Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for VTech VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

VTech VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

Highlights of this analog model include a digital answering system, Caller ID, Call Waiting and speed dial. 5.8 GHz technology delivers better sound quality, greater range and improved security. It can be used in the same area as wireless networks with virtually no interference. Comes complete with two handsets, base and an extra charger. And the second handset does not require another phone jack.
Average Customer Rating:
3.535 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation66%47 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870
11/17/2007
By ,
plainville ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a good phone for the price , so far it is working well a little static though
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 22 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

Great product

02/28/2008
By ,
King George, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this phone about 2 months ago and so far have had no problems. Yesterday I was out in my yard on the phone and could hear every word clearly. Great buy for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System &

10/11/2007
By ,
Highwood, il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GOOD, Easy to use...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

great phone great value

03/03/2008
By ,
Johnstown PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this phone as a replacement for an AT&T system I bought 5 years ago.  It works excellently and is very stylish.  The only downfall is that both phones work separately, which means that any numbers stored in one phone aren't stored in the other.  You have to load the phonebook in each.  You also have to manually transfer calls to the other phone, but since they provide details on how thats no problem.  Overall I'd buy the phone system again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

Easy, Cheap, what more do you want?

09/08/2007
By ,
Painesville, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This might not be the world's most awesome phone but I set it up in less than 10 min and it is very versatile. for around $45, it has value written all over it. I have a 2 story house and I used to have to "fly" downstairs if I wanted to answer the phone. But now it's easy, cause all I have to do is pick up the other receiver!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 26 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

A good buy

01/25/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pretty easy to set up and use and plenty of built in features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

Good phone

04/06/2008
By ,
Malone FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only thing I don't like is that when you record your message for the answering machine it is very garbled. Messages coming in you can't hear clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

LONG LASTING PRODUCT

01/03/2008
By ,
NYC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS PRODUCT IS WHAT I EXPECTED IT TO BE,
I HAVE BOUGHT VTECH PHONES IN THE PAST FOR GIFTS AND EVERYONE WAS WELL SATISFIED WITH
IT AND THEY STILL HAVE THE PHONE 3YRS. LATER
AND IT WORKS JUST FIND.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

A pretty good value

04/25/2008
By ,
Yakima
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm very happy with my new phones, easy to program, and I like the way they look. My only complaint would be, that once in a while when I'm talking to someone, we both can hear a noise kinda like the ocean, or a wind blowing, just for about 2 to 3 seconds.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

Pretty Good

11/13/2007
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this product for a couple of months now. The only problem is I can't figure out how to check my answering machine remotely. I guess I actually have to read the instruction manual from cover to cover.
Other than that it works just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

Great Phones at a great Price!

01/30/2008
By ,
Burlington Vermont
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are a great value! Very clear and easy to set up. would recommend highly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

answer macine/cordless phone

10/22/2007
By ,
white plains, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
phones not loud enough and you can only have 1 handset in use at one time. It isn't like having an extension.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

phone

11/15/2007
By ,
manchester, nh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i wish it held more on the directory
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

Not bad!!!

03/12/2008
By ,
Burlington, In.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice set of phones. Baisc functions and the answering machine are a good combination for someone looking for ease of use. The only draw back for me was that you can't turn the key beeps off or down, they are a little loud.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

Not good for large house or many people

10/24/2007
By ,
FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You cannot switch between handsets and there is a whooshing noise as you walk around. If I answer a call i have to walk across the house to hand another person the handset I answered from... what is the point of having multiple handsets?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

Not To Happy

02/01/2008
By ,
Ilwaco, Washington
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
All of the phone was great. But the answering maching speaker is not good at all. i was very disappointed in the the way the speaker sounded.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

Not as expected

01/23/2008
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display caller ID much smaller than portrayed; very difficult to read. Second hand set does not have back light. Reception is clear, without interferrance. Delivery time as promised.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

I wouldn't buy this again...

11/29/2007
By ,
St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is a decent purchase however, there does tend to be static sometimes even when you are right next to the base. The phone needs charging constantly. Even on a full battery if the call goes over about 30 minutes it goes dead. The phone also tends to get quite warm on extended phone calls. I will not be purchasing Vtech brand phones in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 39 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

You get what you pay for

04/03/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Phones are okay - I experience a lot of interference when I use them around other electronic items, such as the computer. In fact, while I was speaking on them while on the computer, it hung up on the caller 3 times. Battery life is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for VTech 5.8 GHz Cordless Phone w/ Answering System & 2 Handsets, ia5870

Not happy.

02/21/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this phone having previous brandname confidence. After using it we couldn't get far from base (20ft.) before it would become too staticy. If, while on a call, another came in, you had a 3 second silence before you could tell anyone that you needed to put them on hold, leaving a long void! There is also a delay when answering a call that cuts off some of your greeting. Within a week of purchase both pocket clips, being too thin, had broken.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 59 total reviews