Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Koolatron Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Koolatron Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

The Total Chef Yogurt Maker will help you boost your health. By making your own yogurt you are able to control the fat content and sugar intake as well as many other important nutritional properties. This Total Chef Yogurt Maker comes with seven six-ounce glass containers with lids. Preparation time is about six to 10 hours for 42 ounces of fresh homemade yogurt.
Average Customer Rating:
4.213 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(296 Reviews) 261
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
164
4 stars
86
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation86%254 out of 296reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 200 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
164
4 stars
86
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Yogurt maker

06/10/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to make my own lowfat/fat free yogurt without using artificial sugars...like the commercial products do. This device basically holds the yogurt at a certain temp to ferment. If you had an oven with the ability to set the temp...you don't need this. However, my oven is old and the lowest setting is a lot higher than what I need.
The cups that came with it are glass...which is what I wanted. Two of the glasses broke when trying to remove the lids so I can wash them. The manufacturer promptly replaced them. I've made two batches of homemade yogurt so far and both batches have tasted a lot better than store bought. (I purchased a powdered starter for the yogurt and didn't use a store bought one that could be used as a starter.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

you get what you pay for

11/08/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For less than $20, I guess I really can't complain too much. But on the very first use, one of the glass jars broke as I was putting the lid on it. The jars are very small (less than 6 oz), and the lids are difficult to put on and remove without spilling the yogurt inside. The light on the "on" switch is extremely dim, so it's hard to tell whether it's on or off. It is, at least, small and quiet, and not too ugly. I got this one because I wasn't sure I wanted to make my own yogurt, and I didn't want to spend more on a starter yogurt maker. But if I continue to make yogurt, I'm going to get rid of this one as fast as I can. I'd recommend it only for people who eat only small amounts of yogurt and don't use it very often.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Nice machine

05/30/2013
By ,
Summerville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this little machines. It makes great yogurt. I wish the jars were a little bigger, but over all, it's a good little machine. I would like to note that it's hard to tell if it is "on". So, if the button is "down", it's on. Just plug it in, press the button down and wait a few moments, feel the bottom, where you set the jars, it should be warm. One thing I do, I turn it on, with the top in place, so it can heat up while I'm preparing my recipe. I've made several batches and most set up nicely in 7 to 8 hours. I would recommend this machine to anyone that likes yogurt. I use my homemade yogurt to make "supercharged" oatmeal. Do a search for the recipe, it's really great for breakfast or a healthy snack!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

A piece of junk

06/18/2008
By ,
MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never makes good yogurt. The temperature seems too high, and the glass jars are easy to broken.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Easier than expected

04/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first time I have made yogurt and while it took longer than I expect- I like every thing instant- it turned out better than I every expected. You have to plan ahead as 4 cups of milk (UHT milk does not need to be precooked) milk has to come to 85C then cooled to room temperature. Add 2 Tbl of plain yogart, mix, then pour into the 7 little jars. Put into yogart maker and wait 8-10 hours. Then they have to cool to room temp, 15-30 min, and refridgerated an hour. Nice lids keep the jars sealed. I used a tea stainer to allow the whey to drain to make yogurt cheese. Taste great and have made several batches over the last few weeks. Results have been very consistant.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

I was pleased

01/25/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PROS: i like the overall design. cute and small compared to the others i've seen. the seven separate glasses work very well for me. i find that the organic yogurts i buy begin to sour too much for my taste after a week or two from going into it opening and closing the lid. these glasses keep it fresh tasting. i like my yogurt plain (no sugar) very thick and creamy tasting - not sour. the consistent temperature allows me to incubate it for no more than 4.5-5hrs to achieve this desired flavor and texture. my 10 month old loves it!
CONS: it's hard to see whether the little light indicator is on or off. the lids are really hard to pull off. i have to use my teeth!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Problem with Lid

10/14/2009
By ,
Durant, Oklahoma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was initially happy when I got my yogurt maker. However, once I got it out of the box and set it up I am very disappointed. Don't get me wrong, it makes the yogurt ok. But no matter how I try I can't get the clear lid to stay on correctly. It falls off of the machine. It just doesn't fit and won't stay. I went ahead and made some yogurt and the yogurt is ok. Nothing special but I may need to play with my recipes a little bit. But you will probably have to do what I did to keep the lid in place. Tape it with some scotch tape and that is the only way I can get it to stay on. There should be something on the machine to make the lid snap into place securely.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Exactly what I expected.

