Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Emerson Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Emerson Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

This enhanced-definition television (EDTV) features NTSC tuning capability for conventional analog channels and ATSC digital tuning capability to receive over-the-air digital TV broadcasts and unscrambled digital cable channels. Additional highlights include stereo sound, a variety of video inputs and a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.851 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(309 Reviews) 248
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
115
4 stars
109
3 stars
37
2 stars
20
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation82%252 out of 309reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
115
4 stars
109
3 stars
37
2 stars
20
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

Every RV needs one!

04/04/2008
By ,
Chilton WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really did my homework on this purchase and am so pleased that I wanted others who are into TV research to see my thoughts on this one. It is a must-buy for any camper! With the whole digital thing coming along next February, this is the perfect answer to anyone wanting a great sized TV set for the camper - since pulling in stations from an antenna is the most common way to watch TV in a camper or RV. Since cable or satellite in RVing is super rare, the HDTV model TV's are WAY OVERKILL! You will not be happy! Trust me from personal experience. But this LCD is not HDTV. It is flawless on reception with the roof-top antenna on the camper. Also its size is perfect for a group to watch a show on a rainy day at the campground. Its very lightweight and mounted real nice on the wall of the camper. I give this a very high recommend. It was not easy finding an LCD that wasn't HDTV....but this one is the perfect setup. Took three weeks to get it with ship-to-store...but it was worth the wait. ENJOY!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 2 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

Great TV for price

09/02/2007
By ,
Norfolk,VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just purchased this TV today,2 wks. ago purchased a 15" Slyvania,the Emerison is a much better product,very user friendly,picture is great,hook-up,very easy.Time will tell how well this product will work,but so far(5 hrs) into this TV,we like it and would say it is good value for the $'s. Would buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 3 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

Good TV for the price

02/06/2008
By ,
Raleigh, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The picture quality is very good with my standard cable. Of course this tv isn't HD, but regular cable channels come through clear. Also, I didn't even need to adjust the picture out of the box. The remote is simple with the all the buttons I need (even a sleep button to easily set the tv timer).
The only drawback I've seen is that I've had this tv for a month now and right out of the box I watched it for about 4 hours. When I turned it off there was a slight clicking sound for a few minutes.
I thought this was just happening because the tv was new and needed to be "broken in". But it's been a month now and if I watch the tv for more than 5 hours at a time then I still here the noise. It's much softer now and doesn't last nearly as long, but I recommend that if your tv does this that you take it back right away and get a new one since this doesn't seem to be something that will just go away over time.
Of course you have to keep in mind that this is a pretty cheap price for this tv so I guess you kind of get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

Bunk Pixel Can Easily Be Fixed

11/21/2007
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great TV for the price. Lightweight and hangs easily on the wall if you buy a universal mount and remove the stand it comes with by simply taking out 4 screws.
Don't let the bad reviews regarding the dead pixel sway you from buying this. Mine had the same problem when I first set it up. All I had to do, based on a review I read on here, is gently rub the screen 5 or 6 times where the pixel is until it flickers out. You might have to repeat this a few times. Clean the fingerprints off with a microfiber cloth and your hot breath. My bad pixel was cured by doing this and have clear viewing 3 weeks in now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

I Tried and Tried

09/16/2007
By ,
Marlton, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price was Right $224 for a Digital non HD 20" Television. Adjusted and Adjusted guess I am use to my HD set. Anyway 2 days go by and what you always dread Bad Pixel (Red) 1/4". Picked up another and same scenario. This time 6 days later another Bad Pixel (Green) same 1/4" Back again for the last time. Just can't find a 20" HD set at a Good Price. I need the size if not I would diffinitely get another Sanyo 26" but can't fit. Could you Imagine if these different color Pixels began popping out all over the screen wouldn't be too nice, You Would Get PopEyes. Yeah I know $224 but what if it were a 32" at $599. You know with about 35 different Brands to chose from and the price they want for any of these Digital or HD sets is ridiculous. The one thing I think we all Hate more than anything elase is getting home, unpacking it while your reading, setting it up and then have to go through the same thing all over again just to take it back again, I Hate It. I know it would cost a lot less to make a Good 25" Muntz Console these days. Just Kidding and Good Luck???
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

So Far So Good!

