Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Moultrie Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Moultrie Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

Leave nothing to chance when you scout with a Moultrie infrared trail camera, featuring laser and infrared aim for quick and precise camera set-up. The Game Spy I-40 comes equipped with 4.0 Megapixel resolution, quick one-second trigger time, 150-day battery life and no visible white flash. A stamp on every photo and video you shoot shows temperature, moon phase, time, date and camera ID. You won't miss a shot with the Game Spy I-40.
Average Customer Rating:
4.244 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
36
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation86%116 out of 135reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
36
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

GREAT CAM FOR THE MONEY

08/13/2007
By ,
CRAB ORCHARD, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BEST IR CAM ON THE MARKET. I'AM GOING ON TWO MONTHS WITH MINE. BATTERIES ARE STILL ABOVE 90%. TRIGGER TIME IS ABOUT 1.5 SECONDS. EASY INSTRUCTIONS. ONLY PROBLEM SO FAR IS YOU NEED TO PUT IT IN DIRECT SUN LIGHT OR IT WILL TAKE 95% OF BLACK AND WHITE PHOTOS. BOTH DAY AND NIGHT PHOTOS ARE GREAT. I HAVE TRIED MANY IR CAM'S IN THE PAST. THIS ONE IS THE FASTEST AND CHEAPEST. PHOTO QUALITY ON THIS CAMERA IS GREAT. DON'T OVER TIGHTEN THE STRAP TO THE TREE YOU CAN CAUSE A LEAK BY DOING SO.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+84points
Review 42 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

exactly what I needed

12/28/2008
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the next best thing to sliced bread. Forget the purpose for which it is intended. It's perfect for catching those ne'er do wells who clearly have nothing better to do than choose to play 'mailbox baseball'. A far more affordable alternative to setting up some sort of CCTV camera. The best part is the camera's infrared feature so no visible white flash at night---doesn't spook your 'prey'. My only complaint is the location for the optional SD memory card---it's the devil to get to. It was easy to set up and so far, battery life is excellent. I wholeheartedly recommend this product for security purposes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 43 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

90% Pleased

12/15/2008
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Securing to Tree- you'd think that there'd be a better buckle/strap system provided. Once up, it works okay. The screw 'leveler' can be either a great help or a hindrence depending on setup location.
Enclosure- Black sticks out. I'll probably end up taping mine as others have suggested. Manufacturing it in solid green or brown would have made more sense. The screw in metal studs are secure, but a bit tedious if you are checking cameras in extreme cold.
Setup- Mostly simple and easy to understand. The display can be hard to read sometimes. Great battery life and it's nice that the display shows you how much battery is left on an ongoing basis. The display can be slow in extreme cold. SD card slot is difficult to access (tight space), but that can be overlooked when considering the big picture of this purchase.
Pics- Good pics, trigger a little slow, info. bar w/temp seems accurate. Slight sound with shutter.
Video- works far better than I expected. However, maybe it's me not knowing how to set it up properly or something, but the video doesn't provide the date/time. It has an accompanying still shot that you can check to see when a vid took place. IR works well. Slight sound- deer don't seem to notice much, but wiley coyote does seem to detect once in a while.
Comparison: Works great compared to other cameras for the $, a great value. low risk purchase, high reward!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 44 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

Still has bugs to be worked out

07/31/2008
By ,
Hickory, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This unit only took black pictures at night. I watched it, the IR diodes glowed soft red but nothing but a dark picture. The camera/display hung up on me on more than one occasion. It would not let me scroll through the menu. I ended up turning it off and on many times. I have another different model Moultrie with the same menu/display and it works ok. I called the factory about some issues such as the display not showing the number of events like my other model and he said it does, well it don't.
Just to let you hunters know, this camera makes a motorized shutter noise when it takes a picture.
One other thing, the battery/usb/SD access door is hard to get seated enough to get the two screws to start, and the sealing o-ring will not stay put. Moultrie has some more bugs to fix yet. I took my unit back to Wal-Mart today( I had to order this from them on line, not available at our stores).
Maybe I will buy one next year when they work the problems out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 45 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

