Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Presto Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Presto Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

The Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper pops up enjoy healthy, delicious popcorn without added calories, as you won't need to pop your popcorn in oil. This versatile hot air corn popper makes up to 18 cups of fresh, hot popcorn in less than three minutes. The handy butter melter doubles as a measuring cup, while the chute directs popcorn right into your bowl. It's perfect for game night, movie time with the family or making snacks at a party.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(961 Reviews) 803
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
691
4 stars
196
3 stars
27
2 stars
11
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation94%901 out of 959reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 347 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
691
4 stars
196
3 stars
27
2 stars
11
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

The Best Popper on the Market!

03/16/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this air popper! I was spending at least $6.00-$8.00 a week buying organic popcorn from our local grocer and there were always a ton of unpopped kernels on the bottom of the bag. This air popper pops 98% of the kernels and does a great job! The kids love watching it pop and it takes only 3 minutes. Just don't use a shallow bowl when popping, as those last kernels can really fly out of there easily.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Love this popper! Read why!

11/04/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled to see this popper still on the market, as my son is now looking for an air popper. We have had the earlier version of this model for over 30 years. Seriously! We bought it right after we were married in 1982, and it still works like it is brand new. We never did go the microwave route and have used this popper about three times per week for all these years. We use a 1/2 cup measuring cup to measure with. If the kernels aren't moving sufficiently prior to popping, jiggle it a bit so the air moves around them to prevent them from burning. This doesn't happen often, but you do need to listen for it. Also, leave the cover on until the unit is cool to prevent warping. We never melt butter in the cover - I don't want to have to wash it. We spray the popcorn with buttery Pam and add salt or seasoning and that's it! I hope it lasts another 30+ years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great Value!

06/02/2011
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This popper was a steal for only $20. Yes, it's old fashioned looking but it get the job done and I imagine I will have it for years to come. It's white and yellow (not black, as pictured) It's a very simple design with no frills but it pops kernels awesomely! As soon as you plug it in, it starts getting hot. There is not an on/off switch but you don't need one. As long as the kernels stay in the heated area, they will all pop. Some stray kernels will shoot out. If the kernel isn't too hot, I will throw it back in and it will get popped. The entire description and video about the popper is true and accurate. In a few short minutes, you will have a big bowl of popcorn! It's awesome not to eat microwave popcorn anymore. If I want to add anything to it for flavor, I add natural butter to the top cup, let it melt and pour it over the popcorn. I heard olive oil and sea salt is good too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great Product

03/05/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Filled the cup with kernals. poured them in, set a bowl to catch the popcorn. plugged it in and watched it make popcorn. I watched it so intently I realized too late the bowl was not large enough. It was like a comedy with popcorn going all over the place while I went to get another bowl. It is well worth $19.95. If not, I would tell ya. By the way, 2nd time I used a much larger bowl. You live and learn.
As others have said, a switch might be nice but maybe the heat would destroy the switch over time. Just plugging it in is no big deal as it is not something you leave on the counter. It is quite simple to operate. There is no timer, no settings...little to go wrong. You plug it in and it runs. You unpug it and it stops.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Perfect popper

06/04/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this popper because I was tired or burning the microwave popcorn. This is an awesome product it works perfectly. You can't burn the popcorn unless you are trying to, and it pops almost every single kernel. The popper also works very quickly, all in all a very nice product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Popped all over

04/13/2014
By ,
Redding, Ca.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this popper thinking it was better then the rest, and though it maybe, it still pops way too many very hot unpopped kernels out the top while heating up.
Once it does start popping it keeps popping them out until there are enough popped over the unpopped to stop it.
The air is quite strong. The problem isn't the air, but the angle of both the tube that the popcorn climbs being too short, and the top not having a shield in the front to angle the popcorn into a bowl. Only solution as it is designed right now, is to tilt it back until it starts popping and have a bowl tall enough to go right to the exit.
I am very disappointed with this as it seems to be simple design flaws, that should have been fixed years ago, as this model has a history of being around for many years.
I had one like this over 20 years ago. Now I remember why I went to the microwave.
I am surprised there weren't more complaints about this in comments. It is my only complaint.
Heats great, nice looking, good price (for hot air. lol), easy to operate elec part though it has no button to turn on or off. Easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

upate of prior review

10/13/2013
By ,
Dallas. Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I contacted Presto directly, and they sent me a replacement popper cover for my machine. Also, they told me that I should abandon using gourmet popcorn in favor of generic store brands.
I was using Orville Redenbacher and sometimes, Bob's Red Mill Organic popcorn. Both are quality brands, but according to Presto, gourmet popcorn kernels are lighter in weight than the kernels in store brands of popcorn, and were more likely to be ejected unpopped from their machines.
I just bought a bag of WalMart Great Value popcorn today, and fewer kernels went unpopped but I prefer the taste and fluffiness of the 'gourmet' brands.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Exactly what we wanted

