Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lodge Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Lodge Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

The Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan will expand the repertoire of what is cooked on your stovetop! We proudly carry on the legacy started by our great grandfather, Joseph Lodge, as the sole American manufacturer of cast iron cookware. With its ribbed bottomed cooking surface, this cast iron square pan brings the barbecuer right to your stovetop and gives food professional-looking grill marks. It is awesome on gas, electric or induction stovetops and the raised ridges elevate the food above the fat. Steaks cooked in this Lodge Logic cast iron grill pan are much more tender than when cooked in a flat skillet. With proper care, it will last for generation after generation. Try the Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan tonight for the best steak you will ever cook indoors! No other cookware offers the same heat retention as cast iron. Lodge Logic cast iron grill pan is proudly made in the USA since 1896! Now let's eat!
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
113
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%133 out of 144reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 150 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
113
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

EXECELLENT PAN WHEN USED CORRECTLY!

10/07/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT grill pan at an exceptional price. I've read other reviews that mention smoke and sticking, clearly they have the heat too high. Let me give you some tips.
1. Cast iron spreads heat quickly and evenly, so you do not need to use the same type of temperatures that you would with a stainless steel or copper pan. You need to adjust your temperatures so that your pan does not smoke or cause the meat to stick.
My meat did not stick and there wasn't a smoke problem. I made filet Mignon and it came out better than I've EVER been able to make it at home with my stainless steel pans.
The BEST advice I can give on using this pan properly is to adjust your heat! You WON'T need high heat for your steaks, use medium, you will still get great grill marks.
AND it cooked the BEST steak I've ever made at home! I can't believe it was only $18!!!! I made a medium rare steak cooking 2 minutes per side!!! DELICIOUS!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Lodge Products are TOPS!

10/16/2011
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a fan of Lodge products for a long time. This grill pan did not dissapoint. I have been dabbling with hot sandwich's while I do research before I open my own business and this grill pan fit the bill for me. Not only have I used it to make Panini's, I have grilled several other foods for that "grill" mark look and they too have come out with the desired effect. I never considered buying a grill pan in the past concerned with the cleaning horror one my expect from having to clean between the grills. I was really surprised how easy it cleaned. The preseasoning by Lodge is fantastic! I make sure I don't overheat the pan and I wash with hot water only have the grill has had a chance to cool off a little. With good heat control and prompt cleaning with water only, you too will enjoy the same visual effect the Lodge Grill Pan leaves on meat and other frilled foods you cook in this pan for a VERY long time. You can find me on Facebook under SWLALeChienCookers, an outdoor dutch oven cooking group in LA
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Use it (almost!) everyday!

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my best purchase of the year-wished I had bought it 10 years ago! I use it almost every day: steaks, chicken, pork, shrimp, burgers, veggies-everything comes out perfect. The pan cleans up easily and ready for the next day. I don't even put this pan away. I keep it out on the stove where it's ready for the next meal. Love the grill marks on my indoor grilled food. This pan is so sturdy I can see it lasting forever. I am SO glad I bought it and the price was excellent. My Mom used to cook on similar pans and I didn't understand back then how great they were. I'm so glad I have one now. It retains heat very well and heats evenly. LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Exceptional grill pan!

10/01/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to clean and maintain if you follw mfrs instructions
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Great cast iron square grill pan!

10/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I selected the best one at the store. It is easy to wash by hand only. The coloration was overall satisfying. I expect to cook with great grill marks for this pan which can take the heat without burning the goods...with careful watching of course. The 10 1/2 inch is manageable in terms of weight of the cast iron. I recommend the cast iron for the stated use. Happy cooking!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Excellent Pan

07/22/2014
By ,
Wyoming
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pan performed as admirably as a cast iron pan should. It got hot quickly and the items that it was used for (steaks and hamburgers) got great grill marks and seared beautifully. It went into the oven and did a great job at continuing to cook the meat. The only thing that is a negative is its weight. It is very heavy. I don't recall my mother's old cast iron skillet being nearly this heavy. I have carpal tunnel, and it exacerbated the pain in my wrist just from its weight. It would be a phenomenal weapon in the event of a burglar! If you can handle the weight, it's an excellent pan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Dimensions are smaller

02/09/2008
By ,
So Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dimensions listed are the outer edge. The inside of the pan is 9 inches. This only matters if you desire a bacon press for making sandwiches. You can only cook two steaks at a time. The two handles is a wonderful feature. The grill groves are very deep so the fat drains away. You need to take the time to get the pan hot so your food will cook fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Great for sure.

