Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rival Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Rival Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Enjoy the convenience of smoked or roasted food in your own backyard or patio. Smoke or roast a 10 to 20-pound turkey, up to two chickens or your favorite fish or other meat. The two-tiered rack allows you to prepare different types of food. Just add chips; there's no charcoal mess, so cleanup is easy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%32 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Nice!

11/15/2007
By ,
WINDY, WYOMING
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little smoker was surprisingly nice, well built and looks as tho it will last. I intend to use it mainly for smoking meat & fish. It did lack an externally mounted temperature gauge, which really gives you a better idea of the goings on inside, temperature wise. Not a big deal. I drilled a 1/4" hole in the lid and mounted a temp gauge I found on Ebay for $10. My first effort was a pork butt that came out great. The K.C. held a constant 225 deg. after getting it dialed in. The unit seems sturdy and is relatively easy to clean. Nice job Rival! Delivery to my local WalMart store took longer than expected but you can't beat the price. I would recommend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 2 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

11/27/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome product. I was looking for a small, light weight electric smoker that would store easily. That is exactly what I got. I smoked a turkey for Thanksgiving and it was moist, delicious, and very tender. Follow the directions carefully and you can't go wrong. NOTE - I did brine my turkey for 24 hours before cooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 3 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

second oven

11/27/2007
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used only the smoker feature. I had a 2 turkey crowd coming for dinner and an oven that would hold only 1 turkey. The Rival smoker/roaster provided the means to cook the second turkey. By smoking the turkey, I also had the flexable cooking time--a boon to a harried cook. The smoker is large enough that I could put a 13 pound butterflied turkey on the rack. I have used the smoker for beef and turkey and have been satisfied with both. This smoker is much easier to clean than a different brand electric smoker that I used to have, and this smoker can also be used as a roaster.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Review 4 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Key Word: "Outdoors"

11/14/2007
By ,
Pimmit Hills, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My application for this unit may not be typical. I have CAC in my home, but due to energy costs got the usage down to about 10 days last Summer with the use of fans, a basement and a dehumidifier. But there were those sultry evenings that when I turned on the electric range my kitchen/living room became a sweatbox. Enter the KC Smoker. For those 20-30 sweaty evenings a Summer this is the perfect way to keep the heat outside where it belongs. It's designed for use outdoors, heavily constructed, has the smoker capability (I'm a Charcoalholic- own a Cajun water smoker & grill so will only use this as a roaster primarily). Forget what it says on the box- the temperature range is 150-350 and so you can use it as a bread riser & baker as well if you like. I'm not in the habit of paying $60 for an appliance. But I did for the KC Smoker it has all the necessary features for my application. About the only thing you'd want to do other than assemble is put some oil based wood preservative on the wood handles before parking it in a covered/semi-protected area on your deck. If you're looking for an outdoor roaster/smoker to alleviate da heat in the kitchen: "Dis Da One!".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 5 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Yummy, smoked meat

08/25/2007
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have tried this product on pork roast, filet mignon, bratwurst, chicken breasts and wild salmon and are impressed by how moist and tasty everything is that we smoked in it. We even tried an assortment of vegetables and enjoyed those as well. It is so easy to use. We had a charcoal smoker previously, and found that to be troublesome to use. We haven't tried it for roasting yet, but really enjoying it for smoking.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 6 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Works great

08/09/2007
By ,
Liebenthal, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The KC Smoker is great for smoking meats. You can set the temperature low and slow smoke your meats with out the fuss of keeeping a consistent temperature. The unit also cleans up easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 7 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Great.

