Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%20 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

Quality television at its best!

10/04/2007
By ,
Olean, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is simply one of the finest shows ever created. Don't be fooled into thinking this is just a show about football. It isn't. My wife hates football but she absolutely fell in love with this show. You'll probably never see a more accurate portoray of life in small-town America on network television than this. Each of the characters are complex, deeply flawed, but ultimately likeable individuals. You probably know people like this in real life...that's how believable this show is. You'll find yourself sucked into each of their lives like you are a close family friend. You will cheer for their triumphs and you will cring and weep for them when their lives go astray, usually as a result of their own foolish actions. Each character is on some sort of personal journey to be better people, though they often fall short due to their own humanity. The show is really about the rise and fall and redemption of everyday people and how we're not all that different from each other even though we may be born on different sides of the spectrum.
Shows of this quality are a rarity today. Unfortunately, due to low ratings there is a good possibility it will not survive a second season. Do yourself a favor and support this show by purchasing the 1st Season DVD and watching it on television every week. Remember, you do not need to like football to love this show. This is not a show about football. It is a show about life!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 2 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

Didn't expect it to be this good!

11/18/2007
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I enjoyed the movie, I had a preconceived notion that this was a simplistic white-bread, goody-goody series about gorgeous teenagers and their silly teenage problems. And football. I only bought this because some of my friends raved about the show. Boy, am I glad I was wrong! This is a great program. Yes, it's mainly about teenagers and their problems and football, but you really come to CARE about these characters and can't wait to see what happens next. Liking football is a plus but certainly not necessary. During the football scenes, you'll actually feel the excitement and anxiety as if you were there. In fact, with most of the scenes, it's as if you're watching real life situations unfold before you. Kind of hard to explain...
The writing and acting are excellent -- absolutely top-notch. I don't watch much television so I'm pretty picky about what I spend my time on. For network tv, this is as good as it gets. It should be winning Emmys left and right.
NOTE: If the first episode doesn't grab you, please give it a chance. I liked it, but wasn't terribly impressed until about the 3rd episode. Then it hit me -- I was hooked!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 3 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

The One Show I watch with my Teenager

11/12/2007
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv series is fantastic. It is the one show that my teenaged son and I watched together every week. The first season the show came out he was a senior in highschool, and we watched it every week together. There is enough football in it to keep him interested, but there are lots of other themes going on, and it really opens up discussions on life and it's intricacies.
Now that he is away at college, we are not watching season two, but when he comes home on Christmas break we will be watching every episode online.
How many tv shows are out there that span the generations? I'm buying the DVD for a Christmas present for him.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 4 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

The best show EVER!

09/22/2007
By ,
Elkin, North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Friday Night Lights was worth every penny I spent for it. It was a bargain at only $20. Being a fan of the show from the beginning, I would have paid $70 for the dvd. This show isn't just about football it's about family, community, and life in small town America. This is a show everyone should take the time to watch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

I LOVE THIS SHOW!!!

12/10/2007
By ,
Okaloosa, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this show was something that i thought i wouldn't like because my parents wanted to watch it as a family but this was the turning point for me... i love to watch this with my parents it really brought us together... we watch it together every friday night... and the 2nd season is GREAT too!!!! Enjoy this show!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

Wonderful Story

06/29/2008
By ,
Rome, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This show isn't all about football!! This is definitly a show for men and woman alike!! There is football but it is balanced with family and friendship dynamics! I was hooked from episode 1!! I also got season 2 and can't wait for season 3 to be released!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 7 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

Great show ,Greatter price

02/13/2008
By ,
las vegas nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this show if you are a fan of sports then it's a must have for only twenty bucs it's the best tv box set deal i have ever gotten go pick this one up one of the best written shows on television you get your moneys worth on this one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

A great tv show, one of the best around.

06/24/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great season, it really provides the true look of what high school and the sports are like from each different vantage point. If your a sports fan, this product is highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

Friday Night Lights DVD, Season 1

03/02/2008
By ,
Misouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best drama's ever to be on television, the best for this season, GREAT show, incredible writing and acting! I hope the show is not cancelled, this is television at its best!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 10 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

I'm not a football fan.

03/09/2009
By ,
Alliance, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm
not a football fan. But this is a Great Show! Love the characters and
story lines. This group of actors really click - they can say so much
with just a look! Love it - Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

CLEAR EYES...FULL HEARTS...CAN'T LOOSE !!

03/21/2008
By ,
J-TOWN, IDAHO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ONE OF THE BEST SHOWS EVER!! IT HAS AN AMAZING STORY LINE AND A GREAT EXAMPLE TO ALL AGES...WATCH IT AND SEE....YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 12 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

Valued Priced

11/15/2010
By ,
pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my 20 yr. old daughter, she loves the show. The value for the product is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

excellent

08/15/2008
By ,
hagerstown,md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome storylines and a great t.v. series!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)

Friday Night Lights-Season 1

01/03/2010
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great series...highly recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Friday Night Lights: The First Season (Widescreen)
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5