Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Storkcraft Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Storkcraft Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Style and durability that will last way beyond the baby years. This Espresso-colored Storkcraft dresser provides ample storage for the nursery and the kids' room. All five drawers in the espresso nursery dresser come with a smooth metal glide system. This chest also features a beautiful, nontoxic finish that's safe for children.
Average Customer Rating:
3.703 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
37
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation72%92 out of 128reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
37
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Great for Price

08/09/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was unsure about this product based on some reviews. I am so happy I purchased it though. It is a great product. All of my friends think I purchased it at an expensive boutique and my husband likes it better than the more expensive set we bought for our daughter. If you look closely you can tell the quality is not the best of best, but you should realize that when you are paying such a great price. I can't say enough how pleased we are with how greatly the quality is for the price.
It did take a long time for my husband to put together. All the parts were there and the dresser works like intended. We bought the combo for a changing table, so unsure about the pad fitting the top. We love the combo and the aspen bed as well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 2 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Buying this Dresser is a Gamble

03/01/2011
By ,
FT Campbell, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I think my title says it all. After reading good and bad reviews I decided to go ahead and try this dresser anyway.
First of all it took a long time to get from site to store, almost a month...which isn't part of my review score..just fyi :)
If you have never assemble pre-fab funiture before, DON'T buy this! There are TONS of pieces! If you have (which I have and wasn't scared of all of the pieces) but the directions were terrible! To make it even worse NONE of my parts were labled! I pushed through it by looking at pictures and common sense. I finally get the dresser assembled and move on to the drawers and find out that ALL of my drawers are in cherry finish!!! I ordered (and the rest of my dresser is in expresso finish). After being frustrated, I called the maufacturer and they are rude and don't want to help. They finally offer to send me just the front of the dresser drawers in expresso...I dont' want just the fronts...I want the front, sides and bottoms, after all that's what I paid for!
Anyway...hence why this dresser is a gamble! IF you manage to get an all one color dresser or a dresser with all of the parts...it is pretty once assembled.
I would also say that you get what you pay for...As this is not "cheap" quality..it certainly isn't great quality...I would estimate it to last through baby...maybe toddler years if it's not moved around too much.
Hope this helps :) I have attached pics, so you can see my two different colored dresser LOL...and so that you can see it is decent when put together.
Oh yeah, it isn't as tall as I thought it would be either...so if you are wanting a taller dresser, this is not it! It is about 4 1/2 feet tall.
I personally wouldn't buy another one :(
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 3 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Gorgeous...if you can get it together!

04/08/2009
By ,
Panama City Beach, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the entire aspen line for our nursery. So far we've only gotten the changing table, glider, and this dresser put together, I'm dreading the crib tomorrow! This dresser looks amazing once it is put together, it's a little bit wider than I expected, the whole aspen line has proven to be very bulky but in a good way. The directions weren't very clear at all, and as others have stated in previous reviews, one page in the directions was for a different unit all together. My dad and I were putting this together while my husband was at work and it took us just over 4 hours. We ended up just eyeing the pieces to see where they went. There was even one part of the instructions that called for a part that didn't even go to our dresser. All the parts are numbered in the book, but only 6 of them had number stickers on them, and they would call the same piece by more than one number in the book. I like to think I'm pretty handy even being 7.5 months pregnant, but this dresser definitely takes some patience! It is made of pretty good quality material (possibly even some REAL wood lol) and the deep espresso is gorgeous. I think this will last us many years, so it was worth the hassle!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Great dresser!!!

06/06/2010
By ,
Encino, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some other reviews I was worried that this would be very difficult to assemble. However, this wasn't hard to put together, it was just very TIME CONSUMING. It's a beautiful dresser and holds lots of clothes. The height is perfect, not too short and not too tall. I LOVE the color - its a perfect espresso (not too red/cherry). We purchased the entire Aspen bedroom set in espresso and we couldn't be more satisfied, especially for the price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Review 5 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Nice dresser

08/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The dresser looks really nice and has a deep rich color. The drawers are shallow but I was able to fit alot of little clothes in there. I didn't realize the wood would scratch as easily as it did. Hubby scratched the top pretty bad moving piggy banks around. It took hubby about 2 hours to put the dresser together.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Great for the Price!