Best Bang for the Buck

01/30/2008
By ,
Elizabeth City, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I carefully reviewed this product on several sporting sites and read the reviews. I would tend to support the other opinions of these sites concerning this camera.
This camera was a full $20.00 cheaper at wal-mart then I could find at the regular sporting sites. You should pay special attention to set up to ensure a true North South application in the field to keep the rising and setting sun from washing out a photo.
My first venture of 5-days capatured 533 pics in enhanced resoloution on a 2g card. Photos were nice. If it came in camo it would be a plus but a $2 roll of camo tape took care of that problem.
Be careful with the strap that affixes to the tree I think that it could have been manufactured better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 46 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

Chancy at best - Can see IR flash

06/13/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My first shot at this good deal from Walmart showed up with both battery door screws broken.. So I took it back to Walmart. Moultrie customer service is not good. They make you pay to return for warranty repair or defects and are not responsive. Rolling the dice again I ordered another from Walmart and it showed up working and in one piece. Once you learn the menu system it is not hard to set up. It takes fairly good daytime pics and the nighttime "IR" pics are pretty good. Batt usage is good. Pics in the late afternoon may be shot in IR or daytime color mode. I set it up for security purposes (why I wanted nightime IR) and discovered after a few days that the IR flash is visible to the human eye. The LEDS glow red when it flashes - not very covert. So that means the LED's are not purely IR, but emit both visible red and InfraRed light... good to know before you buy.. If you are using for critters not a problem I suppose.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

So far so good

01/27/2010
By ,
North Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my 2nd game camera. I also have a game camera with a standard flash. I wanted this one for the infared flash for not only game pictures, but I've used it a few times as a security camera.
So far the camera works well. Most of the pictures are clear. A few times I've had a picture come out with a haze or cloudy look. I think it was a humity issue. I try to be careful about taking the camera streight from my warm car to the cold outdoors, thinking that it was casuing condisation. That seems to work. I've gotten some great shots of game and even a tresspasser. The SD card would be a hard to get out if you're a man with large hands. I found that it pops out into your hand eazy if you just press on it with your pinky finger. The straps are small so I replaced them with something stronger so that I could lock it to the tree. If someoen steals it they'll have to break it in doing so!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 48 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

Moultrie trail cameras

10/30/2009
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use both the Moultrie I-40 IR camera and the Game Spy 4.0. They both take good pictures, but the I-40 IR has exceptional battery life. I've got one in the field currently that has been on the same set of batteries for three months and it was still at 65-70% power (it tells you on the camera how much power is left). The Game Spy 4.0 is much cheaper, but if you put it on a high traffic area like a corn feeder, the battery life is inadequate. The I-40 IR makes a very slight "click" when it takes a picture, which can lead to the deer looking at the camera in following pics, but it doesn't seem to spook them at all. Overall, I would give the I-40 IR 5 stars and Game Spy 4.0 four stars due to its limited battery life.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 49 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

I-40 Review

01/19/2009
By ,
Birmingham, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son-in-law and I have been operating 6 of these cameras since the
Spring of 08 and have found them most effective. We have added the 4 GB
memory cards and operate them on max video duration. We found that we
were missing a lot of action using just the still picture mode since
the trigger speed is adequate but not supper fast.
The only problems we have had with the cameras is one camera's software
went off in the weeds but a reload of the software from the Moultrie
web site fixed the problem. We have one camera with a faulty display
that only the top half of the characters are visible but are returning
it to Moultrie for a no charge replacement. Fortunately I have a
Moultrie plant 2 miles from my house so taking it back is no problem.
We have gotten great pictures with these cameras of deer, foxes,
cayotes, rabbits, and turkeys, not to mention a few dogs that should
not have been on the property. Day and night pictures are good
quality.
We are very satisfied with these cameras and their battery life is
fantastic, lasting at least 3 months on a set.
I wish the cameras were camo in color, which might have helped in
preventing one of our cameras from being stolen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera
08/26/2009
By ,
sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 3 Moultrie I40s in Fall 2008. I sent all three in for warranty repair in early 2009. Moultrie replaced all 3 with new units. I have since sent all those units back for warranty repair. So out of 6 units, none have lasted more than 4 months. On all the units, the LCD panel went out. Also on one of those units, it would not accept any SD card. The pictures are mostly B&W as the IR sensor doesn't seem to work well. I get B&W pics during the middle of the day! The night pics are blurry unless the animal is standing perfectly still. the only good thing is battery life, which seems to avg 100-120 days. Overall, I would not recommend these units until Moultrie does a better job of quality control.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

