Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Presto Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Presto Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

The Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper pops up enjoy healthy, delicious popcorn without added calories, as you won't need to pop your popcorn in oil. This versatile hot air corn popper makes up to 18 cups of fresh, hot popcorn in less than three minutes. The handy butter melter doubles as a measuring cup, while the chute directs popcorn right into your bowl. It's perfect for game night, movie time with the family or making snacks at a party.
Average Customer Rating:
4.564 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(913 Reviews) 755
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
661
4 stars
184
3 stars
24
2 stars
10
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation94%858 out of 911reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 341 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
661
4 stars
184
3 stars
24
2 stars
10
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

The Best Popper on the Market!

03/16/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this air popper! I was spending at least $6.00-$8.00 a week buying organic popcorn from our local grocer and there were always a ton of unpopped kernels on the bottom of the bag. This air popper pops 98% of the kernels and does a great job! The kids love watching it pop and it takes only 3 minutes. Just don't use a shallow bowl when popping, as those last kernels can really fly out of there easily.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great Product

03/05/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Filled the cup with kernals. poured them in, set a bowl to catch the popcorn. plugged it in and watched it make popcorn. I watched it so intently I realized too late the bowl was not large enough. It was like a comedy with popcorn going all over the place while I went to get another bowl. It is well worth $19.95. If not, I would tell ya. By the way, 2nd time I used a much larger bowl. You live and learn.
As others have said, a switch might be nice but maybe the heat would destroy the switch over time. Just plugging it in is no big deal as it is not something you leave on the counter. It is quite simple to operate. There is no timer, no settings...little to go wrong. You plug it in and it runs. You unpug it and it stops.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Love this popper! Read why!

11/04/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled to see this popper still on the market, as my son is now looking for an air popper. We have had the earlier version of this model for over 30 years. Seriously! We bought it right after we were married in 1982, and it still works like it is brand new. We never did go the microwave route and have used this popper about three times per week for all these years. We use a 1/2 cup measuring cup to measure with. If the kernels aren't moving sufficiently prior to popping, jiggle it a bit so the air moves around them to prevent them from burning. This doesn't happen often, but you do need to listen for it. Also, leave the cover on until the unit is cool to prevent warping. We never melt butter in the cover - I don't want to have to wash it. We spray the popcorn with buttery Pam and add salt or seasoning and that's it! I hope it lasts another 30+ years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Popped all over

04/13/2014
By ,
Redding, Ca.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this popper thinking it was better then the rest, and though it maybe, it still pops way too many very hot unpopped kernels out the top while heating up.
Once it does start popping it keeps popping them out until there are enough popped over the unpopped to stop it.
The air is quite strong. The problem isn't the air, but the angle of both the tube that the popcorn climbs being too short, and the top not having a shield in the front to angle the popcorn into a bowl. Only solution as it is designed right now, is to tilt it back until it starts popping and have a bowl tall enough to go right to the exit.
I am very disappointed with this as it seems to be simple design flaws, that should have been fixed years ago, as this model has a history of being around for many years.
I had one like this over 20 years ago. Now I remember why I went to the microwave.
I am surprised there weren't more complaints about this in comments. It is my only complaint.
Heats great, nice looking, good price (for hot air. lol), easy to operate elec part though it has no button to turn on or off. Easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Pleasantly surprised

11/27/2013
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had a hot air popper for years and thought I'd try one because microwave popcorn is really so awful. This Presto is a CHAMP. It was fast, and very efficient, and has this little cup to measure and it doubles to melt butter, and while there are some unpopped kernels, there weren't many. The result was so much nicer than microwave popcorn so it makes me wonder why I waited so long. The price is very reasonable, actually dirt cheap, but the quality is quite high. Its durable and well made. The one I got is yellow, so its bright and sunny. After using it was a breeze to wipe off and put away. Kicking myself for taking so long to buy one. Highly recommended, plus WalMart shipped it very quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great Value!

