Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Presto Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Presto Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

The Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper pops up enjoy healthy, delicious popcorn without added calories, as you won't need to pop your popcorn in oil. This versatile hot air corn popper makes up to 18 cups of fresh, hot popcorn in less than three minutes. The handy butter melter doubles as a measuring cup, while the chute directs popcorn right into your bowl. It's perfect for game night, movie time with the family or making snacks at a party.
Average Customer Rating:
4.558 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(981 Reviews) 823
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
705
4 stars
201
3 stars
28
2 stars
11
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation94%921 out of 979reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 360 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
705
4 stars
201
3 stars
28
2 stars
11
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

The Best Popper on the Market!

03/16/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this air popper! I was spending at least $6.00-$8.00 a week buying organic popcorn from our local grocer and there were always a ton of unpopped kernels on the bottom of the bag. This air popper pops 98% of the kernels and does a great job! The kids love watching it pop and it takes only 3 minutes. Just don't use a shallow bowl when popping, as those last kernels can really fly out of there easily.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Does what it's suppose to do - pop popcorn

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One batch pops a large bowl of fluffy pop corn (I used Boy Scout popcorn). It's as easy as using microwave popcorn and I like the idea of not having all the extra oil and butter on the popcorn. I do spray a 0 fat butter flavored spray on the popped corn and season with various popcorn seasonings. This unit does not have an on/off switch, which I thought was odd, but plugging it in and unplugging when finished works just fine. Unit is easy to clean since there is no oil involved. (I don't use the cup on top to melt butter) I am really enjoying my hot air popper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Love this popper! Read why!

11/04/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled to see this popper still on the market, as my son is now looking for an air popper. We have had the earlier version of this model for over 30 years. Seriously! We bought it right after we were married in 1982, and it still works like it is brand new. We never did go the microwave route and have used this popper about three times per week for all these years. We use a 1/2 cup measuring cup to measure with. If the kernels aren't moving sufficiently prior to popping, jiggle it a bit so the air moves around them to prevent them from burning. This doesn't happen often, but you do need to listen for it. Also, leave the cover on until the unit is cool to prevent warping. We never melt butter in the cover - I don't want to have to wash it. We spray the popcorn with buttery Pam and add salt or seasoning and that's it! I hope it lasts another 30+ years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleveland, OH
Love this Popper! Lost without it!
Posted 10/19/2014
I got my popper in 1982, Christamas Gifit from my parents for my very first apartment! We were so sad, it burned out 2 months ago! That little trooper was with us also for 32 years! Amazing ... we have searched for the perfect popper, bought and returned 3 so far, just ordered this, and after reading the reviews, I don't think I'll be returning it! Thanks, Presto for staying true to your product!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great Value!

06/02/2011
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This popper was a steal for only $20. Yes, it's old fashioned looking but it get the job done and I imagine I will have it for years to come. It's white and yellow (not black, as pictured) It's a very simple design with no frills but it pops kernels awesomely! As soon as you plug it in, it starts getting hot. There is not an on/off switch but you don't need one. As long as the kernels stay in the heated area, they will all pop. Some stray kernels will shoot out. If the kernel isn't too hot, I will throw it back in and it will get popped. The entire description and video about the popper is true and accurate. In a few short minutes, you will have a big bowl of popcorn! It's awesome not to eat microwave popcorn anymore. If I want to add anything to it for flavor, I add natural butter to the top cup, let it melt and pour it over the popcorn. I heard olive oil and sea salt is good too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

I've bought this and love it

09/29/2014
By ,
Iowa, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first one I got from goodwill and loved it. It died and saw them at Walmart and had this one for many years. I've since bought several for gifts. They are just the best out there. Simple operation and they are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Awesome popper!

09/24/2014
By ,
Lake City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great popcorn popper. We've only had it for about 2 weeks, but we're really happy with it so far. Kernals pop into big, fluffy pieces & almost every single one pops. In the 3 times we've used it, a total of maybe 5-6 didn't pop. Pretty sure you're not going to beat that with any other product...not for this price anyways..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great Product

03/05/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Filled the cup with kernals. poured them in, set a bowl to catch the popcorn. plugged it in and watched it make popcorn. I watched it so intently I realized too late the bowl was not large enough. It was like a comedy with popcorn going all over the place while I went to get another bowl. It is well worth $19.95. If not, I would tell ya. By the way, 2nd time I used a much larger bowl. You live and learn.
As others have said, a switch might be nice but maybe the heat would destroy the switch over time. Just plugging it in is no big deal as it is not something you leave on the counter. It is quite simple to operate. There is no timer, no settings...little to go wrong. You plug it in and it runs. You unpug it and it stops.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

upate of prior review

10/13/2013
By ,
Dallas. Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I contacted Presto directly, and they sent me a replacement popper cover for my machine. Also, they told me that I should abandon using gourmet popcorn in favor of generic store brands.
I was using Orville Redenbacher and sometimes, Bob's Red Mill Organic popcorn. Both are quality brands, but according to Presto, gourmet popcorn kernels are lighter in weight than the kernels in store brands of popcorn, and were more likely to be ejected unpopped from their machines.
I just bought a bag of WalMart Great Value popcorn today, and fewer kernels went unpopped but I prefer the taste and fluffiness of the 'gourmet' brands.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Popped all over

