Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Presto Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Presto Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

The Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper pops up enjoy healthy, delicious popcorn without added calories, as you won't need to pop your popcorn in oil. This versatile hot air corn popper makes up to 18 cups of fresh, hot popcorn in less than three minutes. The handy butter melter doubles as a measuring cup, while the chute directs popcorn right into your bowl. It's perfect for game night, movie time with the family or making snacks at a party.
Average Customer Rating:
4.546 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(1099 Reviews) 941
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
786
4 stars
225
3 stars
32
2 stars
14
1 star
42
Customer Recommendation94%1,031 out of 1,097reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 385 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
786
4 stars
225
3 stars
32
2 stars
14
1 star
42
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

The Best Popper on the Market!

03/16/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this air popper! I was spending at least $6.00-$8.00 a week buying organic popcorn from our local grocer and there were always a ton of unpopped kernels on the bottom of the bag. This air popper pops 98% of the kernels and does a great job! The kids love watching it pop and it takes only 3 minutes. Just don't use a shallow bowl when popping, as those last kernels can really fly out of there easily.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Needs improvement

06/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The popper works pretty well. I like the popcorn. It is a bit rubbery but I don't mind. The popper blows way too hard causing the unpopped kernels to fly out before popping begins. The butter dish melted in the microwave & does not fit into the slot well. It doesn't take heat very well. The machine becomes very hot, the whole body gets hot & you have to be careful to stand by to unplug it as soon as it stops popping. At the end of popping, the last few pieces shoot out wild in different directions missing the bowl. You have to man the bowl turning it & moving to catch the last wild shoots of popcorn. What I like best is that you can make popcorn with no butter or fat. It's a heathy snack that way. I would recommend it for the end result satisfies me. The mfr could cut the blower down & use a metal butter melter. Makes more sense & would function better.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great Value!

06/02/2011
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This popper was a steal for only $20. Yes, it's old fashioned looking but it get the job done and I imagine I will have it for years to come. It's white and yellow (not black, as pictured) It's a very simple design with no frills but it pops kernels awesomely! As soon as you plug it in, it starts getting hot. There is not an on/off switch but you don't need one. As long as the kernels stay in the heated area, they will all pop. Some stray kernels will shoot out. If the kernel isn't too hot, I will throw it back in and it will get popped. The entire description and video about the popper is true and accurate. In a few short minutes, you will have a big bowl of popcorn! It's awesome not to eat microwave popcorn anymore. If I want to add anything to it for flavor, I add natural butter to the top cup, let it melt and pour it over the popcorn. I heard olive oil and sea salt is good too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Love this popper! Read why!

11/04/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled to see this popper still on the market, as my son is now looking for an air popper. We have had the earlier version of this model for over 30 years. Seriously! We bought it right after we were married in 1982, and it still works like it is brand new. We never did go the microwave route and have used this popper about three times per week for all these years. We use a 1/2 cup measuring cup to measure with. If the kernels aren't moving sufficiently prior to popping, jiggle it a bit so the air moves around them to prevent them from burning. This doesn't happen often, but you do need to listen for it. Also, leave the cover on until the unit is cool to prevent warping. We never melt butter in the cover - I don't want to have to wash it. We spray the popcorn with buttery Pam and add salt or seasoning and that's it! I hope it lasts another 30+ years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleveland, OH
Love this Popper! Lost without it!
Posted 10/19/2014
I got my popper in 1982, Christamas Gifit from my parents for my very first apartment! We were so sad, it burned out 2 months ago! That little trooper was with us also for 32 years! Amazing ... we have searched for the perfect popper, bought and returned 3 so far, just ordered this, and after reading the reviews, I don't think I'll be returning it! Thanks, Presto for staying true to your product!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you love air popped popcorn like we do, look no further. The Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper (model 04820) is simply outstanding! It's very reasonably priced, easy to use, pops almost every kernel of corn perfectly in about 4-5 minutes, requires virtually no clean-up and is easy to store. Presto has achieved "popcorn popper perfection!" Just ensure you don't try to pop more kernels of corn than the little dispenser cup that comes with the unit will hold. If you do, it could cause some kernels to burn and might even cause the popper to stop working. :-(
TIP: If you like to use a bit of seasoning to flavor your popcorn, try spraying the popcorn as it comes out of the popper with a healthy oil (we use a light olive oil). The oil is healthier for you than butter and helps the seasoning adhere to the popped kernels.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

upate of prior review

10/13/2013
By ,
Dallas. Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I contacted Presto directly, and they sent me a replacement popper cover for my machine. Also, they told me that I should abandon using gourmet popcorn in favor of generic store brands.
I was using Orville Redenbacher and sometimes, Bob's Red Mill Organic popcorn. Both are quality brands, but according to Presto, gourmet popcorn kernels are lighter in weight than the kernels in store brands of popcorn, and were more likely to be ejected unpopped from their machines.
I just bought a bag of WalMart Great Value popcorn today, and fewer kernels went unpopped but I prefer the taste and fluffiness of the 'gourmet' brands.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Great Product

03/05/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Filled the cup with kernals. poured them in, set a bowl to catch the popcorn. plugged it in and watched it make popcorn. I watched it so intently I realized too late the bowl was not large enough. It was like a comedy with popcorn going all over the place while I went to get another bowl. It is well worth $19.95. If not, I would tell ya. By the way, 2nd time I used a much larger bowl. You live and learn.
As others have said, a switch might be nice but maybe the heat would destroy the switch over time. Just plugging it in is no big deal as it is not something you leave on the counter. It is quite simple to operate. There is no timer, no settings...little to go wrong. You plug it in and it runs. You unpug it and it stops.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Awesome popcorn

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This popcorn maker is super cheap about the same price of 10 bags and will make them 5 times faster. You need this if your family has a movie night,you will make your money back in 2 nights. Easy to use my kids enjoy watching the popcorn pour out. Makes alot of popcorn at one time you can definitely overflow the container. Love this machine used it about 2 a week to make popcorn for 6 people in under 10 minutes, still working too
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Good popper!!

