Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Koolatron Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Koolatron Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

The TCYM-07 Total Chef Yogurt Maker is an easy to use small appliance that lets you make delicious and healthy yogurt at home in a convenient and affordable way. The compact design of this automatic yogurt maker ensures that it takes up very little space on the counter. Seven different batches can be made at the same time. You can make multiple batches of your favorite flavors simultaneously or make one big batch of the flavor you love the most. The TCYM 07 Total Chef Yogurt Maker comes with seven yogurt jars and seven lids. An included instruction manual provides simple step-by-step instructions and some easy-to-follow recipes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.213 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(296 Reviews) 261
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
164
4 stars
86
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation86%254 out of 296reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 198 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
164
4 stars
86
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Exactly what I expected.

08/27/2012
By ,
Spindale, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this product for a few weeks so I cannot comment on durability. The yogurt I've made, following the directions for Greek yogurt included with the maker, is great; exactly how I imagined it would be. I do use a one quart bowl to make the yogurt and the small jars to add different fruits. This has cut the cost of yougrt by almost 50%.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Problem with Lid

10/14/2009
By ,
Durant, Oklahoma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was initially happy when I got my yogurt maker. However, once I got it out of the box and set it up I am very disappointed. Don't get me wrong, it makes the yogurt ok. But no matter how I try I can't get the clear lid to stay on correctly. It falls off of the machine. It just doesn't fit and won't stay. I went ahead and made some yogurt and the yogurt is ok. Nothing special but I may need to play with my recipes a little bit. But you will probably have to do what I did to keep the lid in place. Tape it with some scotch tape and that is the only way I can get it to stay on. There should be something on the machine to make the lid snap into place securely.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Very nice!

03/09/2011
By ,
Fargo, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first try at making yogurt with this maker didn't end up too well. I followed all the instructions in the booklet, but decided to try using a probiotic capsule (GR8 by NOW) powder instead of actual yogurt starter. After 10 hours my organic whole milk was just sour milk. So I got some starter from the health food store and some powdered goat's milk to make a thicker yogurt. Major success! Seven 5 ounce glasses of really, really tasty yogurt. Really fresh tasting. I used about 4 tablespoons of that powdered goat's milk mixed in with my quart of organic whole milk. I'm totally satisfied with the quality of this yogurt maker and I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Easy, good value

12/06/2010
By ,
Springdale, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this for a couple of weeks so have made yogurt twice, but I'm pretty excited about it. I LOVE not throwing away tons of plastic every week, and being able to customize it. My first batch I used skim milk with 3 T of nonfat milk powder and 1/4 t of gelatin, started with 2 T 0% fat greek yogurt. The consistency was great and I scarf it up though my husband complained it wasnt 'tangy' enough. But he never eats yogurt so who cares. The second batch I used 2 T of my first batch as starter and 3 C skim milk, 1/2 C 2%, 1/2 C buttermilk (trying to use up thanksgiving leftovers), 2 T milk powder and 1/4 t gelatin, came out pretty much the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

DOES WHAT IT'S SUPPOSED TO DO. ATTRACTIVE

11/29/2013
By ,
GRANTS PASS, OR.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HAPPY WITH IT & IT SEEMS TO WORK JUST FINE.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Good looking yogurt maker, but the jury's out

05/17/2011
By ,
Phoenix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good looking and functionally well-designed unit, but there are problems. It holds seven jars... my old one held five. That seems like a plus, but the actual liquid the seven jars hold is about the same as my old five jar maker. Fortunately, there is some extra room such that you might possibly use your own slightly wider jars if the need arose.
Of more concern is the heat this unit generates. it seems to be right at the limit where it might actually begin to kill yogurt culture, and indeed, the first batch I made came out like slightly thickened milk. A subsequent batch using more culture turned out OK though, but the jars get so warm that they might actually be too hot for some people to hold with bare hands. That was a big surprise to me since my old maker that lasted decades was comfortably warm and made wonderful yogurt the first time, and every time... until it died.
At the very least then it would seem this unit uses more energy than necessary. On the other hand, it might just make the process faster due to the extra heat, but where there was no concern if I left my old unit on for 8 hours or 12, I wouldn't allow such a fudge factor with this one. So as my title indicates, the jury is still out, not just on how well it will produce long-term, but on how durable it is as well.
The company provides an 800 number which I called to try to get some clarification on the temperature setting, but every time I called I got an answering machine in which they ask you to enter the party's extension. Since they didn't name names in the manual, that can't be done.
My last issue is that the plastic dome is thin, making it the weakest part of the unit, and to make matters worse, it does not fit perfectly on mine. Oh, it fits well enough, but there is a slight bulge which leaves a small gap in the perimeter seal. Nothing too significant, but a flaw in this otherwise nice looking unit.
I'm not recommending this, but the price is decent. It just seems that, overall, products nowadays that seem to offer a good value end up deteriorating rather quickly. Again, I don't know that this will be the case here, but what I consider to be initial flaws could easily become fatal flaws if they get any worse... you know, like just after the time has passed when you're able to return it? Thst won't stop me from demanding consideration from Walmart if it happens, but you may have better things to do with your life!?!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Good little machine

08/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this yogurt maker to make 24 hr SCD legal yogurt with. So far, it has performed well. Very easy to use. You just flip on the power button. There isn't a timer or auto off switch, which is good if you need to ferment your yogurt for 24 hours like I do. However, there is a little dial up top that you can use to remind yourself what time the yogurt will be ready. The only con: It does drip condensation off a little bit, but I just put a dish cloth underneath it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07
03/06/2013
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
recieved my machine week ago and I had fun trying it out two nights ago. the yogut turned out very good, but I wish I had bought the other machine with the timer and shut off opptions, my only complaint, plus I wish they would include a one large glass jar that holds the same amount as all seven small jars. now I have to go and find one some where with the right hight and weigth to fit this machine. I noticed all the different brands don't offer this opption either. I wounder why? I am ready to make more sence we are big yogurt eaters here and the seven little jares are empty all ready.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Great little yogurt maker

