Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canon Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Canon Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

The 12x optical zoom makes this camera a good choice for serious photography. That's because it has the power to take you right up onto the stage or into the end zone for the shot you really want. Zooming is also fast and silent thanks to the ultrasonic motor drive. An optical image stabilizer automatically detects and correct for unintentional camera shake, which is the leading cause of blurred shots. Canon's advanced DIGIC III image processor automatically pinpoints faces in a scene and chooses the ideal focus point to keep every face looking natural without red eyes. And 22 different shooting modes let you choose exactly the right settings for various conditions and special effects.
Average Customer Rating:
4.829 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(146 Reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation99%144 out of 146reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

PowerShot

01/28/2008
By ,
clarinda
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera takes some of the best pictures i have seen out of an advanced point and shoot, and some SLR cameras too! This camera is worth every penny and then some. Fairly user friendly. Shoots excellent video. Very happy with the camera! Would recommend to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 62 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

Impressive so far

01/28/2008
By ,
Mineola, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased so far with performance, features and zoom capability.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 63 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization
02/02/2008
By ,
Owings Mills, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given this camera as a Christmas present. I am no photographer. This camera is so easy to use. You can take still shots and videos and playback immediately after recording and you can record for a few seconds or for longer periods of time. I just went on a trip to Nashville, Country Music Hall of Fame and the Grand Ole Opry, the pictures turned out great! I would recommend this product for everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 64 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

Awesome camera

02/03/2008
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an upgrade from my little pocket digital..something with more options and features....and this camera is it. Its literally a step between professional and amatuer in my opinion. The price was right and it takes awesome shots. The zoom on it is very very good also.
love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 65 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

A great product

02/06/2008
By ,
Stacy, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is this simple..I received a quality Canon camera (power shot S5 IS) at an unbeatable walmart price. Just a tip, if you are new to digital cameras or to high end digital cameras take the time to read the user manual, you'll be amazed at what this camera can do.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 66 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

An Aspiring Photographer's Dream

02/23/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Canon Powershot S5 IS's 12X Optical Zoom brings you "up close and personal" to your subject. Pictures of wildlife can be taken from a distance so as not to scare them and yet the resultant photo is as if you were standing next to them. The Image Stabilization eliminates out-of-focus closeups. The camera is easy to handle and easy to use. The auto setting is sufficient for most situations and the manual settings allow you to take more advanced photographs. The only negative comment about the camera is that the lens cap tends to fall off. This is an ideal camera for both beginners and more advanced photographers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 67 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

canon powershot

02/27/2008
By ,
liberty,ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great camera. you need to buy at least one 1GB sd card but a bigger card would be a lot better,this is because the camera only comes with a 32MB card
the only annoying thing is,the lens cap,it is really cheap and falls of at the lightest touch
overall GREAT camera
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 68 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

Semi-Awesome

02/29/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a word of advice, unless you don't mind getting your products a month+ after you purchase them, DON'T get the Site to Store option..
The camera itself is a fabulous buy. If you have been shopping around looking for a camera that is worth investing money in, it would be this one. It's full of a lot of neat toys to personalize your shoot.
HOWEVER, the flash has to be manually taken up or down and the battery life wasn't amazing. Meaning.. it might make it a week..during moderate use.
Also, when you use the record option, I noticed there was a clicking noise in the film that I believe came from the camera. I do have to admit that the shutter speed isn't the fastest, but I suspect it may be due to the settings I have it on.
Overall, I will stress that for the great things it has, it is worth the investment.
Fun for the amateur photographer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 69 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

Perfect for the Beginner in SLR

03/03/2008
By ,
Fort Wainwright, Alaska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love this camera! Its the bridge between the basic digital to the DSLR. Every time I take pictures I'm amazed at the results. To bad I had to shrink the examples to upload the picture for this review. Even the digital zoom surprised me in quality. Normally I would have disabled the use of digital zoom. I'm not fluent in camera talk but I can say this has been my favorite camera by far. I love the 12x Optical zoom and the many options I have to adjust for the perfect picture. I recommend buying rechargeable batteries and keeping spare batteries available just in case you plan on taking a lot of pictures. I also like that I can adapt a bigger flash and interchangeable lenses.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 70 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

