Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Germ Guardian Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Germ Guardian Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

The Germ Guardian Nursery Sanitizer effectively kills 99.9% of germs in 30 minutes. Dry heat is used as a safe, natural way to kill germs without the use of chemicals. The Nursery Sanitizer kills germs that cause: RSV, colds and flu, pneumonia, staph infection, earaches, diarrhea and more. It sanitizes hard and soft toys, pacifiers, bottles and nipples in thirty minutes. Automatically shuts off when cycle is complete. Use it in the home or daycare.
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation81%22 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

WAYYYYY To small but performs well.

01/22/2008
By ,
Illinois
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this item before returning to work because I thought it would simplify my sterilizing routine for my breast pump parts. I also liked that It was dry sanitizing, so I was excited to sanitize items like teethers, small stuffed animals, etc. I wish that I had seen all the reviews on amazon before purchasing. I assumed by the photo that this was a much bigger item, and that I would be able to fit lots inside. (see my photos uploaded to amazon)
I was sadly mistaken. When the germ guardian arrived I was shocked at how small it was. Unlike other reviewers stated, I was able to fit all of my double pump pieces inside, both horns, both diaphragms, and all the sterile caps, etc. However, that was about all I could fit. If the unit is completely empty, I can fit four, 4 ounce avent bottles in it, but none with the pump horns. The avent 4 ounce bottles must be in the 4 corners, otherwise the lid hits them and won't close. Anything larger than a 4 ounce bottle will only fit on it's side. Because of the strange plastic divider pieces that are in the container, only ONE 8 oz bottle will fit inside, on it's side. Strange! So when I thought that I would be able to come home and sterilize Four bottles and all my pump parts in one load, I was sadly mistaken. I can fit almost 50% more items in my Avent Micro Steam Sterilizer. Every night after daycare I have to run the Germ Guardian THREE TIMES to get the bottles and pump parts from the day sanitized.
The small size of the chamber is just ridiculous. They could have at least made it deeper, if not wider dimensionally... that way it would take up very little counter space and still handle a nice sized load.
Another thing I wasn't expecting, the bottom of the container is "open" with spoke-like dividers radiating out from the center. Instead of being a nice grid design like say, a colander, it allows smaller pump parts and even pacifier handles and small MAM Pacis to fall through. That is crazy to me. I am always afraid this will cause something to melt or drop through. (please see photos I uploaded of inside grid)
That said, the sanitizer is easy to use. It does it's job. It's nice to walk away and come back to clean, dry, sterile pieces. My favorite part is that silicone breast pump parts and nipples are never "spotted" or cloudy as they are with boiling or with steam sterilizers. Just nice and crystal clear. At least things look nice!
Another thing I was shocked about? You can't use this to sanitize teethers! The directions state that no toys with liquid inside can be placed in the sanitizer in case they get too hot and burst. I was disappointed at this. You also can't put in any toys with light or music/sound features. So no light up keys or musical rattles. I thought that as a dry sanitizer, it would be able to do these things for me. That even ruled out the stuffed animal that I wanted to sanitize, because his hands are plastic and filled with a teething gel.
Another downside is that wet items cant be placed inside. So while I thought I would save drying time, I still have to wash and hand dry all the parts before they can go inside. I thought they would probably dry while in the sanitizer, since it uses heat much like a dishwasher. However, the directions tell you that it is NOT A DRYER and that Wet Items are not to be placed inside. If wet items are inside, they won't get hot enough to be sanitized.
I was extremely frustrated with the lack of information about the product that was available before I purchased.
This could use some serious improvements. The idea is great but the design is not.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 2 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer
03/01/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I really like this product. It is small but it works great for pacifiers and nipples to bottles. Our new addition is only 2 weeks old but Im sure as she grows we will find many new uses for this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 3 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

Great for women who exclusively pump.

10/05/2008
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased this product because I exclusively pump breast milk to feed our baby. She was born at 26 weeks gestation and is in the NICU, so we're unable to breast feed. Instead, I pump to ensure she gets breast milk. Before we bought the Germ Guardian, I was hand washing the horns to my pump every hour and a half. Talk about a hassle! Both of my horns fit perfectly in the machine and it's great to drop them in and walk away.
As other reviewers have said, the machine is pretty small so don't expect to sterilize bottles in it. It's also a bit noisy, but if you don't mind the humming/buzzing then it's well worth it. I will say that you should make sure the plastic parts you put in it are able to withstand the heat. I put two NICU breast milk storage bottles in it and they became distorted. I'm thinking the bottles just weren't built for the heat, but it is a word of warning to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

Easy to use

01/18/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes my day a little easier. I just load it up, put on the cover, and press the button. 30 minutes later, its all sanitized. Easier than using a microwave. I love this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

Is it necessary?

