Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HoMedics HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HoMedics HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

This state-of-the-art moving dual massage mechanism features both deep kneading Shiatsu and soothing rolling for the most invigorating massage you'll ever experience. This cushion also features spot massage and a heat option that melts away tension, muscle pain and fatigue. With six programmable functions and width control to custom fit your body, it's like having your own personal massage therapist.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation89%59 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

Where has this been all my life...

01/09/2009
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband purchased as a birthday present for me a few days ago. I have never used one of these before, so I cannot compare it to any others. I can tell you that it works great and feels amazing. It can be a little rough around the shoulder blade area, at least in my experience. I just put a towel over the top of the chair to remedy that. The heat is soooo nice and the shiatsu does wonders for my upper back and neck area. The rolling feature is nice, too. I have had "stiff neck" for many years, and for the first time in a long time I have full range of motion in my neck and no stiffness. I would definitely recommend to anyone whose tension tends to manifest itself in your neck/shoulder area. I have mine strapped to my computer chair so I can multitask!! :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat
11/11/2007
By ,
saint louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very relaxing,comfortable product
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 3 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

First Massage Cushion

11/29/2007
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first massage cushion and I am satisfied with it. It works as expected; however, it is still no match for the much more expensive product. I would love this product even better if there is a random function for upper or lower body or for switching between two massage styles.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 4 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat
01/13/2008
By ,
Surfside Beach, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two (2) other massage cushions, both very good; but this one provides a deeper, more relaxing massage. It has a variety of settings-- ability to focus on one specific spot of the back, or on all parts at once. Can be used with or without heat. I purchased it for Christmas for my husband, but I use it too. He tried one out several times at CVS, and was very impressed with the results ... kept talking about it ... so I decided to buy one as a gift for him. While searching your website, I saw the model I chose ... top of the line for those you offered; so purchased that one ... and we are both very glad I did. An excellent product! If you've never tried the cushion, by all means try it ... you will see the tremendous benefit from using it! THANK YOU for making that particular item available at your very reasonable prices! A VERY HAPPY AND SATISFIED CUSTOMER
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

Everything & More

02/23/2008
By ,
Fairfield, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have wanted one of these massagers for at least 2 years, I've had one in the past that just vibrated and drove me nuts! This is a great product if you need a massager that actually massages and doesn't vibrate your eye teeth loose. I tried it first in my recliner and found it to be too hard on my back, but then tried it in my computer chair and it's perfect. I especially like the spot feature as I have a tendency to get knots under my shoulder blades and it's hits the right place. The heat feature is great too. I've already done the demo, and full shiatsu feature and the rolling feature and all settings are great. Highly recommended for those that need/require a real massage instead of vibration massage! :) Oh and the fact that you can strap it in place with the elastic band with velcro closure keeps it from sliding around, it a real plus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

HoMedics Shiatsu Plus

01/04/2009
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works as advertised however, with loud popping. Will carry back to store and ask for exchange, not refund. Good massaging actions as well as heat. Would definately recommend to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

Worth waiting for.

01/05/2008
By ,
Oregon City, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last year I bought my husband a Shiatsu that had to be returned to the store shortly after buying it because it had an odd catch in the roller mechanism. The closest replacement we could find after the holiday season was in Spokane, WA. so we waited until this years model came out and I gave it as a Christmas gift. We both use it and love it. My husband has had trouble with knots in his back muscles and he is enjoying considerable relief with daily use of the Shiatsu. It is actually reducing the knots in his back muscles. We give it high marks on everything except durability since we haven't had it long enough to give it a good test. We find it most effective when we place it in a rigid chair as opposed to the soft recliner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

Superb, indispensible!

03/12/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an extraordinary product. It's worked beautifully on friends with rheumatoid arthritis, compression fractures, and general aches, pain, and fatigue. Particularly valuable (and not available with the lower priced Homedics units) is the ability to adjust the spacing between the left and right massage assemblies; it's a bit tricky to set, but extremely worthwhile. The heat function is very well implemented. I do wish it would travel slightly higher, but you can tweak this to a large extent by how you place the device on your chair.
It may not be the perfect massager, but between this and the Brookstone iNeed massager I can always find relief and relaxation. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