04/13/2014
By ,
Redding, Ca.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this popper thinking it was better then the rest, and though it maybe, it still pops way too many very hot unpopped kernels out the top while heating up.
Once it does start popping it keeps popping them out until there are enough popped over the unpopped to stop it.
The air is quite strong. The problem isn't the air, but the angle of both the tube that the popcorn climbs being too short, and the top not having a shield in the front to angle the popcorn into a bowl. Only solution as it is designed right now, is to tilt it back until it starts popping and have a bowl tall enough to go right to the exit.
I am very disappointed with this as it seems to be simple design flaws, that should have been fixed years ago, as this model has a history of being around for many years.
I had one like this over 20 years ago. Now I remember why I went to the microwave.
I am surprised there weren't more complaints about this in comments. It is my only complaint.
Heats great, nice looking, good price (for hot air. lol), easy to operate elec part though it has no button to turn on or off. Easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Pleasantly surprised

11/27/2013
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had a hot air popper for years and thought I'd try one because microwave popcorn is really so awful. This Presto is a CHAMP. It was fast, and very efficient, and has this little cup to measure and it doubles to melt butter, and while there are some unpopped kernels, there weren't many. The result was so much nicer than microwave popcorn so it makes me wonder why I waited so long. The price is very reasonable, actually dirt cheap, but the quality is quite high. Its durable and well made. The one I got is yellow, so its bright and sunny. After using it was a breeze to wipe off and put away. Kicking myself for taking so long to buy one. Highly recommended, plus WalMart shipped it very quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Perfect popper

06/04/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this popper because I was tired or burning the microwave popcorn. This is an awesome product it works perfectly. You can't burn the popcorn unless you are trying to, and it pops almost every single kernel. The popper also works very quickly, all in all a very nice product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great air popcorn popper

09/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Presto Poplite Hot Air Popcorn Popper works so much better than the previous purchased Presto Hot Air Popcorn Popper, Model No. 0484602. I would recommend the Poplite to my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Healthy Snacking

09/26/2014
By ,
Fairfield Glade, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to snack so I need my snacks to be healthy and low calorie. This is a perfect solution. Simple unit. Less opportunity to break down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Good Product---Does The Job

08/23/2014
By ,
D'Iberville, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pops 95% plus of corn kernels that you put in. Just follow the simple instructions. I had a previous Presto Hot Air Popper (cheaper from Big Lots) that only popped about 33% of corn kernels---a vast improvement. This is a much better designed and manufactured than that one was. Am satisfied with this product, as you will never get 100% efficiency out of a electro-mechanical device. JAE / 08-23-2014.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

easy and healthy snack makers

10/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use, takes only a couple of minutes to have a ball of popcorn, smooth appearance and no sharp edges.
No need of oil to cook, no smoke to the room, no grease to clean.
This can be a very good popcorn maker if you don't mind the bland taste.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Exactly what we wanted

01/06/2014
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't rate the durability because we've had it less than a week. I will say it looks to be as sturdy as the last one we had, which lasted 27 years…
We read reviews from both the top and bottom of the rating spectrum. All I can say is those people who complained were obviously not paying any attention to the instructions.
You use the little butter melting cup to measure the popcorn, you don't have to look inside the popper to do so. All you have to do is look at the picture on the box to figure out how to put it together, that is unless you can't figure it out just by looking at the pieces. There are only three after all.
All you complaining about no on/off switch. This is not an appliance that is meant to constantly sit on your counter. Put it away to keep it from getting dusty when not using it. We have popcorn every Friday night, and it's not that hard to put it away each week.
For the person who said the popped corn tasted like styrofoam. Good grief, why were you eating styrofoam??? Put some butter or olive oil on it, and voila, tasty popcorn.
Use a large bowl to catch the popped corn. You might consider putting the bowl on something so it is raised up a bit, but our counter is offset about an inch so we put the popper on the bottom, and the bowl on the upper counter. Someone complained about the popcorn landing on the floor. That is not the fault of the popper, but the fault of using too small a bowl, or just the nature of popcorn. It's going to pop! If the hot kernel has landed in the bowl before popping, it might end up on the floor, maybe once or twice. Here's a solution, push the set up toward the back of your counter toward the backsplash.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Healthy Option

04/02/2010
By ,
Edwards, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product to reduce fat and salt which makes for a healthy snack. The popper works very well. Filling the cap half full makes enough popped corn for one person. I can't rate the durability of this item as we have used it just one month......so far.....so good. Tip: Put a moistened (wrung out) paper towel in the sack of unpopped kernels. It rehydrates the corn which makes the corn pop much fluffier and bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+157points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
naples, fl
please clarify
Posted 09/10/2011
Regarding your tip: "Put a moistened (wrung out) paper towel in the sack of unpopped kernels", do you put the moistened paper towel in just the amount of popcorn you are going to pop, and for how long?
Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Hot Air Popper

09/17/2007
By ,
Clinton, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the ease of just pouring in corn and plugging in the unit. Two minutes later I have fluffy fat-free popcorn. Wipe any popcorn hulls off the unit and put it away, nothing to wash.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+165points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Good Popper

03/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this popper and first time used the recommended 1/2 cup popcorn. I had a huge amount of light fluffy popcorn with only 3 kernels left unpopped. Only use 1/4 cup from now on.
Very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+243points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Works well but shoots out lightweight kernels

10/09/2014
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This popcorn popper is surprisingly mess-free with regard to cleaning, and it pops popcorn well; however, it does not work very well with lightweight kernels because the fan is so powerful that it shoots out a lot of the unpopped kernels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 824 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  42 Next