wrestling with it for 5 hours...I'm taking it back to WalMart and getting a Linksys which was rated the BEST by PC Magazine!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Stop working in 6 monthes.

10/27/2008
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was working properly for 6 months and suddenly wireless lid has been off and stoppedworking. Company's web site recommanded me to pay over $100 for another one until they get my old one in their warehouse. I don't know I should go with this company product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Not worth the money.

12/26/2007
By ,
Easton, Pa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this router and it hooked up so easy. I thought it was the greatest til after 2 weeks it went dead. Just like someone pulled the plug. I called Belkin and they said to send it to them and they will replace it. Sounds good but it can take up to 2 weeks. I can't go without my network for that long. I will think twice before I ever buy another Belkin product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 8 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Buy a Linksys

04/01/2008
By ,
Napoleon, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very dissatisfied with this product. I am very familiar with networks and wireless networks. Yet, this unit was beyond me. Set-up was lousy, did the express install. Had to input my ISP username and password. It said it was invalid. I found this finny because I was logged in on my laptop using the neighbors wireless. And they accepted my user name and password. Anyhow, I couldn't get it to work as it was suppose to. The IP of the router and my modem both shared the same IP. So, after sending about 2 hours trying to get the router to change IPs. I gave up. Started grasping at straws, turned on the Access Point option, it automatically changed the IP and allowed me to connect with my laptop and get on the internet. With the router literally sitting right next to my laptop, I only was getting a fair connection. Needless to say, this router will be going back to Walmart today. I know this isn't Walmarts problem. But, please, save yourself a headache and buy a Linksys.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 9 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

dissatified

01/01/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
setup was very easy.the only problem i had was no connection half the time.after 3 days of on and off internet connection i return the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Good til it breaks

02/06/2008
By ,
Central Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great while it worked. About three months later it is dead. No lights, no nothing
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Poor communication on what you need to HAVE!!!

02/09/2008
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item in the store thinking that I could use this without a modem since I connect to the internet via Ethernet straight out of the wall, but was unable to. I called Tech Support and they told me that I absolutely had to have a modem to use this router. This was a waste of money. They need to say on the box that this router requires a cable/dsl modem in order to use it. It might say you can connect it to your cable/dsl modem, but it does not say that you HAVE to have a cable/dsl modem. I do not recommend this product to anyone who doesn't have a modem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-18points
Review 12 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router
02/10/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After buying this router to allow for a wireless connection to my laptop I continue to get disconnected from the internet on my laptop and desktop computers. I have upgraded the firmware and received tech support, which was quick and friendly, but did not solve my problem. Please, save yourself a headache and buy a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 13 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Horrible

09/22/2008
By ,
indy, in
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this product. Always having to unplug and reset. Never works when you want it to.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Not for the novice

02/19/2008
By ,
Roy, UT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I used the express (automated) option to install this product on my desktop system and that went
well, however after I finished the install process I booted up my laptop and found that my
connection was not secured. I went back to the user manual online as well as on the installation
CD but couldn't find an easy answer regarding how to secure my broadcast connection. This
product might be fine for one who is computer savvy, but not for a novice.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 15 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Poor Tech Support

11/22/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very poo experience with tech support. Because I was out sourced to another country, it was extremely difficult to understand what she was saying. After an hour and a half, she told me that she could not help me. I figured it out the next day. Will not buy Belkin again because of the tech support.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

was O.K.

03/20/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would say for your typical home internet browsing e-mail checking purposes, this router works great. However, if you will be having increased bandwidth usage; lot's of downloading, streaming, online games, uploading, and etc. this product fails to handle the load Causes the entire network to drop for short intermittent periods of time, or until the router is restarted, which more often than not was the case.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Do not buy if your ISP uses DHCP

03/31/2008
By ,
Orlando, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would not buy this router if your ISP uses DHCP to maintain your Internet connection (dynamic connection type). There is a serious WAN bug that causes this router to momentarily drop all data on WAN DHCP Acks (Acks are used by your ISP and router to maintain your internet connection). This bug appears to have been introduced in firmware 3.01.14 and above to 3.01.18. Firmware 3.01.10 appeared stable in my tests.
You can see from the reviews they all talk about dropped connections, being booted from Xbox live games etc.. This is all caused by the WAN bug that belkin until this time has no fix for and their support is of no help. There is no fix aside from getting a static IP from your ISP and changing the connection type so that you no longer use DHCP to maintain the WAN connection. It also works fine if placed in access point only mode, but that defeats the purpose of the router in the first place.
If you have a Static IP or PPPOE type connection it works fine and the router is pretty good aside from this bug. I got a static IP from my ISP just to fix the problem until Belkin offers a fix. If you just browse the web and do not stream data like video, remote desktop or gaming, the bug would go unnoticed.
Also, do not upgrade the original firmware for any reason (3.01.10). This bug was introduced in 3.01.14 and above. I loved this router until I upgraded the firmware and there is no way to downgrade as belkin refuses to send the 3.01.10 firmware or offer it for download. They also say it is fixed in the UK firmware 3.01.18, but it’s not.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

belkin wireless router n

07/20/2008
By ,
kentucky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
works good till you get about 30 yards awat and losses its signal completly
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Not good for wireless

10/11/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I Bought this router used it for a week and Returned it. The biggest problem I had with this wireless router was its Wireless. The signal from the router was always excellent no matter where i was in the house, But I did a speed check of my Internet connection. With a wired Network i was getting between 6 and 7.5 Mbps which is about standard for a cable internet. When i wasnt wired i would get knocked down to 1-2.2 Mbps which is a significant loss in download speed. So i went and purchased a Linksys WRT54GS router and now am getting the same wired speeds but my wireless is about 3.4MBPS. I saved 10 bucks and got a better product. I was told if you dont have a Wireless N Network card on your laptop or Computer they dont talk as Fast as having a G which has been standard in lap tops at least 2 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 20 for Belkin F5D8233-4 Wireless-N Broadband Router

Pretty Good

08/16/2008
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So far so good. The only problem I've encountered is that my connection speed falls from 54 mbps to 36 mbps. I suspect this is do to the router firewall (still investigating). Overall an ok (maybe good if I can fix the speed droppage) product. Not really for the novice user but fine for someone upgrading (I previously owned a Belkin wireless G).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next