Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Wahl WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Wahl WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

The WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit comes with everything you need for cutting and trimming any type of hair. This 27-piece kit features a PowerDrive cutting system, Wahl Hair Clippers, and exclusive accessories. Featuring an ergonomic design and soft grip, this trimmer is easy to handle at any angle. With a premium DuraChrome finish, it is extremely durable and always in style. This electric trimmer has a contoured shape and precision edged, self sharpening blade, which offers smooth and clean touch ups. This electric trimmer kit features a thumb-adjustable taper control that allows multiple cutting lengths with a single flip of the lever. The convenient soft storage case stores all its accessories making it easy to carry with you wherever you go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
44
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation95%160 out of 168reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
44
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Sub par accessories

11/18/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The clipper seemed to be of durable quality. However, when I opened up the accessory pouch, most of the accessories were warped, bent, and contorted. They are made of a cheap plastic that is easily bent. The teeth of the guides were bent in a way that they could not be used to give an even cut. I did not even waste my time using this product. The "cape" was nothing more than a cheap poncho without the hood. I promptly returned it to the box and to the store for a full refund.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sterling, Illinois
Accessory Pack
Posted 05/23/2012
Sorry you had a problem with the accessories that came with your Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Trimmer Kit. We want to earn your business. Please contact customer service if you have any issues with future purchases.
1800 735-9245
Wahl Custome Service
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Plastic

08/19/2011
By ,
colorado springs, co
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We had it just over a year and now it is done the plastic on the back should have been a hint that this wasn't going to last. I noticed this morning that it is making a terrible noise the techie I am took it apart a boom it was right there the two metal prongs that move the bottom blade is out of the hole and isn't able to stay in it's place while in use so the blades rattle together and make it very loud. So the problem really is if it were metal where the prongs went into it wouldn't be so bad but since it is plastic it worn it down. For $35 I maybe expected too much but we have the more expensive Wahl the giant yellow one and it lasted years no longer works now so off it goes too. Though while it lasted this Wahl was great chargeable packed away for easy travel. I'm sure though that others may last longer that mine just might have been messed up to have caused this now. I would still buy it again just for the fact that it was easy to use and hung in there over a year.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 3 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Professional Power And More

12/02/2008
By ,
Huntsville, Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to cut my own hair many years ago. After a 20 year absence and thousands in Barber/Stylist bills I decided to go back to self-haircuts because I can keep hair at the exact length I like (somewhat short). I was suprised at the quality and ease of use and pleased by the large selction of combs even though I generally use only 3.
This is a professional quality clipper with the precision and power to cut any type of hair quickly and accurately. If you read other reviews you know the "cape" is junk and not worth using but everything else is a keeper.
This is a large, powerful clipper. If you have very small hands you may find it a little difficult to hold and the cord could be a few feet longer but all in all, it's a very good clipper and a good value. Remember, keep it oiled!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Review 4 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Wahl products are better than most

10/27/2008
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item (1 of many purchased throughout the years) has it's good qualities and bad ones too. On the positive side the clipper itself is well made and lasts a good amount of time. I had accidently dropped it 3 times total during its lifetime and continues to work. Negative side: the clipper is very heavy (why I dropped it). FYI: One needs to keep up, and not miss any kind of maintenance when it comes to this product if you want it to last. I have owned this product for almost 2yrs and have used it every 2-4 weeks since purchased. It is finally just starting to lose it's sharpness for the blade. And, after the last two times used it has started to "act up" with the blade's ability to stay in line with the base no matter how much I try to keep it aligned. Overall, it is well worth the money, but if you have small hands you may want to go with a smaller version of a Wahl product that will fit better for your grip.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 5 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Very Smooth

09/17/2009
By ,
Dallas, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband previously owned a remington and it kept snagging his hair. He almost has wires for hair and this razor is the smoothest and easiest razor I have ever used on him.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
+24points
Review 6 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Don't Worry It's Will Grow Back

08/02/2009
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought this clipper kit after growing tired of paying the prices for flat top haircuts at upscale salons. I finally gathered my nerve and had my 19 year old son cut my hair, first time was really not too bad, second time we started to experiment with the comb sizes. My advise is start longer and then shorten as needed, my son started kind of laughing and then ask me if I was sure I wanted it that short...I said sure..... the end result through no fault of his was a haircut a Marine Corp barber would have been proud of in 1968 having experienced that thrill. All in all a great product, easy to use, great set of directions and just remember above all it will grow back even if it is a little short. Every time you use it keeps money in your pocket and three times pays for it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 7 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Great clippers for the price

07/17/2008
By ,
Catonsville, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The clippers were easy to use and when I finished cutting my husband's hair for the first time with them my husband told me he wanted me to give him that haircut for the rest of his life. He has never been happy with any haircut he's been given. He has thick, curly hair so it's hard to cut and hard to figure out how to cut. Plus he's just hard to please. But I just followed the directions in the instructions and it was very simple and turned out well.
My only complaint about the set is that they didn't create anything to put all the attachments in. There are great pockets for all the combs, oil, mirror, etc. that came with it but all the attachments just have to float free inside the carrying case and it just seems messy and unnecessary. Other than that, I like that they gave so many combs, a mirror and the oil and I love the soft carrying case. It's easier to pack in a suitcase than the hard cases. The cloak didn't work well for us so we threw it away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 8 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Good Purchase