04/11/2012
By ,
Evans, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dresser, easy to put together, great for the price!
Highly Recommend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Poor Quality

11/01/2011
By ,
Hampton, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I order this item online and it was delivered this morning, I have been considering to keep it to avoid the hassle of bringing it to the store, at first I liked they way it was looking, then I start getting upset while putting it together because of poor construction and materials durability and solidness. Then another thing made me to consider to return it, this time was that when it was almost put together, I was missing like 5 screws for the drawers handlers. After I was almost convinced to call the warehouse to get shipped the missing screws, I put the drawers in place and they looked misaligned. So finally I'm totally upset and I'm returning this item tomorrow.
If you are trying to buy this item, I recomend you to not do it. I recomend you to spend your money on a recognized brand, it will be worthy to spend maybe $20 extra but it will be worthy because the reason it might cost you more is because the company care about their product quality to keep their reputation to maintain selling their products.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Check the parts

11/30/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We ordered this item along with the Storkcraft bed and glider. The dresser is a true espresso color and matches well. The downfall was that it was missing essential parts. We had to wait until a weekday to call and order the parts from Canada. It took an additional 7 days to arrive. The part that they sent goes on the back of the dresser, but it wasn't stained. You can't see it if the dresser is against the wall, but beware if you are missing parts and you have to order them, make sure they are stained to match as well. The dresser took about 2 hours for my husband to put together and he kept saying that the directions were not good at all. Also, it is a little shorter than I was expecting, no big deal, but just to note. Overall, I like it because it matches the other furniture, but it isn't the best dresser (drawers are shallow).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+5points
Review 9 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Beautiful! Love it!

03/26/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some of the reviews on this dresser, I was a little skeptical but decided to give it a shot as I just loved the look of this dresser.
I am so glad we did!! Yes, it took just over 3 hours to put it together with myself and my husband; and yes the directions were just pictures no words. But, it was relatively easy to put together, just time consuming. You have to put together each drawer from scratch and there are five of them! As for the directions, it was overwhelming at first but once you looked at them close, it was really very easy.
There aren't all that many parts.
A big plus is the quality of the materials! It is an extremely sturdy and well made dresser. The drawer bottoms aren't as strong as I would have thought at first glance, but once they are anchored in by the drawer sides, nothing is going to go through them. Other reviews say the drawers were wobbly and poorly designed. I have to completely disagree. I did use a little wood glue on the dowels that I had at home for extra support but as long as you put them together correctly and take your time, they are very strong and sturdy. They glide perfectly.
The drawers are a little bit more shallow than I would have liked, but after comparing with many, many other dressers out there I came to the conclusion that you either go for a 4 drawer dresser with deeper drawers or a 5 drawer dresser with shallower drawers. The height of the dresser is about the same as most of them out there. Again, we chose this one because it's just so pretty!
As for the color, our dresser matches the storkcraft changing table we bought perfectly. Both items are a little darker than we were expecting (our living room furniture is a much lighter espresso color) but it's a beautiful finish.
We did not have any missing parts or scratches. The wood does not seem soft or able to scratch easily. I guess time will tell, but I did bump things together a few times in my clumsy state and nothing was scratched.
Another thing that I haven't read about in any reviews is that there are three support pieces inside the dresser to make it more sturdy. That was a nice surprise. I really do think this dresser will last a looooonnnnngggg time! Those who have had problems I really think it's due to their own errors in putting it together.
Absolutely worth the money! And one of the cheaper dressers we found anywhere! We are extremely satisfied with our purchase.
Hope this helps :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 10 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Great attractive dresser at a great price

06/21/2011
By ,
Washington, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this dresser for my Parker DaVinci crib and changing table set, hoping to match. It's quite a bit darker, but it is a true espresso (a very dark brown) and the DaVinci set is not. The DaVinci dresser was junk and very plain and cheap looking (and $100 more), and this Storkcraft one is much more attractive. When I got it I was surprised that it's all wood, just the drawer bottoms (and the back) are that cardboard-type material painted to match. The dresser drawers are cheaper wood but who cares, no one sees the inside, and they aren't lightweight. It's bigger than I pictured too--the pictures online made it look tall and narrow but it's not narrow at all, it's actually quite wide. It looks fabulous and even though it's darker than the rest of the set, it looks great even in a small room just a few feet from the crib. Oh, and the picture-only directions are sooooo much easier for assembly!! I was going to just get it all out of the box and ready for hubby to help but had it done by the time he got home from work it was so easy (time consuming, but very easy).
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Pleasantly Surprised

