Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sentry SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sentry SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Updated with a contemporary look, this new model of the SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest has more usable interior space. It's ideal for storing valuable documents, photographs and other media as well ascomputer memory drives. There's also an in-lid storage compartment for CDs and DVDs. The chest is UL classified and guaranteed to keep items protected in extreme heat of up to 1550 degrees. A key lock allows you to secure private and confidential materials.
Average Customer Rating:
3.683 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation68%28 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Not So Good

12/15/2007
By ,
Fallbrook, CA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Chest was broken when I opened the carton. It must of been damaged in transit. The face of the chest that locks the chest is made of plastic, and is held on to the top of the chest by plastic poles. These poles are what broke. They hold the face plate with the part that that the lock goes into on the top of the chest. They broke off so that the chest can not be locked or even closed tightly. Very poor design. It can't possibly be fire proof if the face is made of plastic. I'm taking it back for a refund.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+25points
Review 2 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Poorly Made.

07/22/2008
By ,
AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this chest for the fire and security protection and the packaging seemed to show a relatively sturdy product. However when I opened the box I quickly changed my mind.
-The latch is made of a relatively cheap plastic that could easily be broken with a small screwdriver. It's hard to imagine that this latch would keep the lid closed in the event of a fire or protect from any thief.
-The in-lid CD/DVD holder does not stay attached to the lid of the chest due to poorly matched plastic clips. I thought I could just leave it out but it has the waterproof seal attached to it.
-The entire chest is covered in plastic, not textured metal as the pictures might lead you to believe. The weight comes from the high-moisture fire-proof insulation.
-Finally, there are no instructions for mounting this chest to an solid surface for added security. Other chests have this feature, and I thinks it's absolutely necessary. The chest is heavy, but it would be easy for a thief to simply carry it out of your home. But I guess that doesn't really matter since it would be easier just to break into it.
-I've looked at Sentry's other products at Walmart and it's pretty much the same story. I know this is not the buy of the century, but you are probably considering this chest to protect some of your valuables. I feel that this product will give you a false sense of security. I will be returning it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+16points
Review 3 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Water proof and 30 minute fire protection!

06/20/2012
By ,
Spokane, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are going to purchase this safe/lock box to protect your fine jewelry or platinum bars from theft then I can not recommended it. If you are purchasing for the reason I did for keeping important documents, discs, data, pictures or movies that you don't want to loose or get destroyed I feel this is a fair asking price if it indeed should perform like the manufacture states it should.
1. I Marked high on "Value" because it was on sale". However I feel the box is still priced at a fair retail price.
2. "Meets Expectation". Well it would have if Sentry spent .30 cents more on the lock and maybe a $1.50 for the lock latch.
I trust it will fit my needs as long as it is kept out of site and mind of other in the household.
Suggestion to manufacture: The unit does need a handle. The handle should be at least triple the strength with better mounting then the lighter less expensive models that do have handles.
Well that's my summary and my (optional) review. Thank you for offering this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 4 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

SentrySafe HD2100

05/27/2009
By ,
Wenatchee, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cumbersome to take in and out of cabinet and to carry since it doesn't have a handle. Can't be secured to floor or cabinet, which makes it easy (except for lack of a handle) for a thief to carry away. Agree with other reviews that the plastic latch is cheap and could easily break. Recommend rental of a bank safe box for really important stuff or spend more money to get a better safe for home or office. I've chosen to keep this item with reservation.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 5 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Great product for the value

11/28/2009
By ,
Elkhart, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the rest of the reviews and I have to agree with them...the lock is cheap. It wouldn't keep anyone out for very long. That being said, I was not looking for theft security in this safe. I was looking for something that I could put a backup hard drive in and a couple of CD's that would protect them from a fire or flood. This safe does just that. It is plenty large and seems to be really durable. If you are wanting theft protection I would go with another product, but just for fire and water protection this is the way to go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Review 6 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Plastic Lock Plate??

