Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Wahl WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Wahl WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Keep your beard looking its very best at all times with this WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades. This item comes with everything you need to shave, cut and trim your facial hair. The cordless beard trimmer makes it easy to keep your appearance presentable even while you are traveling or when you are short on time. It features precision-ground high-carbon steel blades that will stay sharp longer. The WAHL beard and mustache trimmer, model 9918-6171 has a new ergonomic contour design that ensures a secure and comfortable grip. The regulator provides you with seven trimming lengths to choose from so you can remove as little or as much hair as necessary. It is the ideal gift for dad and an excellent way to keep your beard looking sharp.
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(266 Reviews) 222
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
75
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation87%230 out of 265reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 89 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
75
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171
10/22/2013
By ,
Fort Fairfield, maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WAHL makes a great product. I had to replace my old WAHL mustache trimmer after a decade or so. Online to Wal-Mart and presto ! The trimmer came within a couple of days. The only drawback, and it's a minor one, it's a little noisy. But, I swear, you could mow your lawn with this trimmer. It's the best mustache trimmer I have ever owned. Comes with plenty of attachments and this trimmer doesn't take batteries like my old one...it's RECHARABLE ! Super !
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

It works, but don't get it for the stand...

07/02/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trimmer is great for the price. It's cheap, but it works. This was the first beard trimmer I have ever bought, and the instructions that it came with were very helpful in explaining how to get a good trim with this trimmer.
However, the stand it's supposed to sit in is terribly designed. If you try and fit all the parts the trimmer comes with into the stand you will find that many parts just plain don't have a place for them. It honestly seems like the designer made the stand without even knowing what parts were going to be included. It's just ridiculous overall when you try to use it. Maybe 5 minutes after opening the package I tossed the base into the garbage.
Luckily, the trimmer comes with a travel bag, which I use to store all of the parts and trimmer when not in use.
BOTTOM LINE: Maybe I don't know any better because this is my first beard trimmer, but this thing does the job for $20. Just don't expect the base to be worth anything.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Wahl Beard Trimmer

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surprising hi quality for the low price
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Decent Trimmer

09/16/2014
By ,
Auburn, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only drawback on this was figuring out how to snap on the adjustable length attachment. Other than that it works great! As you would expect the cutting power decreases as the battery level gets low, but I only noticed that after charging it and leaving it sitting for a week. So when the battery is low don't try to trim any long hairs.
I've seen lots of people ask about using trimmers like this for cutting hair, don't expect that with this one. It is fairly narrow so cutting a full head of hair would be arduous.
I love that it is rechargeable and comes with a stand to hold some of the accessories. It can charge while in the stand. But as I said, only some of the accessories can be held in it.
Great value!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Just an average product...

01/25/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Trimmer looks good but it is noisy.
I used philips norcelo 5100 before using this one.
This trimmer has though good quality blades and shaves well, combs do not provide different range of trimming option because you just get three comb of different sizes.
Battery life looks good to me. Noise is the main issue that I would like to seek attention of future purchasers.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

cut it close

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we have gone through numerous types of these slippers and this one is the best. It will always be ready since it self charges and my husband looks great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Wahl Trimmer

01/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handy, very reasonably priced and it's rechargeable. Good buy
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Loud

01/29/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Too loud!!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great Product

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this product several times and love it .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this item
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

trimmer

01/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it is made cheaply and the power button is hard to turn on .the guards are very thinly made
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great!

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great trimmer for a little price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Right on the moiey

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just as advertised....easy to use and does a great job.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Loud next to my ear but works well

07/07/2014
By ,
Pasadena, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stuff some toilet paper in your ears and trim that beard! This trimmer replaced a much older version of WAHL groomsman that I finally wore out. Nice sharp blades and lots of cutting guides. I like it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Wahl trimmer

01/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice compact trimmer, like the recharger ( no more batteries to buy).
Looks to be made pretty wel, I think the outside is aluminum or at least looks that way.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Much better than other trimmers of a comparable pr

01/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great deal. I've had other trimmers that were comparably priced, and they either didn't work well, or they broke soon after I bought them.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great product

01/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is exactly what I wanted and it works great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great for price (Its a wahl)

09/07/2012
By ,
roxboro,nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had for a month, first serious trimmer for my facial hair I ever bought. It shaved close (too close, I've messed up a few times it was so sharp, think I haven't quite figured holding positions yet) All except the attachments being difficult to remove, I'd give it a perfect score. I use it every other day, the first 2 weeks of shaving were perfect, but after about a month they seem a bit dull, I have no idea how they're self sharpening. Seems to hold a charge for long time (it's new), never had trouble even though I keep it plugged in while shaving. Blades aren't as loud when wireless, which I think because they're not moving as fast. I oil it every two weeks cause i use it regularly (wahl customer support suggested) instead of monthly. The customer support is excellent they replied within 24hrs. to my questions with answers and suggestions if the answer wasn't satisfactory to my
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great trimmer

01/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does it job for my husband
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Good, but do not let soak!!

06/21/2014
By ,
Farmington, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price I paid, this trimmer is awesome. This product works wonders on my face and body without cutting skin. Sometimes the changeable head falls off but I'm careful enough to expect it. Easy to use without much direction.
The only flaw is that neither the blade nor the steel, are stainless and will rust if washed or rinsed with water! Always use hydrogen peroxide or shaver cleaner!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 223 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next