Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for JVC JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

JVC JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

This versatile system delivers 400 total watts of power for big sound in a space-saving design. Highlights include a three-CD changer that can play CD-Rs and MP3 discs, digital AM/FM tuner, three-way speakers, and MP3 player input with connecting cable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.559 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%32 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

nice stereo

01/15/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had some bad luck lately with stereos, the last two I bought stopped reading CDs reliably within 6 months. I thought to myself this time I want to get a good one with a brand I can trust. Well time went on and I got impatient with myself and ran through the electronics aisle at Walmart. Low and behold they had only the display model of this stereo left and it was 25% off. That made it a price I felt I could afford and so I decided to buy it. Since it was the display model it didn't come with any of the accessories, including the AM antenna or remote control and manual. I found the manual online and downloaded it in a pdf file, and used the AM antenna from my old stereo. The only thing I don't have so far that I'd really like to have is the remote and they can be ordered directly from JVC.
Setup was no problem because there was no box, I basically set it on my dresser and plugged in the speakers. I like that it has both an iPod plug and an Auxiliary so until I get the iPod I want I can plug in my cheap mp3 player through the Aux port, or I can plug up my laptop for playing my music or watching a movie. I'm pleased with the sound it puts out and it feels like a good heavy duty stereo (with an emphasis on heavy!!). It has an XM ready plug too, I doubt I'll be using that but that might be helpful for someone else. So far it's the best stereo I've ever owned but I'll hang on to the receipt and see what happens in 6 months. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

MXKC58

10/15/2007
By ,
Danville,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It wasn't what I was expecting as far as sound goes but, it's great for its price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

MXKC58 JVC Stereo

10/05/2008
By ,
Atlanta
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Just hooked up the stereo and tried it out for the first time today. I'm very disappointed that you cannot adjust the sound anymore than you can. There are only four preset sounds and you cannot adjust the bass, treble, mids, or anything like that. The head unit is also very large compared to most (deep) and hangs off of the front of my shelf.
If you are looking for something that just sounds ok this unit will do, but if you want to fine tune your sound to your liking you should look elsewhere. In the past I had a JVC portable unit that I was very pleased with, but this one I am a little disappointed with.
I was replacing an all in one compact stereo (Aiwa) that I had for years and loved, the cd player on the unit had gone bad. I'm tempted to take this one back and just buy a cd player and hook up to the old one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

Great unit for the price!

07/17/2008
By ,
Woodbridge, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did expect the sound to have a little more punch at 200 watts per channel, 400 watts total (midrange and highs could stand a little more brilliance, and the bass could stand more power where you can actually feel it), but it's a good unit for the price. Space saving design, will fit just about anywhere. They've done away with the (practically defunct) cassette decks, and replaced it with ports for XM Radio, and IPod units (includes cable and docking stand for an IPod). If it's a more powerful sound that I want then I'll have to look in the direction of home theater units (when I have more $'s to afford it), but this will do just fine for the time being.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

Great for the price.

11/03/2008
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great for the cost. It's a fairly large/medium size system and sounds very good. I would prefer Bass and Treble controls over the Rock, Classical, Pop or flat chioces. The large display is nice which makes it easy to see from across the room when using the remote. The remote is great it does "everthing" but change out the three CD's in the tray. Don't need the XM Radio of Ipod inputs at this time but you never know.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

Nice Product

10/08/2008
By ,
Russellville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered one of the these and the CD player was DOA (dead on arrival). I took it back to the store and they refunded the purchase price and the shipping. I ordered another one and this one works fine. Great sound, easy to operate, reasonable price, good features. Plenty enough strength for a backyard party of 100+ people. My iPod charges while it's connected, so it can go forever. VERY fast shipping. Overall quite pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

Great Buy

08/03/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this stereo because my other one was dead. I read the reviews and trusted the JVC name. I play it everyday. The cd player is great though you cannot play random songs on all 3 CDs I don't care about that. I really enjoy the sychronizers they help get optimal listening and the sound turbo is wonderful. The MP3 plug in is great I use that every other day. The Ipod or the XM radio plug ins I don't use...Maybe later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

cool product

10/02/2008
By ,
El Centro, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like my stereo I ordered. It was very easy to hook up and the sound is great too. I hooked up both my t.v. and plugged in my ipod to it. So I am enjoying the sounds I get from my ipod, c.d.'s and especially being able to hook up my audio from my t.v. too. I would recommend this stereo and say I got more than my moneys worth.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

JVC compact stereo system, MXKC58

12/31/2007
By ,
tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this stereo for my 23 year old son. I have never gotten anything right, stereo wise, till this one. I was so surprised when my son hooked it up and said thanks mom. He loves it. He says it has the best sound for the money and it really looks cool. I guess there is a first for everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

AWESOME SOUND!!!!

01/02/2008
By ,
Madisonville,La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stereo system is awesome. The sound is great, it has an ipod dock to not only charge, but listen to your ipod tunes. It is a great looking stereo and a great price. I looked several places for a stereo like this, but couldn't find one close to this one. It rocks:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

Great Sound

07/07/2008
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exceptional performance from a compact stereo system. The convenient IPOD port makes it a hit with the family. One draw back, unlike our previous JVC system, this unit has fixed speaker attachments on the back of the speakers. That limits your set up options.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

Exciting Product

09/25/2008
By ,
Green River, Wy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sound quality is awesome and had more features than I expected. Set up was easy. I have enjoyed listening to my music and being able to adjust the base and treble volumes. I like the fact that it can have at least 3 CD's. The clarity was surprising
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

not

10/17/2008
By ,
washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will only play 255 tracks on an mp3 disc! Mine all have over that amount, so no good to me. Taking it back tomorrow. Sound is great , so if you don't play mp3 or have less than 255 tracks per discs it's a great machine.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58
08/15/2008
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I replaced a 10 year old Aiwa system that was over $400..This system blows that one away. It's sound is great, and the cd changer is very quiet. It's one of the best values I've gotten in a long time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

Excellent!!!!

07/02/2008
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this radio system for my daughter's baby shower. It played great! I had guest come up to me and ask where did I buy it. They loved the bass sound which made it sound like I had hired a DJ.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

Excellent Product

09/22/2008
By ,
Dayton, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this stereo for 2 weeks now and I am thrilled with it. It does everything I wanted it to do and more. This stereo was easy to set up and very easy to operate. The sound is full and rich.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

Nice Sound

01/05/2008
By ,
colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product for my Grandson for Christmas. There aren't a lot of products at this time that you can hook your ipod to and get the quality of sound that this system provides.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

Very good product

01/14/2008
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product for the money I spent on it. However, some of the local FM radio channels are static when I turn to them. I can move the antenna and it helps a little.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

good system

06/13/2008
By ,
baltimore,md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i read all the reviews and walmart made the price so good i had to try it and im very pleased.everyone was right great sound easy to use and does it all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for JVC Compact Stereo system with CD Changer, MXKC58

Great Stereo

11/23/2008
By ,
Falling Waters.WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything I was looking for, returned the Sony we bought for this, no comparison. JVC has great sound lots of features and a good price Highly recomend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next