Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fisher-Price Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Fisher-Price Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

Personalize your puppy and give him tender-loving care! The Puppy Grows & Knows Golden Retriever is an electronic mechanized plush animal that you can personalize using your computer and the included software. The puppy is at his smallest size when you bring him home. Over the course of four days, the puppy will grow to his full size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.219 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation88%28 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

Great Gift!

12/26/2007
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After seeing the commercials for this product on t.v., my 5 year old daughter declared this was what she was going to ask Santa for. When I researched the puppy on other websites and saw the $70 price tag I was shocked! At 40 bucks, you can't beat Walmart's price!
I read a lot of positive reviews and a few negatives--mostly dealing with the frustration of the set up and the usb cable not being included. It states clearly on the box that a USB is needed and not included. We found the set up to be a breeze!
One other possible concern is if your child's name is on the list to choose from on the software cd that comes with the puppy. There are over 3500 names, but there is no way to tell if your child's name is one of them until after you purchase the toy. I decided to take the chance and was delightfully surprised to find my daughter's name on the list.
My daughter was thrilled to hear "butterscotch" speak her name and is patiently waiting for her second growth spurt. She really enjoys this toy, and I am glad Walmart had it for such a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever
08/23/2008
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently purchased this golden retriever for my 5 year old daughters birthday. It was very easy to set up and she was able to begin playing with it right away. My 5 year old and her 8 year old sister enjoy playing with it and giving me daily growth reports on their puppy. The only downside to it is the price. I wish it was alittle less but at least I was able to order it and have it shipped to my local Wal-Mart store for free.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

Puppy Knows Your Name When...

01/13/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recommend this product with a warning: you need to also buy the cable to connect it to the computer, so it can learn your child's name and be programmed to know its own name.
My kid got this for Christmas and loved it, but she couldn't really fully use it for two weeks. I thought she must've lost the cord on Christmas day, but I called Fisher Price and they said what she said: it didn't come with a cord.
So, it grew and it talked, but it didn't know who my child was, and it had no name yet. However, I found out what cord I needed for it from Fisher Price, then the product worked as described.
It was rather disappointing that it didn't work as described right out of the box, considering that it was supposed to be a 'Santa' gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 4 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

Cute Interactive Dog!

01/09/2008
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got Puppy Grows and Knows Your Name for our two year old daughter for Christmas. Even though the recommended ages were 3 and over, we thought Emily would enjoy this interactive dog because she loves her stuffed puppies. She seemed excited when she opened it up on Christmas morning, but didn't get attached to it very quickly because of it's hard mechanical body. My husband brought home a USB cable and we programmed it to know her name and we decided to name him Tobey. She found it funny that he kept saying her name. She likes me to brush him and she feeds him his bone when he asks. I'm not sure she is even realizing that he is acually growing each day. I think I read that he also knows a friends name and also favorite places to go, but the CD Rom only allowed us to program our daughter's name and a name for the dog. This is not a big deal, but worth mentioning. The dog's voice is also pretty weird. I'm wondering if the poodle dog has a girl's voice. I think that would be cuter. This is not a toy that my daughter will go and play with by herself, unless I play with her and even then, she gets bored with him very quickly. I think she would have enjoyed him more next year when she has more of an attention span. Overall, it's a very cute interactive dog for a child who loves animals. The Walmart low price is a great value. I have seen this dog elsewhere for much higher.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

What a GREAT toy!

01/05/2008
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OOOH my daughter LOVES this puppy! She is 5 and this was probably the best toy Santa brought her. I programmed the puppy before hand and it is soooo easy...even for someone who doesn't have a whole lot of computer exp. The USB cord you need is the cord that hooks to your printer from your comp(at least that is the cord we used) so we didn't have to buy one...but you can buy them at Walmart for under $10...it is worth it! Ours is fully grown now...and with every new growth "Champ" has new sayings that make her sound sooo real! And she uses the childs name often! Awesome toy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

