Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lodge Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Lodge Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

We are proud to carry on the legacy started by our great grandfather, Joseph Lodge, as the sole American manufacturer of cast iron cookware with the Lodge 12" Cast Iron Skillet. It is completely versatile and will go from the kitchen to the campfire with ease. The 12" Skillet will last for decades and continue to provide excellent performance year after year. Foundry-seasoned for a natural, easy-release surface that improves with each use. This must have kitchen tool is the perfect choice for searing, sauteing, simmering, braising, baking, roasting and frying. The rugged cast iron construction heats slowly and evenly. Not only can you fry chicken and eggs, you can bake biscuits, cakes and breads! You will find it perfect for use at home on any cooking surface stovetop (electric, gas or induction!), on the grill or over the campfire. No other cookware has the same heat retention as cast iron. Proudly made in the USA since 1896! Now let's eat!
Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(207 Reviews) 164
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
172
4 stars
28
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation96%199 out of 207reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 205 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
172
4 stars
28
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Love my cast iron skillet

07/27/2010
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to use this pan for a while before writing a review so that I would have some experience to speak on. I bought this skillet about 3 months ago, after much reading and research on how to use and care for it. As everyone else has already said, this skillet turns out a far better meal than any Teflon coated pan. Searing and deglazing work beautifully in cast iron. I've cooked all kinds of things in this skillet by now, including frying foods that normally require a deep fryer. I've also made meals that start on the stove and finish in the oven, which is one of the great benefits of cast iron. Even though the Lodge products come read-to-use (pre-seasoned), I washed and seasoned mine anyway. I brushed on a light coating of canola oil (inside and out) and put it upside down on the oven rack with a cookie sheet on a lower rack to catch any drips, in a 350 degree oven for an hour, then left it to sit in there until it was cooled. As for continued maintenance, instead of washing it last like I used to do with other pans, I wash it first. I towel dry it, then set it back on a low-medium burner to heat/dry completely for about 10 mins while doing the other dishes. Thorough drying is critical to prevent rusting. Then a little canola oil on a paper towel, give it a real light coat inside, leave it on the burner another 15 mins while I finish the rest of the kitchen clean up. Really isn't that much extra work, honest. Just a minor adjustment to your clean-up routine. Definitely worth it! I love this skillet, I won't ever be without one now. I also bought the smaller 8" skillet and recently the double dutch oven. Cast iron cooks differently than Teflon, so take a little time to learn the techniques (lower heat is needed with cast iron, I over cooked a few things in the beginning). Don't be discouraged the first time or two if your food sticks just a little, the non-stick surface takes a few meals to really develop nicely, but it will. So cook a batch of bacon, maybe some burgers, and wait a few times before doing delicate things like eggs. I couldn't be happier with the Lodge product in general, Kudos to Walmart for a GREAT price and nice quality for that price. And thumbs up for the Site-To-Store service!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

LODGE CAST IRON

12/15/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Compared to more expensive cast iron, LODGE is a bit rougher where pan texture is concerned. It advertises that it is pre-seasoned, but LODGE said it is NOT. Therefore, many hours of prepping were involved before I fried the first egg - that stuck. I knew I would need to season more aggressively due to the roughness of the cast iron. Do not expect a smooth, mirrored finish as comes on high end cast iron. This is more rustic. After heating it to smoking on my stove, I applied olive oil sparingly then rubbed it in using a paper towel. I did this at least 20 times and the paper towel would shred due to the coarseness of the pan.
After scraping it down with a metal spatula (many times) and re-seasoning many MORE times, I finally had the skillet of my dreams. Eggs might not slide around like they are on ice, but they do not stick now. Clean-up (unless you make gravy) requires a wipe-down with a dry cloth (since I stopped using paper towels) lol
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Didnt know what I had

03/05/2011
By ,
Naperville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You would not believe I bought these last year and maybe even longer than that and NEVER used them. I used it last night to fry some chicken. Simply because a friend was talking about them. I was shocked and awed and took me back to me child hood when no one could make fried chicken like your mother. =) ( didnt know it was the skillet) It was the most beautiful chicken I ever had. I decided to research information on cast iron skillets. They are a healthy way of cooking. The maintenance to me doesnt compare to other cooking utensils in which I have to poor comet in and soak them over night to dissolve the grease. I used some scalding hot water and a scrub brush. Sprayed and massaged with some pam on the inside perimeter and put on the stove on low for 15 minutes. It looks so beautiful. I just seasoned another grill bottom cast iron skillet that I will be using from now on. I also have a griddle stove top grill/griddle that I have used and always loved that. I am fully on the cast iron band wagon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

A Natural source of Iron.

