Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

Brother Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

The Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine that allows you to stitch your favorite items is a must for every household. This computerized sewing machine is simple to operate and helps you sew free forms or traditional quilts. It also has a wide variety of integrated utilities and decorative and heirloom stitches that allow you to stitch in various styles. In addition to a one-step auto-size buttonholer with stitch balance control, this electronic sewing machine has a handy drop-in bobbin that gives you a clear view of thread supply. You will find that the sewing surface is easily changeable from a traditional flat bed to free arm for sewing cuffs and sleeves. With a built-in light is specially created to light up the sewing area, you will have no difficulty going ahead with your task even when the lighting is not proper. To top it all, this Brother sewing machine also has a quick change presser feet and electronic speed control that gives you great flexibility.
Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation90%63 out of 70reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 59 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

Easy to use :)

12/19/2012
By ,
Scottsboro,Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a brother sewing machine and used it for 17 yrs and when it went bad i decided to stick with the brother brand since i know they last for a long time. I choose to buy Brother XL3750 I like that it comes with the flat table attachment, the drop in bobbin is so simple to use and it is also easy to thread.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

Great for all levels of sewers!

11/21/2010
By ,
Fallbrook, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought me this machine for my birthday in July of 2010. I am a self-taught sewer and quilter, and this machine was a GREAT way to learn. With so many stitch functions and awesome features, it's been a fun journey! The manual is very helpful, well-written in both English and Spanish. The Brother XL-3750 is great for beginners and more experienced sewers! Every birthday, holiday or special occasion, I've made gifts for family and friends with great responses! I have really enjoyed my machine and will continue to use it every day!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

Perfect for advanced beginners and intermediates!

01/11/2013
By ,
Vacaville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Brother sewing machine, and I absolutely love it. I learned to sew on my first machine, but I found that I needed more functions and options as my skill level increased. This was the perfect choice for me. It has more functions than a basic machine, but it's not overly complicated (I'm still learning!).
I've already sewn a dress, an apron, and a shirt on this machine. The bobbin compartment sits just below the needle and is covered by a clear door. I like this feature because I can tell when I'll need to refill the bobbin. It also has several different stitching styles at different lengths and widths. Compared to my last machine, this one has no tension issues (I think it adjusts automatically!). Switching threads is VERY easy and quick. Also, this machine includes an extra-long shelf attachment for larger projects (it totally comes in handy!).
For someone with expert skills, this machine may be too basic ... but for advanced beginners and intermediates, I think this machine is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

Faulty

03/30/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Like many other reviews, the machine worked well during the break-in period but it seemed a little louder than expected. It made a noticeable hammering sound that made it impossible to use while people were sleeping (shift work). I figured it was normal for this model. I also noticed that the pedal was lacking in an acceptable sensitivity. Lightly pressing on it did nothing and it would go from no speed to slightly faster than expected. The bobbin winder was also a bit on the stiff side and seemed to require force to push it over to activate it.
The next day, I wound up with the tension problems that others have complained about. I researched as much as I could before I bought the machine and figured I'd take my chances. I even back-tracked and followed all the advice to no avail. I concluded that the machine must have been faulty and took it back. I would have simply exchanged it under normal circumstances but given the number of reviews that were too similar, I decided to go with something different altogether.
Overall, this model simply struck me as poorly constructed and not worth a second chance. Gave it 3 stars due to the balance of the pros and cons
Pros:
Features and accessories
Light-weight
Simple to use and easy to thread
Price
Cons:
No manual tension settings and faulty automatic tension adjustments
Noisy
Unacceptable pedal sensitivity
Terribly designed holding tray (no drawer or pocket inside to securely store parts)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

Brother XL3750

07/09/2008
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking around online extensively I purchased this sewing machine. I needed a basic machine with not too many features but not the most basic machine...somewhere in the middle. I really like this machine. It is user friendly for a person who isnt a pro sewer. It was easy to thread, the needle even threads itself!! Bobbins are easy to wind, stitches are easy to change. The added arm for wider projects is a bonus too. I am very pleased with this sewing machine & am glad I purchased it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

