Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Furreal FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Furreal FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Talk about cool! Squawkers McCaw is a talkin', squawkin' and totally unpredictable play pal. This plush-plumed bird responds to you with more than 45 words, phrases and silly sound effects. Record additional words and phrases and then train Squawkers McCaw to talk back to you, just like a real parrot. He also dances to his signature song, "Squawk, Squawk, Squawk" as well as to other tunes. Use the remote to switch between speech, dance and singing modes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
28
3 stars
11
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%116 out of 122reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
28
3 stars
11
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Cool

02/08/2008
By ,
Wheaton, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Next to a real bird this is great. And of course you don't have to clean up after it. I have as much fun with it as anyone.
I bought this for my daughter who is disabled, so the motion/touch sensors and remote features are really nice. The bird does and says so much its hard to keep up.
If I had any negative comments it would be that the batteries don't last long. So you do have to turn it off when done playing with it.
Otherwise its really cool. They should make it walk next...hehe
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 62 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Delightful Fun!

12/31/2007
By ,
Westland, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 5 year old got this for Christmas and not only does he love him but it may even be possible that my husband loves him more! His movements are amazing and his voice a crack up...we like when he "thinks" about what he is going to /or needs to say.
He sits nicely on his perch and makes a cool mess-less pet to have around :) The cat doesn't know what to think yet!
Great gift...ANY age. Pet lovers for sure!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 63 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Glorious!

12/31/2007
By ,
Campbell, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these, one for each of my daughters and they absolutely love this. I had my reservations when they asked for one of these but they are completely entertained and in love with this toy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 64 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Great for a hard-to-buy-for sister!

02/09/2008
By ,
Las Vegas, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the Wal-mart price, this bird does an amazing amount of things! It ended up entertaining everyone in the family--the kids, the adults and even my electronics oriented husband who thinks most toys today are lame or overly complicated. The bird is really interactive but it does take some early adult intervention to figure out how to use it. This is one gift worth taking out of the box and experimenting with before giving it to a child (or an impatient teenager).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 65 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Fun Toy

01/01/2008
By ,
Cleburne, Tx. 76031
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When first opened it worked fine and for the next couple of days great, but on the 3rd. day when my daughter woke up it would not work so I replaced the batteries in the bird and remote but it still won't work. It was a Christmas gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 66 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Cool

01/01/2008
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bird is so cool my whole family plays with him.
My husband even went out to buy himself another one so he could teach it to say all of what he wants.
It Looks Real And It learns What You Teach It.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 67 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

great gift

01/01/2008
By ,
Ashland, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product for my year old step father and he loved it!!!!
The only downside was there were no instructions on how to record and program the toy....we figured it out but would have been nice to have a guide.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 68 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

wondrful gift for a six year old

01/01/2008
By ,
springfield il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson loves this parrot. He talks and dances and my grandson is most impressed with his new pet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 69 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

My g-daughter enjoys it

01/01/2008
By ,
Warsaw, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It doesnt seem to do everything it is suppose to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 70 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot
01/01/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very life-like and fun. We used it at Halloween when the whole crew dressed as pirates. It provided lots of laughs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 71 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Kinda fun :-)))

01/02/2008
By ,
Taos, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I bought this as a joke gift for my neice (8) and she loves it. Actually the grownups have also been having lots of fun with it as well. I was suprised how good it really was. Given it is always making noise it is fortunate it has an off button. We had it going in the kitchen and it was making us all laugh and then it would start laughing man we were all rolling.
Buy it if you want a good laugh. Dont buy it if you dont like constant coments and noise.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 72 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Fantastic Bird!

01/02/2008
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this guy! From day one when we opened the box, he was talking and singing. Our child thinks he is hysterical (she is 3). We highly recommend buying this product. He seems durable. He speaks clear and is lots of fun. Sure beats cleaning up messy cages!! You cannot tell his is not real from a distance. Very nice workmanship. All ages would love it. Even the grandparents got a kick out of him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 73 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Good Toy

01/02/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I mostly have to base my review over my daughter's reactions and she loves this toy. She says it's one of her top 3 presents she received for Christmas this year. She plays with it daily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 74 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

A real Fun Toy

01/02/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 5 year old nephew. He loves it. It does alot of different things and is very entertaining.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 75 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

A big hit

01/02/2008
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this to my 10 year old granddaughter for Christmas. She played with it exclusively for the rest of the time she was at our house. Even her 14 year old brother got into the act, programming the darned thing to say all sorts of annoying things. It was a huge hit with all the kids. I'd buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 76 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Squawkers

02/12/2008
By ,
Lexington, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first Squawkers I bought had a defective switch and kept cutting off, but the second one works perfectly fine. It was bought as a birthday present for my 5 year old daughter- and she loves it! It is very cute, responds to touch and talks to her. We recorded some cute sayings that related to my daughter and it makes her giggle and dance and laugh and sing. I love that. Plus it makes her think I hung the moon for her because I bought it...I love that too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 77 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

What I expected

01/02/2008
By ,
Greenville,Ms
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy this product just as much as my daughter. We have sit around laughing at the funny things we program into product. Instructions are simple and easy to read & understand. I would recommend this product for any child(small or grown).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 78 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Pricey Decoration

01/02/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first saw this product, and it "greeted" me in the store when I walked by, I failed to see the appeal. I thought it looked and sounded rather cheesy. However, based on the glowing reviews about it on a couple of websites, I purchased it for my son, who loves parrots. We found out of Christmas morning that it did not work. It performed only about 3 actions, rather than the 45+ listed, and the remote did not activate it despite 3 different sets of tested batteries, so we could not record our own words and phrases. Needless to say, I returned it. I hope recipients have better luck with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 79 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Great toy for all ages

10/28/2007
By ,
Phillipsburg, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This toy is great. My girlfriend and I own a blue and gold macaw, this is very realistic in appearance and proformance. Highly recommend for all ages
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 80 for FurReal Friends Squawkers McCaw Animatronic Parrot

Loud but extremely fun

01/03/2008
By ,
Canyon, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
He's louder than I was hoping, but the quality of the toy is outstanding. I have more fun playing with him than my daughter does right now because we haven't trained him to make customized responses yet. Yes, you can "teach" him to understand specific commands that you come up with and he'll respond with what you teach him to say back. But even without that he already comes with a list of sayings and commands so he's fun right out of the box. Speaking of box, he's light and touch sensitive, so as soon as he's out of the box he's all over the place, should come with a blindfold too unless you turn him off every evening.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
61-80 of 103 total reviews