Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Wahl WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Wahl WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Keep your beard looking its very best at all times with this WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades. This item comes with everything you need to shave, cut and trim your facial hair. The cordless beard trimmer makes it easy to keep your appearance presentable even while you are traveling or when you are short on time. It features precision-ground high-carbon steel blades that will stay sharp longer. The WAHL beard and mustache trimmer, model 9918-6171 has a new ergonomic contour design that ensures a secure and comfortable grip. The regulator provides you with seven trimming lengths to choose from so you can remove as little or as much hair as necessary. It is the ideal gift for dad and an excellent way to keep your beard looking sharp.
Average Customer Rating:
4.282 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(216 Reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
64
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation87%188 out of 215reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 69 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
64
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171
10/22/2013
By ,
Fort Fairfield, maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WAHL makes a great product. I had to replace my old WAHL mustache trimmer after a decade or so. Online to Wal-Mart and presto ! The trimmer came within a couple of days. The only drawback, and it's a minor one, it's a little noisy. But, I swear, you could mow your lawn with this trimmer. It's the best mustache trimmer I have ever owned. Comes with plenty of attachments and this trimmer doesn't take batteries like my old one...it's RECHARABLE ! Super !
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

It works, but don't get it for the stand...

07/02/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trimmer is great for the price. It's cheap, but it works. This was the first beard trimmer I have ever bought, and the instructions that it came with were very helpful in explaining how to get a good trim with this trimmer.
However, the stand it's supposed to sit in is terribly designed. If you try and fit all the parts the trimmer comes with into the stand you will find that many parts just plain don't have a place for them. It honestly seems like the designer made the stand without even knowing what parts were going to be included. It's just ridiculous overall when you try to use it. Maybe 5 minutes after opening the package I tossed the base into the garbage.
Luckily, the trimmer comes with a travel bag, which I use to store all of the parts and trimmer when not in use.
BOTTOM LINE: Maybe I don't know any better because this is my first beard trimmer, but this thing does the job for $20. Just don't expect the base to be worth anything.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Good, but do not let soak!!

06/21/2014
By ,
Farmington, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price I paid, this trimmer is awesome. This product works wonders on my face and body without cutting skin. Sometimes the changeable head falls off but I'm careful enough to expect it. Easy to use without much direction.
The only flaw is that neither the blade nor the steel, are stainless and will rust if washed or rinsed with water! Always use hydrogen peroxide or shaver cleaner!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great product for the price

06/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trimmer has an extraordinarily strong motor; however, the trimming head is a bit small and the accessory storage stand is useless. You need to buy a separate box to store them. On the plus side, it works with power cord or battery. All in all, I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Loud next to my ear but works well

07/07/2014
By ,
Pasadena, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stuff some toilet paper in your ears and trim that beard! This trimmer replaced a much older version of WAHL groomsman that I finally wore out. Nice sharp blades and lots of cutting guides. I like it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Fantastic Trimmer for Mustache, Beard, and Head!

04/04/2014
By ,
Lompoc, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As my hair thinned out and me being African-American I found the necessity to keep my hair short and I purchased a battery operated trimmer to shave my head without the discomfort and razor bumps that occur with a razor. This Wahl trimmer is just the tool for someone who wants their head kept short shy of a razor shave. This trimmer comes with a 3 year warranty from Wahl, and is a great steal for the price and quality! Get yourself one today! I did!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

It's loud but works good

05/28/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the plug-in feature. I use it to shave & it leave less scruff than I would have thought. It got a lot closer than I anticipated; which is good. I also use it for sideburns & the attachments work great. The build quality seems good, the stand can't hold everything but that's OK.
Last but not least:I LIKE THE PLUG-IN FEATURE. That's why I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Works great

06/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like it because of the cord and cordless feature, Trims very good without pull..
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Upgrade to stay

06/23/2014
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My last Wahl trimmer physically broke so I needed another. This unit sounds like the blades move faster and trims much smoother getting the job done faster!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

AWESOME PRODUCT!

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CANT BEAT THIS FOR THE PRICE
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Pulls on the facial hair without the guard

08/20/2014
By ,
Sarcoxie, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The trimmer works good with the guard on. It pulls my facial hair when the guard is off. I would not purchase this trimmer again.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sterling, IL
Posted 08/29/2014
Sorry you experienced an issue with our product.  We want to earn your business. 
Please contact our Customer Service Center at 1-800-767-9245 (USA only) or 1-815-625-6525 (Outside USA) and let them know what product you have and what the issues are and they will be able to help you. We are available by phone between the hours of 8am – 4:30pm (CST) Monday - Friday. You can also email us at Satisfaction@Wahlclipper.com.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Well worth the money

07/19/2014
By ,
Carlsbad, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So good for so cheap!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great Trimmer, Great Price

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wahl has a great reputation and this trimmer is a good example. Great price also.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

The trimmer itself is fine. The rest not so much.

07/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The storage stand does not accommodate the various trimmer attachments. Don't know where to put them. The storage pouch (which looks like a sturdy leather in the picture) is really made of a material I can only describe as "cheaper than cheap".
Above, beyond and before either of those disappointments, there is not a single word of instruction advising how and where to store the above mentioned 4 trimmer attachments.
On the plus side, I repeat... the trimmer itself is fine and does a more than adequate job.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

wahl makes fine products.

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a wahl beard trimmer 14yrs. ago and it lasted,until the battery couldn't hold a charge. they no longer make them. so I hope this one will last as long. nice thing with this model is you can use with or without the cord. my old one had to be charged to be used.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great price for my needs

11/02/2013
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was concerned that it might cut too short even at the longest settings but it didn't. I wanted to grow my beard a little longer and it did a good job of thinning and shaping even at the middle setting. Glad I bought this one.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Perfect product

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome haircut I would recommend this product to all
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Excellent beard and hair trimmer for any age

05/09/2014
By ,
Northwest Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wahl quality can 't be beat. You can use this for a close hair cut to.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Good Buy

05/29/2014
By ,
Sequim, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good buy for the price, wouldn't say it is made really well. On/off switch doesn't work easily, blade, while sharp, isn't as smooth as others I've use.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for WAHL Beard Trimmer, Cord or Cordless with Self Sharpening Steel Blades, Model 9918-6171

Great razor but don't plan to charge it overseas

07/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great razor. Thoroughly impressed till the battery died. Once placed on a charger overseas where the voltage is higher (220v) it does not charge for more than a minute. Then once placed back on 120v, it continues not to work. End result, great razor that can't be charged up.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next