Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Aroma Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Aroma Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Give your kitchen some cooking flexibility with the Aroma Single Burner Portable Electric Range. This handy hot plate appliance is perfect for those moments when you need an extra burner or microwave — or don't have a kitchen to work with. It's ideal for keeping meals warm at pot lucks, making lunch in your dorm room or heating up a meal when you're sitting outside on your patio. With four different temperature settings, a sturdy die-cast burner and a stylish black finish, this terrific electric hot place will become a staple in your cooking repertoire. The Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range is extremely easy to clean and works well in your home, office, camper and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.347 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(285 Reviews) 227
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
179
4 stars
69
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation90%255 out of 284reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 220 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
179
4 stars
69
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303
09/12/2012
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
as others have stated, it was not able to boil water. I did follow the instructions and ran it on high for the recommended time before I used it but it still could not get hot enough to boil the water in a small copper pot I was using. as far as warming food and keeping it warm I would say it had no issues. it looks nice and does not wobble which is important for liquids.
unfortunately, I will be returning this model for a more effective one as I need the extra heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

unreliable product

03/24/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this hotplate for my daughter's science fair project. Once I received it (only available online) I took it home and we used it without problems for about 10 minutes the first night. When we went to use it again the next day, it was totally nonfunctional. I had to reorder (online) and wait for a replacement to come (2 weeks) until we could resume our project, and by that time the price was $3.00 more. Very frustrating experience. The second one is still working fine after multiple uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

doesn't heat very well

08/23/2012
By ,
mcdowell nc
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It just doesn't seem to do as well as the first burner I bought- nothing will boil on it
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

disappointed

06/04/2009
By ,
Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the product only lasted 5 months...during that time it worked well...maybe it was only designed to last that long for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Is great in a pinch

10/25/2007
By ,
Titus, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This burner looks great and has several temp settings but is slow to heat up. It takes a while to bring something to a boil. It is working for us during our remodel though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

this product is exactly what I was looking for

02/14/2013
By ,
santa maria, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted to buy it in-store, however, this product was only available on-line. That disappointed me, however I couldn't complain about the free shipping!! I was also disappointed in the delivery time. Usually, when I order from you, the product is delivered w/in 2-3 days. This time, we didn't get it until 5+days after we ordered it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Underpowered

02/15/2011
By ,
Wichita, Ks.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this to use with a popcorn popper, but did not get hot enough to pop corn.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

aroma single burner

05/20/2011
By ,
san diego, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
look nice but not very hot even you put it on high, not burn evenly if you don't have the pot and pan very flat in the bottom.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Aroma Single burner

04/21/2008
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Compact single burner. The only problem the burner takes a very long time to heat up.
Not Recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303
06/28/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not very attractive looking, but seems to do the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Too big for where we wanted to use it.

08/15/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We got it from the store (ship to store) and took it home. Immediately, when you opened it you could tell it was a bit weak. The bottom of the item flexed in and out which worried me. Come to find out the electric range was just too big. We returned it without even trying it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Descent but a little pricy

08/13/2010
By ,
El Paso, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It heats up fast! Actually it gets too hot sometimes but it works. A little expensive for the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Not what i thought

12/20/2012
By ,
Tallahassee, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for something to cook on. This just did not get hot enough. It works great as a warmer but I put a large pot filed with water on it and 45 mins later it still had not boiled. I returned the item.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Dismal Disappointment

08/03/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love to make candy and after years of cooking on an electric stove, I purchased a home with a gas stove and absolutely cannot control the heat well enough to make candy. I was considering purchasing an electric stove when I saw this burner and thought maybe it would get hot enough to cook candy (340 - 350 degress). Sadly, I didn't get close.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Ok but could be better

04/24/2012
By ,
Providence, RI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is like having a single burner stove. I would have loved a more featured and better built product. I hate that the part outside of the round burner gets hot so I should be really careful what sits next to it. It takes quite a bit to warm up, but then it stays hot for a long time, long after I finish using it. It is ok to use as a travel unit, but I would have liked to see a more practical and better built product (also a smaller one).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Not powerful enough

06/10/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
One needs more that 20' to boil even a 3 quart pot of water.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

works for me!!!!

01/18/2010
By ,
West Chester, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this NOT to cook food, but to use as a candle/scented-wax burner. It has no problems with that! We set it to medium, and a large candle is turned to liquid in a matter of minutes. Turning it down to the upper-side of "warm" keeps it liquid as long as we want...and keeps our house smelling great! I haven't tried to cook food on it, but IT CAN GET HOT...we turned it up to high, once, and it shriveled the label on the candle...so I would imagine that it could cook! there are 4 settings, but it is a smooth dial, so you can have infinite settings between warm and high (low-end of medium, right on medium, high-end of medium, and everything inbetween! etc...) Again, works well for us!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Meets my expectations

04/02/2011
By ,
Macomb, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This single burner meets all my expectations.
The four temperature control knob is a plus. The hot plate heating element heats very good! I purchased this single electric burner to use in my fifth wheel to save on propane gas.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

So far so good! Works great.

11/30/2013
By ,
Staten Island, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Takes a little longer to reach optimum temperature compared to my Black & Decker coiled burner, however, when it reaches optimum heat, it maintains it better than the coiled units. This may be due to the cast iron flat top which also allows the cooking vessels to sit without wobbling. It maintains a rolling boil on a 5 quart pot very well, better than the coiled type. When it cycles on and off, as all electric burners do, it maintains it heat very well. I could not rate its durability only having it for over a week, but if it holds up as expected, I will give it a five star rating.
One word of advice. If you're cooking something that needs the heat completely off, such as espresso, remove the vessel from the burner, since the tops stays hot longer than the coiled units.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Great value

02/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price it is a great product that works as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 228 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next