Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Storkcraft Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Storkcraft Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Beautiful furniture for baby that will last far beyond the infant years. This Storkcraft 5-drawer chest features a stylish finish, ample storage, and sturdy cam-lock construction. All five drawers come with a smooth metal glide system. This Beatrice nursery dresser also features a durable, nontoxic finish that's safe for children.
Average Customer Rating:
3.731 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(227 Reviews) 215
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
85
3 stars
28
2 stars
9
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation78%176 out of 227reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
85
3 stars
28
2 stars
9
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Best if put together with glue

12/05/2012
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just put together this dresser on 12/4/12. I had also bought the storkcraft bunk beds. Everything looks decent for the price, you know things are made like they were when our grand parents bought furniture. My recommendation is to take your time and to buy a quality wood glue like Tite bond and glue all seams that will not be taken apart. It adds re-enforcement. We will see how long it lasts.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

It's cute enough but cheaply made

04/04/2011
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is a visible gap between the drawer fronts/tops and the frame itself. When you view from above it doesn't show, but if you squat down to the level of a drawer you can see the gap. I've attached a picture for you to see what I mean.
Also one of the support pieces is plain wood, no stain - I suppose I can stain it later, but for now it is just unfinished wood. I've attached a picture of that too.
I'm keeping it b/c it's cute enough and will work for my son's room, but the quality is not very good.
FYI - those are substitute knobs that I already owned. The ones that come w/are dark wood.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Love it!

02/03/2010
By ,
LRAFB, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We already got the combo unit to use as our changing table and put it together last night, so tonight when we put together this dresser it was easy! I love the color... its rich and classy! The finished product is sturdy, nice looking and just what we need. I highly recommend it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish
04/07/2011
By ,
Miami Gardens, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This drawer chest comes in pieces that had to be assembled. It took about 4 hours to assemble. The good things is that all pieces (including the many, many nuts and bolts) were in the box. The bad thing is that the top drawer (the drawer with curved accent) was not cut correctly. There is a gap on the right side which make the drawer not fit plush in the opening. I was very very disappointed. If this product was in the store on the floor, I would not pay $200.00 for It.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

OK Dresser

05/03/2014
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased the Storkcraft Beatrice 5 drawer chest in cherry for our daughters room. It was relatively easy to assemble, although all the pieces and screws were a bit intimidating. The finished product looks pretty nice. although the quality is a bit suspect. The drawer bottoms are extremely thin and seem too weak to hold much other than tops and onsies. The wood also split in a few places during assembly, but it's on the inside & the back so it's not noticeable. There are also some gaps around the drawers, & the back is just two pieces of particle board. The wood also scratches very easily, which is a bummer for kids furniture. Also, Storkcraft's cherry does NOT match Graco's cherry-- it's much darker & more red. I actually don't like the color, but it will do for now. The pros are ease of assembly, the appearance of the finished product, and the roominess of the drawers .Our daughters like it a lot, so that's a plus too. Overall, it's a decent dresser for the price-- you can't expect perfection for $200.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Not too bad for the price

04/02/2008
By ,
Fort Campbell, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Again, we weren't expecting real wood when we ordered this and knew the quality would be so so. It took about 2 hours to put the dresser together. Biggest compaint....dresser pieces are not numbered. Once we got it together and stood it up it was extremely wobbly. We thought maybe we forgot to tighten something, but it's just how the dresser was made. It seems like it needs another support in the back horizontally to keep it from moving side to side. We put a small tv on top and made it not wobble as much. The laminate on one side was bubbled and a couple of the knobs hole were too big for the screws and we had to go to the hardware store and get larger screws. Also you can see into the drawers from the front. Overall we got what we paid for and was expecting things like this!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Great Purchase!

07/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've only had it for a couple of weeks, so I can't speak on durability, but it is beautiful and matches our babies' storkcraft expresso cribs perfectly. It didn't take my husband long to put it together and was easy to do so. The drawers are spacious and we were pleasantly surprised at the rich look. I would recommend this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Beautiful piece for the price!!!!

08/30/2011
By ,
Fort Riley, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this dresser in the natural color for my first baby. I love the dresser and it was exactly what I wanted, but the color is a little different than pictures. It is still natural but not as light as the online picture.The dresser is nice and tall and sturdy. The droors could of been a little deeper but aside from that it is perfect. The only con about this dresser is that the directions are horrible and it takes forever to put together. Make sure you have some time and 2 people when you attempt putting it together.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Beautiful!

