Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

It packs 530 total watts so get ready for big sound without the big system. Highlights include a three-CD changer that can play CD-Rs and MP3 discs, digital AM/FM tuner, two 3-way speakers, a subwoofer, equalizer, PC/MP3 player audio input and remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%24 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Sounds loud & clear but bass is mediocre

11/05/2007
By ,
South Bend, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this stereo to replace my 460-watt JVC-MXGT88 GigaTube system that died. This system sounds loud & clear at high volumes. My complaint is the sub; it pretty much has mediocre performance. My old JVC had much more bass than this system. I hope JVC makes more GigaTube systems in the future. They are the best. I also do not like that it has no tape deck. There is also no mute function. The display can be it little hard to read at a certain angle. Other than that, it is a nice system for anyone to own. I would recommend this system to anybody but will not recommend it to a person who craves good quality bass performance from a shelf stereo. I ended up returning this stereo to Wal-Mart for a full refund.
As a Sony fan, I would say make your systems sound better on bass performance on your shelf stereos when it comes to low frequencies.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Sony Stereo

10/21/2007
By ,
Northern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An
excellent unit if your preference is quality sound. Not much on graphic
display or other visual amenities. This unit is built for delivering
sound. No distorsion, even at full volume. And with its sub-wolfer, it
will shake the walls. It still delivers high treble sounds and mid
range clairity equalivant my home unit that's ten times the cost.
The only draw backs I've found is having to physically turn the base
amp on and off. The function buttons are simple yet confussing until
menorizied. Imput jacks are located in the front, making visible
wiring.
Overall compensated for the price paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

AIWA Downgraded

12/02/2007
By ,
Naperville, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AIWA got bought out by Sony, so to replace my old AIWA that had a 3 CD, AUX-IN (TV/DVD), Dual Tape Deck, and subwoofer.
I had taken this back because of NO: AUX-IN for my DVD or TV, and NO Tape Deck.
So for the same price that I bought my AIWA back in 1997 -- here is what Sony brings to the table -- a plain 3 CD player. I don't listen to CD's that often, but I did not want a home theatre that I would have to build a Tape Deck for...
Hopefully Sony learns to create products for users on a budget and put everything on it like AIWA did in 1997.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 4 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Very powerful system

09/24/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it so much,,,I play it everyday and its working like a champ,,,the subwoofer is awesome and the speakers are really awesome too,,,it is also really cool that I am able to connect my mp3 player and my laptop to it and the sound is truly amazing,,,It is also really cool that you are able to play mp3 disks on it and it having three disk changer is awesome,,,its a really great little system with a powerful sound,,, I feel I really got my money's worth,,,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Sony Mini Stereo Systeem

12/29/2007
By ,
Lincolnton, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The item was given as an anniversary gift. it has thus far performed flawlessly with great sound and flexibility. The only issue is the lack of clarity in the operating instructions. When a function (i.e., repeat, shuffle) is activated, there are no instructions for how to cancel/change the function. The only way I have found is to unplug the system so that it will reset to the original factory settings and start over. Sony needs to correct this problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Great sound but had to return

11/03/2007
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had purchased this system for my daughter who was moving into her own place. She used it everyday for entertainment because she didn't have any cable TV. In just two weeks the CD player was not reading her discs. We had to return it to the store for a new one. We hope that that one will be better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

how cool is this

12/29/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this stereo is awsome. i got this yesterday and it is loud and very high quility. the subwofer could use some more power thogh.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Sony Mini Stereo

04/18/2008
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Measurements of the unit aren't as indicated. I had limited space in an entertainment center and Sony failed to include a 4" x 2" piece that protruded out behind the unit. Consequently I had to turn the unit on an angle towards the corner. They could have also made the speaker wires longer - now I have to splice them to put enough space between the speakers so sound doesn't resonate off of them.
However, sound is fab for the price and it's very easy to use. Within minutes of installation, which only took minutes, my 5 year old was already playing her CDs. I would recommend this product if your looking for something that doesn't cost much and easy to use, and still has fab sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Sony Mini Stero System MHCGX99

09/19/2007
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really surprised and proud of the quality of sound this unit puts out. A friend and I were looking on purchasing stereo equipment. He purchased several high end pieces and his upgrades kinda put a fire under me. My problem was I didn't have that kind of money to spend so, I decided to look at a couple of mini systems. I have always been a Pioneer and Sony fan. I noticed this unit featured a sub-bass and figured this feature would give me the bass I thought I would loose from a small unit. Needless to say, with the sub-bass on or off, the quality of sound delivered from this unit made my friend green with envy and I didn't have to spend $1500. This is a great product!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Sounds Great So Far!

03/09/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been eyeballing this stereo as an alternate incase I can't purchase the live sound system to DJ with because they go out of stock on speakers. I have to say everytime I go to WalMart, I either carry a male-male 1/8" cable or my FM transmitter so I can go back and enjoy this stereo. The pair of 5" woofers provide nice emission of the lower frequencies, while the high-frequency driver and horn can pump out some crisp sound. The sub sounds fine at lower volumes, but when I'm working dances and banquets, I won't need much bass. A pair of these and an analog mixer might do me well to start. Excellent product for what it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Sony

01/10/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This system is everything and more. The sound quality was exceptional, it is compact yet nice to look at. Easy to following set-up instructions and as always Sony has never let me down.
Although it did not say in the description we were able to play our daughters ipod thru the system.
Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Amazing sound

03/14/2008
By ,
North Brunswick, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this stereo and shipped it to my old home in Guyana before Christmas; it packs such amazing sound and power, the music could be heard throughout my entire village. The sound is extremely clear and ranged, and the sub-woofer packs amazing bass power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Very Good Sony Product.

02/08/2008
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Sony stereo system meets my expectations. The quality of the sound is vdery good.
The speaker wires could be longer. And the owners instruction manual could be better explained as to the controls.
But as is, it's a good quality audio player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Excellent Product

12/26/2007
By ,
Cumberland, Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the stero that I purchased. The price was excellent. The sound on this stero can get very loud, the bass is great. The design of the stero is excellent and looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

product for daily use

12/21/2007
By ,
WALKER, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'M VERY HAPPY WITH THIS SONY STERO, AND THINK THE PRICE WE GOT IT FOR WAS THE BEST WE COULD GET. GOOD SOUND, BUT REMOTE IS NOT A REAL SIMPLE ONE TO USE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Nice sound

12/26/2007
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked it when I looked at it and when I got it home and set up it sounded great . If you asked me would I buy it again the answer is yes .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Design

12/19/2007
By ,
Northwestern Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only draw back to this product is the need to power the bass unit separately from the main unit, thus requiring two power switches.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Size

12/01/2007
By ,
Sykesville, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was disappointed in the bulkiness and overall size of this product. The sound, however, is very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

awesome sound

09/10/2007
By ,
marysville,wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not a lot of money but good sound--- you get what ya pay for
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sony Mini Stereo System, MHCGX99

Sony Stereo

09/11/2007
By ,
Parsons, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased overall with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next