Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Presto Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Presto Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

The Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper pops up enjoy healthy, delicious popcorn without added calories, as you won't need to pop your popcorn in oil. This versatile hot air corn popper makes up to 18 cups of fresh, hot popcorn in less than three minutes. The handy butter melter doubles as a measuring cup, while the chute directs popcorn right into your bowl. It's perfect for game night, movie time with the family or making snacks at a party.
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1059 Reviews) 901
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
757
4 stars
220
3 stars
30
2 stars
12
1 star
40
Customer Recommendation94%996 out of 1,057reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 377 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
757
4 stars
220
3 stars
30
2 stars
12
1 star
40
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

The Best Popper on the Market!

03/16/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this air popper! I was spending at least $6.00-$8.00 a week buying organic popcorn from our local grocer and there were always a ton of unpopped kernels on the bottom of the bag. This air popper pops 98% of the kernels and does a great job! The kids love watching it pop and it takes only 3 minutes. Just don't use a shallow bowl when popping, as those last kernels can really fly out of there easily.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Almost perfect

02/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The popper produces a container of popcorn within a few minutes and is fun to watch. The popped corn is light, fluffy and flavorful, where topping is not even needed. Depending on the brand of corn used depends on the number of unpopped kernels. Orville Redenbacher gives no more than 2 unpopped kernels, while Walmart's Great Value (GV) gives no more than a couple dozen from the supplied 1/2 cup measuring cup. For the price difference, I stick with the GV. I don't use the butter melter. The popcorn is produced too fast for all the butter to melt. Better to use spray margarine/butter. The popping chamber chute should be a little taller to prevent/reduce unpopped kernels from being ejected. Very easy to clean. A good container to use is the large popcorn container from Dollar Tree. Catches almost every popped and unpopped corn.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great Value!

06/02/2011
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This popper was a steal for only $20. Yes, it's old fashioned looking but it get the job done and I imagine I will have it for years to come. It's white and yellow (not black, as pictured) It's a very simple design with no frills but it pops kernels awesomely! As soon as you plug it in, it starts getting hot. There is not an on/off switch but you don't need one. As long as the kernels stay in the heated area, they will all pop. Some stray kernels will shoot out. If the kernel isn't too hot, I will throw it back in and it will get popped. The entire description and video about the popper is true and accurate. In a few short minutes, you will have a big bowl of popcorn! It's awesome not to eat microwave popcorn anymore. If I want to add anything to it for flavor, I add natural butter to the top cup, let it melt and pour it over the popcorn. I heard olive oil and sea salt is good too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Love this popper! Read why!

11/04/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled to see this popper still on the market, as my son is now looking for an air popper. We have had the earlier version of this model for over 30 years. Seriously! We bought it right after we were married in 1982, and it still works like it is brand new. We never did go the microwave route and have used this popper about three times per week for all these years. We use a 1/2 cup measuring cup to measure with. If the kernels aren't moving sufficiently prior to popping, jiggle it a bit so the air moves around them to prevent them from burning. This doesn't happen often, but you do need to listen for it. Also, leave the cover on until the unit is cool to prevent warping. We never melt butter in the cover - I don't want to have to wash it. We spray the popcorn with buttery Pam and add salt or seasoning and that's it! I hope it lasts another 30+ years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleveland, OH
Love this Popper! Lost without it!
Posted 10/19/2014
I got my popper in 1982, Christamas Gifit from my parents for my very first apartment! We were so sad, it burned out 2 months ago! That little trooper was with us also for 32 years! Amazing ... we have searched for the perfect popper, bought and returned 3 so far, just ordered this, and after reading the reviews, I don't think I'll be returning it! Thanks, Presto for staying true to your product!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great Product

03/05/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Filled the cup with kernals. poured them in, set a bowl to catch the popcorn. plugged it in and watched it make popcorn. I watched it so intently I realized too late the bowl was not large enough. It was like a comedy with popcorn going all over the place while I went to get another bowl. It is well worth $19.95. If not, I would tell ya. By the way, 2nd time I used a much larger bowl. You live and learn.
As others have said, a switch might be nice but maybe the heat would destroy the switch over time. Just plugging it in is no big deal as it is not something you leave on the counter. It is quite simple to operate. There is no timer, no settings...little to go wrong. You plug it in and it runs. You unpug it and it stops.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

upate of prior review

10/13/2013
By ,
Dallas. Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I contacted Presto directly, and they sent me a replacement popper cover for my machine. Also, they told me that I should abandon using gourmet popcorn in favor of generic store brands.
I was using Orville Redenbacher and sometimes, Bob's Red Mill Organic popcorn. Both are quality brands, but according to Presto, gourmet popcorn kernels are lighter in weight than the kernels in store brands of popcorn, and were more likely to be ejected unpopped from their machines.
I just bought a bag of WalMart Great Value popcorn today, and fewer kernels went unpopped but I prefer the taste and fluffiness of the 'gourmet' brands.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Popped all over

04/13/2014
By ,
Redding, Ca.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this popper thinking it was better then the rest, and though it maybe, it still pops way too many very hot unpopped kernels out the top while heating up.
Once it does start popping it keeps popping them out until there are enough popped over the unpopped to stop it.
The air is quite strong. The problem isn't the air, but the angle of both the tube that the popcorn climbs being too short, and the top not having a shield in the front to angle the popcorn into a bowl. Only solution as it is designed right now, is to tilt it back until it starts popping and have a bowl tall enough to go right to the exit.
I am very disappointed with this as it seems to be simple design flaws, that should have been fixed years ago, as this model has a history of being around for many years.
I had one like this over 20 years ago. Now I remember why I went to the microwave.
I am surprised there weren't more complaints about this in comments. It is my only complaint.
Heats great, nice looking, good price (for hot air. lol), easy to operate elec part though it has no button to turn on or off. Easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Very good popper!