09/01/2007
By ,
Clawson,Mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this TV today! Hook up was a snap! Picture is very crisp with DVD movies(make sure U purchase the special blue,orange,red)cables for hookup. I am currently hooked up to cable, so haven't tried an antenna yet for digital channels, but for the price, I could not be happier! I am using this in my bedroom with dvd player, dvd burner, reciever, cable box and not one problem! Sound is pretty good too, not tinney at all to my surprize.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

Very Bad Product

09/13/2007
By ,
United States, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have now just brought this TV home after the fouth time exchanging it. Every TV was returned for "Bad" "Cells" (Pixels). First purchased one with red cell out, Second one had one blue cell out, Third had blue and red cell out and my Fourth and final had a blue cell out. After going through this whole ordeal I finally give up and will not buy this product every again and will not recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

Emerson LCD TV

12/23/2007
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The TV is very nice. I would have preferred that the ports for additional equipment be more centrally located. They are on the left and in our situation the DVD/Satelite are on the right. I would also have liked to have been offered an extended warranty. Sound is a bit hollow but it is in a room with a vaulted ceiling and that could be an issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

Happy Surprise

02/09/2008
By ,
Honolulu, HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Long out of reach for everyday work Joe's, this product was a big HAPPY surprise. If you're going to go by any negative opinions here, you may miss out on a great deal. Most of the negatives just happen to have had a bum experience - and that happens and overall shouldn't reflect as a whole on a good working product.
I did have a problem with the remote - but only because the batteries that came with it were dead. The setup for "picture" can be tricky if you don't use the "up, down, right and left" buttons which will switch for user input on the "bright, contrast, color, tint" options at the BOTTOM of the screen. Aside from that, you also need to go slow on the "ratings (V Chip setup)" feature which will block or allow viewing of certain channels.
Frankly, it took me two hours to set up all the options of this TV properly because I like to think I've "been there and done that". It could take less time if you sit and read the darn book first.
Overall, I very pleased with the picture and sound quality. When taking it out of the box, I had to look twice to make sure it was the correct monitor, it appearing so much larger, minus the speakers. This certainly bypassed my expectations. I hope it remains this good for a long time. . .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

A few pixels short of a picture

01/08/2008
By ,
Crossville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The ordering from the internet was easy. The store pick up was easy. The problem with this particular tv was that all of the pixels were not present on the screen. There was a two inch by three inch spot in the upper left hand corner of the screen that was green, ie. no color pixels were present. This tv had to be taken back to the store. The money was refunded but there were not any more of this particular model available. I paid an additional amount of money to get the model that had the DVD player built in it. The second tv worked just fine. I gave it a few low marks in the rating just because this tv didn't work and had to be taken back. But overall, I would recommend this model if you can find one that works. It works fine for me as a bedroom tv. The volume at it's loudest will not blow you out of a large room and I feel it is best suited for a smaller room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

Not So Much

09/11/2007
By ,
Idaho
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV for my work and it was easy to set up but the first time I turned it on there was a "bad pixel" right in the middle of the screen. The manual says they don't consider this a defect unless there is a cluster of them. Come on now. I realize it isn't the most expensive TV but for it to have an annoying bright blue dot it the middle of the screen. I am returning this TV today.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 12 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

Decent but nothing to write home about

09/12/2007
By ,
katy, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had a hard time figuring out how to set up this TV with my DirecTV; the instruction manual was not as clear as it should be. I finally got it to work after a few attempts. The picture quality is good, not as sharp as I expected. Maybe it just needs to be adjusted. Overall it is still a good value for the money
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

Emerson 20" LCD TV

10/01/2007
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the TV for my bedroom and liked it so much I ordered a second one for the other bedroom. You can not find a better deal any where. I searched all over and couldn't beat Wal-Mart's price. It's saves space and is very light weight and easy to move around. I'm very happy and pleased with my purchases.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8
12/31/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
well the quality of picture his very grainy and the cables did not come with unit, althought at the store i bought another one and it did come with the cables cheaper and the brand was poloroid. I buy all electronics at Wal-Mart and always great, but this time I am very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 15 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

biz promotion

01/14/2008
By ,
utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought several of these TV's for a promotion I have been running. The price has gone up in the last several months. I was purchasing around $220, but still the best value I can find for a 20-inch.
Everyone seems to like it, and that good :)
Want a free TV give me a call
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 16 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

Dorm Room Perfection!

09/29/2007
By ,
Alpine TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for our daughter going off to college and it is by far the best space saving TV we found. Programs easily and for a 20" screen it does not take up a lot of space like others we looked at. Picture quality is nice and sharp. Nice and portable too. Money well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

Good for the price

09/20/2007
By ,
Jonesboro, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I too had trouble with the color. I adjusted the settings for the picture and it has a good picture. It is a very good TV for a small room. It is not as nice as an HD TV but is very good for the price and it has a digital tuner. It was very simple to set up and operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

Well Worth the price!

10/06/2007
By ,
Las Vegas, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 20 in. lcd thin line tv was on sale and well worth the price. The picture is excellent, so very clear...pops out at you. Just $224.00, can't find that deal anywhere! Take home, plug in, attach cable and hit red button for a super easy set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8

trying to get a good one

02/21/2008
By ,
central pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great price and good picture
First one had a pixel dot on the screen
second one had a blue line running down the screen
picking up third one today- will try it out in the store before i leave
as they say third times a charm (I HOPE)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Emerson 20" Class LCD TV with Digital Tuner, LC200EM8
11/20/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been very pleased with this product. Easy to set up, very good picture quality and I have a TV that will be good after the change to digital. Site to store was exceptionally easy. There is no buyer's remorse with the purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 249 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next