08/27/2012
By ,
Spindale, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this product for a few weeks so I cannot comment on durability. The yogurt I've made, following the directions for Greek yogurt included with the maker, is great; exactly how I imagined it would be. I do use a one quart bowl to make the yogurt and the small jars to add different fruits. This has cut the cost of yougrt by almost 50%.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Very nice!

03/09/2011
By ,
Fargo, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first try at making yogurt with this maker didn't end up too well. I followed all the instructions in the booklet, but decided to try using a probiotic capsule (GR8 by NOW) powder instead of actual yogurt starter. After 10 hours my organic whole milk was just sour milk. So I got some starter from the health food store and some powdered goat's milk to make a thicker yogurt. Major success! Seven 5 ounce glasses of really, really tasty yogurt. Really fresh tasting. I used about 4 tablespoons of that powdered goat's milk mixed in with my quart of organic whole milk. I'm totally satisfied with the quality of this yogurt maker and I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Easy, good value

12/06/2010
By ,
Springdale, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this for a couple of weeks so have made yogurt twice, but I'm pretty excited about it. I LOVE not throwing away tons of plastic every week, and being able to customize it. My first batch I used skim milk with 3 T of nonfat milk powder and 1/4 t of gelatin, started with 2 T 0% fat greek yogurt. The consistency was great and I scarf it up though my husband complained it wasnt 'tangy' enough. But he never eats yogurt so who cares. The second batch I used 2 T of my first batch as starter and 3 C skim milk, 1/2 C 2%, 1/2 C buttermilk (trying to use up thanksgiving leftovers), 2 T milk powder and 1/4 t gelatin, came out pretty much the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Good looking yogurt maker, but the jury's out

05/17/2011
By ,
Phoenix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good looking and functionally well-designed unit, but there are problems. It holds seven jars... my old one held five. That seems like a plus, but the actual liquid the seven jars hold is about the same as my old five jar maker. Fortunately, there is some extra room such that you might possibly use your own slightly wider jars if the need arose.
Of more concern is the heat this unit generates. it seems to be right at the limit where it might actually begin to kill yogurt culture, and indeed, the first batch I made came out like slightly thickened milk. A subsequent batch using more culture turned out OK though, but the jars get so warm that they might actually be too hot for some people to hold with bare hands. That was a big surprise to me since my old maker that lasted decades was comfortably warm and made wonderful yogurt the first time, and every time... until it died.
At the very least then it would seem this unit uses more energy than necessary. On the other hand, it might just make the process faster due to the extra heat, but where there was no concern if I left my old unit on for 8 hours or 12, I wouldn't allow such a fudge factor with this one. So as my title indicates, the jury is still out, not just on how well it will produce long-term, but on how durable it is as well.
The company provides an 800 number which I called to try to get some clarification on the temperature setting, but every time I called I got an answering machine in which they ask you to enter the party's extension. Since they didn't name names in the manual, that can't be done.
My last issue is that the plastic dome is thin, making it the weakest part of the unit, and to make matters worse, it does not fit perfectly on mine. Oh, it fits well enough, but there is a slight bulge which leaves a small gap in the perimeter seal. Nothing too significant, but a flaw in this otherwise nice looking unit.
I'm not recommending this, but the price is decent. It just seems that, overall, products nowadays that seem to offer a good value end up deteriorating rather quickly. Again, I don't know that this will be the case here, but what I consider to be initial flaws could easily become fatal flaws if they get any worse... you know, like just after the time has passed when you're able to return it? Thst won't stop me from demanding consideration from Walmart if it happens, but you may have better things to do with your life!?!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Great little yogurt maker