HiEnd Features at a Moderate Price

03/03/2008
By ,
Bandera, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 4th Canon Digital Still Camera. I purchased it to replace my well used S1-IS.
It performs exactly as I expected and meets the quality image standards that I have come to expect from Canon.
Canon supplies 2 owner's manuals, a simple overview & an advanced guide. Read both the get the most of the creative features of the camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 71 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

Surpassed expectations

03/04/2008
By ,
San Angelo, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing camera! We upgraded from a 6 or 7 year old digital camera and I am in heaven. This is fairly simple to use as far as all the bells and whistles go. There are additional features that are 'locked' for those who are not beginners and I can hardly wait until I am more confident to unlock them. The pictures are amazing! I cannot say enough about the quality!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 72 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

More than you need?

03/04/2008
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of features to go beyond the point and shoot phase. Not fast to select the settings like a point and shoot but you do have lots of choices. The image stabilization is great and the camera will help you decide what to set before your shot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 73 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

Not Quite What I Expected

03/06/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had hoped this would be an upgrade from my old high zoom digital, despite all the extra features, it doesn’t live up to my expectations. The automatic focus isn't always accurate and the image quality wasn’t quite what I had expected from a Canon. The battery compartment is also difficult to close after installing batteries. Another drawback is having the memory card slot in the battery compartment. Battery drain is average when using flash and LCD display.
It does have quick start up and no noticable shutter lag.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 74 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

Excellant camera

03/07/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this camera for a couple weeks but I am VERY pleased with it so far. I wish the users manual was written for novice users but just playing around with the camera has gotten me great results!
This is definately worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 75 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

Great for Sports pictures

03/08/2008
By ,
Campobello ISland , New Brunswick, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Canon PowerShot S5 IS is great for sports pictures. with my old e image stabilizer and the sports setting, no more blurrs. I love it.
I have 3 kids who are into all sports and now I can take reliable pictures of them doing what they love best.
Its a great step up from what I'm used to and I would recommend it for everyone as ther eare a lot of functions and settings that I cant wait to explore and use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 76 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

Perfect Camera

03/10/2008
By ,
LeCompte, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is perfect. I love everything about it. Its got everything a regular point and shoot has, but its also got some manual qualities as well. So, if you don't wanna go all out w/ an SLR but you also don't just want a point and shoot, this is the camera for you. Its got the best of both worlds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 77 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

Loads of Fun

03/10/2008
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only had a few chances to use this camera but the pictures are GREAT. Took several wildlife pictures in the snow and everything was sharp and clear.
It is easy to use and simple to operate.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 78 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

A nice camera

03/11/2008
By ,
Lakeland, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I really like the camera, it fits in your hands nicely, taking pictures and seeing what you have taken works very easy, the only thing I do not like is the view finder at the top of the camera, everything is very blurry when you look through it, I checked out the same camera at another store and it was blurry also. Not sure if this is a problem with all of the Canon PowerShot S515 cameras are not but it would be nice if your subject was not blurry.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 79 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

great camera

03/15/2008
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I upgraded to this camera from a 2 MP Kodak with a 3X zoom. What a difference. I mainly use this camera to photograph my family, nature, and recreational photos. I am ordering an external flash, a lens adapter, filters, and macro and telephoto lenses. This is one of the main reasons I bought this camera was the options it offers in picture control and additions. Once you get thru the "epic" owner's manual and learn how to set the adjustments, then this camera is fun with its endless quality control options.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 80 for Canon PowerShot S5-IS Black ~ 8 MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Optical Zoom & Image Stabilization

a lot of camera

03/17/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camera seems very nice. I did not know anything about a digital camera when I bought it and wish I would have known that it did not come with a big enough memory card to hold more than about 15 pictures because of the amount of megapixels. Seems very nice so far and my husband is happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
61-80 of 124 total reviews