Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Wahl WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Wahl WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

The WAHL beard and mustache trimmer features precision-ground, high carbon steel blades that stay sharp longer, and is loaded with other features. The new ergonomic contour design and brushed chrome trimmer body with soft touch elements ensure a comfortable grip, while the beard regulator with bare blades provides seven trimming lengths.
Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(188 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
56
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation88%164 out of 187reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
56
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171
10/22/2013
By ,
Fort Fairfield, maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WAHL makes a great product. I had to replace my old WAHL mustache trimmer after a decade or so. Online to Wal-Mart and presto ! The trimmer came within a couple of days. The only drawback, and it's a minor one, it's a little noisy. But, I swear, you could mow your lawn with this trimmer. It's the best mustache trimmer I have ever owned. Comes with plenty of attachments and this trimmer doesn't take batteries like my old one...it's RECHARABLE ! Super !
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

It works, but don't get it for the stand...

07/02/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trimmer is great for the price. It's cheap, but it works. This was the first beard trimmer I have ever bought, and the instructions that it came with were very helpful in explaining how to get a good trim with this trimmer.
However, the stand it's supposed to sit in is terribly designed. If you try and fit all the parts the trimmer comes with into the stand you will find that many parts just plain don't have a place for them. It honestly seems like the designer made the stand without even knowing what parts were going to be included. It's just ridiculous overall when you try to use it. Maybe 5 minutes after opening the package I tossed the base into the garbage.
Luckily, the trimmer comes with a travel bag, which I use to store all of the parts and trimmer when not in use.
BOTTOM LINE: Maybe I don't know any better because this is my first beard trimmer, but this thing does the job for $20. Just don't expect the base to be worth anything.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Fantastic Trimmer for Mustache, Beard, and Head!

04/04/2014
By ,
Lompoc, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As my hair thinned out and me being African-American I found the necessity to keep my hair short and I purchased a battery operated trimmer to shave my head without the discomfort and razor bumps that occur with a razor. This Wahl trimmer is just the tool for someone who wants their head kept short shy of a razor shave. This trimmer comes with a 3 year warranty from Wahl, and is a great steal for the price and quality! Get yourself one today! I did!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Good trimmer

04/06/2014
By ,
Jackson, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inexepensive, well made. Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great Product!!!!!

02/09/2014
By ,
Dover, DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product for my husband. He loves it. It is easy to use and is great that you can use it cordless or corded. The attachments are easy to use also. It is self sharpening which I have found to be hard to find in a small clipper, unless you want to pay professional prices. We have another wahl full size clippers and have been using it for almost 10 years now and it has held up and I am sure that this wahl product will to. They make great quality products for low prices.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great price for my needs

11/02/2013
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was concerned that it might cut too short even at the longest settings but it didn't. I wanted to grow my beard a little longer and it did a good job of thinning and shaping even at the middle setting. Glad I bought this one.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Clipper is great BUT

04/18/2014
By ,
Roseville, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
main product is great but plastic clipping heads are cheaply maded. Hope they last.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Good so far

04/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have used trimmer twice and like the light weight and cordless
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

beard trimming

04/10/2014
By ,
Dayton ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great. I use it everyday.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

This thing better for hair, than beards!

03/29/2014
By ,
Pensacola, Fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had a regular hair shaver before and that worked great. I'm better off with a comb and scissors! It's a piece of junk and I gave it away. The blade is too fine and won't actually cut a beard!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

the best trimmer i ever had

11/12/2013
By ,
jacksonville, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i've had a couple other trimmers and they were cheaply made and weak. i didn't know this was made of metal it was charged when it got here it has a powerful motor i shaved my head with it and it's still going the other ones i've had barely make it through a shaving
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Not what I expected

03/19/2014
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was fairly disappointed in this trimmer, more specifically, the close trimming feature. I experienced snagging, scratching, and unsuccessful even cuts. I thought it might be underpowered because I put it to use right out of the box; but after a night of charging it was much of the same. This...is going back to the store tonight.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Easy to use

08/08/2009
By ,
Romeoville, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent product for the price. Seems to hold a charge very well. Gives a nice close cut to the beard as well as good on shaping of the beard/goatee. Easy to hold and handle.
Only complaint would be that the snap on guides are a bit difficult to remove at times. Over all though, very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

ok for the price

03/24/2014
By ,
st. augustine, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
heads don't come apart for cleaning. not a long lasting product. use and throw-away.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great prodiuct

03/24/2014
By ,
Fresno
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband uses this and says it is a great beard trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Wahl Trimmer

11/21/2013
By ,
Madera, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband loved the value 1st, then the ease of use, & thirdly, he loves the versatility of how many needs this "slim & mighty" tool does for him! It's a great product @ a fantastic price! I would recommend this product to my friends & family!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great product!

03/17/2014
By ,
Booneville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's the best made trimmer period! Don't waste money on anything else! This is all you will need for years! I love it and recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Finally!

09/07/2013
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Wahl clipper that went out 2 years ago and I mailed it out for repairs to have it replaced by another one which rendered defective a month ago. I saw this Wahl Beard Trimmer on line, read most of the reviews and decided to buy it. While I was waiting for it to come in the mail I tried three other clippers(two Wahl and one Remington) all of which I bought at the other Retailer but had to return, each, the very next day because they are ineffective on a black man's skin for that close trim or shave. This Wahl Beard Trimmer met and exceeded my expectations. I also use it to shave my entire head bald. I love the fact that I can use it with or without the cord. I might very well buy a second one. The price is quite attractive and it would serve as a great gift.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great Product

09/25/2009
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice trimmer...I mainly bought it because it can be used while plugged in. Great product especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Works great!

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a powerful little trimmer. Yes the stand is small but you can put all the little things in the bag that comes with it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chicago
Input Volts
Posted 03/02/2014
Can you please let me know if it the input can be from 110-240 V as i am planning to gift someone outside US
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 145 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next