Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Wahl WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Wahl WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Keep your beard looking its very best at all times with this WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades. This item comes with everything you need to shave, cut and trim your facial hair. The cordless beard trimmer makes it easy to keep your appearance presentable even while you are traveling or when you are short on time. It features precision-ground high-carbon steel blades that will stay sharp longer. The WAHL beard and mustache trimmer, model 9918-6171 has a new ergonomic contour design that ensures a secure and comfortable grip. The regulator provides you with seven trimming lengths to choose from so you can remove as little or as much hair as necessary. It is the ideal gift for dad and an excellent way to keep your beard looking sharp.
Average Customer Rating:
4.232 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(285 Reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
161
4 stars
78
3 stars
14
2 stars
15
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation86%244 out of 284reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 91 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
161
4 stars
78
3 stars
14
2 stars
15
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171
10/22/2013
By ,
Fort Fairfield, maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WAHL makes a great product. I had to replace my old WAHL mustache trimmer after a decade or so. Online to Wal-Mart and presto ! The trimmer came within a couple of days. The only drawback, and it's a minor one, it's a little noisy. But, I swear, you could mow your lawn with this trimmer. It's the best mustache trimmer I have ever owned. Comes with plenty of attachments and this trimmer doesn't take batteries like my old one...it's RECHARABLE ! Super !
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

It works, but don't get it for the stand...

07/02/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trimmer is great for the price. It's cheap, but it works. This was the first beard trimmer I have ever bought, and the instructions that it came with were very helpful in explaining how to get a good trim with this trimmer.
However, the stand it's supposed to sit in is terribly designed. If you try and fit all the parts the trimmer comes with into the stand you will find that many parts just plain don't have a place for them. It honestly seems like the designer made the stand without even knowing what parts were going to be included. It's just ridiculous overall when you try to use it. Maybe 5 minutes after opening the package I tossed the base into the garbage.
Luckily, the trimmer comes with a travel bag, which I use to store all of the parts and trimmer when not in use.
BOTTOM LINE: Maybe I don't know any better because this is my first beard trimmer, but this thing does the job for $20. Just don't expect the base to be worth anything.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Convenient, Versatile but LOUD!!

02/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cordless is convenient but to keep costs down it only has a NiCad battery instead of the higher tech (and longer lasting) NiMH or lithium ion packs. You get no warning when the battery gets weak, it just suddenly slows. It can be run with the cord attached though so getting it back up to speed is quick. The instructions say to get best life from the battery it needs to be completely run down periodically, so you have to leave it on (and making noise) for an hour or so until it completely stops before charging.
Overall, for beard trimming it works very well for me. The blades are sharp with no pulling so far. The attachments (length combs) are OK but seem a little flimsy so care is required when putting them over the blades. It even comes with a nice cleaning brush and beard/'stache comb. Only real complaint is the thing is LOUD for something you need to hold close to your face to use!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

more fixed templates

05/27/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It worked beautifully except for the adjustable trimmer enabling variable length cutting which did not work well. Why not make 1 or 2 more fixed snappable templates enabling longer cuts?
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Wahl

05/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice kit. Excellent battery life. Only draw back is it is kind of loud.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Not great

05/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just doesn't work very well
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

BEARD TRIMMING

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently grew a beard...but it was getting so unruly I thought I might have to shave it off.
A friend recommended Wahl products/trimmers.
What a great product!
I recommend this very highly.
For the price it is a great bargain & will satisfy all your trimming needs~
KEN
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Perfect

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had one like this before, it just got old and wore out. So......bought one again, and of course I love it. Now, I only use it once a week, to keep my beard trimmed my way.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

WAHL Beard Trimmer

05/16/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was pleased when I received this item with the various attachments it had; however, after having used it more than several times it doesn't cut as well as I thought it should. Additionally, one of the comb attachments broke the first time I attempted to attach it to the blade.
I have always bought WAHL products, but, this experience was very disappointing.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Good for the price

05/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does a pretty good job for the price I paid for it, I like the fact that you can use it wirelessly or plugged in.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Decent Trimmer