03/02/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter has consistently low iron blood work, so I thought I would purchase a few cast iron items to start, and plan on changing over all my cookware! I feel good cooking on cast iron. I treated the skillet first by covering it in oil and baking at 300 degrees for hours. The skillet came out with a beautiful glaze on it. When I am finished cooking, I clean it out, put it on a burner on low, to dry any water off the pan, then re-coat in oil, and leave on the burner for another 5-10 minutes. It may all sound like a lot of work, but I really feel this pan is worth it. Once this skillet was treated, the glaze on it is like non stick wear, without nasty chemicals being used like Teflon. I have cooked anything from roasted vegetables, to fried chicken, and bacon and eggs, and everything slides off the skillet when I am done, and clean up only takes a wipe of a dish cloth, and everything I cook in this skillet is more nutritional, infused with natural iron. I highly recommend, and Walmart brings this to us at a fraction of the cost!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

I'm in love!

08/17/2010
By ,
UT, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever since I've taken up cooking, I've discovered that I have a classic, old fashioned outlook. I don't care for this 30 minutes or less pre-packaged food that everyone else does these days. I like cooking when it takes time and concentration because it always tastes great. Until I got this cast iron skillet, I never realized how good food really could be. I don't know how it does it, but food cooked in this skillet is much better. It doubles the flavor and gives it a really hearty taste. I could not be happier with this product. Even though maintenance can be kind of a pain for the first few months, it gets easier with each use and eventually it's easier than cleaning any other pan. My favorite things to make are breakfast foods (bacon, pancakes, eggs), steaks (sear on both sides and finish in the oven), and fried chicken (one of the best uses I have found for this pan). It's no wonder why cast iron cookware has been around for centuries: it works and works well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

I love it !

01/13/2014
By ,
camdenton , Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received my new pan and it was already seasoned of course but I wanted to be sure food would not stick so I seasoned it myself per the instructions.I had never used cast iron cookware myself until now and the first thing I cooked in it was KC strip . I did it according to the instructions found on Lodge Logics website with the exception that after pulling it out of the oven after four minutes I turned my steaks over and put them back in the oven for three more minutes. I like my steaks medium well to well done and it came out perfectly well done . The flavor was fantastic and it was nice an moist . Probably the best steak I have ever cooked myself ! Who would have thought that simple cast iron would beat all the fancy grills and appliances I have used over the years to cook steak . I thought I had cooked some pretty tasty steak before but my results this time just blew me away . The Lodge Logic cast iron is beautiful and American made and certainly worth every penny . I will certainly be buying more of it as I learn how to cook with this great cookware .
:ClickToShop
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Heavy skillet

11/08/2013
By ,
TEXAS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only adverse observation is it claims it comes "pre-seasoned". being a 7th generation native Texan, found it not to be seasoned proper. My advice, buy it, before you even try to use it, get some bacon grease, smear it all around inside the skillet, add a little pepper if you truly like flavor in your fried foods, then bake it at 400° for 45 minutes or so, let it air cool on stove top before using. If you wash it after use, don't let it air dry, immediately put on the stove top on low heat and leave it until it's fully dried, that way the soap won't get into the seasoning. Every so often you'll need to re-season it. You can bake fantastic cornbread in this thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Not quite sure yet.

04/03/2013
By ,
Fox Valley WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It seems like a good product. I wanted a preseasoned pan because I had such a hard time seasoning a pan the last time I tried. It said it might need some extra oil the first few times and it might need more seasoning. I figured bacon would be a good first product because it's so greasy. The bacon stuck really bad to the pan, I had to scrape it off the bottom and those spots where it stuck were terribly sticky. After the bacon I fried a couple burgers in the pan, they got that nice crusty outside like you only get from a skillet like this or from a really nice restaurant grill. The burgers stuck a little bit but nothing serious. Then I fried up the rest of the hamburger to use in other dishes, that fried up nicely no sticking. I think it cleaned up nicely, I poured out the grease and wiped it out with paper towel, I didn't want to use water on it again afraid it will set me back. I'll have to see how it goes on the use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Excellent for Cooking- Learn Cast Iron Care First

01/11/2009
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pan is amazing! I was a little skeptical at first, but with the limited budget of a grad student I just couldn't afford the pricier "kitchen gadget store" models. I'm so glad I didn't pay more!
Works beautifully for fried chicken, and does a splendid job in the oven with Food Network host Alton Brown's Pan Seared Rib Eye recipe (you've got to try it in the winter when you're crazing a great steak but it's just to cold to grill)... For the amount of money it's saved me on going to a steak house or great fried chicken joint it's been well worth the money and extra time required for maintaining it.
I learned the hard way... Make sure you do your research on how to properly care for cast iron before bringing this baby home and using it for the first time. Mine has been used and abused for the past three years and it's definitely starting to show... I've been told though that it should re-season beautifully and be good to go again for years to come.
And just an FYI - The Lodge 12-inch cast iron skillet just received America's Test Kitchen's top score out of all the cast iron skillets they reviewed, including several models sold 'exclusively' at those fancy kitchen stores for around $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+157points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Great Value