01/06/2014
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't rate the durability because we've had it less than a week. I will say it looks to be as sturdy as the last one we had, which lasted 27 years…
We read reviews from both the top and bottom of the rating spectrum. All I can say is those people who complained were obviously not paying any attention to the instructions.
You use the little butter melting cup to measure the popcorn, you don't have to look inside the popper to do so. All you have to do is look at the picture on the box to figure out how to put it together, that is unless you can't figure it out just by looking at the pieces. There are only three after all.
All you complaining about no on/off switch. This is not an appliance that is meant to constantly sit on your counter. Put it away to keep it from getting dusty when not using it. We have popcorn every Friday night, and it's not that hard to put it away each week.
For the person who said the popped corn tasted like styrofoam. Good grief, why were you eating styrofoam??? Put some butter or olive oil on it, and voila, tasty popcorn.
Use a large bowl to catch the popped corn. You might consider putting the bowl on something so it is raised up a bit, but our counter is offset about an inch so we put the popper on the bottom, and the bowl on the upper counter. Someone complained about the popcorn landing on the floor. That is not the fault of the popper, but the fault of using too small a bowl, or just the nature of popcorn. It's going to pop! If the hot kernel has landed in the bowl before popping, it might end up on the floor, maybe once or twice. Here's a solution, push the set up toward the back of your counter toward the backsplash.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Pleasantly surprised

11/27/2013
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had a hot air popper for years and thought I'd try one because microwave popcorn is really so awful. This Presto is a CHAMP. It was fast, and very efficient, and has this little cup to measure and it doubles to melt butter, and while there are some unpopped kernels, there weren't many. The result was so much nicer than microwave popcorn so it makes me wonder why I waited so long. The price is very reasonable, actually dirt cheap, but the quality is quite high. Its durable and well made. The one I got is yellow, so its bright and sunny. After using it was a breeze to wipe off and put away. Kicking myself for taking so long to buy one. Highly recommended, plus WalMart shipped it very quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Didn't melt butter well. Our family loves it.

08/20/2014
By ,
Earth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It didn't melt the butter in the top very well at all (two cut up tablespoons), but that doesn't matter to us, but it does make me wonder about our butter...
Our favorite family snack is popcorn and we use this at least once per day. It is fun for the kids to watch and all but a few seeds pop. Usually only 2 kernels left. It did shock me as to how loud it was LOL. But all in all, it was worth it for us for sure! It was so simple to set up and get to using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Healthy Option

04/02/2010
By ,
Edwards, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product to reduce fat and salt which makes for a healthy snack. The popper works very well. Filling the cap half full makes enough popped corn for one person. I can't rate the durability of this item as we have used it just one month......so far.....so good. Tip: Put a moistened (wrung out) paper towel in the sack of unpopped kernels. It rehydrates the corn which makes the corn pop much fluffier and bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+156points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
naples, fl
please clarify
Posted 09/10/2011
Regarding your tip: "Put a moistened (wrung out) paper towel in the sack of unpopped kernels", do you put the moistened paper towel in just the amount of popcorn you are going to pop, and for how long?
Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

good popcorn maker

08/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performs as it is supposed to, very quickly, and the popcorn is very good. Could use an on/off switch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

POP WENT THE WEASEL

06/27/2014
By ,
Flowood, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pop went the weasel but not the corn. About 1/2 of the corn kernels popped and the bowl was so hot afterwards that I had to use pot holders to pick it up and transfer the popped corn into another bowl just so I could eat what had popped. The heat emitted from this thing heated the kitchen unbelievably and actually made the central air conditioner come on. About 30 minutes later I took it outside to try it and avoid heating the house. Kernels were shooting all over the place during the process....as did inside, and yes I had a big enough bowl under the chute. I hope the night critters like popcorn. It's going back for a refund today.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Awesome popper!

08/14/2014
By ,
Portlandville NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I returned one of the more expensive air poppers cause it burned my popcorn every time and got this little one that runs quieter and pops all but just a few kernels! I love this popper and the butter melter on top is an added benefit! A great popper for the cost!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great value but a few quirks

04/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this hot air popper but I do wish it had an on/off switch instead of plugging it in to turn it on and unplugging it to turn it off.
The butter warmer is useless if you don't like soggy popcorn. It does melt the butter but there is a good bit of water in butter and if you don't heat the butter long enough to evaporate that water, you get soggy popcorn. So I'm still melting butter on the stove and I use the butter warmer to measure the popcorn to put in the popper.
The last time I used it, I suppose I put too much popcorn in the popper and the popcorn lifted the chute off the base as it popped and I had popcorn all over the kitchen counter and the floor. I may put something in that useless butter warmer to weight the chute down better to prevent this in the future.
But the news is not all bad. The last popper I had (made in the 80's I think) produced popcorn that was more the texture of styrofoam packing peanuts. I had held off buying another because of this, but with this popper I was pleasantly surprised...the texture of the popped corn was much closer to that of microwave popcorn (which is horrible for you) or popcorn cooked in oil than I thought it would be.
Overall, I'm happy with this popper and it stays out on the counter for quick batches of popcorn when a good movie comes on the tube!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

love it

08/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had this same popper before and loved it...
we were so happy to find another as ours disappeared to one of our children's homes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Hot Air Popper

09/17/2007
By ,
Clinton, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the ease of just pouring in corn and plugging in the unit. Two minutes later I have fluffy fat-free popcorn. Wipe any popcorn hulls off the unit and put it away, nothing to wash.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+161points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Good Popper

03/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this popper and first time used the recommended 1/2 cup popcorn. I had a huge amount of light fluffy popcorn with only 3 kernels left unpopped. Only use 1/4 cup from now on.
Very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+239points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

It will take your eye out

08/03/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
leaves a lot of kernels un popped in bowl and in popper, some of the kernels pop in the bowl flying all over the place. I bought the Orville Redenbacher brand so its not the kernels. In all, it still pops the kernels just not all of them. Jus be care full for the kernels popping whizzing by your head. I guess you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Fast and Furious

08/06/2014
By ,
L.I.N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This popper blast out delicious pop corn in no time and if you have small kid's they will love seeing it in action {It sounds and looks like a volcano in action}!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 804 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next