Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Presto Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Presto Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Preserve your favorite foods confidently and safely with the Presto 16-Quart Pressure Canner. It doubles as a boiling water canner for preserving homemade jams, jellies and salsas. It's safe for low-acid foods such as meat, vegetables and fish, and constructed of extra-strong, warp-resistant aluminum. Plus, you'll save money by canning your own food — and you'll be able to customize the canning to your taste preferences. The Presto 16-Quart Pressure Canner includes a complete canning instruction and recipe book.
Average Customer Rating:
4.685 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(143 Reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation97%139 out of 143reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 187 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Simple and basic pressure canner

08/28/2012
By ,
Owensville, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No fancy bells and whistles, just a good basic canner. On average this hold around 7 quart jars for me. About 9 pints. Great for small batches at a time. No need to sit and watch a pressure gauge as this one goes purely by the weight you put on the nipple. Fancy gauges are really unneeded and are an extra expense to replace. It's a good idea to have an extra gasket with any pressure canner handy but pressure gauges are just silly.
I was going to order one from this site until I discovered my local Walmart had one in stock already. A good price and value for the small gardener or for someone buying meat in bulk to save money. The pressure gauge on my fancy one went bad and I didn't want to spend fifty bucks on another gauge. I've canned stew meat, veggies, ham and beans, bacon, chicken soup, you name it. Can also be used as a water bath canner.
Very pleased with mine and may purchase another one for large batches. Much better than having to replace pressure gauges every couple of years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Great Value for small batch canning

06/01/2014
By ,
Middle GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I chose to purchase this model of Presto pressure canner because I needed a small canner that would operate on my glass-top cooktop. Also, I previously owned a much larger Presto with rocker pressure control and was very happy with my previous canner - on a different stove.
The canner arrived several weeks ago and has already been used to pressure can two batches of vegetables and also to water bath can several batches of tomato sauce - all in pint size jars.
If you want to do large batches of water bath canning, I would recommend a larger unit or a proper water bath canner if your stove will allow it...this model can't be used to water bath anything larger than pint size jars - however, it will pressure can quarts.
I am pleased with my purchase and would recommend it to a small family or for use on a glass-top stove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Great Canner for Beginners or Pros

08/31/2014
By ,
Southwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This canner is one of the easiest to use because of it's size and the weighted pressure regulator. I had a 23 qt Presto with a gauge, used it twice and stuck it on a shelf. It was too heavy for me to handle easily and took longer to get up to pressure and then depressurize because of it's size. I could have overlooked that and kept using it except for my biggest complaint - the dial gauge. I had to babysit the canner the entire time to make sure it stayed on pressure. As they get older, the gauges may not be completely accurate and you can forget about finding someone to re-calibrate the thing.
The only difference in the 16 qt as far as the size is that you can't double stack your pints, which is not a consideration for me. The weights give you freedom to move around and do other things while processing a load of jars. You want to be within earshot so you can hear the jiggler but if you do need to go to another room for a couple of minutes, you don't have to be in a panic.
If in the future I did start doing larger canning projects, I would consider getting a 22 qt. Mirro with weights so I could stack the jars. As far as I can tell, for some reason Presto doesn't make their 23 qt canners with weights anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

"Aways Reliable"

08/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Long ago, it seams like, when my children were young, I kept a garden. My choice for a canner was "Presto's 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner". I canned everything for my growing family, and the Canner always did it's job perfectly. When I turned 40, I developed Rheumatoid Arthritis, and had to give up my garden and canning. I'm 65 now, and my Husband has put in a garden for 6 years, and it's larger every year. This year I decided to put up some of this abundance of Tomatoes he kept bringing in. I looked for my old canner and found it at Walmart. As in my old canner I wanted the canner with the "Weights", like my old one had, as Gauges scare me, especially since I have an electric stove now. As expected, and even though I'm much slower ...the New canner works as great as the old one did. So the Jars of Tomatoes, just keep on coming, ...Thanks Presto & Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