10/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pan even gives an outdoor grilled taste.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Great for steaks

10/05/2014
By ,
Glendale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got my pan, seasoned it and then put it to work on a ribeye. It was my first time using this type of pan. I put it on the burner, heated it up to sear the meat then put it in the oven. It worked well and the steak turned out great. Very pleased with purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Pleased with purchase

06/02/2009
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had grill pan similar to this one years ago and I threw it away after using a few times because the seasoning came off of the grill-ribs and rusted pretty badly.
I am happy to report that the new one that I purchased last week has a good seasoning finish that is holding up. The first two steaks that I cooked were burned on the outside and raw in the middle but this is my fault because I had the electric stove turned up to 9 the first time and 7 the second. This afternoon I cooked another steak that was very near perfect because I had the stove top set to 4; next time I'm going to try 3 1/2.
I went to the Lodge website and read their recommendations for care and use. Their directions for cleaning were the same as how my mother told me to clean her iron skillet 30+ years ago; use hot water only with a plastic brush after it has cooled; no soap, no dishwasher, no S.O.S. pads. After cleaning towel dry and allow to air dry thoroughly before storing.
The Lodge website also said that it was best to heat the skillet up in stages. I can't remember if the instruction was a general rule for iron cookware or if it was an instruction that was specific to use of the grill pan. I have been taking the temperature up to about 50% and let it set at this level for 5-6 minutes and then take it up to the cooking setting and leave it alone for another 5-6 minutes before beginning to cook.
If you decide to buy one of these grill pans I hope that you enjoy yours as much as I'm enjoying mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
You threw it away? OMG
Posted 11/02/2012
Removing rust and seasoning cast iron is so easy. I can't believe you threw it away!
+1point
Customer Avatar
CNY
Messed up cast iron pans - reclaimed!
Posted 10/22/2012
I have seen several good suggestions lately for pans that look like they are 'lost'...
- Next time you are having a fire outside, put the pan in the pile and burn it with the other stuff (no plastics please!). This will burn off all the nasty stuff and you can start fresh with seasoning etc. OR, and this is with the caveat that the pan is not cracked at all, you can leave it in the oven when you run the self clean feature. If the pan is cracked it might have some moisture in it that would cause it to shatter - and might damage your oven. Again you will have to season the pan afterwards.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan
07/17/2013
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all the Lodge cast iron, they come pre-seasoned, but I always reseason all my new cast iron at least twice before I ever use it, I do it the old fashion way with lard, outside on my charcoal grill as hot as I can get it and for several hours recoating the inside several times and then making sure it cooks until all the lard is cooked into the iron, coating the inside bottoms especially, then I'm ready for years of fine cooking. When people say that food sticks they do not have the inside bottoms seasoned like they are supposed to be and I never use anything to clean except warm water and a paper towel, dry off and put away. If you cook on it often you should not have to put oil on it if it is properly seasoned and don't worry about germs and whatnot because when you preheat your pans, as you should before you use them but not too hot, it kills everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

I don't know if i got a defective one or not!

10/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I cooked one thing let the pan soak for a hour or so rinsed it, woke up the next day the whole thing was rusted back and front. Great deal for a reason….
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
dsmcwil
Posted 10/05/2014
You never let a cast iron pan sit in water.
They rust...You didn't read the instructions
0points
Customer Avatar
Louisville, KY
Read the use and care directions
Posted 10/02/2014
Cast iron is never to "soak" in water or ever use detergent on. It is, by nature, one of the most self-cleaning surfaces.
If you have food stick clean with a soft rag and vegetable oil.. usually it will roll right off. After use take a paper towel and a small amount of oil and wipe the surface till it's black and shiny. If you care for cast iron properly it will last a lifetime.
If you soak it it will rust... Iron oxidizes quickly. I hate to say it, but it's unfair for you to give it one star when you did not care for it properly... it's like washing organic cotton in boiling water and complaining it shrank.
Now there are websites on how to re-season and re-fire that pan. You can clean the rust, coat it with some lard and burn it off in a gas grill it will be good (probably better) than new. But once you wash the seasoning off the pan will stick and be nothing but trouble until it's reasoned again. NEVER EVER Soak cast iron it will remove all the seasoning off the pan.
You may think it's dirty, but the cast iron heats and self-sterilizes and cleans better than any other surface. I've got some pieces that were my ancestor's cookware they are over 100 years old and still cook better than anything new I have ever bought.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

the pan rust after washing it.