Adorable and Entertaining

12/27/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I found this item, I thought that it was clever. Not too sure what my 5 yr old would think. Never fear... she is in love with this toy! It is adorable and entertaining. Today it gave her five "kisses" before she had to leave for the day. It grows every morning (for four days), sings, talks, wags its tail, and moves its head. She told me that she LOVES her Santa gift! Success! The only downside is that it requires a USB cord in order to select your child's name and the puppy's name. We still haven't had time to figure that all out... but, she loves it just the same!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 7 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

Good Puppy

01/08/2008
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Fischer Price Puppy Grows and Knows Your Name was a big hit with our 4 1/2 year old daughter. She loves that it knows and speaks her name. She also likes to see it grow once every day. It was a good substitute for the real dog she wanted. It was very easy to program with her name and the dog's name. We thought there should be more choices of dog names, or a way to enter whatever name she wanted. But, she ultimately chose a name that was on the list.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
0points
Review 8 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

disappointed

12/29/2007
By ,
Kansas City, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I expected this to be more interactive and softer to play with. It does say my daughters name and it does say it's name and it does grow. I just thought maybe you could interact with it more. Kind of more like a furby where you can tell it to do something and it does it. Even a walking mechanism would be nice. My little girl so badly wants it to take it for a walk. It would be nice too if they could find a way to make it softer to hug.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

expected more

04/17/2008
By ,
South Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I expected more for what I paid. It does grow and does say my sons name but my son has a limited speech and I couldnt even find the name Blue in the list of dog names. I also expected for $40 for the dog to bark or atleast walk instead my son is dragging the dog around when he takes it for its walk. I did like that it had fur and said my sons name but honestly I should have got the robotic dog that cost way less.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

Good but not great

01/01/2008
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was disappointed with this product. It is very mechanical and cold. The downloading of information was very easy and user friendly. I just thought that it would "do" more than it does. (I purchased a furreal kitty cat also and this dog cannot hold a candle to that product.) If I had it to do again, I probably wouldn't buy this. My granddaughter hasn't given it a second look.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

fun toy

01/14/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This toy is fun to play with. My daughter thinks its great that it grows! She sings along with the dog and really loves that it says her name during the song. She is very into animals and this was a good choice. It is very easy to program via the computer. I think the way the dog grows is pretty cool. Worth it! Even her older brother likes it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

A Very Fun Product

01/02/2008
By ,
Maryville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The puppy is so much fun to play with. It was purchased for a four year old; but the entire family was having fun with it. It is truly amazing how it grows. It is so soft and cuddly. I am sure my granddaughter will get many hours of play with it. It will also teach her how to interact with a real puppy. A great toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

Will Do.

01/06/2008
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item is nice. My daughter really loves it and thats what matters. But for the price I was expecting a little more. If you have a child that really wants it then get it. But make sure you have the right USB cable, it does not come with that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

Granddaughter just loves it !!!!!!

12/29/2007
By ,
Summerfield, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My four year old granddaughter simply loves this puppy. It does everything that is advertised. Walmarts price was ten dollars less that other retailers and the site to store option with free shipping was great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

Dull Dog

12/28/2007
By ,
St. Augustine, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product does not do enough for how it is priced. It grows every couple of days, so what! My girls have played w/ this toy once since they received it, and haven't touched it since. Don't waste your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 16 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

wonderful toy for child

03/15/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Child just loves toy. She has an absolute fascination with dogs and wants a real one but we cannot have one. She thinks it is the best thing in the world with it knowing her name. She couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

Cute pup!

12/28/2007
By ,
DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The kids love to interact with the dog. I wish it was a little softer but it is mechanical...The only problem we are having is my daughters name is not on the list of 3000 names! She is four.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever
01/01/2008
By ,
McVeytown, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Granddaughter loved the Puppy. It even had her name listed. The only thing that was not with the toy was the cord that goes from the computer to the dog but it was easy to program.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Review 19 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever

Great toy

03/23/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My child loves this toy. It is great fun to watch him grow and when he is fully grown, we just hit the reset button and have fun measuring his growth all over again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Fisher-Price Puppy Grows & Knows: Golden Retriever
12/26/2007
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item for my 4 years old son and he loves it. He has given the puppy a name and is amazed at how it grows. This was a real winner on christmas day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next