Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crosman Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Crosman Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Ordering in three simple steps: Print this page (please be sure to print the Wal-Mart Item #, which is found at the bottom of the Web page) Go to the Sporting Goods Department at your local Wal-Mart store Show the printout to a Sporting Goods associate to have them special order your selected item Important Notice: Firearms and ammunition are only available at Wal-Mart stores licensed to sell firearms. Please call your local store first to make sure they are licensed to sell firearms. You will be able to find your store phone number by clicking the link below and entering your ZIP code. Prices may vary in Alaska and Hawaii. Click here to find your local Wal-Mart
Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation74%31 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

This is a powerful airgun -- NOT A Toy!

07/16/2007
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice value for the money, but do not let anyone under 18 years of age use this rifle without supervision. At about 1000 feet per second, this pellet is flying near the speed of sound. It will embed itself 1/4 inch into high density particle board at 10 yards. This rifle can be used to rid your yard of pests, but is not to be used lightly. It makes sound when fired and has some recoil. I found a few screws were loose when I brought it home, and tightened them. The scope needs to be attached and was a bit difficult to zero in. You should wear shooting glasses with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 2 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Hunting tool, not a toy

10/28/2007
By ,
Supply, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This spring-loaded pellet gun is quite the tool for hunting small game such as squirrel, rabbit and birds. Also useful for pest control (snakes are rampant at my country home).
The box states velocities of 1000 FPS, but in using the light-weight pellets (such as the Daisy flat-nosed "wadcutter" pellets that weigh only 7.1 grains), the velocities are well over 1116 FPS (which is Mach 1) due to the sharp crack as the pellet comes out of the barrel (this is the pellet breaking the sound barrier). Heavier pellets, like those made by Gamo or Beeman, can bring the pellet speed down to 1000 FPS or lower. Just know if you're using the "average" pellets in this rifle it will sound much like a .22 caliber rimfire rifle when shot. The spring does have a little recoil (only enough to lose the target in the scope after firing), but not enough to startle you or bruise your shoulder.
The trick to sighting in the scope (which was way off from the factory) is to take the mounts off the scope, install the bottom halves onto the rifle (the back mount butted up against the scope stop on the top of the rifle), tighten the bottom mounts, lay the scope in the bottom halves, straighten the crosshairs in the scope, then gently install one top half of the scope mount, check the scope, then install the other top scope mount. From the factory, the scope was mounted slightly diagonally in the mounts (which would indeed make a difficult time sighting in the scope).
After taking the five minutes to disassemble the scope mounts and carefully reinstall everything, the scope was very easy to dial in. Safe shooting, Urban95.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 3 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

-

06/06/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is a very good reason for the lack of accuracy reported by some people. It is quite hard to mount the scope properly. The hard vibrations require a procedure typical to high-powered rifles, and the so-so quality of the mounts makes careful scope installation even more important.
1. Wrap some black insulation tape ONCE around the scope's tube, at the places where it will be touching the rings. Stretch the tape well during wrapping, to make it thin.
2. Notice the hole at the top of the receiver. This is where the retaining screw from the rear ring (the one with four screws) will go.
3. Slide both mounts into the dovetail rail. Installing the forward one is simple.
4. The rear mount is tricky. Tighten its round retaining screw VERY LIGHTLY first. Now try to match the hole in the receiver with the sharp-tipped retaining screw going through the mount. Lower the screw into the receiver using the provided hexagonal wrench. Tighten the ROUND retaining screw some more. Then WITHDRAW the one which goes into the receiver. Now tighten the round screw really hard (not just with your fingers; use a wide-bladed screwdriver). After you are done, use the hexagonal key on the screw which goes through the mount into the receiver. Tighten it. Hard!
5. Now put the scope onto the mounts and fasten it with the upper halves. Sight it in and enjoy.
Other observations:
- The rifle seems generally of good quality. The cheap plastic sights do not match this quality. Actually, comparing to the refined look and feel of the rifle they are a disgrace.
- The spring "softens" a little after about 100 pellets. At the same time the rifle becomes more accurate.
- I have no idea how robust this thing is going to be. So far so good, but I would be happy to hear from people who have it for a year or two. For this reason I am giving it 4 stars, not 5. The rifle would earn my "5" in a couple of years, if it still shoots well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 4 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Excellent

