Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Wahl WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Wahl WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Keep your beard looking its very best at all times with this WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades. This item comes with everything you need to shave, cut and trim your facial hair. The cordless beard trimmer makes it easy to keep your appearance presentable even while you are traveling or when you are short on time. It features precision-ground high-carbon steel blades that will stay sharp longer. The WAHL beard and mustache trimmer, model 9918-6171 has a new ergonomic contour design that ensures a secure and comfortable grip. The regulator provides you with seven trimming lengths to choose from so you can remove as little or as much hair as necessary. It is the ideal gift for dad and an excellent way to keep your beard looking sharp.
Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(235 Reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
70
3 stars
8
2 stars
12
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation87%204 out of 234reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 89 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
70
3 stars
8
2 stars
12
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171
10/22/2013
By ,
Fort Fairfield, maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WAHL makes a great product. I had to replace my old WAHL mustache trimmer after a decade or so. Online to Wal-Mart and presto ! The trimmer came within a couple of days. The only drawback, and it's a minor one, it's a little noisy. But, I swear, you could mow your lawn with this trimmer. It's the best mustache trimmer I have ever owned. Comes with plenty of attachments and this trimmer doesn't take batteries like my old one...it's RECHARABLE ! Super !
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

It works, but don't get it for the stand...

07/02/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trimmer is great for the price. It's cheap, but it works. This was the first beard trimmer I have ever bought, and the instructions that it came with were very helpful in explaining how to get a good trim with this trimmer.
However, the stand it's supposed to sit in is terribly designed. If you try and fit all the parts the trimmer comes with into the stand you will find that many parts just plain don't have a place for them. It honestly seems like the designer made the stand without even knowing what parts were going to be included. It's just ridiculous overall when you try to use it. Maybe 5 minutes after opening the package I tossed the base into the garbage.
Luckily, the trimmer comes with a travel bag, which I use to store all of the parts and trimmer when not in use.
BOTTOM LINE: Maybe I don't know any better because this is my first beard trimmer, but this thing does the job for $20. Just don't expect the base to be worth anything.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Decent Trimmer

09/16/2014
By ,
Auburn, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only drawback on this was figuring out how to snap on the adjustable length attachment. Other than that it works great! As you would expect the cutting power decreases as the battery level gets low, but I only noticed that after charging it and leaving it sitting for a week. So when the battery is low don't try to trim any long hairs.
I've seen lots of people ask about using trimmers like this for cutting hair, don't expect that with this one. It is fairly narrow so cutting a full head of hair would be arduous.
I love that it is rechargeable and comes with a stand to hold some of the accessories. It can charge while in the stand. But as I said, only some of the accessories can be held in it.
Great value!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great little beard trimmer for the price

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There was some charge in the battery when I brought the Wahl Beard Trimmer home so I tried it out right away. It is easy to "steer" and cuts very close to the skin. I'm very happy with it so far. I'm going to assume it will take a good charge and keep on working good. My wife is definitely happy now that my scruffy beard looks a little more respectable.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Works Great!

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Fantastic Trimmer for Mustache, Beard, and Head!

04/04/2014
By ,
Lompoc, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As my hair thinned out and me being African-American I found the necessity to keep my hair short and I purchased a battery operated trimmer to shave my head without the discomfort and razor bumps that occur with a razor. This Wahl trimmer is just the tool for someone who wants their head kept short shy of a razor shave. This trimmer comes with a 3 year warranty from Wahl, and is a great steal for the price and quality! Get yourself one today! I did!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great trimmer

11/12/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like Wahl brand trimmers. They last for long. I had one that lasted for 8 years before I bought a new one about two months ago. It trims great. It holds charge for long. The sound of it is not that loud. The price was great too. I bought it online and picked it up at one of the nearest Walmart locations. I saved like $5-$6 by doing that compared to if I had gone to the store and bought it from there. So honestly, I am a satisfied customer. And I hope you will be too.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Good, but do not let soak!!

06/21/2014
By ,
Farmington, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price I paid, this trimmer is awesome. This product works wonders on my face and body without cutting skin. Sometimes the changeable head falls off but I'm careful enough to expect it. Easy to use without much direction.
The only flaw is that neither the blade nor the steel, are stainless and will rust if washed or rinsed with water! Always use hydrogen peroxide or shaver cleaner!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Loud next to my ear but works well

07/07/2014
By ,
Pasadena, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stuff some toilet paper in your ears and trim that beard! This trimmer replaced a much older version of WAHL groomsman that I finally wore out. Nice sharp blades and lots of cutting guides. I like it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great Product

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really satisfied with this trimmer because it charges quick, the charge lasts a good amount of time, the adapter clips are good and it even comes with a travel case to put everything into.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great product for the price

06/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trimmer has an extraordinarily strong motor; however, the trimming head is a bit small and the accessory storage stand is useless. You need to buy a separate box to store them. On the plus side, it works with power cord or battery. All in all, I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great for price (Its a wahl)

09/07/2012
By ,
roxboro,nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had for a month, first serious trimmer for my facial hair I ever bought. It shaved close (too close, I've messed up a few times it was so sharp, think I haven't quite figured holding positions yet) All except the attachments being difficult to remove, I'd give it a perfect score. I use it every other day, the first 2 weeks of shaving were perfect, but after about a month they seem a bit dull, I have no idea how they're self sharpening. Seems to hold a charge for long time (it's new), never had trouble even though I keep it plugged in while shaving. Blades aren't as loud when wireless, which I think because they're not moving as fast. I oil it every two weeks cause i use it regularly (wahl customer support suggested) instead of monthly. The customer support is excellent they replied within 24hrs. to my questions with answers and suggestions if the answer wasn't satisfactory to my
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Finally!

09/07/2013
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Wahl clipper that went out 2 years ago and I mailed it out for repairs to have it replaced by another one which rendered defective a month ago. I saw this Wahl Beard Trimmer on line, read most of the reviews and decided to buy it. While I was waiting for it to come in the mail I tried three other clippers(two Wahl and one Remington) all of which I bought at the other Retailer but had to return, each, the very next day because they are ineffective on a black man's skin for that close trim or shave. This Wahl Beard Trimmer met and exceeded my expectations. I also use it to shave my entire head bald. I love the fact that I can use it with or without the cord. I might very well buy a second one. The price is quite attractive and it would serve as a great gift.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great price for my needs

11/02/2013
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was concerned that it might cut too short even at the longest settings but it didn't. I wanted to grow my beard a little longer and it did a good job of thinning and shaping even at the middle setting. Glad I bought this one.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Easy to use

08/08/2009
By ,
Romeoville, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent product for the price. Seems to hold a charge very well. Gives a nice close cut to the beard as well as good on shaping of the beard/goatee. Easy to hold and handle.
Only complaint would be that the snap on guides are a bit difficult to remove at times. Over all though, very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Good one..

10/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good one..
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Not a great product

10/18/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my husband because his old Norelco finally quit. I have a Wahl hair cut kit which is great so I purchased this beard trimmer for my husband. He finds the head a little bit too narrow and the hair doesn't cut evenly. It is loud as per other reviews, but that didn't bother him. He wants me to try again.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

worth the Price

10/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thing seems to run for ever on one charge.great accessory kit,got everything you need to
do your Mr. barber act.I am pleased with this purchase...now go get your own!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Works great

06/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like it because of the cord and cordless feature, Trims very good without pull..
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Good Item

10/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my third time purchasing this item over the past several years. I use it to shape up my neck, in between hairdresser appointments. It's a great item with good quality.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 192 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next