01/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How many other products will you buy that will last yours and your childrens' lifetimes, you can use every day, does its job as well or better than any other product of its type, is made in the usa, and costs under 20 bucks? It's funny to look at cast iron products at Williams-Sonoma that cost over a hundred dollars, and are absolutely no better at cooking than a Lodge skillet for 18 bucks! If I could only have one pan to prepare meals with, it would be this skillet. You can cook literally anything with it. I seasoned mine again with vegetable shortening when I first brought it home, and give it a coating of veg or olive oil whenever I scrub it out. Keep it dry (heat it up on the stove top after cleaning) and never, ever, use soap. It's not needed. Heat and oil are the skillets best friends. Your skillet will only perform better with age.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Wonderful! I'm buying one more!

01/20/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got tired of all the so called "non-stick miracle pans." They didn't work. Over the years, I had heard of all the health benefits that came with cooking in cast iron. So, I did some research. I was happy to see Walmart carrying the Lodge brand and that it's made in the good 'ol U.S.A.! My brother filled me in about cast iron cooking and even though this skillet is pre-seasoned, he strongly urged me to season it once more. It was easy enough. Lots of videos on youtube.com, even from Lodge themselves!
The next morning, i made fresh home-fried potatoes, bacon, and eggs...and nothing sticked! That evening, I made a chicken and rice recipe for the oven. i mixed all the ingredients, placed it in the skillet, and popped it in the oven at 350 degrees for an hour and 20 minutes. Wow! Again, the food was great and nothing sticked. Clean up was a breeze! Hot water and a stiff brush. Then thoroughly dry and apply a few drops of vegetable oil to keep it in good shape.
I plan to buy the 10 inch skillet. You can't beat the price or the quality! (And, I'm putting all those teflon pans in storage.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Great Value AND Made in the USA!

12/10/2013
By ,
Crawfordsville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to use with our tabletop induction heating unit and it works fantastic. The skillet heats quickly and retains the heat for a long time. My wife loves it and I'm happy because of the value and that it supports workers here in the USA.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

love this product

03/11/2008
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this product. It is so versatile. I know in the product info it says that it is already seasoned, but I would recommend that you bake it again. What i mean is, coat it with a THIN layer of crisco (or something similar) and bake it in the oven (empty) for about 6 or 7 hours on 225 degree heat. It makes it non-stick and keeps it from drying out, repeat if necessary every few mos or so.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+135points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

lodge 12 inch skilet

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so far i am very satisfied with the skillet great for frying fish and chicken, came preseason, just great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Great Skillet!

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful buy, American made and I could not be more pleased!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Love it, love it, love it!

07/15/2011
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this skillet. It is perfect in every way. I have used it several times for searing fish, blackening salmon, making hash browns, potstickers, and several other meals. It is truly amazing and I have not used my old faithful non-stick skillets since this baby arrived. I do not know how I lived so long without it and why I waited so long to purchase it. I have no issues and hope anyone on the fence will purchase it because it is pretty good. I am lazy and not the most meticulous when it comes to cookware, however, I do clean this pan, spray it with cooking spray, wipe it out as mentioned because I do want to preserve its effectiveness and longevity. If you are considering a cast iron skillet, this is a great pan and I use it on both my 14 inch burner and my 8 inch. It maintains its heat well and I have not complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

My first cast iron skillet

02/19/2014
By ,
Saint Johns
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe I have waited so long to buy one. I have used it so much already. I've owned it about 2 weeks. Easy instructions on how to season and take care of it. I am glad I chose the 12 in., i cook for 5 and it's the perfect size. Very heavy though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Perfect pan!

01/16/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect size pan for a larger skillet without going over board on size. Need a metal brush for ease of cleaning. Needs to be seasoned more than what the factory has done. Cook with plenty of oil initially and wipe down with a little oil after rinsing and drying and all be be well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Great and made in USA

03/30/2014
By ,
Hopatcong, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great, large pan. For frying, searing steaks, etc. Just get it - but make sure to take good care of it and keep it seasoned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lodge Logic 12" Cast Iron Skillet

Great product great price

02/09/2014
By ,
poconos, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great name brand and great price! I just wish they would say that they are on the shelf in stores so I wouldnt of had to buy on line and go into the store for pick up date. It should say, also available in stores!!!! I hate ordering on line. My husband loves this skillet and hes not much of a cooker!!! He actually used it before I did!! I gues he loves it because its a manly pan, LOL its very heavy and can go on a BBQ grill and camping LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 165 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next