06/30/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good popper for price!! Pops most of kernels. Small kernels pop out during popping, we had to tip popper back to keep them in. Large kernels stayed in popper and mostly all popped.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Works OK With Mods

06/16/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The first time I used the popper it started blowing the unpopped kernels out as soon as I plugged it in and then when it actually popped the corn it blasted them out of the large bowl I had to catch them in. To remedy this I now put my garage door opener under the front of the machine to give it a slight angle and set the bowl on top of a Kleenex box on its side. Bit of a rigmarole but it works and the machine now pops the corn efficiently. You might want to look at other machines or be prepared to make the mods I had to.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Pleasantly surprised

11/27/2013
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had a hot air popper for years and thought I'd try one because microwave popcorn is really so awful. This Presto is a CHAMP. It was fast, and very efficient, and has this little cup to measure and it doubles to melt butter, and while there are some unpopped kernels, there weren't many. The result was so much nicer than microwave popcorn so it makes me wonder why I waited so long. The price is very reasonable, actually dirt cheap, but the quality is quite high. Its durable and well made. The one I got is yellow, so its bright and sunny. After using it was a breeze to wipe off and put away. Kicking myself for taking so long to buy one. Highly recommended, plus WalMart shipped it very quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Excellent Popper

05/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This popper works great. Like some of previous reviews, all the kernels pop wit exception of 1 or 2. Popcorn is lite and delicious. Since we are on low fat and sodium diets, this works great for us.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

better than I had expected

06/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comparing what comes out of this to stove popped popcorn and a microwave air popper... this is the best. The popcorn is large and fluffy without the hard chewy center part the other two methods leave behind. I never knew that hard part did not have to be there! :) I used it exactly per enclosed instructions and did have a few unpopped kernels however those were way less than the other two methods. I was looking for a healthy way to pop popcorn, and in that this "non tooth popper" has exceeded my expectations.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Healthy Option

04/02/2010
By ,
Edwards, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product to reduce fat and salt which makes for a healthy snack. The popper works very well. Filling the cap half full makes enough popped corn for one person. I can't rate the durability of this item as we have used it just one month......so far.....so good. Tip: Put a moistened (wrung out) paper towel in the sack of unpopped kernels. It rehydrates the corn which makes the corn pop much fluffier and bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+169points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
naples, fl
please clarify
Posted 09/10/2011
Regarding your tip: "Put a moistened (wrung out) paper towel in the sack of unpopped kernels", do you put the moistened paper towel in just the amount of popcorn you are going to pop, and for how long?
Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Quick and easy and no oil

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is so easy to use. I'm happy I can save money on oil and save time measuring the popcorn. The measuring cup it comes with is very handy. You do have to be careful for some kernels may pop out but I just toss them back in. Love this popcorn maker and the kids love to watch it pop.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Popped all over

04/13/2014
By ,
Redding, Ca.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this popper thinking it was better then the rest, and though it maybe, it still pops way too many very hot unpopped kernels out the top while heating up.
Once it does start popping it keeps popping them out until there are enough popped over the unpopped to stop it.
The air is quite strong. The problem isn't the air, but the angle of both the tube that the popcorn climbs being too short, and the top not having a shield in the front to angle the popcorn into a bowl. Only solution as it is designed right now, is to tilt it back until it starts popping and have a bowl tall enough to go right to the exit.
I am very disappointed with this as it seems to be simple design flaws, that should have been fixed years ago, as this model has a history of being around for many years.
I had one like this over 20 years ago. Now I remember why I went to the microwave.
I am surprised there weren't more complaints about this in comments. It is my only complaint.
Heats great, nice looking, good price (for hot air. lol), easy to operate elec part though it has no button to turn on or off. Easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

The popcorn is so boring

06/18/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The machine does just what it says it will do but the popcorn is so boring. Adding melted butter doesn't seem to help. Maybe the powered popcorn seasonings would made it more appealing.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820
05/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Presto air popper exceeded our expectations. It was reasonably priced and has very few unpopped kernels. There is no on/off switch, but that is a minor issue.
I wish I had not bought the Rival brand first in Walmart's store and had just ordered the Presto for store pickup. The Rival has three times the quantity of unpopped kernels and more fly out of the machine while operating. It is a shame the Walmart stores in the area did not stock the Presto brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Good Popper

03/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this popper and first time used the recommended 1/2 cup popcorn. I had a huge amount of light fluffy popcorn with only 3 kernels left unpopped. Only use 1/4 cup from now on.
Very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+287points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Presto PopLite Hot Air Popcorn Popper, 04820

Good idea, Cheap Material

06/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked awesome the first 2 times my daughter used it, the 3rd time however, the top part where the butter tray sits melted and deformed. Disappointing considering I bought this for her birthday and it had such amazing reviews, it was supposed to be the best. It seems like it would have been a better deal for 6.94 instead of 16.94...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 942 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  48 Next