Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Step2 Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Step2 Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Let your little chef practice their culinary skills with this realistic kitchen play set. The Step2 Lifestyle Custom Kitchen is a compact, upscale play kitchen designed to match the appearance of a contemporary home. Accurately recreated, this inclusive kitchen play set has plenty of activities and accessories that encourage imaginative and educational play. The Step2 Lifestyle Custom Kitchen includes an imitation stainless steel oven, a microwave, a refrigerator, a sink with a faucet and a 17-piece accessory set that will help children learn about cooking and household maintenance. And for added fun, a special frying pan and boiling pot activate electronic sizzling and water sounds on burner surfaces. The Step 2 Lifestyle Play Kitchen is a terrific way for parents or schools to teach kids about food and cooking using one inclusive play set.
Average Customer Rating:
4.67 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(2956 Reviews) 2622
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,120
4 stars
737
3 stars
69
2 stars
19
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation98%2,899 out of 2,955reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
89 Questions | 497 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2,120
4 stars
737
3 stars
69
2 stars
19
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Christmas Gift 2009

01/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We didn't realize that the assembly would take about 2 hrs. My husband assembled this Christmas Eve night so it would be ready for Christmas Day for them to enjoy as a gift. We also didn't realize that power tools would be needed (i.e. our electric screw driver was put to goo use!) It was tough getting some screws in and because of this one punctured the sink, oops. Other wise this was an awesome buy! Worth the money and time. Our girls love this very much. The sounds are great and with a purchase of food, it is just amazing.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+232points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Great Lil' Kitchen!

01/01/2009
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This play kitchen has met my expectations for my 20 month old daughter and 3 year old son (the 4 month old daughter will be sure to enjoy it someday too!...) It was a gift for both for Christmas, and they both seem to be enjoying it. I ordered extra food from Walmart.com, which is needed because it doesn't come with any food, just a pot, a pan and some utensils, bowls, and plates. I had a hard time deciding between this one (Custom) and the Dream Kitchen, both by Lifestyle. The only things that make noise are the phone and one burner with the Custom one. The Dream one makes a lot more noises and requires a lot more batteries, it's also a little bigger. A friend purchased that one, once I see hers I'll be able to compare a little better. For now, I'm glad I got the Custom one, it fits perfectly in the space I have it and there's enough noise in our house already! Nevermind keeping up with all those batteries... I envision getting lots of years of good use out of this, thanks!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Great to grow with

02/11/2010
By ,
Nebraska City, Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted to get our daughter a kitchen set for her first birthday because she is always playing at the kitchen sets with the big kids at her daycare. Keeping in mind something to grow with, we chose the STEP 2 because the reviews sounded promising. The stove top makes two different noises, a boiling noise when you put the pot on the burner and sizzling noise when the frying pan is on there. She lives opening hte drawer on the left and getting her utensils out. THE ONLY THING that could be improved is the drawer on the right does not have an additional plastic lip that stops the drawer from coming all the way out and falling to the floor. The drawer on the left does. Adding one to the right hand side would be helpful as our daughter barely pulls on it and it goes crashing to the floor. She is only one though, if the drawer doesnt end up on the floor all its contents soon do as she loves to throw them on the floor and say "uuh oooh"!
Love the product, would highly recommend it! Great price, and trust me, I searched for weeks for the perfect kitchen at a good price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Super Gift...for the little one's...

01/19/2010
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this kitchen after about a month of research on all sites. This is a 1 yr. Birthday gift for our Granddaughter. It is the perfect size for her to get around and do alot of cooking for herself. It took no time to put together and it is a really cute and sturdy Kitchen. For the price of this kitchen it is well worth the money. So many other kitchens where so expensive and had the same options on them just like this one. We are a very happy customer with this product and we had it shipped to their house because we where 14hrs away and we wheren't sure if it would fit in vehicle and the product arrived in 3 days from the time of purchase.
Thank You Walmart for the Super Product and the Awsome Service :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Awesome purchase!