11/23/2007
By ,
kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Takes practice but a lot easier than the regular smoker. Kind of fix, leave it, then eat it. I have only used it three times but I really like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 8 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

pretty dang good

10/01/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after seeing a friend of mine use his. Sooo easy to asemble and use. I've made some of my best bbq since getting this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 9 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Rival Smoker

12/22/2007
By ,
Hayward, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this smoker as a gift, and I love it. We smoke a ham and it was delicious
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 10 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Great Smoker

11/22/2007
By ,
Mason,Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good little Smoker
Easy to use and clean
The spicey Ham is really good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Very handy product

11/25/2007
By ,
Eagle Grove, Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A friend of mine has one and told me how well it worked. I wanted to get one for myself but had a difficult time finding it. Walmart did not cary them in store so I had to order it from the web site. The smoker works well but you have to be carful not to let the foof touch the edge. It will burn. Otherwise the unit is very easy to use and works great. Cleanup could be easer. I have to use oven cleaner to get it clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 12 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Nice price, nice value, nice features

09/21/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just received this and I had two separate items cooked in it. My sister-in-law smoked a leg of lamb and it was delicious. I smoked chicken pieces and it was so good. I wanted to have the taste of smoked food but I don't have the time to watch it. I would recommend this product for the chef at home looking for another appliance that adds to your culinary repertoire. I am thinking of getting another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

AWESOME!

01/04/2008
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for Christmas and made Ribs in it and they were truly the best ribs I have ever had. I have had a lot of Ribs. It is easy to use and for someone like myself who is not allowed to BBQ at their condo due to insurance policy, this electric alternative is great. I don't know that I would bother with any other smoker...it smokes plenty for 2 people and it really could not have turned out better.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Electric Smoker

11/20/2007
By ,
Lickskillet, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family does a great deal of camping. I take the smoker with us everywhere we go. It is extremely durable. I smoked a boston butt in the smoker 2 weekends ago, and it turned out absolutely perfect. I have recommended this smoker to my family and friends. I plan on doing my Thanksgiving turkey in the smoker tomorrow! The Rival K.C. Electric Smoker is one of the best purchases I've made in a while!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 15 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Love this product!

11/12/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While we have not yet had the chance to smoke fish is this product, my 16-year old son cooked his first turkey in the roaster (17 pounder). It tasted fabulous and was super moist!! Great item if you only have one oven--cook your holiday turkey or roast in the roaster and free up your oven for all the other goodies!!! My only problem is finding a place to store it when we're not using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 16 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Love it

01/11/2008
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Rival KC Smoker has met all my expectations. My brother-in-law has 3 of them doing a variety of meats at once. He sold me on the product and I immediately went about the process of finding one. I have used the bar-b-que sauce recipe on baby-backs. WOW... were they ever a hit. And sooo moist. Awfully easy to impress with bar-b-que from this little jem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 17 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Love this thing!!

12/23/2007
By ,
Pine Bush, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this cooker. I throw in a chicken and all the veggies and everything comes out tasting great. I actually put the chicken on the bottom shelf and cooked some Acorn Squash on the top shelf. We have not yet used it as a smoke, but plan to with a Turkey for Xmas dinner.
Th only problem I have is I can't find a place to store it. It is BIG.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Works as performed stated.

01/16/2008
By ,
Taylorsville, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This oven was purchased for the Christmas holiday use. It was easy to use and performed very well with easy to read instructions I can't wait until later in the summer to use it outside to smoke a ham or turkey. I roasted a 20 pound turkey for our Christmas feast and it came out great. You really must try this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

The perfect home smoker

11/07/2007
By ,
Omaha,NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this smoker for a few months and all I can say is it cooks really well. The chips you put under the water tray will smoke for at least 3hrs. The smoke flavor is very nice, the meat is tender and juicy. I don't know why I haven't seen this smoker sold at other places but I'm glad I have this one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Rival K.C. Smoker Electric Smoker and Roaster

Rival Smoker

10/10/2007
By ,
Flagstaff, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not yet had time to utilize the smoker for all the uses I intend, but thusfar it works very well, and it is easy to operate. I would have appreciated a thermometer to measure the temperature of the article being smoked or roasted, but this is a relatively minor addition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next