01/22/2011
By ,
Central IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After using this product for two cuttings -
Cons: The chrome is cheap plastic. Probably would be good for a business to make it look like you spent a lot on them...until it is dropped and the chrome paint chips off. The small trimmer is worse made than a cheap beard trimmer, isn't rechargeable (requires an AA battery not included), and is not worth the extra price paid to get this set. The small trimmer does not come with guides or an adjustable guide that would be good to trim beards. The guides for the clipper are hard to click on. Hopefully they won't break easily.
However, the Pros: The clipper glides through hair very easily once you get the guides on. There's a good variety of clipper sizes to blend your hair well. The plastic (vs real chrome) probably lightens the clippers up for easier handling. The instructions help out alot for beginners. The fabric case zips up all the pieces for easy storage. Overall, a little better than average purchase.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 9 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

good product

08/14/2007
By ,
Henderson, nv.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the best pair iv'e owned so far iv'e only used them twice so thats why i only give it a 4 on durability even though they almost paid for there self.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Review 10 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Must be REALLY good if he said all this

06/05/2011
By ,
Baltimore,MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I researched and bought this kit after tiring of hearing my 2 year old cry in the bathroom while his dad cut his hair with some 15 year old clippers. I asked my not-so-talky husband to review after using it 3 times, and typed in his words: "The clippers are fine--no, ok, great. I enjoyed using them to cut [our son's] hair. That blade is really sharp, so it'll take some adjusting. Nice accessories. Nice packaging. How much did you pay for them? Oh, well that's a good price, because you could pay that for just one, without all that stuff in the kit. Ok, so, yeah whatever."
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 11 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Quality assurance is not what it used to be.

03/28/2011
By ,
Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Can't really say anything bad about the wired clippers, they seem to work very well, but the smaller battery operated trimmer doesn't work at all. I tried three new batteries,(it uses 1 AA) still nothing. It sort of bothers me that a product of this nature could get off a production line & leave a manufacturing facility without being tested in some manner. Think back boys & girls; years ago things like this were not tolerated. Now it's in my hands. I've used Wahl products well over 40 years but I'll think twice before buying another one.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sterling IL
Posted 06/07/2012
Sorry you experienced an issue with your Wahl product. We want to earn your business. Please contact our Customer Service Center at 1-800-767-9245 and let them know what product you have and what the issues are and they will help you. Since I am the Social Media Representative, I am not in Customer Service so the person that answers the 800 # is better equipped to resolve any issues quickly.
Thank you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

professional quality

07/18/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First hair cut kit bought, very satisfied. Motor is very powerful, quiet, similar to the barber's.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 13 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Works great

12/08/2009
By ,
Longswamp, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great although I had a tough time trying to convince my wife to cut my hair for me. I told her to just do it because it wouldn't be any worse then if I did myself. She did and did just as good a job as the holiday hair people do. I like to keep it short and use number 4 to have her cut it and it looks great.
This is going to save me a ton of money between the cost of getting my hair cut and the time and gas to get there it will have paid for it self in 2 cuttings. From then on its all free and clear.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 14 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Worked well while it lasted

07/19/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this set and within two uses the motor seemed to have quit on us. I was in the middle of cutting my boyfriends hair for the second time with it, and it completely stopped running as if the power had gone out. I pulled out our backup set of clippers, and never unplugged this set. About ten minutes later this set turned itself on while sitting on the counter. Since that day, whenever we use it they only last about 5-7 minutes and then dies. I wish this wasn't the case, considering they work much better than our backup set.
On the other hand, the compact trimmer works very well, I use it every time I cut my boyfriends hair for his neckline and sideburns.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 15 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Pleased with purchase

03/26/2009
By ,
Checotah, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
POSITIVE: We are a 2 haircut household. We spent $15 plus tip per haircut at the local Wal-mart salon regularly. The hair cutting instructions included with the kit were easy to understand and follow. After my first cut from this product, I am pleased that I have made this purchase. Getting my hair cut at home will save me $160/yr. Site-to-Store arrived in 4 days. Pick up at store was a pleasant experience.
NEGATIVES: Battery operated trimmers feel flimsy after using clippers. Clippers are powerful enough to cause discomfort to user who suffered from a carpal tunnel injury and has had surgery for that ailment. User needed to rest 1 hour between hair cuts.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 16 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

not what I expected

04/17/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the set thinking that I would get a good deal for good pair of clippers. the big clippers worked excellent, but the smaller trimmer is horrible. the smaller trimmer is battery use and the battery dies before I m able to finish a whole head. and it doesnt cut well. If I would of known that the trimmer was less than great, I would of just bought the larger and small clippers seperately.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

The Best Hair Kit for the money

05/25/2011
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got a set of Clipper that i had for 12 years but now they are old work some time they are a set of WAHL. So I got this set of clipper's and I was happy I cut my hair myself I been doing my hair for 20years now with the new set I can do a good job for the money. you need a good set of clipper's buy this set
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 18 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Good

06/18/2011
By ,
Philadelphia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pulled my beard once but I may have been going to fast. Didn't find any attachments for the trimmer that would cut to about 1/4 inch beard length. This seems just as heavy as the cutter my barber used on me when I was a kid. Who said I'm 57 now! That's a lie!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 19 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001

Great purchase!

05/27/2012
By ,
Albany, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so thrilled with this purchase. The clippers are high quality and durable and I can cut hair very quickly with them.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 20 for WAHL Deluxe Chrome Pro Clipper and Compact Trimmer Kit, Model 79524-1001
02/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Don't be afraid to try this one out, it is worth the money and the complete kit is perfect for anyone
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next