03/05/2013
By ,
miami, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just want to mention that I was 30 weeks pregnant putting this together...that's how easy it really is. It takes some elbow grease with the screws, but that just let's me know that it's not going to fall apart. The starter holes were small, but I didn't expect them to be enormous, again-otherwise the screw may come out and it would fall apart.
Overall my son LOVES his kitchen! It sometimes lets me know when he's up in the morning because I'll hear his stove making sounds, lol. It only took him about a day to figure out where the button to makes sounds came from though, but thankfully he still likes playing with the pans on the burner. The bonus was that my 9 yo also loves playing with her brother in his kitchen. Super double bonus is that it keeps them both out of MY kitchen! lol
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Excellent kitchen!

12/26/2008
By ,
Wickliffe, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a ton of researched on toy kitchens before buying one for my 18 month old for Christmas. I kept coming back to this one and finally bought it.
This kitchen is awesome! It's very well priced, has tons of features, was easy to put together and it adorable!
My daughter loves it!! She hasn't stopped playing with it, it's all day long, which says a lot for my busy girl!
The little skillet that sizzles and pot that boils are just too cute!!
It's very well made, and so cute! The size is perfect, it's not huge so it doesn't require a room all of it's own, but it's not so small that she'll outgrow it anytime soon.
If you want a well priced, excellent quality, fun, adorable kitchen, look no further!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Please with Step2LifeStyleCustomKitchen

09/08/2010
By ,
Beckley, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was happy with how easy it was to put together. The decals were not all in the box and I notified Wal-Mart who then notified the Step 2 Company and I received the decals within a couple days.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Good Value

01/17/2008
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter who is nearly 22 months old. I researched all the toy kitchens out there and thought this one offered a lot of great realistic features at a good price. Other retailers offer this same kitchen for $99 and I purchased it through Wal-Mart for $74. I also saved on shipping by choosing the "site to store" option. Picking it up from the customer service counter couldn't have been simpler and a Wal-Mart associate helped me out to my car with the box. Putting it together was fairly simple, but I would recommend having a drill on hand, rather than do it manually (which left a small blister on my hand at the end of the night). It took about an hour and a half to put together (without help) and my daughter LOVES it. She plays with it every day.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Fantastic item!

07/02/2009
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this kitchen for my daughter's 2nd birthday. I had it shipped site-to-store and my husband picked it up the day before we needed it. We put it together the day of the party and it took roughly 15-20 minutes. I suggest having a power drill handy. :)
She squealed when she saw it and hasn't been able to stop playing with it since. I was very happy that it came with a few accessories as well (salt/pepper shaker, pot and pan w/ lids, cups, plates, bowls, plasticware, storage basket)... This is a great buy and I highly recommend it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Great Pretend Toy

02/07/2009
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched for a pretend kitchen for my daughter for almost a year. After looking at everything on the market & asking other mother's their opinions, I settled on this kitchen. I was tempted to go with a smaller, cheaper toy but changed my mind at the last minute for this one. I am so glad I did. My daughter is 3 & plays with her kitchen every day. It's just the right size & isn't in the way at all.
I would highly recommend this product for anyone looking for a kitchen.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Can't go wrong

01/09/2010
By ,
Winlock, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all we were told not to expect recieving this until Jan. 6, which we decided was okay. When it arrived 2 days before Christmas we were extatic. Our 16 month old daughter absolutle loves this kitchen. The pans that make noise on the burner and the phone are her favorites. I was never able to get on teh computer while she was awake. As I type this review she is off playing with her kitchen. It was pretty easy to put together. Things aren't perfectly square and level, but not anything horrible. Reading reviews of other products on how long and tedious it was to put together I feared the worst, but this was pretty simple. Enjoy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Real looking mini kitchen