07/24/2008
By ,
Rochester, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great space and layout. Seemingly good construction. But... it has a cheap plastic lock plate/hasp. It wouldn't keep anyone with a large screwdriver or a hammer with a claw out for more than 30 seconds or so. I will be returning it and selecting a different model. Also a terrible easily picked key/lock not something you would expect on a product maketed to keep valuables safe! Wish I would have read the reviews first!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Lock is almost non existant

03/06/2010
By ,
United States of America
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I know this is supposed to be a lockbox, although Sentry's website advertises it as a "safe," the lock can be opened without the included key, simply by using a metal strip, such as a flathead screwdriver or even your fingernail (like the Sentry 1100). The latch inserts into plastic, making it easy to break off the front for entry.
Sentry's locks have been substandard for at least two decades. If they simply replace their locking mechanisms with useful analogues, I may be able to recommend this product as a simple Fire/Water resistant lockbox.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

PLEASE READ BEFORE BUYING

07/13/2008
By ,
Tampa, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Its got great advertising. I believe it is fireproof and waterproof, but it is not theft safe. I read the other reviews and I too was also able to open it AND close it with a a paper clip. Reminds me of those locks that come in fake safe boxes for kids in elementary schools. After returning it, I bought a more expensive Honeywell Safe and the key + combination makes for great security, since you need both to get the safe open.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 9 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Just in case...

02/14/2014
By ,
Holbrook, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently I had to submit paperwork and documents for something I was applying for and I thought, "G-d forbid there was a fire, these would be difficult to replace." It stayed on my mind for a few weeks, and then I purchased this. I feel better knowing these things are safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 10 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

My Fire Safe

02/10/2014
By ,
Morgans Point Resort, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice Sentry Safe. The problem I have with it, I should have ordered a bigger now am going to purchase an additional safe. I did not realize I had papers that were so important from Birth Certicates to insurance polices. When purchasing insure you have a big enough safe, dont underestimate. The product is A1
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 11 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

It seems like a cheap plastic product

02/10/2014
By ,
Olathe, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It seems like a cheap plastic product, I hope it is fire and water proof
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 12 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Great safe for first time user.

02/05/2014
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's heavy duty safe to keep important papers inside so they not get ruined from fire and flood. I believe everyone should have one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Great Product!

02/21/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great quality product...as long as you are buying it for the right reasons. The latch and locking mechanism is cheap and wouldn't slow down any criminal. Besides they'd probably just pick it up and walk out with it. If theft is your main concern you need something more heavy duty that bolts to the ground. This product is great for small items and papers to protect in the event of a fire and subsequent water damage. For this purpose it is a great value for just $40.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 14 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Good product but look at dimensions n round edges

12/10/2013
By ,
TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it to store my documents. The product looks good and sturdy. But, I had to return it because the edges of this box are rounded; while my documents' length and width matched the dimensions of this box's middle, the box is rounded and my documents did not fit at the edges.
So, before buying, make sure what you are planning to store are about an inch shorter than the box's specified dimensions in both dimensions. Other than that, it is a good product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
-2points
Review 15 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

this thing is is like fort nox

07/24/2010
By ,
steubenville,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This safe is heavy and secure.and if there is a fire they will replace it for you!This safe is fire and water proof and a nice size it was bigger then I thought with was good.I can say that for the money this is a very good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100
03/24/2010
By ,
Orlando, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just exactly the size I was looking for. Plenty of room for all important papers + jewelry. Sure beats the banks safes. And the price is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 17 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Great Personal Safe

01/01/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This safe is the perfect size for concealing and protecting small valuables. It has not been through a fire or flood yet, but I feel confident it will protect everything inside!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 18 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Sentry safe

01/08/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the right size and will fit our needs. Excellent value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

sentry fire safe

12/19/2013
By ,
United States
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is as advertised. Looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for SentrySafe Fire-Safe Waterproof Chest, Model HD2100

Plastic lock concerns me.

11/27/2013
By ,
Arvada, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a very heavy chest. Not as big on the inside as it looks on the outside. It has a plastic locking mechanism. Will that really stand up to fire? Don't know.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next