Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Eureka Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Eureka Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

The Eureka Boss PowerPlus is a full-size upright that combines maximum 12-amp power with lightweight and maneuverable control. It offers simple-to-use tools, a no-tip design, an extra long crevice tool and wand, a full-size integrated hose and a bagless design that's easy to empty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation77%43 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Awesome little vacuum!

04/14/2008
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum last month because I needed something light and small, yet powerful for my one bedroom apt.
*I paid $50 for it and feel it was quite a good deal, its my first vacuum.
*Assembly was easy, took 20 minutes at the most.
*It sucked up quite a bit. However I had to use it twice at first because I accidentally put it on the wrong carpet setting, woops. But overall, it did a great job (even on the wrong setting).
*Also, removing and emptying the canister is a piece of cake. Putting it back is just as easy, too.
*The noise level is fairly decent as well.
*My only beef about it? It doesn't have a light and the cord is quite short. I recommend an extension cord (they're about $8 at Walmart).
*The suction hose does come out easy, but if I stick it in there firmly, it stays put for the most part so that's not really a big deal. If you rarely use the hose, just tape it down.
*I recommend this vacuum for people with apts or small homes, it does a wonderful job picking up stuff, its light weight, and doesn't take much effort to push it around (it likes to move on its own for the most part).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 2 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Love it!

10/28/2007
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently purchased this vacuum and I love it! I can't believe how much dirt it got out of my carpet..Which means that my last vacuum did a horrible job! When I saw the pile of dirt in the canister from this new vacuum, I almost passed out!! How gross!! So, needless to say, I'm just thrilled with it..I also love the really long hose and attachments..It allows for a lot of extra cleaning..Especially in high places..
Now, there are 2 things I'm not very happy with..The first thing being the very short cord..You have to keep finding new electrical outlets as you go along..It can be annoying..Also, on the front of the vacuum, it has a high powered fan that blows..So, as you go along, it blows lite-weighted things off my lower shelves..It's not a big deal but it was a surprise the first time I used it!
My overall opinion is that after seeing all the dirt it got out of my carpet, I love it! And that means more than the little annoyances that come with it..I do recommend this vacuum..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 3 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Pet Hair Blaster !

12/28/2007
By ,
Philadelphia PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product in July '07 after reading some reviews here. I agree with the best of them. It is a great value for the money. This thing sucks! I mean really sucks...It finds dirt I thought was gone after running my other vac. It is easy to use, lightweight, the utilities are thoughtful and well-placed. They are the common variety, but serve the usual purposes just fine. I have three cats and I am a guy not really into housework or vacuuming but this is the best helper I've let into my home in years. It is solidly made yet light, controls are well thought out in placement and function. The auto-height adjustment works perfectly. Has a grabber spot for going up steps which is real handy. Easy to empty. It really does work well and am very happy with my purchase.
Cons: no light. I would have paid a few dollars extra.
The canister fills up quickly. It doesn't seem small, but I guess that's because of the great suction plus I do have three cats. When you empty the canister just be sure you're outside, or your trash chute has an updraft.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 4 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Great value

08/09/2007
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Great suction power even good at picking up pet hair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Review 5 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Excellent value for the price

08/30/2007
By ,
Long Island, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a full size vacuum, although a little smaller than others I've had. It has great suction, looks pretty good, and was less than $45! Even if it only lasts a year, which is not probable, I will have more than gotten my money's worth. Buying an expensive vacuum with the associated expensive repairs is just not worth it, when you can get a full size Eureka for such a great price. Also, it was easy to put together. The one negative is that the cord could be longer. But this is a definite buy for someone who likes to get a good value for their dollar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Love it!!