06/06/2013
By ,
Altoona, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this dresser online and chose the site to store option to prevent receiving a damaged shipment to my house ( has happened before). The dresser was well packaged, there were no scratches or dents in the dresser. The package weighed approx 97lbs- not something you want to hauling back and forth to Walmart, hence my choice to have it delivered to the store to prevent shipment damage. A negative to this dresser is the time for assembly, set aside 2-3hrs to put this together! All five drawers need to be assembled. The drawers are much more shallow than I had anticipated and the bottom of the drawers are a bit flimsy. The overall quality of this dresser is great, the majority of the frame and front of drawers appear to be made of solid wood. I wish the large screws weren't exposed and came with a means to cover them, but other than that I really like this dresser.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Extremely bad shape, hard to read instructions

04/14/2010
By ,
White House, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I originally did a lot of searching for a dresser for my lil' one due in July, came across this dresser and fell in love with it. After reading through the various reviews, despite the VERY mixed reviews, I decided to purchase it. I can say the best part of the purchase was the quick delivery. That is about the only good thing I have to say. The instructions were hard to read, none of the pieces were labeled for quick installation, and many many many MANY pieces were damaged. My mother and I worked for 3 hours on this product to get it all together. I would have not gone that far, except that I had company coming in from out of town and needed somewhere to put the various baby items purchased so far...
EVERY drawer had something wrong with it, whether it be nicks, scratches, dents, or paper peeling. There were various other pieces with damage, including scuff marks, scratches, peeling, splintered wood, etc. The drawers did not have the proper holes drilled--which made the tracks not set properly.
I could literally go on and on about all of the problems with this product. I will suffice in saying that I DO NOT recommend this product. While the style was exactly what I was looking for, in a price that was reasonable, I cannot say that it was worth it. I eventually called the manufacturer, and was told to bring the entire thing back to Walmart, because there were too many issues for them to send replacement parts.
I've gotten my money back from the local Walmart, who was very helpful in taking it back, despite the fact that it was no longer in original packaging and was assembled....
I now have to look for another dresser! Any ideas? :)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 13 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

beautiful

04/20/2013
By ,
eville,pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had originally ordered my nursery furniture from graco in espresso only to be disappointed. the color was more red(I returned and reordered several pieces thinking maybe they had boxed it wrong) after weeks of lugging stuff back and forth to the store we called to find they (graco) had a problem with the dye but found the red tint to be acceptable~someone should get glasses! so we changed brands and I gotta say I am SUPER HAPPY we did! storkcraft has a beautiful shade of espresso. we bought aspen dressers and the Carrera crib and it all matches perfectly! assembly is time consuming, but end result is well worth it. Can't wait to bring my little guy home to sleep in his perfect room
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Save your money and time!

08/01/2009
By ,
Detroit, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this dresser solely because it matched my crib (which is very sturdy and wonderful). This dresser is not made out of the same sturdy wood as the crib - it is flimsy and cardboard-like. My mother and I spent FOUR hours building this crib... only to pick it up and move it 6 inches to the left... and it fell apart into the million pieces that it originally came as. And yes, there are a million pieces - and the instuction book that came with this dresser had instructions from the changing table/dresser just randomly mixed in with it as well - so while we were building it, we were looking for pieces 8, 9, and 11 - and they didn't exist because they were the wrong building instructions! So, I gave this dresser a second attempt to build it - and the sides of the dresser do not go in far enough for the drawers to go it. Waste of time and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Complicated

02/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We received our product. Upon opening the item we found 3-4 damaged parts (drawers with holes through the bottom, scratched part). We called the company and they said they would send replacements by FedEx. As we began trying to put the time together more problems began. The booklet showed outline drawings of the items indivdually and as they are put together. In the drawings the items were numbered. Sometimes a part might have a different number on another page. You could not tell from the booklet what finish the part was. The parts in our box that we received only had 4 parts numbered. The rest we had to try to guess based on where they would fit and what finish would be on the outside of the item. We also found 2 more parts that were damaged (holes drilled all the way through, more scratched parts) and called to report them and request replacements. The request went through with no problems. When we called the the 2nd time we were told it would take 3-4 weeks for us to recieve the products. It has been over 3 weeks now since we requested the first parts and still nothing has been received. Have had the item over 3 weeks and still unable to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

READ NO FURTHER GREAT DRESSER!!