12/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been looking for an air popper and bought an Orville Redenbacher one which I returned due to so many unpopped kernels. I tried 3 different poppers and this one by far was the best. I wanted an air popper so it could be a healthier snack with no oil and I love this one. It does throw out the first 15 to 20 kernels unpopped but they ALL do. This one threw the least. Then the great popcorn pops and you have a nice size bowl for one or two people. I usually eat the whole bowl so my serving is for one, depends on how much you eat. I then melt a little butter and salt and mix it together. All these poppers are a little on the loud side and throw unpopped kernals but this one is by far the best!! When you unplug it a kernel or two will still pop out so don't take the lid off right away. Put a big bowl under it because sometimes the kernels fly out and they can be a little hot.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Returning

02/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have had the popper for awhile and finally decided to use it last evening. Very disappointed. It made a couple of noises, burned the kernels and went quiet. Let it set as recommended to cool off, tried again and nothing happened. Will be returning for refund. This is 2nd appliance that has not worked from Walmart since Christmas.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great popper

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This popcorn popper is wonderful. I've never had more than 5 unpopped kernels with each batch. Easy to use, easy to clean. I do not put butter in the cup because I don't want to wash it. This popper makes such wonderful popcorn, I use it almost everyday.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

good popping!

02/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the popcorn pops in a short amount of time. very few kernels are left unpopped. easy to use, easy to clean. the only drawback is that there isn't an on/off switch.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Pleasantly surprised

11/27/2013
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had a hot air popper for years and thought I'd try one because microwave popcorn is really so awful. This Presto is a CHAMP. It was fast, and very efficient, and has this little cup to measure and it doubles to melt butter, and while there are some unpopped kernels, there weren't many. The result was so much nicer than microwave popcorn so it makes me wonder why I waited so long. The price is very reasonable, actually dirt cheap, but the quality is quite high. Its durable and well made. The one I got is yellow, so its bright and sunny. After using it was a breeze to wipe off and put away. Kicking myself for taking so long to buy one. Highly recommended, plus WalMart shipped it very quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Does what it's suppose to do - pop popcorn

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One batch pops a large bowl of fluffy pop corn (I used Boy Scout popcorn). It's as easy as using microwave popcorn and I like the idea of not having all the extra oil and butter on the popcorn. I do spray a 0 fat butter flavored spray on the popped corn and season with various popcorn seasonings. This unit does not have an on/off switch, which I thought was odd, but plugging it in and unplugging when finished works just fine. Unit is easy to clean since there is no oil involved. (I don't use the cup on top to melt butter) I am really enjoying my hot air popper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Healthy Option

04/02/2010
By ,
Edwards, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product to reduce fat and salt which makes for a healthy snack. The popper works very well. Filling the cap half full makes enough popped corn for one person. I can't rate the durability of this item as we have used it just one month......so far.....so good. Tip: Put a moistened (wrung out) paper towel in the sack of unpopped kernels. It rehydrates the corn which makes the corn pop much fluffier and bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+161points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
naples, fl
please clarify
Posted 09/10/2011
Regarding your tip: "Put a moistened (wrung out) paper towel in the sack of unpopped kernels", do you put the moistened paper towel in just the amount of popcorn you are going to pop, and for how long?
Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great Popcorn maker and cheap,too !

02/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been reading about all the cancer causing ingredients in microwave popcorn so decided to buy this . It does a great job and pops almost every kernel.No waste like the microwave bags. The popcorn tastes great as long as you melt some butter on it.Otherwise it's a little dry.Also it will not make small quantities.You HAVE to make a full cup,which fills three big bowls.I tried filling the cup halfway but it wouldn't pop it at all. Just save what you don't finish in a bag.No big deal. All in all a it's a better way to make popcorn if maybe not QUITE as convenient as the microwave stuff.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

old maids

02/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Too many old maids but otherwise, fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Good Popper

03/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this popper and first time used the recommended 1/2 cup popcorn. I had a huge amount of light fluffy popcorn with only 3 kernels left unpopped. Only use 1/4 cup from now on.
Very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+270points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Popcorn is dry

02/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This poper does almost everything it claims to do. Some of the kernals miss the bowl and some are left in the machine unpoped. Overall it is a good unit. To melt the buttter make sure it is not right from the refrigerator because it will not melt completely and cleaning the cup afterwords is messy. My doctor tells me that this popcorn is healthy but it has no taste and is dry. I think I will stock to my old popper and use a little less oil and butter.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820
05/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Presto air popper exceeded our expectations. It was reasonably priced and has very few unpopped kernels. There is no on/off switch, but that is a minor issue.
I wish I had not bought the Rival brand first in Walmart's store and had just ordered the Presto for store pickup. The Rival has three times the quantity of unpopped kernels and more fly out of the machine while operating. It is a shame the Walmart stores in the area did not stock the Presto brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Hot Air Popper

09/17/2007
By ,
Clinton, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the ease of just pouring in corn and plugging in the unit. Two minutes later I have fluffy fat-free popcorn. Wipe any popcorn hulls off the unit and put it away, nothing to wash.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+173points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 902 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  46 Next