Excellent Machine for the Price

06/19/2011
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this machine after many hours of searching the internet and reading reviews. I was looking for something to replace my overused worn out machine. I settled on this particular machine vs the next lower model because it came with the "quilting table". I don't quilt, but I've used the table many times already. I'm glad I decided to "spring" for the quilting table. I read a few concerns about self threading needles, but it turns out if you read the instructions it works easily and perfectly everytime. The stitch is consistantly good, it even sews many layers without a problem. I can't say enough about how happy I am with this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

Wonderful!!

09/12/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this sewing machine for me and I just made my first quilt with it. Never had a problem. Sews beautiful. I am very pleased with the performance of this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

Just what we were looking for

02/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine for my 8 year-old daughter who was asking for a sewing machine and who had just taken a sewing class. Originally she got a $40 small Singer but after the class we realized she could handle the regular sized machines and would work a lot better not to mention be sturdier. This machine does everything it says it can except thread the needle but we haven't tried too hard to figure that one out. Initially we had some problems with tension but after reading other reviews on Amazon on how to solve this problem then the problem is solved in just a few seconds. Basically be sure to insert bobbin in correct direction and thread/pull/hold the thread correctly and tight. I played around with the settings and since I hadn't used a machine in many years, I had a lot to read and figure out. I've written down what works for us. Also what helped was to write in pencil on the machine what each of the adjustments is (tension, length, and width). This really should be printed on the machine so that is my only complaint about the machine. My daughter loves trying out all of the stitches and has made 2 pillowcases so far. She sits down whenever she feels like it and plays around with it. I'm happy because now I have a machine to use too. No more mending by hand. Also, I bought this machine vs. a lower priced one because it has the extra bonus attachments and I figured if we needed even 2 of those, it would cost us the difference if you included shipping so why not get it to start with. I like that it is all white vs. the pink one we were thinking of getting. I don't think I'd want to look at bright pink for years to come. I have to mention too that ordering from Walmart was a great experience. It came faster than Amazon and even came a day earlier than the earliest estimated date. I had it shipped to my house although I could have had it shipped to the store for free. Well, I'm a casual user but I hope that this review has helped someone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

So you want to sew

12/22/2007
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchas this sewing maching because it had a lot of features I thought would make sewing easier. I did not have a good experience this model. After using it I put it in the case ans set ot on the floor, and when I went to use it again it was like some gremlin had gone in and changed all the settings. I could not get it to sew just a straight stitch no matter what I did. It would sew a beautiful stitch for about 3 or 4 inches them it would go crazy like it was out of gear and I was left to rip out the seam and start over. After 2 hours of this I gave up and took it back and got a different make and model. Would I reccomend this sewing maching? In a word NO! I have been sewing for 30+ years and have never had a maching act like this one did. Happy sewing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

ok for thin fabric

01/23/2009
By ,
pittsburgh, pa.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this sewing machine as a upgrade sewing machine. I have a brother XL5370. I liked all the different stitches this machine has.
but I had problems with the zigzag stitch on medium weight fabric (2 thin layers of flannel). It would skip stitches when I tried to sew on velcro to a layer of cotton fabric.
All the other stitches worked great. but I need the zigzag stitch to work.
I returned this machine. and will just use my work horse brother (brother XL5370).
this is a good machine for someone who ONLY sews with thin fabric.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

WOW What a Dream

07/02/2010
By ,
Bastrop, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this sewing machine as a gift from one of my daughters. And I have had it one week and have all ready put together two and a half quilt tops. I have owned several sewing machines in the last 50 years and this is the best. I wish I had had this as I was raising 6 daughters and two sons. It sews like a dream. I can't say enough about it and can't thank my daughter enough. This is a very special gift for no reason at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

I love this little machine.