09/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
can someone tell how to clean the rust of the pans. I wash the pan with dish detergent and dry the pan out and left in my dish rack next morning went to put it away and it had rust stains on it like I had it for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Louisville, KY
Never "WASH" cast iron
Posted 10/02/2014
When done with cooking while pan is not hot but warm use a pot holder take to sink. Wash out and rub with dishrag to get anything out of the pan. Then take a paper towel and re-coat with olive oil.
Never let the pan air dry with water in it you are asking for rush.
Now you will have to re-fire and re-season your pan... go here for your fix...
http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/how-to-clean-and-season-old-ru-151535
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Do not hesitate, great buy!!!!

06/03/2011
By ,
St Petersburg, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets all expectations. Cooks great and cleans easy and I can not believe the low price. I always shop for USA made items, and the fact that this is made in USA is just icing on the cake-got to keep jobs in AMERICA!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CNY
Cleaning these Cast Iron pans...
Posted 10/22/2012
If (1) stuff builds up on the pan, or (2) the seasoning has worn off on the ridges or elsewhere...
First and foremost - do NOT clean your pan with detergent. It breaks down the seasoning.
Second, clean it with salt and a paper towel after it has cooled a bit. If there is still stuff on it, soak for long enough in just hot water to loosen up the crusty bits and scrape off with the edge of a wooden spoon/spatula.
Third, dry it completely. Stick it in a warm oven to dry if you had it on. THEN
Swab it down with some olive oil/vegetable oil. You don't have to soak it, just wipe some on. This will eliminate any possibility of rust.
Store as you would any other pan.
If the seasoning has worn off in places this consistent swabbing with oil will eventually blacken. Black is GOOD.
Don't let any tomato based foods sit in the pan for any longer than it takes to cook it quickly. Tomato is very acidic and will remove seasoning and taste terrible. Use the enameled cast iron pans for that if you can. Also, red wine will do the same thing - and in a cream sauce will turn it gray as the wine interacts with the pot.
I have had my pans/dutch oven for almost 50 years. With care they have become non-stick long ago, and clean like the new non-stick pans.
Use the pans with a flat bottom surface on ceramic stove tops. Don't slide them, pick them up and down carefully - and enjoy!! They are marvelous.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Godd quality - American Made

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is rare in this day and age that you can find a quality, American made, product. This pan is one of them. Hey, it is a frying pan so what can you say about the performance? It fries. Because of the grill pattern in the bottom, you get nice grill marks on what you cook. The down side is it is a little harder to clean. You don't use soap and water - just water because it is cast iron and you don't want to remove the seasoning oils.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Cast iron pans are great

08/21/2014
By ,
Salem OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used the pan the grill a salmon filet which turned out juicy and delicious! Pan cleaned up easily. I plan to use it for a hamburger next.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Mmmm mmmm !!!

11/21/2008
By ,
Somewhere, Georgia USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you can't grill out, this is the next best thing !! Hamburgers and steaks taste delicious cooked in this pan. American made in Tennessee !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Just picked it up today

08/18/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I recently purchased the 10" skillet, I'm sure this will be as good as it is the same quality. .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Beyond what we expected

11/05/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought a NuWave induction burner but didn't want to pay their price for the grill accessory. I ordered this one at 1/3 of their price and used it last night for a steak. It was perfect and cooked evenly and fast. With cooler weather approaching a great alternative to outside grilling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lodge Logic 10-1/2" Cast Iron Square Grill Pan

Best Cast Iron Cookware I've ever owned

09/25/2013
By ,
Hackettstown, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is truly an exceptional product. Well beyond my greatest expectations. It's the best thing I've ever bought from Walmart. It heavier than any other piece I own and it performs magnificently. Lodge Mfg. is truly the best, and only, source for American Cast Iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next