03/19/2008
By ,
Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this gun for about 4 or 5 years and it is overall an excellent gun. I've fired it a few thousand times and the seal around the break of the barrel is starting to leak but is a $4 repair. Very accurate if equipped with a scope. Kills a gopher/prairie dog with one shot to any part of the body. Excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 5 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

For Experienced Shooters Only

10/14/2008
By ,
Middletown, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been shooting so accurately that I cannot believe it. At 50 yards, I can put 3 out of 5 shots through the exact same entry and the other two are microns off. At 100 yards, I was shooting peanuts out of clothespins. No add-ons! So, keep the kids (of all ages) from messing with this. Like others said, 'it is not a toy'. Some tips for those with issues: 1. scope alignment: set your base of rings first-get bottom base screw in good-tighten and start fine tuning for accuracy AFTER all is in place. 2. Proper ammo matters BIGTIME! Crosman has so many types if you look, you will find one they make that fits your need for that days shoot. The Crosman Destroyer ammo is for hunting-try some and watch the results, it can take down animals MUCH bigger than you think. 3. Read the instructions, clean the thing and lubricate it. It will pay you back in tighter groups, one shot take downs and more power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Disapointed

11/01/2008
By ,
New England
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Acquired this rifle recently from my local Wal-Mart; this morning was the first time I had a chance to shoot it. I love the rifle in all aspects except one: it can't hit what it's aimed at - at least not yet. I shot a couple hundred pellets through it (Crosman Premier HP) and they were all over the place. I have shotguns that pattern better than the Storm XT I possess did today. However, I understand that these "Springers" require some break-in time. We'll see. I'll give it more time to settle in. If the groups don't tighten up, well....it goes back.
Of course, the scope could be an issue as well.
That, too, will have to be determined. Again, we'll see. I'll be sure to post again after some time to update the reader regards this rifle's accuracy improvement or it's return.
A rifle's value is in its accuracy. No matter how well built (this one is very well built) or how pretty it is (this one is a looker) or how well it fits or how well balanced (this rifle fills the bill in both respects) if it can not hit where it is aimed, it is useless. I'm hoping things improve and improve quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 7 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Possible reasons for lack of accuracy

02/17/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I shoot at international level, so thought i could pass on some advice to those who find the rifle to be inaccurate...
1. Depending on what pellets you use, you will notice a huge difference in the group size of the rifle .. I use JSB Match Diabolo and they group awesome.. but i have batch tested some which are out by a few centimetres at 10 metres
2. The rifle has a recoil, so it won't necessarilly shoot well from the vice, as the recoil will have nowhere to recoil to!
3. Don't expect the rifle to stay sighted, as the sights can move or your eye can be in a different place on the stock etc etc ... Also the sights could move on the sight rails, due to the force of the recoil.
4. When shooting outside, the grouping will be less accurate, as the wind and other 'air factors' will reduce the accuracy of the rifle.
Hope this helps
Martin
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-6points
Review 8 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

'can' hit the side of a barn (well...maybe)

05/27/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First the good..nice wood stock, scope has nice windage marks in the crosshairs, trigger is decent.
the bad. The mounted sights are useless, i've seen sturdier plastic pieces come out of gum machines.
the 1000fps, yes for the first 5 or so shots then it sounds like a low powered bb gun. accuracy...100+ pellets later and i couldn't even begin to try getting a group. each shot at same spot might be 4-6 inches off in any direction from the previous shot (i tried from 75 yards, 60 yards and finally 40 yards. So i burned off an email to coleman and got a blanket response about accuracy causes all of which had been covered in my email so they didn't apply.
Go spend a little more and get a gamo or beeman, they are pricer but if you're looking for accuracy then they are worth it. if you enjoy 'random' then this rifle is for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

