Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer PL-990 2-Speed Fully Automatic Turntable

Pioneer Pioneer PL-990 2-Speed Fully Automatic Turntable

Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation87%13 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pioneer PL-990 2-Speed Fully Automatic Turntable

You get what you pay for...

02/07/2009
By ,
Washington, D.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I paid $106.00 for this turntable. The one I bought 25 years ago that this was suppose to replace didn't come with a stillis. That cost me an extra 100 + dollars. The sound is so poor, I spun two LP's and put it right back in the box!!! You get what you pay for!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pioneer PL-990 2-Speed Fully Automatic Turntable

Great Value, Great Price!

12/28/2009
By ,
Holt, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son and daughter, who grew up listening to music on my turntable, now think turntables are "retro" and therefore, by default, the cool thing to have. Imagine my surprise when they both asked for a turntable for Christmas and any duplicate LP's I have (I own 10,000+ vinyl albums). I currently have a linear drive, programmable turntable by Pioneer made in the late '80's. It has been a workhorse. So, I searched the internet for turntables and found this new Pioneer PL-990. What I liked about it was the automatic feature which would start with the touch of a button and turn off at the end of the LP. The sound quality was extremely good for this price and it hooked up to the auxillary input on the amp perfectly. Best of all, the unit is very attractive and looks more high-end than it's price. It has a slim profile with smoked dust cover. My son played two LP's back-to-back as soon as he hooked it up. Shipping took three days! That was great! Now I have to keep the kids away from the rest of my prized LP collection...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pioneer PL-990 2-Speed Fully Automatic Turntable

Great turntable!

07/02/2009
By ,
Betsy Layne, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children bought me this turntable for Father's Day and I love it! It has easy one button play and shut's off by itself when I fall asleep listening to music. I've experienced no vibration, even when the volume is on high. Love the rubber mat because it protects my valuable LP's when playing them. It's a great final addition to my Pioneer Audio System, and the price can't be beat. I highly recommend this turntable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pioneer PL-990 2-Speed Fully Automatic Turntable

great cheap turntable

04/08/2008
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceeded expectations, Very decent phono cartridge, built in pre-amp is almost required nowadays. Old vinyl sounds new. Simple to set up and use. A GREAT VALUE !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pioneer PL-990 2-Speed Fully Automatic Turntable

Pioneer PL-990

12/17/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was expecting something I could use to record LP's to a CD Format. This didn't do it, but it allows me to listen to the LP's thru the receiver; and the quality is excellent for the price; so I kept it anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pioneer PL-990 2-Speed Fully Automatic Turntable

Pioneer Turntable PL-990

01/08/2009
By ,
Corbin, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent turntable. Spins vinyl all night with no problems. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pioneer PL-990 2-Speed Fully Automatic Turntable

Pioneer Turntable

01/27/2009
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this to convert some vinyl albums to digital with the assistance of Roxio Software and Audio Adapter I purchased from Sams Club (Great software as well). The turntable did an excellent job. As usual the Site-to-Store arrived well before promised. I'm growing to love this service, as my local Wal-Mart is just a couple of miles from me and the area is never busy. Sometimes there's a bit of a wait for help, but I simply show my ID, and pick up the merchandise that's already paid for. I would like the option to pay cash.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pioneer PL-990 2-Speed Fully Automatic Turntable

Good so far

04/07/2008
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had it for a few weeks, but it has met all of our needs so far. I'm not a fanatical audiophile, so I wasn't looking for the turntable to end all turntables. It's easy to use, looks good and has worked well so far. It doesn't have the quality of the old Dual turntable that it replaced, but then it doesn't cost anywhere near what that type of turntable would run these days.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pioneer PL-990 2-Speed Fully Automatic Turntable

good product

02/03/2009
By ,
FORT WAYNE IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good price ,good product, plays my lp's through my stereo home theatre very well
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pioneer PL-990 2-Speed Fully Automatic Turntable
01/31/2009
By ,
Millington,Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had return the item because it didn't play right.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pioneer PL-990 2-Speed Fully Automatic Turntable
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5