Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Aroma Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Aroma Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Give your kitchen some cooking flexibility with the Aroma Single Burner Portable Electric Range. This handy hot plate appliance is perfect for those moments when you need an extra burner or microwave — or don't have a kitchen to work with. It's ideal for keeping meals warm at pot lucks, making lunch in your dorm room or heating up a meal when you're sitting outside on your patio. With four different temperature settings, a sturdy die-cast burner and a stylish black finish, this terrific electric hot place will become a staple in your cooking repertoire. The Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range is extremely easy to clean and works well in your home, office, camper and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.347 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(282 Reviews) 224
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
178
4 stars
67
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation90%252 out of 281reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 215 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
178
4 stars
67
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Great for the money.

12/15/2008
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is 800 Watts, its not clearly indicated on the website. The cast iron heating plate is cleaner and less prone to spill stains than a coil type. 800 Watts did just fine on my last road trip making hot Ramen noodles and warming canned chili, frying eggs and spam, boiling hot water for coffee and tea.
This will not bring sevaral quarts to a rolling boil so don't expect to cook pasta for an Italian family with this, but it will do just fine for 1-2 servings.
Its great for the price and free site to store shipping.
If you want a top of the line you're looking at a 1100 or 1400 watt cast iron, or coil element Broil King for $100, or the ultimate is the 1400 watt glass ceramic Broil King for $250. Then again the high-watt rated burners come with three-prong plugs for safety, however many hotels only have 2 prong sockets in the room which would leave you out in the cold.
For what it does (roadtrip cooking) and for the price its perfect. Now if you're remodeling your kitchen and need a portable burner to use everyday at home for a few months, get a 1400 Watt model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+238points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
orange county
i dunno anything about wattages
Posted 12/27/2013
so thanks for letting me know i cant cook pasta here..
do u think there is anything less than 50 dollars that i can buy that can cook pasta?
its for my dad, he is living on his own and he is sick of buying take out.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Outstanding Little Electric Burner for the price.

06/27/2012
By ,
Chula Vista, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the product and I was emailed and texted that the item had arrived on exactly the first day of the estimated dates. I picked up, took it home. Upon opening the box, it had a very beautiful, and functional design. I plugged it in, filled a 1 quart saucepan full of cold water, turned it on to high and only waited 4:42 minutes and, to my suprise, the water was at a full boil - faster than my gas range.
My intended use was to use the burner to smoke cheese in my offset smoker as the coals burn too hot to maintain a 70 degree temperature as required. This worked perfectly. I used a 6" cast iron skillet to hold the wood and actually used the burner at a little over half to be able to get the wood smoking and maintain the required temperature. I used apple wood and hickory for 90 minutes and the cheese turned out perfectly.
The burner worked perfectly and still looked new after this. We will see how long it lasts using it like this. So far, so good.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Pleasantly Surprised by Aroma hot plate

01/21/2012
By ,
Portland, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heat-up Time is a little slow, but not bad at all for an 800watt 5.9" inch burner. The settings dial rotates so that you can adjust the temperature infinitely between its highest and lowest settings. With the help of a food thermometer, here's what I found: I was heating a pyrex bowl of approx 16 oz of plain tap water and stepping up to the next setting from the previous each time-
Warm - I set it to the "r" in "warm" and the water was kept to approx 110 degrees F consistently, it only took 1-2 minutes to get up to and maintain this temperature after first being turned on
Low - I set it to the "o" in "low" and the water was kept to approx 150F consistently, it took approx 2.5 minutes to get up to and maintain this temperature after being set at the "warm" setting #110F#
Medium - I set it to the "d" in "medium" and the water was kept to approx 190F consistently, it took approx 3-4 minutes to get up to and maintain this temp after being set at the "low" setting #150F#
High - I set it to the highest setting #"g" in "high"# and the water was brought to a rolling boil in approx 5 minutes after being set at the "medium" setting #190F#
Great Product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Northern California
Posted 02/21/2014
Thank you for this review - it's exactly the info I was looking for! :D It's so hard to tell the temperature range without it on the dial.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Dead on arrival.