12/22/2010
By ,
south carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this yogurt maker for about 4 months and have made about 10 batches of yogurt. It has never failed to make perfect yogurt. You only need 2 ingredients: milk and a starter yogurt. I usually buy one greek plain yogurt for my starter and use 1% milk. Since plain yogurt doesn't have much of a taste, I add a little vanilla and 2 packs of sweetner before I eat it. You can also add fruit or honey. I read some reviews about the plastic lids splitting or the glass containers breaking. I have not had any problems with either. I like this little yogurt maker so much that I gave it as a Christmas present.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

looked great, but lid broken when i opened the box

01/04/2012
By ,
Kansas City
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This yogurt mixer looked great. I liked the idea. And the machine felt substantial except for the lid which was broken when I opened the box...so I really don't know if it makes great yogurt or not. I would have taken another yogurt maker (that's why I still recommend the product), but they didn't have one (don't carry them?) in the store. The lid really felt like it might be a problem--it's thin plastic. I had to ask myself--why did they pack it right on top without very much protection...any little drop from any direction is going to send it back to the store and make an unhappy customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Quality Product

06/30/2009
By ,
Lawrenceburg, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
On opening the box I could see right away I had purchased a quality product for the money spent.
This "Total Chef Yogurt Maker" has worked well from the start. The design is modern and attractive, but more importantly the yogurt made, is quite good.
Improvements ! Yes, I think a couple of them might be helpful especially for the first-time yogurt maker: #1 a light rather than a painted red dot for the on/off switch ... #2 a more comprehensive and detailed set of instructions would also be an improvement. Thanks! I'm more than satisfied and look forward to some fun as well as good food.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Does the job well

07/09/2009
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This yogurt maker works well. It actually comes with 7 jars, not 6. The directions were not very thorough, but I was able to get enough information using on-line recipes. I added 1/2 cup of powdered milk with skim milk and heated it for 8 hours, which makes a nice texture and it is not too tart. The jars are a little small, but I knew this when I bought it. I would have preferred a quart size, but for the price, this has been a great option. We go through a lot of yogurt and this has saved us a lot of money and allowed us to control exactly which ingredients go into it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Yogurt maker

10/26/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first batch did not come out well. Kind of curdly. I was set to take the yogurt maker back and decided to try one more time. I followed the directions in the instruction book exactly, and my yogurt turned out fine. Very creamy and smooth. My mistake on the first batch was using skim milk and adding honey to the milk before processing. Second batch I used 2% milk and left the honey out and put in the recommended amount of powdered milk. I will make yogurt again using this method. I just add the honey when I eat it and it is fine. I would recommend this yogurt maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

A great little machine

07/08/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is great! Made a perfect batch of yogurt the very first time! Since then I have made many more and just recently experimented with organic milk. It was absolutely delicious! It came out a cream color and with a very light tang, better than store bought Greek yogurts! My favorite recipe is to add blueberries, chopped walnuts and a bit of brown sugar for a light sweetness. When the yogurt is done drain off some of the whey until you get the right consistency. Superb! No need to spend all that money on more expensive machines when this one does it all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Perfect yogurt every time!

05/12/2010
By ,
San Francisco Bay Area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trying to imitate the delicious smooth yogurt we ate in Greece was a real challenge to me. This machine solved my dilemma. Using whole milk and Greek yogurt (for the starter) I was able to replicate the yogurt we had in Greece. The instructions were very complete, altho I never needed to add powdered milk or gelatin to obtain a thick, creamy result. I 'cooked' my yogurt for 8 hours and it turned out creamy with not too tart a taste. My only criticism is the dial on top is hard to read. The price was certainly right and shipment was very speedy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Very good

01/14/2013
By ,
Tomball, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used it only once. it's easy and I love that it has seven cups (good size) that you can take with you at work or somewhere...Me and my husband take them at work and I give one at day-care for my son. I gave only 4 star because it says that you have to bring the milk at room temperature first, it would be perfect if I could just pour the cold milk right out from the refrigerator. I might try that in future and may be able to give it 5 star.
Everything else is fine. It's very easy and convenient to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Great Buy

04/29/2009
By ,
Paso Robles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This yogurt machine is a great buy.
It keeps the yogurt at a consistant temperature. I was told in order to get rid of all lactose the yogurt should be fermented for at least 24 hours at a temperature between 110 - 120. To low the enzymes don't eat up the lactose, to hot the enzymes are killed. This machine is perfect.
I love the glass jars.
It makes a quart at a time.
There is no timer, so you can ferment as long as you like.
There is a bit of condensation that drips on the counter so I put a towel under it.
I love this yogurt machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Disappointing

12/14/2008
By ,
Central Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I used a Salton yogurt maker with very good results for several years; when it died recently, I bought the Total Chef Yogurt Maker, in large part because of the good reviews I found here. Perhaps the unit I purchased was faulty, but the base, which warms the glass containers, was so hot that the resulting yogurt was more like curdled milk than yogurt. I didn't let it continue the full 10-12 hours recommended as it was a mess by 8 hours. The jars are the right size, but the lids are hard to put on and take off. It will be returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07

Amazing product

09/20/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This little yogurt maker works great!! It was really amazing! My only complaint would be that I would like the temperature control to be a little more precise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, TCYM-07
10/10/2013
By ,
Thornhilll, ON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delicious and easy to make yogurt.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 262 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  14 Next