06/02/2011
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This popper was a steal for only $20. Yes, it's old fashioned looking but it get the job done and I imagine I will have it for years to come. It's white and yellow (not black, as pictured) It's a very simple design with no frills but it pops kernels awesomely! As soon as you plug it in, it starts getting hot. There is not an on/off switch but you don't need one. As long as the kernels stay in the heated area, they will all pop. Some stray kernels will shoot out. If the kernel isn't too hot, I will throw it back in and it will get popped. The entire description and video about the popper is true and accurate. In a few short minutes, you will have a big bowl of popcorn! It's awesome not to eat microwave popcorn anymore. If I want to add anything to it for flavor, I add natural butter to the top cup, let it melt and pour it over the popcorn. I heard olive oil and sea salt is good too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Exactly what we wanted

01/06/2014
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't rate the durability because we've had it less than a week. I will say it looks to be as sturdy as the last one we had, which lasted 27 years…
We read reviews from both the top and bottom of the rating spectrum. All I can say is those people who complained were obviously not paying any attention to the instructions.
You use the little butter melting cup to measure the popcorn, you don't have to look inside the popper to do so. All you have to do is look at the picture on the box to figure out how to put it together, that is unless you can't figure it out just by looking at the pieces. There are only three after all.
All you complaining about no on/off switch. This is not an appliance that is meant to constantly sit on your counter. Put it away to keep it from getting dusty when not using it. We have popcorn every Friday night, and it's not that hard to put it away each week.
For the person who said the popped corn tasted like styrofoam. Good grief, why were you eating styrofoam??? Put some butter or olive oil on it, and voila, tasty popcorn.
Use a large bowl to catch the popped corn. You might consider putting the bowl on something so it is raised up a bit, but our counter is offset about an inch so we put the popper on the bottom, and the bowl on the upper counter. Someone complained about the popcorn landing on the floor. That is not the fault of the popper, but the fault of using too small a bowl, or just the nature of popcorn. It's going to pop! If the hot kernel has landed in the bowl before popping, it might end up on the floor, maybe once or twice. Here's a solution, push the set up toward the back of your counter toward the backsplash.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

upate of prior review

10/13/2013
By ,
Dallas. Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I contacted Presto directly, and they sent me a replacement popper cover for my machine. Also, they told me that I should abandon using gourmet popcorn in favor of generic store brands.
I was using Orville Redenbacher and sometimes, Bob's Red Mill Organic popcorn. Both are quality brands, but according to Presto, gourmet popcorn kernels are lighter in weight than the kernels in store brands of popcorn, and were more likely to be ejected unpopped from their machines.
I just bought a bag of WalMart Great Value popcorn today, and fewer kernels went unpopped but I prefer the taste and fluffiness of the 'gourmet' brands.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Works

04/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is about the same size as the ones I remember from my childhood.
It does a great job at popping popcorn, however it does have a tendency to blow up unpopped kernels, even when popping "gourmet popcorn kernels".
It doesn't have any on or off switch, so you plug it in when you want to start popping, and unplug it when the kernels stop popping. I think that this is a bit extreme for a kitchen appliance. They should have spent an extra $1 on a switch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great value but a few quirks

04/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this hot air popper but I do wish it had an on/off switch instead of plugging it in to turn it on and unplugging it to turn it off.
The butter warmer is useless if you don't like soggy popcorn. It does melt the butter but there is a good bit of water in butter and if you don't heat the butter long enough to evaporate that water, you get soggy popcorn. So I'm still melting butter on the stove and I use the butter warmer to measure the popcorn to put in the popper.
The last time I used it, I suppose I put too much popcorn in the popper and the popcorn lifted the chute off the base as it popped and I had popcorn all over the kitchen counter and the floor. I may put something in that useless butter warmer to weight the chute down better to prevent this in the future.
But the news is not all bad. The last popper I had (made in the 80's I think) produced popcorn that was more the texture of styrofoam packing peanuts. I had held off buying another because of this, but with this popper I was pleasantly surprised...the texture of the popped corn was much closer to that of microwave popcorn (which is horrible for you) or popcorn cooked in oil than I thought it would be.
Overall, I'm happy with this popper and it stays out on the counter for quick batches of popcorn when a good movie comes on the tube!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