12/02/2010
By ,
Yorktown, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent a lot of time looking for affordable dressers and I kept falling back on this one...I was a little worried to buy it based on some reviews, the last thing I wanted was to be disappointed with it, but I actually LOVE it! It's absolutely beautiful. It wasn't very hard to put together, although the instructions are by picture only so we had a couple of confusing areas, but overall it wasn't difficult at all.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

New but looks great

07/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just recieved this and put it together. It took about 2 hours to assemble but I wouldn't say it was difficult just lots of steps. It looks very nice. I am not sure about the durability but it will be in our newborn's room so shouldn't get much wear so I am not worried about it standing up. Can't beat the price. We got it to match the Lauren Graco Crib in Espresso and it looks great together. Would highly recommend for new parents on a budget!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish
04/07/2008
By ,
Cave City, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The color is beautiful. It is a really dark chocolate brown. Only took a couple of hours for my husband to put up. It was a little shaky when we had it on hardwood but once on carpet, it was more sturdy. I don't think this chest is made of wood, mostly plywood but that's what I expected for the cost. The drawers are nice and big. I would recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Wonderful product!

03/09/2009
By ,
Columbia , TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am absolutely in love with this dresser! I did the site to store and it arrived WAY before the expected arrival date! It was easy to put together and looks BEAUTIFUL! I did so much research trying to find the perfect dresser for my little girls nursery and Im so thankful I finally decided on this one!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Good for only appearances.

06/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The positive aspect is that this dresser is nice looking. It looks expensive. Assembly was easy.
But the good news ends there. It is 95% press board with vernier. It is wobbly, and with only gentle use, my drawers came apart and the tracks detached. There were large gaps in the frame itself. I tried to re-assemble the drawers and the frame with my jig and sunken screws but the board was too thin/weak. After 3 years and numerous repair attempts we finally left it on the curb for large trash pick up. I was able to salvage three small pieces of 2X4 REAL WOOD that were positioned as stabilizers, and the heavy board backing. This items I can reuse in my own building projects.
The only thing that might have improved the stability of the item was if I had attempted to use wood glue to enforce all the joined pieces when I did the initial assembly. Not sure if it would have worked, but it certainly is worth a try if you decide to go with this product.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

At least it LOOKS nice

02/18/2010
By ,
Louisville, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this dresser to match the "Dream on Me" toddler bed in espresso that I was also purchasing.(FYI - the bed DOES NOT match - not sure if they packaged the wrong bed but it looked MUCH more cherry colored than espresso)
The dresser was a little difficult to put together as there are no written instruction and keep in mind that you have to only insert some screws a few turns and not all the way. This is difficult with an electric drill/screwdriver.
The peices that "lock" the screws in fall out easily when you put the parts into position.
When screwing in the back cardboard (yes, I know) panels they do not fit correctly and when you screwthem in the screw pulls to the interior on the dresser, thus cracking the wood. Minor cosmetic damage only, as this wood will be inside the dresser and doesnt compromise the stability of the dresser.
Once FINALLY together it is a very very handsome peice of furniture. It also seems very sturdy now that all the peices are in place.
Pros: Very attractive, seems sturdy-This dresser is very very heavy!
Cons: Poor instruction, some interior peices don't fit correctly - making damage during construction inevitable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

its beautiful, but not for $300!

01/28/2010
By ,
Billings,MT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I guess I just expected this to be a little less flimsey then what it was... it is beautiful and it matches my graco crib (Lauren) perfectly!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

A fix for drawer problem

02/10/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this item using site to store at walmart. Box was all beat up, but once home everything inside appeared ok. Proceeded to assemble, took several hours. Not too complicated, but some of the instructions had items numbered incorrectly. Found that the holes pre-drilled for the cam bolts were too big, but hoped that it wouldn't affect the outcome. Wrong! Once all together, every drawer was falling off the tracks and not lined up. Had already gotten rid of box and didn't feel like taking apart, so we just tried to fix it by making the cam bolts bigger. We wrapped "bat tape" around the outside of the bolts (I cut strips about 3 inches long and 1/4 inch wide), leaving the space open for the anchors to be able to fit. This made the overall sturdiness of the dresser so much better, and now all drawers open and close without a problem. Huge relief that we didn't have to return it. Not very good quality, but looks pretty good now. I will be going out to buy new hardware, I don't like the wooden knobs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Baby Dresser