12/22/2010
By ,
south carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this yogurt maker for about 4 months and have made about 10 batches of yogurt. It has never failed to make perfect yogurt. You only need 2 ingredients: milk and a starter yogurt. I usually buy one greek plain yogurt for my starter and use 1% milk. Since plain yogurt doesn't have much of a taste, I add a little vanilla and 2 packs of sweetner before I eat it. You can also add fruit or honey. I read some reviews about the plastic lids splitting or the glass containers breaking. I have not had any problems with either. I like this little yogurt maker so much that I gave it as a Christmas present.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars
03/06/2013
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
recieved my machine week ago and I had fun trying it out two nights ago. the yogut turned out very good, but I wish I had bought the other machine with the timer and shut off opptions, my only complaint, plus I wish they would include a one large glass jar that holds the same amount as all seven small jars. now I have to go and find one some where with the right hight and weigth to fit this machine. I noticed all the different brands don't offer this opption either. I wounder why? I am ready to make more sence we are big yogurt eaters here and the seven little jares are empty all ready.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

looked great, but lid broken when i opened the box

01/04/2012
By ,
Kansas City
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This yogurt mixer looked great. I liked the idea. And the machine felt substantial except for the lid which was broken when I opened the box...so I really don't know if it makes great yogurt or not. I would have taken another yogurt maker (that's why I still recommend the product), but they didn't have one (don't carry them?) in the store. The lid really felt like it might be a problem--it's thin plastic. I had to ask myself--why did they pack it right on top without very much protection...any little drop from any direction is going to send it back to the store and make an unhappy customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Quality Product

06/30/2009
By ,
Lawrenceburg, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
On opening the box I could see right away I had purchased a quality product for the money spent.
This "Total Chef Yogurt Maker" has worked well from the start. The design is modern and attractive, but more importantly the yogurt made, is quite good.
Improvements ! Yes, I think a couple of them might be helpful especially for the first-time yogurt maker: #1 a light rather than a painted red dot for the on/off switch ... #2 a more comprehensive and detailed set of instructions would also be an improvement. Thanks! I'm more than satisfied and look forward to some fun as well as good food.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Does the job well

07/09/2009
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This yogurt maker works well. It actually comes with 7 jars, not 6. The directions were not very thorough, but I was able to get enough information using on-line recipes. I added 1/2 cup of powdered milk with skim milk and heated it for 8 hours, which makes a nice texture and it is not too tart. The jars are a little small, but I knew this when I bought it. I would have preferred a quart size, but for the price, this has been a great option. We go through a lot of yogurt and this has saved us a lot of money and allowed us to control exactly which ingredients go into it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

The comments on this were very favorable.

05/10/2014
By ,
Lewisville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think for the low cost one cannot do better. It's also very simple. What I am not happy with is that Walmart put in two order for me, not just the one that I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Perfect yogurt every time!

05/12/2010
By ,
San Francisco Bay Area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trying to imitate the delicious smooth yogurt we ate in Greece was a real challenge to me. This machine solved my dilemma. Using whole milk and Greek yogurt (for the starter) I was able to replicate the yogurt we had in Greece. The instructions were very complete, altho I never needed to add powdered milk or gelatin to obtain a thick, creamy result. I 'cooked' my yogurt for 8 hours and it turned out creamy with not too tart a taste. My only criticism is the dial on top is hard to read. The price was certainly right and shipment was very speedy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

It didn't last long

12/23/2013
By ,
Chico Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I didn't use the yogurt make more than 4-5 times before it started malfunctioning. It gets too hot. The last time I tried to use it the yogurt didn't set so I checked the temperature with an instant read thermometer and it was almost 140* I bought a small cooler and put the yogurt and warm water bottles in it and it seems to work great, won't break down or overheat and is multipurpose. The little cups were very nice and I still use them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Total Chef Yogurt Maker, 7 Jars

Great Buy

04/29/2009
By ,
Paso Robles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This yogurt machine is a great buy.
It keeps the yogurt at a consistant temperature. I was told in order to get rid of all lactose the yogurt should be fermented for at least 24 hours at a temperature between 110 - 120. To low the enzymes don't eat up the lactose, to hot the enzymes are killed. This machine is perfect.
I love the glass jars.
It makes a quart at a time.
There is no timer, so you can ferment as long as you like.
There is a bit of condensation that drips on the counter so I put a towel under it.
I love this yogurt machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 262 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  14 Next