03/29/2008
By ,
Austin TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After my Hoover died last year (it was 10 years old), in the middle of cleaning, I had to find a replacement ASAP. I shopped my local stores and couldn't find one in the price range I wanted, so I bought offline. I was hesitant at first, but once it was assembled, I went to town vacuuming. And let me tell you, this vacuum is great! Especially if you have pets!
My house is about 1800 sqft, and I had to empty the canister three times before the carpets were clean. You would have thought that I had accidentally sucked up both of my cats - that's how much fur this little Eureka picked up (sorry Hoover).
As for features, I have no complaints. I'm not as concerned with negatives that other reviewers have given it (the noise, the fan on the front, the short hose, the cord length); it's a vacuum after all, and it does just that.
I love the automatic safety feature that is built-in: If the filter gets too clogged, it will automatically shutdown to cool off. When it first happened to me, I freaked out a little, and thought it was defective - it certainly helps to read the manual before you use it. But, as recommended, I cleaned out the filter, let it sit for 30 minutes, and voila - back to vacumming I went. (A word of caution: if you use powdered carpet fresheners such as Arm and Hammer, Glade, PetFresh, etc, this powder will clog the filter eventually, and you will have scrape this stuff out the filter - kind of time consuming, but still worth the purchase!)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 7 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Average

11/19/2007
By ,
Alexandria, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You get what you pay for. This vacuum was made in China, and looks similar to the other vacuum cleaners that are in that price range. I wonder if the same company in China makes this product for all the American companies. Food for thought.
The vacuum cleaner is good for small areas; for example: an apartment. However, if you have a big home, you should try something more durable, and more expensive.
The life span is probably going to be about a year. I had the Dirt Devil version of the Eurika (from Target), and this lasted a year. The Dirt Devil slowly died; parts started falling off, and the motor finally quit with a burning smell left in the air. I cleaned the filter every other time I vacuumed and I have a small cat. I am not dirty, nor do I vacuum over sharp or large objects. Thus, you get what you paid for.
The machine is loud, and I would not use it on bare floors. So, don't expect too much for the money. If you vacuum small spaces then this is what you need. The vacuum can last up to a year if you clean the filter on a regular basis, and don't run over giant sharp objects.
I hope this helps and good luck vacuum hunting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 8 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Has A Mind Of It's Own!

02/20/2008
By ,
Cambridge, MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
You never hear this about a vacuum - but this thing is TOO powerful! Well, maybe if you're using it on carpeting that's attached securely to your floor, you might like it - but if you're thinking about running it over some of your throw or area rugs - forget it! It'll suck em right in!
When I first plugged this in, the switch was on, and the vacuum took off Hollywood-style! I've never seen a vacuum that ACTUALLY runs off on its own like that! If you let it go but it's still on, it will keep going without you (maybe this is why it's "The Boss"!)
It also blows air EVERYWHERE, and is ridiculously loud. I tried it on my staircase, a test which it failed miserably - it blows dust and dirt all over the other steps - the cleaning never ends!
I spent an hour putting this together and two minutes using it before bringing it back to the store. For the price, it's tempting, but I would only recommend this to a person who doesn't have close neighbors and thick wall-to-wall carpeting. Even then, it wouldn't be an enthusiastic recommendation.
(I replaced this with a Dirt Devil canister vacuum, which was twice the price, but has been WELL worth it!)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 9 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

A good product

02/15/2008
By ,
Mountain view, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this product. The only problem is that I wish the hose was a little more flexible and longer because once in a while it comes out. Other than that, no problems. It works really great. It picks up everything! I just love it. Powerplus is really what it is. It looks great and works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 10 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

I love it!

09/10/2007
By ,
Little Ferry, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because its bagless and inexpensive. I like it because it seems to propel itself on its own and it sucks up everything! I needed a good vacuum because I have 2 very furry cats that are always shedding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Good Vacuum

10/30/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've tried other vacuums,and this is by far the best one we've ever got.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Great Value!

01/03/2008
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Want a fantastic buy? Get this vacuum! Bought it based on other reviews. I wanted something for mostly tile floor but I also had 2 rooms with carpet and some small rugs throughout the house. I was afraid that the cooling blower would blow all of the dirt away when used on tile, but the suction is so powerful that this has never been a problem. The vacuum is much quieter than my previous vac (Hoover). The only "little" frustration I have encountered has been with the way the tube was designed to wrap around the vac -sometimes it hits the power button! Maybe the folks at Eureka will hear this! Still, if I had to buy it all over again, I can overlook this annoyance because the vacuum is just too good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

great value

01/27/2008
By ,
Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this 1/25/08 and so far it is performing beyond expectations for the price, this is the 3rd vac purchased in the past month and appears to be the best, the others not this brand were returned. this vacuum truly has the suction for pet hair and hidden dirt, could not believe all that was in the container. Like the fact it does not have a lot of tools, those included are all i really need. Was excited how it goes on its own without having to push to make it operate. The only thing did not care for was having to assemble it, however the instructions were very easy to follow.
All in All two thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Not worth the $