05/25/2009
By ,
Oregon, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought the product was a great idea. I like the idea of having everything for my son sanitized. However, I'm not sure if the product was actually necessary. It blows hot air to sanitize, but my dishwasher does the same thing on "dry" mode. The case is very small, so sanitizing small items such as pacifiers and small bottle and pump parts are done with ease. If you want to sanitize actual bottles, you can only sanitize one, maybe two, bottles at a time... and that's only if they'll fit. You can't use this product if you're in a hurry as each cycle takes 20 minutes to complete. I would recommend this item if it wasn't as expensive. Personally, I don't think it's worth $50, and would not have purchased it if I had known then what I know now. Like I said, great idea, just not necessary and not entirely convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

Terrible odor!

04/08/2008
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This concept is great but this product has a terrible odor which makes everything you put in it smell like that odor. Yuk! It's kind of small so you can only put small things like pacifiers, rattles, and bottle rings in it. The heat that comes from it doesn't get hot enough to burn your skin which was comforting because I was worried about that. And to set it up, all you have to do is pull it out of the box. I would like this product if it weren't for that aweful smell! It's kind of a musty basement smell. I thought it would go away after several uses as I have a crock pot that did something similar (different smell), but that was not the case. I will not be using this anymore just because of the smell.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 7 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

Love IT!!!

04/04/2009
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I thought that this would be just an expensive item and not be very good. When I got it I set it up, which only took about 5min. It is smaller than expected but I was still able to fit quite a bit into it. It does no damage to bottle nipples or toys. I absolutley love it, it works great and is quiet. A little pricey for how small it is but I would definately recommend it to any one who has a baby or small child.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

Pleased

10/23/2009
By ,
Japan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a three month old and I love this product. It saves me time. I use the playtex drop in bottles and they don't fit inside but, just having it to sanitze nipples, pacifiers, and the tops make my life easier. You can sanitze the bottles with a teaspon of bleach and they'll be dry by the time the sanitizer is. I recommend every parent have one of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

Pretty good

12/09/2008
By ,
Princeton, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've found the heat output & time to be satisfactory. It's easy to use. It would be nice if it was a couple of inches deeper & wider, though. And $50 seems to be a little too much. I've not had a single problem with mine. The instructions do say to not put liquid-filled items in the Guardian, so be careful to not do that. I do recommend the Germ Guardian.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

Odor

03/31/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I loved the idea of a sterilizer for all my babies items. But when I started to use this item it released an odor and when I checked to see what was going on it melted the comb and medicine dropper I placed in the sterlizer. It also takes 30 minutes to sterlize. Plus it is very loud when it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 11 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

love it but could use more room

01/05/2008
By ,
Katy, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a one month old and I'm very careful with keeping her pacifiers and nipples to her bottles clean clean clean. I cant fit up to 6 nipples and 3 pacifiers at once. That works for me. That's all I need it for. Once she gets older I would want more space but it works for her right now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

03/22/2008
By ,
Milwaukee, Wisconisn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer is an awesome appliance and I recommend for anyone who wants to sanitize with dry air.
We currently do not have a dish washer so hand washing my bottles and nuks then placing them into the Sanitizer is a plus for us. Worth the price of peace of mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

Great Product

11/18/2007
By ,
La Vergne, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awesome product! Just put your stuff in and press the button - sanitized stuff in just 30 minutes, and its not wet like with steam sterilizers - love that part. A little bit pricy, especially for the size. It was smaller than I expected - wish it was larger.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer
10/28/2007
By ,
TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This works really well for nipple, pacifer cleaning or teether toys. I thought it was much larger when I purchased it, and you can't fit bottles in it. Unless you have a lot of small things to sanitize it is not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

too small

01/21/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was much smaller than I expected it would be. Most of the toys and other objects I wanted to clean would not fit. There are slots in the bottom, also, so if something was too small it would go through the slots.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

Safe

10/28/2007
By ,
Danville Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my daughter. Left at my house since we do daily babysitting. Granddaughter is 6 mos. old and everything goes to the mouth. This allows me to clean items that I can't clean in water and soap.
Would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

not bad

01/10/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it is a little bit small. can't put anything wet in it or toys with musical devices in it.
takes 30 min. to complete. i like to put my pacifiers and small toys in it. so far i think the product is okay.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 18 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

Save your money

06/26/2008
By ,
Las Vegas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For the price this is not worth it, it is so small I can only fit 3 things in it. I would have saved the money because you will have to sanitize it by hand anyways.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer

Great Product

07/02/2009
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a first time mom. Never used any other similar product, but I am glad that I found this one. It is so useful. I use it at least three to four times a day!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer
08/15/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item is a great item. I find that I am using this item everyday and it is so easy to use. I would recommend this to everyone who has a child.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next