LOVE IT easy to use

03/06/2008
By ,
Lakewood, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first pressuer canner I have owned. I found the product to be all it was advertized and more. I wanted a unit I could use both for water bath and pressure canning, it does both very well, gave me confidence in my limited canning abilities, it was great fun. I bought the canner to can tomatoe meat sauce. The instruction book also contained a reciepe for bread and butter pickels, I tried it and they are great. Thanks to Wal-Mart for a great price and a terrific product. Multiple pressure settings with weighted balance makes this unit perfect for canning different food products. Anyone doing home canning can't go wrong purchasing this canner. Well built heavy gauge alumn, will last a lifetime.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

perfect for canning

05/23/2009
By ,
Elkin, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a pressure cooker for canning produce from our garden, as well I wanted to be able to cook some of the recipes my mom and grandma use to make: Stuffed Cabbage, Corned beef and cabbage and several others that my small pressure cooker would not handle. Perfect size for making meals that I can now freeze and eat through the winter ... if they last that long :).
I would recommend this product for anyone needing a pressure cooker for durability and ease of use. The 3 levels of pressure are easy to change and it is not too small and not too big, great for home canning and large family dinners, cooked quick ...always tender. And after a lot of searching all over the internet the price beats out the competition and by far the best value for your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+103points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Great Pressure Canner

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great canner; one of my friends has one and I borrowed it. I have a 22 qt which is nice because you can do two layers of jars at one time, but.....it weighs a ton! It also takes longer to heat up to start the venting and it takes longer to cool down. That's the reason I decided to buy a 16 quart one for myself. I recommend this canner for anyone who is interested in doing their owned canned foods.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

So Simple and Practical

10/01/2009
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great, heavy duty, simiple to use canner. Great for beginners or the seasoned canner. You will not regret this purchase. Also just for those who may not know, this type of weighted guage is the best in my opinion. The dial type has to be checked for accuracy every so often (and who knows to take it to anyways). I don't feel like that type is safe, and the weighted type is good-to-go from now on. Finally, this canner has heavy lockdown clasps and a lock handle that makes it safe to use and an overpressure plug that would pop out just in case. Never had a problem with this canner. I'd buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Exceptional Value

10/31/2007
By ,
Beautiful Southern Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Presto pressure cooker is big enough to handle all the jams 'n jellies and pickles you'd ever want to can. I use it primarily for making our pet's food - such large batches means less time spent doing so! It's not as heavy as it looks, the handles are easy to hold, cleans easily and stays pretty and shiney! There's a double folded rubber seal unlike my 32 yr old presto pressure cooker I still use - which I think is a much better and perhaps safer feature. The optional 5 lb, 10 lb, and 15 lb pressure regulator is a new feature to me and I'm sure I'll use it too! Terrific product. Very happy with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Great pressure canner

11/11/2013
By ,
Northern Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a gift to teach my daughter how to pressure can. Having a natural gas range, the rocker-style of gauge is superior to the dial gauge in my opinion. The canner's instructions were clear enough for my daughter to use it if I was not there to answer any questions. It looks to be quite durable and should give my daughter many years of use. The gasket is easily replaced, as are the other parts that may wear through the years. The instructions did not have you do a test-run first, which I would highly recommend one do first to see how the canner works. I may get myself one, liking the smaller size. I was given the next size up of the Presto pressure canner by a friend recently, making smaller batches a bother to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner
09/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This model can be used to water bath can pints or half-pints only, not quarts, per the included manual. I've made several different kinds of pickles and tested the pressure canner by doing a couple of pints of veggies. I have a flat top stove and it works fine. I like this much better than a pressure canner with a gauge because the gauge should be calibrated every year and this one will work without needing to be calibrated. I like that I can use one pot to either pressure can or water bath can. It was also very affordable compared to other pressure canners.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

woderful product

09/11/2010
By ,
Dahlonega, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third Presto pressure canner. All of these were purchased from Wal-Mart. They have the best price and best service. I can a lot in the summer months and it is good to have three. The pressure goes up quickly and it cools down quickly so the turn around time is fast. I have three gas burners set up on my deck along with tables to prepare produce to can. I can usually do 6 canners in a day which is 42 quarts per day. When canning vegetable soup that is very good as I can between 80 and 100 quarts each year and around 60-70 quarts of green beans. It is also very good to can chicken and vension in these pressure canners.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Canning

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect size
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Just Right

