Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Presto Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Presto Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Preserve your favorite foods confidently and safely with the Presto 16-Quart Pressure Canner. It doubles as a boiling water canner for preserving homemade jams, jellies and salsas. It's safe for low-acid foods such as meat, vegetables and fish, and constructed of extra-strong, warp-resistant aluminum. Plus, you'll save money by canning your own food — and you'll be able to customize the canning to your taste preferences. The Presto 16-Quart Pressure Canner includes a complete canning instruction and recipe book.
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%109 out of 112reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 137 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Simple and basic pressure canner

08/28/2012
By ,
Owensville, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No fancy bells and whistles, just a good basic canner. On average this hold around 7 quart jars for me. About 9 pints. Great for small batches at a time. No need to sit and watch a pressure gauge as this one goes purely by the weight you put on the nipple. Fancy gauges are really unneeded and are an extra expense to replace. It's a good idea to have an extra gasket with any pressure canner handy but pressure gauges are just silly.
I was going to order one from this site until I discovered my local Walmart had one in stock already. A good price and value for the small gardener or for someone buying meat in bulk to save money. The pressure gauge on my fancy one went bad and I didn't want to spend fifty bucks on another gauge. I've canned stew meat, veggies, ham and beans, bacon, chicken soup, you name it. Can also be used as a water bath canner.
Very pleased with mine and may purchase another one for large batches. Much better than having to replace pressure gauges every couple of years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

perfect for canning

05/23/2009
By ,
Elkin, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a pressure cooker for canning produce from our garden, as well I wanted to be able to cook some of the recipes my mom and grandma use to make: Stuffed Cabbage, Corned beef and cabbage and several others that my small pressure cooker would not handle. Perfect size for making meals that I can now freeze and eat through the winter ... if they last that long :).
I would recommend this product for anyone needing a pressure cooker for durability and ease of use. The 3 levels of pressure are easy to change and it is not too small and not too big, great for home canning and large family dinners, cooked quick ...always tender. And after a lot of searching all over the internet the price beats out the competition and by far the best value for your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

LOVE IT easy to use

03/06/2008
By ,
Lakewood, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first pressuer canner I have owned. I found the product to be all it was advertized and more. I wanted a unit I could use both for water bath and pressure canning, it does both very well, gave me confidence in my limited canning abilities, it was great fun. I bought the canner to can tomatoe meat sauce. The instruction book also contained a reciepe for bread and butter pickels, I tried it and they are great. Thanks to Wal-Mart for a great price and a terrific product. Multiple pressure settings with weighted balance makes this unit perfect for canning different food products. Anyone doing home canning can't go wrong purchasing this canner. Well built heavy gauge alumn, will last a lifetime.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Great pressure canner

11/11/2013
By ,
Northern Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a gift to teach my daughter how to pressure can. Having a natural gas range, the rocker-style of gauge is superior to the dial gauge in my opinion. The canner's instructions were clear enough for my daughter to use it if I was not there to answer any questions. It looks to be quite durable and should give my daughter many years of use. The gasket is easily replaced, as are the other parts that may wear through the years. The instructions did not have you do a test-run first, which I would highly recommend one do first to see how the canner works. I may get myself one, liking the smaller size. I was given the next size up of the Presto pressure canner by a friend recently, making smaller batches a bother to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Exceptional Value

10/31/2007
By ,
Beautiful Southern Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Presto pressure cooker is big enough to handle all the jams 'n jellies and pickles you'd ever want to can. I use it primarily for making our pet's food - such large batches means less time spent doing so! It's not as heavy as it looks, the handles are easy to hold, cleans easily and stays pretty and shiney! There's a double folded rubber seal unlike my 32 yr old presto pressure cooker I still use - which I think is a much better and perhaps safer feature. The optional 5 lb, 10 lb, and 15 lb pressure regulator is a new feature to me and I'm sure I'll use it too! Terrific product. Very happy with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