best cam for the money

04/13/2009
By ,
north carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have had the I 40 in the woods on the same tree for over one year now... it has taken well over 3000 pics with no problems. The cams that cost twice as much that friends have are sendind back month after month... i passed several bucks up because i had pictures of a bigger one that i was able to harvest because of the cam.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 52 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

moultrie game camera

08/26/2009
By ,
houston texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the camera was easy to aim and setup in the field
the pictures were very good. this is a very good tool for tracking and seeing your game before hunting season. I set the exposures at two per event and left time a defalt of one min. this was too fast. I increased the time to 5 min. and one picture. this was much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 53 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

Takes good night vision pics

08/23/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have found this game camera to take good night vision pictures. The daytime color pictures are not as good if you have bright light facing the camera so be sure to angle the camera more north or south. I would recomend this for anyone who is on a budget. It is worth the price for what you get.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 54 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

camera that does not work

01/08/2011
By ,
Emory, TX.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the first time I used it 90% of the pictures opened OK. the 2nd time 80% opened. then it really went down hill. unfortunately, more than 90 days passed before I figured out what I paid $150.00 for. now I have to deal with Moultrie ?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 55 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

deer in the woods

10/23/2007
By ,
Woodhaven,Mich
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product saves valuable time, you wont be hunting in an area where the deer don't roam.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 56 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

Good but not Great!!

12/16/2009
By ,
SE Missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Camera was priced right and had all the right features. Once you understand how to activate camera it was easy. Easy to install, takes good clear pictures. Problem: The camera makes a considerable clicking sound when taking a picture. This has caused alot of the deer to spook and I have about 40% of my pictures are blurred because of the animals quick movement. I have an older Moultrie game cam that doesn't make any noise, thought this one would be the same. Infrared flash works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 57 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

Moultrie I-40 Digital Game Camera

01/01/2010
By ,
Pearsall, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have 7 of these units on my ranch in South Texas. Good things: Price, battery life, warranty
Average: Shutter speed, picture quality
Bad things: All of my units have had to be returned to Moultrie at least once and some twice. Digital read out goes out. You cannot check or make changes to your camera because you cant read it!
Moutrie is great about fixing or replacing. Most the just send you a new one. The 1 year warranty starts new with the new one they send or repaired camera! Thank goodness or I would never buy them again. If you are on a tight budget, they are a good value. The I-60 is not worth the price. Go to their website and compare..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 58 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

disappointed

09/23/2008
By ,
illinois
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I opened up my new trail camera, set it up to my preferences and went to put it into auto mode (the mode to take pictures) and it wouldn't do it. I tried just waiting until it timed out so it would automatically go into auto mode, and it didn't do that either. I called Moultrie, and I have to send it to them so they can fix it. Obviously, this isn't a normal problem...I'm just one of the lucky ones. It is just disappointing to pay a couple hundred dollars for something that doesn't even work when you get it, and themn have to pay to send it back to get fixed.
Hopefully when it comes back, I won't still be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 59 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

I love my spy camera

05/20/2010
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this spy camera. I use it to see what cats are at my outdoor feeding station overnight. Any new cats need to be trapped/neutered/and returned to the feeding location.
The camera takes great pictures and videos. It has a laser light to assist you in aiming the camera at the right location.
My only complaint is that I have the camera set to record 30 seconds of video each time but I only 10 seconds on the playback. That might be a user issue. I have to call the company to ask. By the way... I have called Moultrie and their customer service was very helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 60 for Moultrie 4MP Game Spy I-40 Infrared Digital Game Camera

Fair so far

01/21/2008
By ,
Spring, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have only used this product for the past 10 days. In those 10 days I had 26 pics. Of those 26 there were 8 that did not catch whatever triggred the camera. The strap for attaching it to the tree is short. I would recommend an aftermarket device to mount the camera. On a positive note, two of the night pics picked up deer far enough away that they were barely visible. The pic quality so far has been great. As far as value, I bought online for less than what it is selling for now and for now I feel like it has been a good investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
41-60 of 120 total reviews