09/16/2014
By ,
Auburn, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only drawback on this was figuring out how to snap on the adjustable length attachment. Other than that it works great! As you would expect the cutting power decreases as the battery level gets low, but I only noticed that after charging it and leaving it sitting for a week. So when the battery is low don't try to trim any long hairs.
I've seen lots of people ask about using trimmers like this for cutting hair, don't expect that with this one. It is fairly narrow so cutting a full head of hair would be arduous.
I love that it is rechargeable and comes with a stand to hold some of the accessories. It can charge while in the stand. But as I said, only some of the accessories can be held in it.
Great value!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great for price (Its a wahl)

09/07/2012
By ,
roxboro,nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had for a month, first serious trimmer for my facial hair I ever bought. It shaved close (too close, I've messed up a few times it was so sharp, think I haven't quite figured holding positions yet) All except the attachments being difficult to remove, I'd give it a perfect score. I use it every other day, the first 2 weeks of shaving were perfect, but after about a month they seem a bit dull, I have no idea how they're self sharpening. Seems to hold a charge for long time (it's new), never had trouble even though I keep it plugged in while shaving. Blades aren't as loud when wireless, which I think because they're not moving as fast. I oil it every two weeks cause i use it regularly (wahl customer support suggested) instead of monthly. The customer support is excellent they replied within 24hrs. to my questions with answers and suggestions if the answer wasn't satisfactory to my
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Wahl Beard Trimmer

05/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does what it says and is a comfortable fit
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Trimmer

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super trimmer, works like a million........
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Finally!

09/07/2013
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Wahl clipper that went out 2 years ago and I mailed it out for repairs to have it replaced by another one which rendered defective a month ago. I saw this Wahl Beard Trimmer on line, read most of the reviews and decided to buy it. While I was waiting for it to come in the mail I tried three other clippers(two Wahl and one Remington) all of which I bought at the other Retailer but had to return, each, the very next day because they are ineffective on a black man's skin for that close trim or shave. This Wahl Beard Trimmer met and exceeded my expectations. I also use it to shave my entire head bald. I love the fact that I can use it with or without the cord. I might very well buy a second one. The price is quite attractive and it would serve as a great gift.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Loud next to my ear but works well

07/07/2014
By ,
Pasadena, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stuff some toilet paper in your ears and trim that beard! This trimmer replaced a much older version of WAHL groomsman that I finally wore out. Nice sharp blades and lots of cutting guides. I like it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Easy to use

08/08/2009
By ,
Romeoville, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent product for the price. Seems to hold a charge very well. Gives a nice close cut to the beard as well as good on shaping of the beard/goatee. Easy to hold and handle.
Only complaint would be that the snap on guides are a bit difficult to remove at times. Over all though, very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Good, but do not let soak!!

06/21/2014
By ,
Farmington, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price I paid, this trimmer is awesome. This product works wonders on my face and body without cutting skin. Sometimes the changeable head falls off but I'm careful enough to expect it. Easy to use without much direction.
The only flaw is that neither the blade nor the steel, are stainless and will rust if washed or rinsed with water! Always use hydrogen peroxide or shaver cleaner!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Cheap accessories

03/10/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality trimmer BUT the accessories are very cheap plastic.
Wahl is known for it's quality, but they have given themselves a black eye with these accessories.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Surprized it has good rattings

02/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has got to be the worst beard trimmer i've used. Before this one, I thought it was this remington trimmer I onced own, but this beats the cake. Before this trimmer, i had a philips beard trimmer that I used until it died. I loved it so much, that I bought another one just like it. I soon grew tired of it (although it works great) and decided to try a whal, since my brother said it was supposedly the best. First day I used this product, I hated it. But I decided to keep it, maybe it needs to be broken in, I thought. Its been almost a year, and the trimmer still performs like it did when I first bought it. It pulls my hair, it cuts sloppy, it has limited height adjustments, battery doesnt last long, does not come with extra heads such as a nose trimmer ect, and the blades constantly needs oil. I never had any of these issues with my philips. Some times I feel like throwing these in the garbage. I stopped using these clipers. I continue to use my old philips because it performs 100 better than this thing. I have thick hair, so maybe thats the problem. I guess to use these trimmers, i will need to thin my beard out.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 242 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next