So Simple and Practical

10/01/2009
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great, heavy duty, simiple to use canner. Great for beginners or the seasoned canner. You will not regret this purchase. Also just for those who may not know, this type of weighted guage is the best in my opinion. The dial type has to be checked for accuracy every so often (and who knows to take it to anyways). I don't feel like that type is safe, and the weighted type is good-to-go from now on. Finally, this canner has heavy lockdown clasps and a lock handle that makes it safe to use and an overpressure plug that would pop out just in case. Never had a problem with this canner. I'd buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner
09/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This model can be used to water bath can pints or half-pints only, not quarts, per the included manual. I've made several different kinds of pickles and tested the pressure canner by doing a couple of pints of veggies. I have a flat top stove and it works fine. I like this much better than a pressure canner with a gauge because the gauge should be calibrated every year and this one will work without needing to be calibrated. I like that I can use one pot to either pressure can or water bath can. It was also very affordable compared to other pressure canners.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

woderful product

09/11/2010
By ,
Dahlonega, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third Presto pressure canner. All of these were purchased from Wal-Mart. They have the best price and best service. I can a lot in the summer months and it is good to have three. The pressure goes up quickly and it cools down quickly so the turn around time is fast. I have three gas burners set up on my deck along with tables to prepare produce to can. I can usually do 6 canners in a day which is 42 quarts per day. When canning vegetable soup that is very good as I can between 80 and 100 quarts each year and around 60-70 quarts of green beans. It is also very good to can chicken and vension in these pressure canners.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Just Right

11/28/2010
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great canner- I was undecided about getting this size or the larger, but I'm glad I chose this- any larger & I would have had trouble lifting it. When the jars are loaded along with the water plus the weight of the canner, some serious muscle is required to lift this off the stove- and you MUST lift it off the burner after processing is finished. Also, it is HOT (duh!) so you can't rely on leaning it against your body to help take some of the weight off your arms/hands - the handles are large & stay nice & cool so you have plenty to hold on to. So if you are thinking about the larger size, keep the weight in mind as you might really be sorry about being able to add those extra jars when it comes time to remove this from the stovetop.
Drawback to the smaller size of course is having to process smaller batches, but I'd rather do this than have an accident with a hot canner I can't lift. My plan is to buy another of the 16 Quart size for doing larger batches- the canner takes appx. 30 min. to cool down before you can open it- rather than sitting around waiting on it I would like to be able to keep going & get done with those larger jobs....by having 2 smaller units, one could be being filled/processed while the other cooled & this cycle repeated which would make large jobs go a LOT faster.
One other thing- instructions say canner can fit 10 pint jars at a time- now I don't know who came up with that estimate but they must have smashed 2 of the jars to get them inside...the MAX pint jars that will fit in this is 8 - anymore & you will need to fit them inside in pieces!
Overall, this is a well made canner that should last many years with proper care. Instructions are well-written & easy to understand, & have processing times for MANY different fruits & veggies (as well as meats) in the back of the book. If you are new to canning, you will find that this canner is easy to set up & use by following the instruction book. If you are a seasoned pro. you will love this canner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+181points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Canyon Lake, TX
Your information about weight was just what I need
Posted 04/30/2013
I am so glad I read your review. I am 65 and have nerve damage in both arms. I was wondering whether to buy the 23 quart or the 16 quart cooker for exactly the point you made in your review. I had doubts as to if I would be able to lift the larger one, your review made it clear to me I need to buy the smaller one. Thank you, you likely saved me money and a possible burn or other accident.
+1point
Customer Avatar
number of pints
Posted 09/27/2011
The number of pints you can fit depends on the brand of the jars. The generic brand they sell at Walmart ("Golden Harvest") are larger around than name-brand jars (such as "Kerr" or "Ball".) I have found I can fit 10 Kerr jars and 9 Golden Harvest.
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Very nice canning pot

07/27/2007
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works very well. Seems to be heavy duty. Pot is not too thin to heat well. Handles and locking feel sturdy. Have canned green beans, salsa, pickles and jelly already this year with no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Much easier to use than the dial gauge canner

