Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ASTAK ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

ASTAK ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

Astak's DVR security system is extremely easy to setup and easy to use. Using only the highest quality components, Astak's DVR system includes a 250GB hard disk for video recording and a CDR-W for video backup. It also features multi-speed recording options on either a normal or alarm recording mode, up to 30 frams per second. It allows users to manually record or schedule recordings from up to 4 cameras. PLUS, four (4) Astak CM-818W Night Vision Weatherproof cameras are included! Four 100 foot-long cables are also included for your convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.409 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation59%13 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

A great surveillance system

03/25/2008
By ,
Portland OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This system replaced an older one and is far more advanced yet is simple to use. Features I have enjoyed most:
(1)The quality of video is sharp and it's easy to retrieve images from the playback menu.
(2)An alarm can be set to alert you when a camera detects motion.
(3)Astak customer service is available via email and promptly replies with any questions.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

Can't be beat for the price!

01/03/2008
By ,
pittsburgh PA Area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ia an awesome system for the price. There is one really important feature that is not specifically listed..
>>>> YOU CAN ACCESS THE CAMERAS REMOTELY OVER YOUR NETWORK OR OVER THE INTERNET if you have an "always on , broadband ISP. Here is another important bit of info. If you are playing already recorded video via the web interface anyone that is logged in at that time will see what you are playing.<<< you can also set up multi-user access to the unit.
Another nuggit of important compatibility info: ... The video can only be stremed via the Internet Explorer Browser and not Firefox. The reason for this is that the system uses an ActiveX applet to strem the video and Firefox does not support ActiveX.
The 250gig HD will record approximately 7 days when all cameras are set to 10fps. Video detected through the camera can trigger a faster fps. You can also optionally connect separate motion detectors to trigger a faster fps.
There is also a CDR to dump video to a CD.
The unit can be set to automatically FTP or Email video to a remote location.
It is definately worth the money. The cameras are average and great to start with. If you ever wanted to change out a camera to install a better one, you could.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 3 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

VERY GOOD PRODUCT

03/21/2008
By ,
Huntington, wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ASTAK 4 COLOR SECURITY CAM DVR IS A VERY GOOD PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE.WHAT I LIKE ABOUT IT IS ALL THE FEATURE IT HAS ON IT.YOU CAN HOOK IT UP TO THE INTERNET,RECORD IT TO THE DVR.THEN YOU HAVE THE OPTION TO BACK IT UP TO CDRW,USB.YOU CAN ADD ON IT IN THE FURTURE LIKE MOTION DETECTORS, AND ALARMS.THESE CAMERAS ARE VERY GOOD THEY WORK PROPERLY AND SATISFY MY LIKEINGS BUT ALSO IF YOU WANTED MORE HIGH TECH ONES YOU COULD ADD THEM ON DOWN THE LINE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

DVR Great, Cameras Horrible

08/20/2008
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You get what you pay for I guess. The DVR is great and loaded with awesome features including network/internet viewing. Also, I was missing parts in the box (the BNC/RCA adapters) but I called the manufacturer and I had them in the mail in a few days. The cameras are junk. They are low quality with horrible color. During the day, they flicker horribly and have bad green and purple tints to them. Also, they are not wide angle cameras and can't capture much. I have decided that the DVR was worth the purchase price alone, and this is how I convince myself I wasnt ripped off. I am slowly going to purchase new cameras to replace these. Overall, for home security it is nice only because of the DVR.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 5 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

Saved me a ton of money!!

09/04/2007
By ,
Union, New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying this product. It has everything that a professional security installer wanted to charge me and there are no monthly fees to worry about. The hardest part was running a few wires; but nothing a homeowner would not already know. The cameras take sharp pictures and the DVR is easy to operate. I was happy with the 250GB HD... plenty for my uses. The installer wanted 4 times as much plus monthly charges. The NightVision works well at night and guards my driveway and backyard.
This is a serious security product that I was comfortable installing myself. If you are all thumbs... try wireless cameras. Otherwise, this system is a real step forward!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

Time is Money

10/06/2008
By ,
Corona, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently purchased this device hoping to capture someone breaking into my home while I was out of town. As it had happened more than once already. Unfortunately, out of the box one of the cameras was bad and the hard drive could only record up to 1 minute of video. I called the manufacturer and they said I could ship the unit back to them....but requested that I pay the freight to get it there. I explained to them that the unit was dead out of the box. But they said I'd still have to pay the freight charge. I plan to just return the unit and get a NEW one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

Cheap

04/10/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a cheap DVR Security system and it works like one. The user interface leaves a lot to be desired. The motion trigger is useless because every setting either picks up a nuisance trip evey few seconds or fails to trip. The cameras often go whacky for a while with flashing. I clicked the button for recommending this item because despite its shortfalls it was dirt cheap and it serves its purpose. I do not regret purchasing it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

best for the price

06/03/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't like the lack of information on this product.
It is sufficent,but the cammeras did not cover as much area as I had hoped.It's simple to hook up.
If you're not up on your tecnical lingo the opperators manual is confusing,on the plus side after you give up and set the book down and start pushing buttons on the remote it is verry easy to use.IT DOES HOOK UP TO ANNY T.V. WITH RCA JACKS.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

Camera System with DVR

04/29/2008
By ,
Tyler, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I choose this product because of lack market for this type of system and price level. The picture quality is not what I was expected and needed to be improve. The company customer service is very poor. I struggled to configure it with bad written User Manual. I still have not decided to keep it or not. Security is my concern and need something in place!
Thanks,
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

security system

06/10/2008
By ,
North Bergen, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very dissaponted, allways have problems with cameras, poor definition, I recomend a different brand since the tech. support is poor, also it worth it to spend a little extra monies and get at least cameras with no less than 480 resolution, this sytem is a real head ache, stay away from it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

04/19/2008
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product. Excellent for home security. Cameras are nice, they come with an intergrated microphone but on the DVR you can only plug in one camera to sound(you will only be able to hear 1 camera). Cameras are good but will be better with a wide lens. Not bad for the money. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

product stinks

04/19/2008
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this for home security and it didn't work properly from the time we got it. Company impossible to get ahold of. Manual if you get one impossible to understand. Only good thing is picture is sharp but too bad we can't use it :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 13 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

Just what my husband wanted

01/03/2009
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a Christmas gift for my husband. He was thrilled when he received this gift. It was very easy to set up and worked with some of the other security items he already had in the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

ASTAK 4 COLOR SECURITY CAM

10/25/2007
By ,
TEXAS!
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Easy to install and set up.
DVR came with NO user's manual; would have really been helpful.
emailed company; no response! yuk!
cameras: A+
DVR: A+
no user's guide: F
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR
06/06/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great system. Get more for your money than most other products. Esay installation. Picture quality great during day. Night is good as long as the is some ambient light.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

Great product at Price

01/29/2009
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product. Easy to set up. Had some questions about motion dection and online service is awesome. Will purachse anothe set for another house. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

Just Okay

03/14/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheapest system in the market in terms of both price and quality. no graphical user interface like other brand. makes user-friendly impossible.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 18 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

Not good enough

07/30/2008
By ,
Saint Albans, WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This unit work well until you try to back it up as an AVI file. The image is very blocky and not clear at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

this products is not as expected

05/21/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
color is not acurate and most looks green the people looks green everything looks green dont recomend it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 20 for ASTAK 4 Color Security Camera System with DVR

Not user friendly at all

08/30/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very hard to program DVR. Instructions are very difficult to understand.
Recommends this product? No
-2points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next