A Very Nice Crossman Gun

07/20/2008
By ,
Bennington VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to give walmart hand down on a good product this is a very good air rifle. I have owned this one from 6-25-08 and it is very well made I all so have the crosman 760 pump master and the crosman storm XT. But the crosman storm XT is fare better. I got the Storm XT
for pest control and light hunting as well. I have to give thanks to a WALMART person that works at there store in Bennington Vt I was looking at them and He said I should buy crosman storm XT. Boy was he right. IT is right on target at 35 yards the scope is right on as well was not hard to sight in did it with out bore sighing it at all. Took 5 shots to sight in
So for the price it is very well worth it you will not be unhappy with it. So I have to say
KEEP UP THE GREAT GOB WALMART YOU DID IT AGINE WITH THE LOW PRICE
THANK YOU WALMART
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Extremely Powerfull, And A Good Time

05/28/2008
By ,
Buffalo, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a gun!! It is extremely powerfull, and kicks just as much as a .22! Not recommended for anyone younger than 18, but for all others you would enjoy every minute of it. When i first got it, the break barrel was extremely difficult to pump all it need was some Hoppe's lubricating oil dripped down into the piston and to be broken in a little bit, after that it was shot after shot of enjoyment. I recommend the GAMO Raptor PBA (Performance Ballistic Alloy) gold plated pellets, they increase your rifles velocity and power by 25% (1,000 fps becomes 1,250 fps), use for maximum performance out of the Storm XT. This air gun takes down small game, like rabit and squirrel, with 1 shot. I highly recommend this rifle. Enjoy and remember YOU CAN NEVER BE TO SAFE!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Very powerful, not very accurate

12/09/2007
By ,
Tucson Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this rifle and had it shipped to my local Walmart. Once I got this home I mounted the scope and started shooting only to find that I couldn't get the scope sited in. I tightened all the screws, remounted the scope and then made a second attempt in vain. At 10 yards I wasn't able to keep all the shots within a CD-sized area. I had the rifle on the bench and it made no difference. 20 yards was even worse and I was barely able to keep all the shots on a paper plate-sized area which is far from tolerable. I figured it might be the scope and removed this and attempted to shoot with open sights only to find the same problem. Unfortunately my local walmart didn't have this rifle in stock so I just took it back and purchased a scope for my Crosman 2100 classic and have given up. If you don't have to special order this you may want to give it a try because I think mine had a bent barrel or was loose internally and this was causing problems. I did lots of research on this rifle and many others liked it but its hit or miss with getting a quality one. Good luck and give the Crossman 2100 classic a try, I've had it for 10 years and now that I have a scope for it I think I'm just going to keep this around for a while longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 12 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Well worth Your Money!

05/05/2008
By ,
North Little Rock, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have owned this gun for 2 months and have shot over 500 rounds through it so far. Bought the rifle to eliminate squirrels from the attic at our condo. It did just that, one shot, one squirrel, four times!
Be sure to lock tight all the screws on the scope, the recoil will loosen the scope.
The Storm does sound like a 22 the first few rounds when new and after it's cleaned. I have found it to be very accurate with premier hollow point pellets.
The rifle is accurate out of the box, but gets better the more it is fired. Can hit a quarter easily at 100 feet. Remember, with a spring air rifle, you can't rest it on a hard surface and expect any accuracy, rest it on your hand or arm and let it recoil.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Crosman Storm XT .177 break barrel rifle