11/28/2010
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great canner- I was undecided about getting this size or the larger, but I'm glad I chose this- any larger & I would have had trouble lifting it. When the jars are loaded along with the water plus the weight of the canner, some serious muscle is required to lift this off the stove- and you MUST lift it off the burner after processing is finished. Also, it is HOT (duh!) so you can't rely on leaning it against your body to help take some of the weight off your arms/hands - the handles are large & stay nice & cool so you have plenty to hold on to. So if you are thinking about the larger size, keep the weight in mind as you might really be sorry about being able to add those extra jars when it comes time to remove this from the stovetop.
Drawback to the smaller size of course is having to process smaller batches, but I'd rather do this than have an accident with a hot canner I can't lift. My plan is to buy another of the 16 Quart size for doing larger batches- the canner takes appx. 30 min. to cool down before you can open it- rather than sitting around waiting on it I would like to be able to keep going & get done with those larger jobs....by having 2 smaller units, one could be being filled/processed while the other cooled & this cycle repeated which would make large jobs go a LOT faster.
One other thing- instructions say canner can fit 10 pint jars at a time- now I don't know who came up with that estimate but they must have smashed 2 of the jars to get them inside...the MAX pint jars that will fit in this is 8 - anymore & you will need to fit them inside in pieces!
Overall, this is a well made canner that should last many years with proper care. Instructions are well-written & easy to understand, & have processing times for MANY different fruits & veggies (as well as meats) in the back of the book. If you are new to canning, you will find that this canner is easy to set up & use by following the instruction book. If you are a seasoned pro. you will love this canner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+185points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Canyon Lake, TX
Your information about weight was just what I need
Posted 04/30/2013
I am so glad I read your review. I am 65 and have nerve damage in both arms. I was wondering whether to buy the 23 quart or the 16 quart cooker for exactly the point you made in your review. I had doubts as to if I would be able to lift the larger one, your review made it clear to me I need to buy the smaller one. Thank you, you likely saved me money and a possible burn or other accident.
+1point
Customer Avatar
number of pints
Posted 09/27/2011
The number of pints you can fit depends on the brand of the jars. The generic brand they sell at Walmart ("Golden Harvest") are larger around than name-brand jars (such as "Kerr" or "Ball".) I have found I can fit 10 Kerr jars and 9 Golden Harvest.
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Great pressure canner.

08/12/2014
By ,
Bristol, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This canner is so simple to use and stress free for me.
So unlike the dial pressure gauge that has to be watched constantly this one gives me
freedom to do other things while pressuring. The jiggle tells me when to adjust pressure
just by listening instead of keeping my eye on the gauge/dial.
I highly recommend this pressure canner !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Best affordable canner

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While most companies have gone to gauges which can be inaccurate and need re-calibration yearly. The weighted canner is reliable for a lifetime.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Very nice canning pot

07/27/2007
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works very well. Seems to be heavy duty. Pot is not too thin to heat well. Handles and locking feel sturdy. Have canned green beans, salsa, pickles and jelly already this year with no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Greatest thing since sliced bread!!

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second presto canner...I use both during the canning season...so easy to use and keep the pressure where it is supposed to be. Just completed 21 quarts of green beans and am so glad to have two presto pressure canners...you just can't go wrong with this one...no guage to watch ..if the pressure weight is rocking your canning!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Much easier to use than the dial gauge canner

06/20/2010
By ,
Waretown, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the weighted gage, which I think is easier to use and safer than a dial gauge canner. There is also no need to get this calibrated annually like the other Presto model, and it's cheaper too!
Great bargain, craftsmanship, etc. Recommended also for those of you with Over the Range Microwaves due to it's lower height. Please note that you can just do quarts using this as a pressure canner, not as a water batch canner. However, this is still dual purpose, and works great with either canning method.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Presto 16-Quart Pressure Canner

10/06/2010
By ,
Napa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There's nothing like a wonderful low tech solution to get the job done. This canner is what my mother used for over 20 years, and I'm hoping it'll be part of my home at least that long. No need for a gauge, simple-easy instructions, and no guess work. It's light weight, easy to clean, and down right exacting when you pull out your first jars. It's nice to find an American made product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KY
not american made
Posted 09/09/2011
FYI... I recently contacted Presto to find out where their canners are made and they told me they are produced in China.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 124 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next