Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Norelco Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Norelco Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

With a 360-degree swiveling shaving head and a state-of-the art sleek design, the Philips Norelco Arcitec razor is the most advanced Norelco shaver yet.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation75%42 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

A Very Satisfying Shaver

01/05/2008
By ,
Naperville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is this shaver modernistic and cool looking, it has given me the best shave I have ever gotten from a Norelco, which I've been using for 40 years. I am Asian with a fairly coarse facial hair, and this shaver performed very well in both the neck and facial areas.
There are many features I like, among them the short charging time v.s. number of shaves. This is very handy when travelling. The pod is the best I have ever seen, much better than the soft cases Norelco has used in the past. It took no adjustment time since I've always used a Norelco, but new users might require some time as these new blades are excellent and very sharp, and you get a very close shave. Stick with it, your skin will get used to it in a couple of weeks. I have very little 5 O'Clock shadow, and the bottom line is the short stubble I have the next morning.
It is easy to clean; I use the Norelco Jet Clean solution in a shallow bowl and run the unit for 30 seconds. On the road, I use hot tap water or a brush, and it works nicely; the heads are very easy to clean, and doesn't require constant maintenance like other models. There is no need to get the CC model, which has a temperamental cleaning unit. This is hands down the best Norelco I 've ever used and I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 2 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20
04/03/2008
By ,
Green Bay, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plug it in; charge it; and shave. That simple.
I have used Philips Norelco products in the past; this model with the floating head may be the best yet. Really clean smooth shave without pressing the razor into your skin.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 3 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

We took it back!

07/14/2008
By ,
Gainesville, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this razor thinking it would meet our expectations and it fell short by a mile! Our old shaver, a cheap Norelco (the $39 one!) did better than this one! Thankfully Walmart was able to take it back just in the nick of time of the 30 day return policy. We gave this product almost the entire 30 days and it just did not do it for us. We spent more time shaving than ever before.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 4 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

Not what I had hoped

12/23/2007
By ,
Beverly Hills, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is a very nice looking razor, but it does not shave as I had anticipated. It does a great job on the neck and when trimming, but it does not give me a clean shave on the facial areas. I was better off with my older model Norelco...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 5 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

disappointed at first

06/16/2010
By ,
Falmouth, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been shaving with Norelco's all my life (40 years), when a excellent close shave was needed I always knew I had to use the blade. My old norelco wasn't holding a charge anymore so I decided to buy this one. The first shave was horrible, it didn't seem to cut much at all. I washed it out under running hot water all set to return it to my local walmart. Decided to give it one more try, well it worked great, don't know if I washed something out of the blades, but before you return it try running it under water first, glad I did, gives great close shave.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 6 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

ashamed

04/02/2008
By ,
pennsylvania
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This razor is not near my expectations. The closeness of the shave is horrible! with the design you have to shave over the same part of your face multiple times! However the trimmer part does work very well,but that does not do me much good because i wasn't looking to spend 160 dollars for a trimmer. my advice is stay away from this product. i would rather buy 100 dollars in cheap razors and 60 dollars for a trimmer it would probally be smarter
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 7 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

The Aritec 1050 is not a good buy

12/29/2007
By ,
Kennesaw, Ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed in this purchase.
I was able to get only two shaves per full charge.
After the second shave. I turned off the saver and next morning the shaver was dead. I had to recharge it. This happened three times to let me believe thats all the shaves I'll get with a full charge
I don't think this shaver shaves the neck as well as advertised. The base is too light to support the shaver. With the shaver on its base it makes the shaver top heavy and it falls over very easily. The shaver on its base has to be handled very carefully. Also, the blue
identifications letting the user know when the shaver needs cleaning and its charging is so faint that it is difficult to read.
I did like the new head design. It was this head design that prompted me to buy this shaver.
Oh Well, these are my views on this shaver, probably not to well thought and, maybe a bit rambling.
Rick
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

Very satisfied customer

12/30/2010
By ,
Maryville, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this razor for my dad as a Christmas gift. It arrived promptly after my ordering it. My dad loves this razor. The flexible heads and easy cleaning make it perfect for him. My only complaint is that it didn't have a carrying case for the pieces. I realize that a carrying case was not listed in the included parts list. However, there is a small brush for cleaning the razor, a charging base and protector that should have a storage unit of some kind, especially for such a pricey, high-end item. This isn't a big concern since my dad doesn't travel very often. It also has a travel case that doubles as a charger. If the case had a compartment for the brush, the kit would be complete. Dad says the shave is phenomenal. His only complaint is that the trimmer is sometimes difficult to slide out. Overall, it is a fantastic razor. Those are just a couple of minor improvements that would make it truly worth the amount you pay.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

Very Good Shaver

01/10/2009
By ,
Delavan, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The norelco Arctec 1050X Razor is the finest electric shaver I have ever had & I have had many, many during my lifetime. It does a great job on the contours of my neck, chin, etc, & overall, is the most comfortable razor I have used. You get very little razor "burn" & it is by far the closest shave I have had with an electric razor. The "Floating Head" design is certainly a break-through & allows the razor to get to the hills & valleys of ones facial & neck configurations. It's a real winner!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

Best Norelco yet.