01/08/2008
By ,
Cali
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This kitchen was just as I expected. It has the fridge up top which I liked.(hard to find) The stove is cute with the noises it makes. There is not much storage though. I think that is just the way it is with all the plastic ones. I decided on it verses the wood ones because it is so light and easy to move when needed or to clean around. The drawer on the kitchen's right side always comes out. It seems to be set back too far and the counter top over laps it too much. When my daughter opens it enough to see in it just falls out. The drawer on the other side is not like that. Other than that she loves it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Easy for Me - Fun for her

12/24/2009
By ,
Bethlehem,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this on sale for $79 and it came with the food set. It was an AWESOME deal. It was easy to assemble which was important to me because I am pregnant and have a hard time with big items. The kitchen looks amazing it is great quality and has plenty of storage. My daughter is 19 months and she loves it - It will also be great for her and when the new baby is old enough they can both play with it. I read reviews on other kitchens and although cheaper they sounded like they were cheaper quality wise as well and a hassle to put together. I highly recommend this one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Best Bang for the Buck

01/09/2011
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It takes a little elbow grease to get together but not too difficult. Even if I hated it, the review would have to be a good one because our 21 mth old LOVES it.
Worst part: Box and ad pics show white covers for the screws that hold front spindles on. There are none. Not in the box and not listed on directions or parts list. Our child does not care.
Best part: Sturdy! We bought a $25 stove/microwave and it was worth $25. She can open and close doors with it falling apart.
If you are shopping around, Walmart had the lowest price I found on the internet.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Worth every penny!

01/04/2008
By ,
Albany, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My two year old daughter LOVES this kitchen! She received it as a Christmas gift and I think she's made us breakfast, lunch and dinner every day since!! She really loves the sounds that the pot and skillet make....that is a great feature!! This kitchen is not too big and fits perfectly in a toddler's bedroom. It was easy to assemble too (the hardest part was the stickers!)
I would definitely recommend it....it is well worth the money!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

My kids love it!

01/07/2011
By ,
Montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My fiance and I purchased this product for my 3 year old for christmas this year. It was easy to assemble and only took about 20 min. I would reccomend this affordable play kitchen to anyone who has small children. My daughter loves making mommy and daddy pretend dinners and has tea parties with her stuffed animals and dolls with things she "cooked" in her kitchen.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Granddaughters' Delight

01/08/2008
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our granddaughters, ages 3 1/2 and 21 months, absolutely loved this kitchen set. It was such a delight watching them play with it on Christmas morning. They began playing with it as soon as it was opened. It was definitely one of their favorite gifts. We all ate lots of "fake" food they prepared in the Lifestyle Custom Kitchen. The girls had so much fun!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

granddaughter loved it

09/07/2008
By ,
idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice and sturdy. Granddaughter started playing with it before i could get it assembled
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

Entertaining and Educational

02/10/2011
By ,
arlington, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great xmas gift! My 2yr old daughter loves it. As soon as she seen it xmas morning, she have been cooking her favorite dishes everyday. Plus there is so many decisions on what to cook with the play food set!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Step2 LifeStyle Custom Kitchen

you can't find a better value..

12/29/2009
By ,
Arlington,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i ordered online well in advance of christmas & picked it from site to store just days before christmas. it was relatively easy to set it up, took us about 30-40 mins. the instructions are easy to understand & there's a lot decorational stickers you have to put it on, which is a lot of fun. it requires 2 AA batteries, one burner on the stove makes water boiling & sizzling noises alternatively when a pot or a pan sitting on top of it. the cordless phone operates with 2 AAA batteries & gives you a dial tone. the unit has an overhead microwave & a refrigerator,an oven. a sink, dish rack, 2 burner stove, a top drawer, 2 cabinets and a storage space. it also come with 2 plates, 2 bowls, 2 cups, pot, pan & a salt & pepper shaker. we weren't sure if this was going to be too small for our 5 year old, but it was just perfect. it keeps her entertained for hours. we even got a food play set as a part of the bundle, that was just the icing on the cake!! seeing the big smile on her face was... priceless!!!! :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 2,616 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  131 Next