12/19/2007
By ,
Bend, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product based on the good reviews it had been getting. For the first 2 or 3 weeks I used it, it worked good. Now, after only using it 10 or so times, it doesn't suck anything up into the canaster. The dirt and pebbles will stay in the hose until I shut the vacuum off and then everything that I collected will fall out the bottom. I checked to make sure there wasn't any blockage in the hose & there wasn't. Last night I had to push the vacuum onto the tile floor while it was still running & then turn it off so that I could sweep up all the dirt easily. I would NOT buy this product again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Do yourself a favor and try it

09/28/2007
By ,
Jacksonville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the vacuum that I got to replace my 2nd Dirt Devil that had gone fritzy on me in less than a year... so I went with another brand! Now I'd tested out my brothers Dyson and loved it but not the price, so I went with this trendy looking Boss and boy am I pleased!! Has as much umph as the Dyson it's just 3 times louder which is fine with me for something under $50. The only thing I don't like about this item is that I have to double check that I have the hose tucked in tightly to the base after using the wand because there isn't any kind of stay latch. But overall this item ROCKS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Buy A Bissell Turbo instead

03/21/2008
By ,
Fort Worth, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this vacuum on Feburary 1st, 2008 and i am ALREADY having to take it in to a service station to fix the brush. It is no longer working after just a few uses!! Even before then this vacuum was not worth the money! It took forever to put together with all the screws and then i finally got to use it and i realized that everytime i would pull it backwards all the dirt would come flying back out at me!! I strongly dislike this vacuum and being a mom of 3 boys and a husband that plays in the dirt all day.. i know my vacuums!!! Trust me, this vacuum is NOT worth your money...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Waste of Money!

03/09/2008
By ,
Brandon, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This project stopped sucking things up after about 10 uses!
But before it quit working on me, it's performance was unsatisfactory for me since I have hard wood floors. When I would vaccum my area rugs, it would just blow dirt all over the place! I could feel it hitting my shins as I was vacuuming! I had to sweep my floors after I vacuumed!
I purchased it because I thought Eureka was a good name and it had a "Good Housekeeping" sticker on it. It was one of the cheapest models out there, so I guess you get what you pay for!
But $70 was a waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Do not waste your money!!!

05/02/2008
By ,
Rowlett, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product in November and this vacuum has already stop working. It shuts off when I am vacuuming my floor. At first it worked fine, it picks up a lot of carpet more than anything. When you use the attachments dust and dirt comes out and you end up with a bigger mess than you started with. This vacuum is very ligt weigt and easy to store but it didn't last 6 months. It shocks you all the time when you try to empty the container and clean it out. This product is horrible. So now I stuck looking for another vaccum cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

its just ok!

08/15/2008
By ,
franklin, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
its just ok, i got this 10 months ago after my vacuum died! i keep choosing bad ones and the only last about a year or so.....i read some revies and for 45.00 i thought i would try it.. its not bad at first! it worked real great and after about 6 months the suction has slowed down.. now 10 months later the suction is not the best but it still picks up things. i just changed the belt to it today. i would say this is good for a college student or someone just living by them self, not realy good if you have kids or pets
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Eureka The Boss PowerPlus Vacuum

Hard to beat for the money (and more)

12/18/2007
By ,
Kingfisher, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum because of the great reviews it had received, as well as the appearance. Little did I know what an incredible product I was getting. It is so powerful it pulls itself across the floor if I let go of it. And, I had recently swept with another vacuum, which was much more expensive (and starts with an H), not to mention having the carpet cleaned, and this vacuum still pulled out a lot of dirt. Well worth the price I paid, which was $44.92, and I would have paid more knowing what I do now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1 2 3 Next