03/11/2010
By ,
Westerville, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The directions have no words but the pictures are pretty self explanatory, if you have an ounce of vision for putting things together.
Putting it together:
1. The finish is delicate to the touch so if you wear rings take them off to work on the dresser so you don't scratch it.
2. The pieces are mostly particle board w/ a thin piece of pine to give it the quality furniture look.
3. I would suggest using a small drill bit to guide the screws for the back and drawers before screwing the screws in. (once you get the product this will make more sense) I had trouble w/ the factory holes being to close to the edges and then as I'm screwing them in, the board would pop and I'd have to drill a new hole anyway to make sure the screw went in and held.
4. I put it together in about 2.5 hours. If my drill would have been charged... I probably could have finished it in 1.5 but I had to wait on the battery to charge back up. (if you aren't great w/ pictures w/out words... it could take you 3+ hours)
Functionality:
1. The drawers are smooth and line up well. I did have an issue with one drawer but with my drill and a few attempts at finding the right angle... it's all good now.
2. The drawers are not as deep as they look. I don't have clothes in them yet but, I'm going to assume you can't load this bad boy up w/ to much... we'll see though.
3. The top of the dresser is a large flat surface for setting things on. (not drinks or anything that might sweat though... probably will ruin the finish)
Asthetics:
1. The espresso finish is beautiful and really gives the room a rich look. As long as you don't hit the wood w/ anything and scratch it... You can really pull off a rich look for cheap! (JUST DON'T TOUCH IT!) haha.
2. We also got the matching 4 drawer one for a changing table for our baby. (but my wife and I are both over 6ft tall and we wanted the higher changing table/dresser. For those of you in the 6ft and under club... you may want to look into the 3 drawer to match up.)
Overall:
1. We like the dressers, we think they are a great addition to the room. As far as functionality they will probably last a long time but looks wise, they probably won't hold up their "rich" look for to long... But as far as growing with the kid, I think it's a good product for it's price and heck, it can always be repainted or refinished if it get's to dinged up. Which would be a fun project to do w/ your kids someday... if you're into spending quality time w/ your kids that is... hehe jk.
Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Nice!

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dresser looks very nice. Purchased for our son to match his bed. Instructions were not written step by step, but had step by step photos and was very easy for my husband and I to follow. It took us a few hours to assemble. I do wish there were three more front braces to close the half inch or less space between the drawers. It only comes with one to go between the second and third drawers. Other than that, dresser looks great, is sturdy, and is a perfect fit to complete our sons room. There were a few flat finished pieces that were not listed on the item list, and we had no idea of what they were or supposed to be used for so I kept them just incase we figured it out later.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Good dresser for the money

11/09/2011
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I are expecting our 3rd son and needed a dress for his room. This was our first Storkcraft furniture purchase but I expected around the same quality as the DaVinci pieces we have for our older boys. The negative reviews indicated difficulty with assembly and quality of craftsmanship, but for the price, that's what you get...Full assembly required and wood "products". To us, it's a "get what you pay for" kind of deal. I was surprised to find that a lot of the hardware was already installed, which wasn't my experience with DaVinci. I enjoy assembling this stuff, so my husband has always stepped aside. I assembled this piece in little time while being 8 1/2 months pregnant without any issues or frustrations. There are no written instructions, as other reviews have mentioned, but it didn't hinder my ability to complete this. All pieces arrived without damage and the dresser looks great along side our DaVinci crib. I will also mention Walmart delivered this item days earlier than anticipated, which helped satisfy my recent "nesting" issues. :-) Overall, a decent product for it's purpose and good price compared to others in the same category. Note: From past experience, I added a little wood glue to the dowels on this piece to help prolong it's life...Again, 3 boys.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Not Recomended at all. Terrible !!!
Posted 11/27/2011
I do not recommend this chest to anyone, too much $ for the quality. Takes about 2 1/2 hours to buid, the woods splits horrible easy, the knobs were striped out even before we put the screws in, the reason why I got this dresser was because of the color and the number of drawers. Before I bought this item I was looking at the reviews and I read the reviews and there was more good reviews than bad but I should of trusted the bad ones. Again, I do not recommended it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Storkcraft - Beatrice 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Love it!

06/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this dresser for our youngest child's nursery back in Feb. 2008, and it is still in perfect condition. I notice that some reviewers complained about the assembly process and said it isn't sturdy, but I think they put it together wrong, because two and a half years later, ours is as solid as the day we put it together. We just bought another one for our 4 year old. All in all, as long as you take your time with it and do it right this dresser will last a long time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 216 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next