Better than paying hourly rate to massage therapis

04/26/2008
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am happy with this product and recommend it. It has a pretty powerful massage and I like the features of the spot or Shiatsu or rolling options. It does not go up very high or down very low but for a specific spot you could adjust your position to get it to reach the area better. I just slumped down in the chair a little to get closer to my neck. I have mine in a comfortable chair that reclines but I don't recline while I am using it I just lean back on it so I am comfortable. I don't think I could be comfortable using it in a straight chair.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

very relaxing

03/22/2008
By ,
cleveland, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i would say that this product was almost what i expected it to be. i tryed it out before in Walgreens, back by the pharmacy, and fell in love with it! it was really relaxing and made my back feel great. the shiatsu massage i like better than the rolling, but honestly i like to keep pressing the demo button!! the only thing i dont like is that if you lean back in the chair at all, its kind of painful, or too forceful. so make sure you put it on a straight chair!! and throw some towels on the back if its too painful! overall i love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

Pleasantly Surprised

01/07/2009
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised with this product. It did cost $130 but I had read not to expect much. However this product did give a noticeable massage. The balls are quite hard, so don't sit back in the chair quickly. I'm 6'2" and the balls go above my shoulders. Not sure why because they don't hit your neck. However there are plenty of controls. The heat is nice, but don't expect much. I like the standard full Shiatsu setting which covers the back nicely. I haven't owned it long, so I can't comment on the long-term quality.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 12 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

Excellent

01/19/2009
By ,
Canyon Lake Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used several massage chairs over the years since I have muscular problems, this is by far the best I have owned for this price. If you use it in lounge chair you will need a towel between you and it. For office chair just cinch it on the chair,Believe me after trying this cushion you'll make it work on any chair!! It will find any knots you may have in your back but hang in there it is intense at first until they get worked out.I would have one in every chair I use all day if I could.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

very enjoyable product

01/17/2008
By ,
sullivan co , pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used it about 6 times so I don't know how it holds up. It is a little hard on the back in the middle position, but it could be the chair it is in. If it s on a recliner or other type chair with the middle of the back not pushing out it would be perfect. I like the heat feature, which I didn'know it came with. When you first start use the demo, it gives you an overall feel for the product. I read the review by other people before I bought the product and I agree with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

Woooow!!!

12/24/2008
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is probably the best Christmas gift I have received in a very long time. I read some of the reviews that mentioned the pain of using it without a towel to soften the massage, but as for me the depth of the massage without a towel works out the knots in my back and is extremely satisfying. Even though the massager was a gift, had I paid for it myself it would have been well worth the value! I couldn't be more pleased.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

Sit back and relax

03/15/2008
By ,
Charleston,SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife loves this thing. It does a surprisingly good job and seems quite well made. This version has the ability to focus on specific areas, meaning you can tell the massagers to stay in one place (in contrast to the lower model). I recommend this version rather than the "dual roller" because this model the massagers (Shiatsu?) rotate. It feels like someone kneading your muscles up and down your spine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

Check the model #!!

12/22/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was not the same model sold in the store. This is the 300H. The store model was 300PA2, which DOES NOT HAVE HEAT. Other features seem to be the same, but who knows. It was cheaper (~$99), but for a reason. Maybe I got last years model. Just be sure to check the label for model # and details before purchasing, or you'll be standing in the return line with me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 17 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

A wonderful product

12/26/2007
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave this massager to my husband as a christmas present.. he was so thrilled! He raved about how wonderful it is, and I agree. I tried it and it really helped my sore back. My husband says he feels like a new man after he gets up from the chair. We trully would recommend this product...
Also Walmart delivered promptly,, it was great shopping on this site.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat
09/14/2008
By ,
south florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Order was placed on the 24th as gift for the 8th of next month, did not arrive at store until the12th. Picked up and gave gift next day, it has a screw that has to be removed before use, it was stripped and could remove so took back to store and had someone from their assembly dept remove, returned home and it didn't work anyway and had to send back.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 19 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

great way to end the day!

01/08/2008
By ,
rocky mount,nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this as a christmas present for my wife,who sits in front of a computer most of the work day.this product does wonders,especially for her upper back and shoulders!she likes the shiatsu mode the best.and,of course,with heat!just unfold it,put it in your favorite chair,plug it in,sit back and let the cushion do the rest!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for HoMedics Therapist Select Shiatsu Plus Massage Cushion With Heat

Great for Tension in the Back!

04/23/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While the product does feel a quite a bit different than a real massage, it is helpful in relaxing those sore, tight or overstressed muscles. Overall it works pretty well, but, unless you are small framed and/or short it does not reach your shoulder area at all. (Hence the reason for 4 out of 5 stars).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next