10/29/2012
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK so usually I dont leave reviews, in fact I have never left a review on a product I have bought. Howerver, after searching around for quite some time for a dresser and crib for my upcomming boy I just had to leave one for this storkcraft dresser. Me and my wife absolutely love everything about it!! I read all the comments on this product plus all the other products as well. This is all you need to know and dont need to read any further reviews. This dresser does take about 2 hours to put together and the 5 drawers probably take the longest. Their is not a lot of pieces, actually about 30 plus screws and locks. If you have ever put anything together, instead of buying products that are already put together in the furniture store than it is not bad. Storkcraft has apparently done a better job labeling a few pieces to make it easier for you and the directions are easy explaining the process. One thing that they didnt expain was to screw the track roller torwards the front of dressor drawer, but that was easy to figure out. Hope this helps everyone out and you love it as much as I did! I bought the storkcraft portifino expresso crib as well and will be leaving a review when it comes in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Storkcraft Aspen Dresser - Espresso

01/28/2012
By ,
Geneva, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this 5-drawer dresser for my dear friends' daughter and son-in-law and their new baby boy. This is an extremely rich dark wood dresser. The color is accurate--espresso. The edges and design are classic and charming. It gives you the impression of being a heavy expensive dark wood dresser, but it was really really inexpensive. I saw it on other sites for $100-$200 more. Walmart had the best price.
The dress has a matching crib, a 3-drawer dresser, and a changing table all sold separately. Walmart also had the best price on those items too. I ordered them all online because they only had small models in just a few stores. Call before you go make the trip to the store. Not all Walmart stores carry nursery furniture.
Her daughter has very good taste. Her colors are chocolate and baby boy blue. The nursery looks absolutely delightful. I also bought them the other three major pieces (3-draw dresser, crib, & mattress). The crib converts to a twin bed as the child grows.
My friends love the nursery and they tell me their daughter and son-in-law are both ecstatic about the new nursery. I am just so very happy for them! They have the most beautiful baby boy, and teenage daughter.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Nice for price, but a few gripes

06/11/2009
By ,
McKee, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This piece is not nearly as nice as the matching three drawer combo offered. Both look lovely as finished products, and both required complete assembly, but the quality is not as nice in this product. All the drawers and panals are not stained on the inside as the 3-drawer combo is. You can see some of this unfinished wood, but only if you really look for it. I am picky about my purchases. The bottom drawer keeps falling partially out of the railing on one side, so it does not hang straight unless I pick this side back up and into the rail. I put the least often needed items in this drawer so I won't have to use it and be aggrevated as much. It is a sturdy peice and does look nice with the matching 3-drawer combo and crib. I just wish it were as nicely constructed as the other pieces.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Nice dresser

04/01/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NM
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall it is a nice dresser but in the shipping process from the boards rubbing on eachother they got scratched. The drawer sliders were cheap so i put better ones and now its perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Blends in perfectly with Graco Lauren Crib

07/23/2011
By ,
Irving, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I order this dresser about 2 weeks ago because we never ordered a dresser for our now 9 month old daughter. We actually have the Graco-Lauren Crib that we purchased last year from Wal-mart. Since my daughter is growing fast we needed some additional space to put away all of her clothes. I was hesitant to order this dresser because I didnt know if it would match the Graco Lauren crib I have and from other reviews that it wasnt sturdy and not worth the money. I took the chance and ordered the dresser and I am truely happy that I did. For the price the diresser is WELL WORTH IT. It was by for the cheapest at walmart versus buying the same product from Babies R us, and targert for $20+ more. It took my husband about 3-4 hours with taking breaks in between to assemble the dresser. Directions are given by showing pictures only but if you follow it step by step the dresser Looks absolutely AMAZING. Its durable and meets our expectations. The drawers are not deep but its sizable to put clothing in. My daughter's room is just that more beautiful now with this dresser. There were no scratches and all of its parts were dere that we needed to put this dresser together. SO IN LOVE. If you are considering the dresser then dont hesitate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next