03/04/2014
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have really enjoyed learning to sew on this machine. It's easily portable, simple to thread, the drop-in bobbin loads quickly, and the needle threader is very handy. The light could definitely be brighter. I have to use an additional desk lamp pointed toward my work. There are enough stitches to do the kind of basic sewing that I do; since I just learned this year, I don't do anything fancy yet. I've made a few small quilts and baby bibs. I keep my machine set up, with a cover on, so that I can mend things anytime. It has handled materials from quilting weight cotton to denim for me with no problems. I do always test my stitch on scrap first because I am inexperienced at setting the tension and such, but so far every snag I've met has been a threading step I knew but forgot to do. (It's right there on the diagram, I just get in a hurry.) Would definitely recommend this for a beginner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

JUNK!!

01/19/2013
By ,
Wellsboro, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After researching sewing machines for several weeks, I finally decided to buy this machine due to the range of functions and affordable price. I don't do a whole lot of sewing, just a few simple projects here and there and the occasional quilt top (I don't do the actual quilting) so this machine seemed like the best choice for me. I was WRONG. Many reviews talked about the machine jamming, even with the jam resistance. I figured I'd give it a try anyway. I can't sew anything on it. I read the instructions from front to back. I read the troubleshooting guide (no help for jamming). I re-threaded the top thread and re-did the bottom bobbin. Nothing helped. Straight stitch, zigzag stitch...still jammed. Returned it within several hours of opening the box. Do NOT waste your money on this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

What I wanted, what I got.

09/15/2010
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Going back to sewing after years away. I researched many products and decided on this one. It is exactly what it says it is! A bit noisy, you must read the manual to get it right, but I am very happy with it. Who needs 75 different stitches? I just need a work horse and got one. BTW, I write in pencil and add arrows all over the machine until I figure it out....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

A M A T E U R

11/01/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a beginner. I purchased this model after taking Sewing classes. It's pretty easy to use. Easy to thread the single needle (double takes a bit more patience). Simple and straigt to the point...
Con: the dial to switch your thread pattern takes some getting use to. Other than that, I have no complaints...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

Great machine!

06/28/2011
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My only issue with this machine (and it's MY issue, not the machine) is threading the needle. My close vision is not good and even with corrective lenses I can not see the hole in the needle. The needle threader has to be positioned just right to work and it takes me some time to get the needle threaded. I sure wish this was easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

A winter coat this year

01/23/2009
By ,
Philadelphia, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every year I can't seem to go out to buy a winter coat so I decided to buy a sewing machine from the famous Walmart.com Stores. I purchased this Brothers' Sewing Machine, and I can say that this machine was terrific in helping me complete a fancy decorative winter coat this year that I will wear and keep at least for two years. Thank you! Walmart. P.S. This Sewing Machine arrived also on the First day of the stated time frame. Thanks again!!! P.S.S. Also I enrolled in a sewing course that will help me to make more extravagant garments while learning about sewing machines and all their everyday uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

Not a quilters machine

03/25/2009
By ,
Carol Stream, Il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had this machine for about 2-3 weeks now. I have made a baby quilt on it from start to finish. It's an excellent sewing machine but not a quilter's sewing machine. There is NOT enough throat space. I could barely get half the quilt under it to do some free motion quilting. Would I buy this machine again? Yes, just because of the price. I will have to learn the quilt as you go technique or try stitch in the ditch. (I have not tried any other stitch function other than straight stich).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

Just What I Needed

09/02/2010
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was desperate when my sewing machine died in the middle of a project and when looking in stores I didn't like what I saw. I did some searching on-line and took a chance. This machine came quickly and I LOVE it! It is easy to use and I love the needle threader and extra attachments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother XL3750 Convertible Free Arm Sewing Machine

Great sewing machine

02/11/2014
By ,
northern NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this machine to be a great bargain, and it sets up like a breeze. Much of the machine was similar to my ancient Singer that I just discarded. Having sewn for my whole life I was happy to find the placement of things on the machine almost in the same spot I was accustomed to. It's lightweight to lift and carry. Highly recommend this machine. And the tension was spot on right out of the box!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1 2 3 Next