Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Presto Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Presto Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

The Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper pops up enjoy healthy, delicious popcorn without added calories, as you won't need to pop your popcorn in oil. This versatile hot air corn popper makes up to 18 cups of fresh, hot popcorn in less than three minutes. The handy butter melter doubles as a measuring cup, while the chute directs popcorn right into your bowl. It's perfect for game night, movie time with the family or making snacks at a party.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1044 Reviews) 886
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
750
4 stars
214
3 stars
29
2 stars
12
1 star
39
Customer Recommendation94%982 out of 1,042reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 372 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
750
4 stars
214
3 stars
29
2 stars
12
1 star
39
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

The Best Popper on the Market!

03/16/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this air popper! I was spending at least $6.00-$8.00 a week buying organic popcorn from our local grocer and there were always a ton of unpopped kernels on the bottom of the bag. This air popper pops 98% of the kernels and does a great job! The kids love watching it pop and it takes only 3 minutes. Just don't use a shallow bowl when popping, as those last kernels can really fly out of there easily.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great Value!

06/02/2011
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This popper was a steal for only $20. Yes, it's old fashioned looking but it get the job done and I imagine I will have it for years to come. It's white and yellow (not black, as pictured) It's a very simple design with no frills but it pops kernels awesomely! As soon as you plug it in, it starts getting hot. There is not an on/off switch but you don't need one. As long as the kernels stay in the heated area, they will all pop. Some stray kernels will shoot out. If the kernel isn't too hot, I will throw it back in and it will get popped. The entire description and video about the popper is true and accurate. In a few short minutes, you will have a big bowl of popcorn! It's awesome not to eat microwave popcorn anymore. If I want to add anything to it for flavor, I add natural butter to the top cup, let it melt and pour it over the popcorn. I heard olive oil and sea salt is good too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Love this popper! Read why!

11/04/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled to see this popper still on the market, as my son is now looking for an air popper. We have had the earlier version of this model for over 30 years. Seriously! We bought it right after we were married in 1982, and it still works like it is brand new. We never did go the microwave route and have used this popper about three times per week for all these years. We use a 1/2 cup measuring cup to measure with. If the kernels aren't moving sufficiently prior to popping, jiggle it a bit so the air moves around them to prevent them from burning. This doesn't happen often, but you do need to listen for it. Also, leave the cover on until the unit is cool to prevent warping. We never melt butter in the cover - I don't want to have to wash it. We spray the popcorn with buttery Pam and add salt or seasoning and that's it! I hope it lasts another 30+ years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleveland, OH
Love this Popper! Lost without it!
Posted 10/19/2014
I got my popper in 1982, Christamas Gifit from my parents for my very first apartment! We were so sad, it burned out 2 months ago! That little trooper was with us also for 32 years! Amazing ... we have searched for the perfect popper, bought and returned 3 so far, just ordered this, and after reading the reviews, I don't think I'll be returning it! Thanks, Presto for staying true to your product!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Very good popper!

12/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been looking for an air popper and bought an Orville Redenbacher one which I returned due to so many unpopped kernels. I tried 3 different poppers and this one by far was the best. I wanted an air popper so it could be a healthier snack with no oil and I love this one. It does throw out the first 15 to 20 kernels unpopped but they ALL do. This one threw the least. Then the great popcorn pops and you have a nice size bowl for one or two people. I usually eat the whole bowl so my serving is for one, depends on how much you eat. I then melt a little butter and salt and mix it together. All these poppers are a little on the loud side and throw unpopped kernals but this one is by far the best!! When you unplug it a kernel or two will still pop out so don't take the lid off right away. Put a big bowl under it because sometimes the kernels fly out and they can be a little hot.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great Product

03/05/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Filled the cup with kernals. poured them in, set a bowl to catch the popcorn. plugged it in and watched it make popcorn. I watched it so intently I realized too late the bowl was not large enough. It was like a comedy with popcorn going all over the place while I went to get another bowl. It is well worth $19.95. If not, I would tell ya. By the way, 2nd time I used a much larger bowl. You live and learn.
As others have said, a switch might be nice but maybe the heat would destroy the switch over time. Just plugging it in is no big deal as it is not something you leave on the counter. It is quite simple to operate. There is no timer, no settings...little to go wrong. You plug it in and it runs. You unpug it and it stops.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Leave no Kernel behind