06/20/2010
By ,
Waretown, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the weighted gage, which I think is easier to use and safer than a dial gauge canner. There is also no need to get this calibrated annually like the other Presto model, and it's cheaper too!
Great bargain, craftsmanship, etc. Recommended also for those of you with Over the Range Microwaves due to it's lower height. Please note that you can just do quarts using this as a pressure canner, not as a water batch canner. However, this is still dual purpose, and works great with either canning method.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Presto 16-Quart Pressure Canner

10/06/2010
By ,
Napa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There's nothing like a wonderful low tech solution to get the job done. This canner is what my mother used for over 20 years, and I'm hoping it'll be part of my home at least that long. No need for a gauge, simple-easy instructions, and no guess work. It's light weight, easy to clean, and down right exacting when you pull out your first jars. It's nice to find an American made product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KY
not american made
Posted 09/09/2011
FYI... I recently contacted Presto to find out where their canners are made and they told me they are produced in China.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Very User Friendly!!!!

11/17/2008
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched every where to find an "old timey" canner which used weights on the top. Being a young man, and not overly knowledgable in the kitchen, my sister told me this would be easiest and the most safe. I can my own deer meat, make canned stews, and other things. If I can use it, anyone can, very simple. Heavy duty design, and the best value on the market for around $60!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

an absolute must

09/25/2010
By ,
NEW FLORENCE, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i highly recommend this product not only for "canners" of maturity, but especially for the "newcomers" to the canning world. this product if most effecicent and very quiet while completing the process, unlike the canners in years gone by that very very noisy
hope you will all consider THIS ONE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Good for the money

08/19/2010
By ,
St. Peter, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first time canning and I have had great luck with this product. So far I have done pickles, green beans, salsa, and corn.
The only complaint I have so far is that it is not recommended for this canner to process quart jars in the water bath. I knew this but tried it anyway and while messy, my 2 pickle jars did seal! I wouldn't do it again, however, because I don't want to risk spoiling my food and the water splashed out of the lid because it had to be SO full.
For my uses and medium sized home garden, I would definitely choose this product again as it seems sturdy and the weighted gauge is Very easy to use.
Happy Canning!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Sturdy and well designed pressure canner.

02/09/2013
By ,
extreme southeast Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has been a long time since I used a pressure cooker (like 30 years) and it was a gauge type. I must say I really like this weight type better. I was worried I would not be able to tell when it was "rocking" at the correct speed but it didn't take long to figure out. I found the instruction booklet fairly easy to follow too. I did the test run using water only as they suggested so I could see how it operated and then I canned some carrots and they came out great. I plan on using it for canning my green beans out of the garden this year instead of freezing them as I have been doing. I can hardly wait to try it out on them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Love the Weighted Gauge

07/12/2009
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is a great buy for the price range. It has a weighted gauge rather than a dial, which makes canning or pressure cooking MUCH easier. You can just listen to it from another room rather than having to watch a dial. I have used it several times without any problems. The only issue I would note is that the inside did become discolored when I cooked a large batch of chickpeas, but the book that comes with it gives tips on how to remove discolorations. Also, I had it shipped to the store rather than my house, and that took a little longer than I would have liked. Nevertheless, I would definitely recommend this product as both a pressure cooker and a canner. It's a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Easy to Use

04/08/2009
By ,
West Jordan, Ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the canner several times now. I wanted to use it more than once before providing a review to make sure I was still pleased with the product. I had never done pressure canning before; only water-bath. The directions were excellent and the item was easy to use. I have used it to bottle vegetables, beef, chicken, and just to cook a roast. This canner at Walmart's price is a very good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Very good product.

01/26/2011
By ,
L.I. NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to use and works very well. 12 year warranty and made in the USA.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Presto 16-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

A Little Disappointed

08/10/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed that this canner cannot be used as a hot water bath for quart jars. It is about an inch too short. It will only allow you to do pint jars in a hot water bath.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 93 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next