07/23/2010
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using Norelcos since 2000. I had too many issues with foil type shavers not shaving well enough and I don't like the straight razor irritation and cost. This is my 3rd Norelco and it is the best one yet. Even though I came from a Norelco, it has taken about 2 weeks for my face to adapt to this one. Best shave I have ever had with an electric, darn close to straight raxor quality. The battery actually lasts 3 weeks and it is very quiet. This model is great compared to the other Arcitec models as it doesn't have the useless gadgets of the more expensive versions. I know there are mixed reviews out there, but this is a great shaver. Remember to give it a couple weeks. No electric does better on the neck.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

THE VERY BEST EVER!

01/16/2009
By ,
Kiaaimmww, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having used several different electric shavers in the past, I had realistic expectations on what to expect.
It is quiet and easy to use and I have not experienced any razor rash with it. It provides a very close shave, is convenient, and cleans up very easily. I am totally happy with this purchase and would recommend it highly to anyone who likes the convenience of an electric. I use it quite a bit while I am driving and it works great! I generally use a regular razor to get the side burn area and then take the razor with me and use it wherever I am going. Remarkable product!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

Pricey but a great razor

11/22/2010
By ,
S. Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At $150 the razor is pretty expensive especially when excellent ones can be had for around $80. Shaves close and is very quiet which others in the house appreciate since I get up very early in the mornings. You get at least two weeks worth of shaves on a charge and the charge time is only 1 1/2 hours from low to fully charged. On the downside, the razor cannot be left on the charger after the razor is fully charged. In other words there is no over charge protection. But since a full charge can be had in just over an hour, it's really not a problem.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

Good electric razor

05/12/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a good electric and bought the best they had in the store. It "is" a good razor... for an electric. Unfortunately after a few times missing a day or two shaving(I'm retired) I found myself grabbing a disposable to finish. The electric just didn't want to get the hairs under my chin and on my neck. But like I say, for an electric it is pretty nice.
What I ended up doing was buying a good German double edge shaver with cup and soap in order to not line the pockets of the disposable manufacturers and their silly proprietary blades and... OMG... I don't use my electric anymore. The DE rocks big time! :D
I'll still keep it charged though because I suppose their could come a morning when I just need to grab stuff and go and an electric is nice for shaving in the car on the way to work or wherever, I did that for years.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
-1point
Review 14 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

impressed

01/14/2008
By ,
Philippi West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mywife gave me this shaver as a gift, but I didnt know much about the new design so I read some reviews which didnt impress me much. Findley after letting it set around the house for most of a week I decided to open it and give it a try. To my amazement it gave the best shave I have ever had in over forty six years of shaving.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

Not what I expected!

05/30/2010
By ,
Washinton DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I paid more than double for this high-end razor versus a standard model expecting a fabulous shave but it is only slightly better than the standard. The floating heads sounded great in the ad but the performance and comfort of the cut is not much better than a Norleco half its price. So it's not what I expected.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

Gift for my husband

01/19/2009
By ,
South Bend, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just over a week before Christmas my husband told me he thought he would like to have this shaver. I immediately ordered it and it came within two days. I had been hesitant about ordering this for him since he has been a blade shaver all his life. He really loves this shaver!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 17 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

not good

02/05/2008
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband recieved this as a gift and did not like it from the start because it would not cut all the hairs.I convinced him to try it for a month like the manual says. It did not get better, and it also leaves all the hairs it does cut all over your face and bathroom, YUCK
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

not a good birthday gift

01/23/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i bought the philips norelco arcitec 1050x for my dad as a birthday present and the next day the razor was delivered, it was brought back to my local walmart for a refund. he was not happy with how the razor shaved which all the ad's and discriptions say its the best...its not!, read the reviews before you buy!, i read the reviews and told my dad that most people wernt happy but he wanted it, now he knows, so we ended up buying the $70 philips norelco razor and dad is much happier with it!, he said this razor doesnt have the power of his old philips norelco, pulls hair, not a good shave on the neck, the charger is cheap but works. i would rate this at 2 stars..i would not recommend this razor, its way over priced and not as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 19 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20
09/18/2010
By ,
Waynesboro, Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a very nice razor. It does a good job but I can't say its much better then the other shavers. The only down fall that I have a major complaint with is I bought this razor at a Walmart store in Waynesboro, Va. They keep the razor in stock but they don't stock the replacement cutting heads. I went to 3 different Walmarts and none had the heads, but sold the razor. Sense I cant get replacements heads I will not purchase another. If I am going to pay over 130 bucks for a razor I expect to be able to buy replacement parts too. If it was not for being able to get replacement heads I would buy another if the battery or power cord went bad several years down the road.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Philips Norelco Arcitec Razor, 1050X/20

Great product exccept head is hard to find.

12/04/2010
By ,
Raleigh, NorthCarolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using my razor for about 1.5 yrs and I don't see how anyone who has been using razors for a long time cannot like this product. It shaves great charges quickly and holds a charge for about a week. Very simple to clean, just stick it under hot running water, let it dry and you are set to go. I've never had any problems with it at all and would probably replace it with another one just like it if it died, unless they come out with something better.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next