01/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought my wife this for Christmas.
She requested it instead of jewelry, I am such a lucky, lucky man.
It performs flawlessly, as the title suggests, it pops every last kernel.
It's a little bit loud during operation but there is really no quiet way to pop popcorn.
Two thumbs up!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

upate of prior review

10/13/2013
By ,
Dallas. Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I contacted Presto directly, and they sent me a replacement popper cover for my machine. Also, they told me that I should abandon using gourmet popcorn in favor of generic store brands.
I was using Orville Redenbacher and sometimes, Bob's Red Mill Organic popcorn. Both are quality brands, but according to Presto, gourmet popcorn kernels are lighter in weight than the kernels in store brands of popcorn, and were more likely to be ejected unpopped from their machines.
I just bought a bag of WalMart Great Value popcorn today, and fewer kernels went unpopped but I prefer the taste and fluffiness of the 'gourmet' brands.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great popcorn popper

12/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This popper is great. I put in 1/4 cup of popcorn, plug it in & it starts popping. As other have stated there might be 3 kernnels that don't pop. I buy the GV brand popcorn & it does a good job. I do use a large bowl to catch the popcorn in when it starts popping. Other reviewers have said it makes a loud noise when popping. It sounds like a blow dryer. Nothing major. I am very pleased with this popper.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Does what it's suppose to do - pop popcorn

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One batch pops a large bowl of fluffy pop corn (I used Boy Scout popcorn). It's as easy as using microwave popcorn and I like the idea of not having all the extra oil and butter on the popcorn. I do spray a 0 fat butter flavored spray on the popped corn and season with various popcorn seasonings. This unit does not have an on/off switch, which I thought was odd, but plugging it in and unplugging when finished works just fine. Unit is easy to clean since there is no oil involved. (I don't use the cup on top to melt butter) I am really enjoying my hot air popper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Perfect for the popcorn lover in your life.

12/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find myself craving popcorn at random times and I was sick of spending money on different flavors of microwave popcorn and not finding any of them to be exactly what I wanted. I got this for myself for Christmas and I love it. It makes a ton of popcorn (or less, depending on how much you put into it) and pops almost every kernel every time with no burning!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Exactly what I was looking for.

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great, exactly what I was looking for. It's super easy to use and not as bulky as some others I looked at. And when you're finished, the cleanup was simple - just wiped the inside out with a paper towel.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Popped all over

04/13/2014
By ,
Redding, Ca.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this popper thinking it was better then the rest, and though it maybe, it still pops way too many very hot unpopped kernels out the top while heating up.
Once it does start popping it keeps popping them out until there are enough popped over the unpopped to stop it.
The air is quite strong. The problem isn't the air, but the angle of both the tube that the popcorn climbs being too short, and the top not having a shield in the front to angle the popcorn into a bowl. Only solution as it is designed right now, is to tilt it back until it starts popping and have a bowl tall enough to go right to the exit.
I am very disappointed with this as it seems to be simple design flaws, that should have been fixed years ago, as this model has a history of being around for many years.
I had one like this over 20 years ago. Now I remember why I went to the microwave.
I am surprised there weren't more complaints about this in comments. It is my only complaint.
Heats great, nice looking, good price (for hot air. lol), easy to operate elec part though it has no button to turn on or off. Easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Simple healthy popcorn

12/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this product. Just like I remember from when I was little. My kids love to watch it pop, and the result is so much better than the chemical concoction we were eating from the microwave. We got this for Christmas and have already popped 5 batches this week! Very happy with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Easy Machine

12/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So simple to use and makes popcorn very fast. Only thing is I need to buy some liquid butter spray to add some taste and to also help the salt stick to the popcorn. Very happy though with this popper.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes perfect popcorn every time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Popper

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

days gone by popper

01/24/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I remember these from my younger years when my kids were small-my youngest-kid--had to have 1 again- he is 40 now---only wish they had a turn off and on switch---that is my only grip-----oh well I bought it for him---
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Pleasantly surprised

11/27/2013
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had a hot air popper for years and thought I'd try one because microwave popcorn is really so awful. This Presto is a CHAMP. It was fast, and very efficient, and has this little cup to measure and it doubles to melt butter, and while there are some unpopped kernels, there weren't many. The result was so much nicer than microwave popcorn so it makes me wonder why I waited so long. The price is very reasonable, actually dirt cheap, but the quality is quite high. Its durable and well made. The one I got is yellow, so its bright and sunny. After using it was a breeze to wipe off and put away. Kicking myself for taking so long to buy one. Highly recommended, plus WalMart shipped it very quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Better than Nordic ware Microwave

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light fluffy popcorn from Presto. Popcorn doesn't burn.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Just what we expected

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
no oils - just great popcorn
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 887 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  45 Next