A simple hot air popcorn popper

12/26/2013
By ,
02822
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just a simple basic hot air pop corn popper. First impression: The deflector hood appears light duty but it is for adult use so don't expect problems if appropriate care is taken. Not our first hot air popper, had a different one when the children were much younger. This time I was looking for a compact unit for smaller servings & easy storage & that is what we got.
This was a lower priced unit & seems appropriate quality for the price.
I ordered through site to store. It was delayed one day from the prediction but still arrived quite quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper

04/18/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great! Pops 98 % of the kernels, some of the ''duds'' get tossed out before the actual kernels start popping - but if they weren't duds they would of been popped. I use a generic brand from my local grocery store have it used it 4 times since I picked it up on April 14, 2013 and we love it! my kids love it too, even our one adult male cat loves watching the popcorn pop - it just amazes him, My daughter loves the fact that she no longer has to wash a pot that had burnt popcorn in it from popping it on the stove the "old fashioned way", it tastes 100x's better than popping on the stove or microwave pop corn, The butter does't melt all the way by the time the pop corn is done, this could be because I buy tub butter and spoon some in so its fairly thick, I just stir it around what has melted to finish melting the rest, works fine - but like with any popcorn no matter how its made - if you add hot butter to it, it's going to curl up, so I am planning on splurging and buying spray butter just for our popcorn! I hope this lasts me as long as this brand has lasted some other owners from reading the reviews, Because even though I've only had it a few days we'd be lost with out it, we love popcorn and now can have it nightly instead of once in a while because no one wanted to deal with popping it on the stove top :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

ANOTHER BAD POPPER

03/17/2014
By ,
Hickory Corners Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's sad to say it's another bad popper for me. Strange, that the kernels were big, it popped
almost all the kernels, but they were tough like eating gum. I used Great Value popcorn, the same popcorn I always use so maybe different popcorn would be different. For me the popper goes back and I guess I will keep trying until I can find one that will do the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Healthy Option

04/02/2010
By ,
Edwards, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product to reduce fat and salt which makes for a healthy snack. The popper works very well. Filling the cap half full makes enough popped corn for one person. I can't rate the durability of this item as we have used it just one month......so far.....so good. Tip: Put a moistened (wrung out) paper towel in the sack of unpopped kernels. It rehydrates the corn which makes the corn pop much fluffier and bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+155points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
naples, fl
please clarify
Posted 09/10/2011
Regarding your tip: "Put a moistened (wrung out) paper towel in the sack of unpopped kernels", do you put the moistened paper towel in just the amount of popcorn you are going to pop, and for how long?
Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

So far, I highly recommend!

04/07/2014
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this product two or three times now, and it works very well. A little loud, but not overly so and it pops all but 2 or 3 kernels every time!
Warning (this is not the fault of the appliance): if you like salted popped corn, the salt that I add after popping doesn't stick to the air-popped popcorn that this appliance produces due to the fact that no oil is used to help the salt adhere to the popcorn. To remedy this, I am going to try spraying the popcorn with a light dusting of canola spray and then apply the salt. Hopefully, this will still allow the popcorn to be a low-fat, yet salty treat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Useful efficient product

04/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product makes great popcorn remind me of good old times.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

This is a GREAT PRODUCT!

04/19/2014
By ,
queens ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this popcorn maker, and I highly recommend it. Makes perfect popcorn without any fuss, so easy to use, and the price was right. Thank you, Walmart..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Healthy Popcorn

11/27/2013
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product works very well. Basically, just put it together according to the directions making sure all parts are properly in place. Position a large bowl under it, put in the corn, plug it in and wait for the kernels to pop. A few strays can fly out and miss the bowl, so watch out for those!
I agree with other reviewers that an "on and off" switch would be a good idea and the design could be more updated and modern, but other than that this is a great tried and true product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Good air popper

04/19/2014
By ,
Castle Rock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good popper. Don't know why it's not available in stores! Autumn
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great product

04/18/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is what I expected. Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 756 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  38 Next