07/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned right after pickup. Faulty unit. No comment.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Nice little unit

04/10/2014
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed something while we gut and remodel our kitchen. This is great, easy to clean takes up little space and requires nothing special. Happy with my purchase, value and use wise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Great price and worked great

02/13/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a very hot large coffee mug warmer but none were hot enough. This did the trick! With 2 skinny cups I can share it with my wife. It has a lot more than 4 settings. It really goes from barely warm to boiling hot with dozens of settings in-between.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Works in its Element

02/06/2009
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product overall. Wish they would have included the element size in the description. It is 6". If I had known that I would probably have gone with a larger size or the induction burner (9").
You really cannot boil a pot of water for pasta on this unless you do a couple of batches. If you only need a good burner for 6" pots and pans, you will be delighted.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
User Manual Statement
Posted 09/21/2012
User Manual states on p. 7 under the Heading - CHOOSE THE RIGHT POTS AND PANS - "We suggest that the diameter of the bottom of pots and pans should be 6½” to 7” and with a maximum cooking capacity of 1½ quarts."
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

perfect while on the go

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this burner while I would be living in a hotel room for work that didn't have a stove top. The burner is great, heats up quickly, as multiple heat settings and is easy to use. No major cleaning required either. Great if you just need a burner without all the bells and whistles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Excellent Aroma Hot Plate

04/10/2014
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For anybody with a very small apartment and very limited space, this hot plate is proving to be the perfect cooking heat source.
I have tried 2 other hot plates but this one is proving itself to be the best.
It heats fast, maintains set temperatures, cools fast when finished and cleans up easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

An excellent product

05/31/2008
By ,
Cogan Station, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a glass topped range, and were told not to do any home canning on it as it could cause our stove top to crack. After thinking how to solve that problem, we decided to buy a hot plate to use for canning. After browsing online at different sites, we chose this Aroma Single Burner Electric Range Hot Plate on Wal-Mart.com. It worked beautifully for us! I would fully recommend this product for anyone who needs an extra burner, or like us would like to do home canning, and can't because of having a glass topped range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+152points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

good replacement for melitta hotplate

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
no complaints
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Nice

06/07/2014
By ,
WACO Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase this because I do not like to cook on my stove instead I plugs this cute little product next to my kitchen sink and cook some awesomely great one pot meals, sometimes more then I should!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Great Burner

06/08/2014
By ,
Ft. Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good product. Got water boiling quick for tea and I had a can of hot soup in no time. This will be great for when we are traveling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Wobbley but works

02/18/2009
By ,
Mt. Sterling, Ky.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This burner came out of the box with a wobble, but I shimmed it with a folded paper towel and it works fine. The on/off temperature knob is not very descript in its heating range. It spins rather freely. But it heats up just fine and I have cooked on it several times. Make sure you burn it prior to first use as the instructions state. It will smoke a little the during that portion of your set up. It is a nice single burner for a small kitchenette.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Great Little Hotplate

07/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this hotplate. It works great. I just wish the cooking surface was a little bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

A disappointing product

01/28/2008
By ,
Earlton, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Needed a simple hot-plate as a gift, and could not find one in stores, but found this one on-line. Had to wait for delivery. When finally used, it did not have enough power to boil water, or even keep water boiling that had been pre-boiled on the stove. Very disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Very useful

02/22/2009
By ,
Grand Rivers, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to use with a generator during a recent power outage. It's great to have around when you can't use your range.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

SHOCKING PERFORMANCE

08/29/2008
By ,
TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to have one from another manufacturer which performed pretty much like a warmer than a real cooker.... I was hesitant to get this one because of my experience with my old ( already trashed long time ago ) one. But I went ahead and got me one of these anyway, and was so shocked when I tuned it on to cook something and expected it to be just like any other brand, but when I came back just less than 5 minutes, this thing at medium was already boilling and steaming my food ( Glad I caught it, I could have been eating toasted beef stew....) I am so empressed.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

cool-plate not hot-plate

12/13/2007
By ,
Saint Petersburg FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Notice the ad does not give the wattage. That means no claim is being made about how fast it will heat.
I have found that a 1-1/2 qt pot of water takes 25 minutes before a few bubbles of boiling water appear at the bottom of the pot. No good for spaghetti cooking! The old spiral electric burners boiled the water in 15 minutes in a covered 1-1/2 qt pot.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aroma Single-Burner Portable Electric Range Hot Plate, AHP-303

Meets all expectations for intended use

03/08/2008
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this unit after extensive research on the internet. We wanted something that would heat up fast and could be easily used in a motorhome which we are currently doing full time. Great deal, great price. At first I thought we should have purchased a coil unit, but after using several times we love appearance but more important how well it works. Exteremely happy with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 225 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next