05/03/2009
By ,
Neenah, Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I was looking for a black plastic pellet gun rifle for around the same price, but like always Im out of luck and they don't have it. But when I saw this gun it look good, came with a really good scope and was nice, hard wood. So after i took it home I tested it with out the scope and fired. Totally off target but after about 30 minutes of shooting and adjusting it was ready to fire. And it was weird because the sight was all the way to the left to fire dead on, but that didn't matter. Never do this but a bird from like 200 ft away with only the sights, dropped it in one shot and that is the feeling you get with such a good gun. I recomend this gun 120%.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

POOR IT Broke

03/29/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got the Crosman Storm 1000xt for christmas and it broke when I was sighting in the scope. Overall though for a pellet gun it does have a good recoil so be careful. The scope is very nice as well. For my birthday I got the Crosman quest 1000x which they look a like with the same recoil kick but does not come with as good of a scope. The very first time you break the barrel open it was a pain. It shoot flames out of it and was very loud for the first ten shots. Any how with the Crosman Quest I Blew through a squirrel with a hollowed hunting pellet. I would't recommend the storm but I would recommend the Quest.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 15 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Very Amazing Rifle!

08/28/2008
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this air rifle from my local walmart today and couldn't be more impressed. I broke down the barrel, loaded it, and took a shot. It was about as loud as a .22 rifle and had a nice kick for a pellet gun. It is very accurate and definately worth the 100 bucks I spent on it! It was that inexpensive. The scope was easy to mount but I took it off because I will need help aligning it(I'm not very good at it yet). But, as for the rifle, it was an excellent bargain. But, as I'm sure everyone has read, it is not a toy, it is very powerful. Not for children who are unattended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Very Nice CROSMAN XT

06/25/2008
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had alot of air rifles growing up from the my first daisy BB gun to the 760 pump master to AIR15 pellet guns. I was looking for the right gun to hunt with I read alot of reviews be for I but this one so I whent to walmart and was looking at what they had one of there workers there said to get this one and told me I wouldnt be unhappy with it so I buy this gun and when I set in the scope it was great I can hit a penny from 100 yard away with siting still on a bench. I feel if you are looking for a gun this is the one and it sounds almost like a .22
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Wouldn't reccoment anything else!

12/07/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this rifle about 7 months ago, and never looked back. The sighting was very hard at first but once zeroed in I was hitting targets like nothing. It has a bit of kick, but nothing an experienced shooter cant handle. The first 17 shots of the rifle sounds like a .22 cal, but thats just it breaking in, it quieted down after. A bit heavy, but the nice wood finish is worth it.
Overall, I love this rifle. I would recommend it for anything from plinking, to hunting, and to have that much power at your finger tips for only $100, you cant go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Think about it

10/24/2008
By ,
Salem, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i bought this gun in hopes to eliminate some squirrels and birds. The gun shoots hard and fast and is great looking. the first night i had it we tried to zero it in unsucessfully. so i bought a new scope and tried with it. i got it zerod in at about 45 yds and was shooting an inch and a quarter pattern with it. after about 15 shots with it zeroed in it lost its accuracy and was shooting all over the place so i dont know you do what you think i like the gun just dont have the patience. buy a .22 more accuracy and better yardage
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Great Buy

09/04/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun is great for its value. Super powerful at 1000 feet per second. Only one problem, the scope does not come with high rise mounts, so the sights are in your veiw with the scope. With mine, I unscrewed the rear sights and sawed off the front ones. Its extremely accurate up to about 80yrds on cold bore. For those who dont know what that is, on this gun its about the first 3 or 4 shots. After that, the barrel heats up from friction and its extremely hard to hit anything further out than 30yrds. Great for pest control!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Crosman Storm XT .177 Break Barrel Rifle

Crossman Storm

12/18/2008
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sights were dead on out of the box and it took about an hour to get the scope on and sighted in. It was very loud (I suspect it was supersonic) for the first few shots. It had loud crack like a .22 long rifle. After several shots, it has settled down and is in the medium noise range now.
This rifle can be used for both target practice and hunting small pests. Be careful, as the pellets will go right through plywood targets as well as small game.
I just can't say enough about the value of this gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next