Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%13 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Game Changer

02/25/2014
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a lovely story! This book taught life lessons in a fast-paced beautiful story. You won't regret buying this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Reads like fiction

08/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A true story account that reads like a novel, Same Kind of Different as Me will move you to tears and challenge your faith. This first-person account of the relationship between a street-dweller and art-dealer turns prejudice and expectations on their heads. Too often, when we think we are ministering to the less-fortunate, it is they who are changing OUR lives and perspectives.
The authors' trials range from Ku Klux Klan-type abuse to marital despair, from street violence to a millionaire's discomfort during serving at a soup kitchen. Without a doubt, these twists and turns lead two men into a bewildering, unlikely friendship that changes their lives and prepares them for the most shocking event of their lives.
Though the book hinges on the lives of a few exceptional characters, the overwhelming presence of God permeates each vignette, constantly driving home His sovereignty in the divine choreography of our lives for His glory. The story sticks in my brain and makes me look for ways that God will not only use me in others' lives, but use others to make me want to follow even harder after Him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

awesome christian book

07/15/2009
By ,
Joplin MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best book ever!!! You will not be able to put it down!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Same kind of Different as Me

08/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book, while judging the cover would be a same old blah book, was a very good read.
Based on a true story and written in the style of telling your own story.....
A story of redemtion, love, understanding, compassion and faith in our great God. It pulls you in and won't let you put it down until you read the last paragraph.
I started the first chapter and got called away for a day, but it pulled me back. I could tell right away the general idea of the plot...if you can call it a plot. More like the general direction the story was taking me.
This story brings home the real life story of two very different men and their families, sometimes their lack of family, and the roads that lead them together.
Difficult in varied ways and coming from two differnt walks of life their lives took on a similarity just below the surface of the obvious differences.
This story makes the reader realize that even though we are different; in manner, lifestyle, upbringing, beliefs and morals we really are fundamentaly the same.
We all have hopes and dreams, wishes and fantasies, love and loss, grief and joy.
The line between haves and have nots is very fine sometimes and we all need to be there for one another as we would want someone to be there for us.
I highly recommend this book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Inspiring & great argument against discrimination

09/12/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing and inspirational book! I can't remember how I first learned of this book or where I purchased my copy, but since then, I have recommended this book to friends, relatives, complete strangers, and given two away as gifts (only because two was all my Walmart had at the time). I don't know how a person could read this book and ever be discriminatory again, for any reason, i.e., race, gender, or economic positions.
Highly recommended! This book is a tie with "To Kill a Mockingbird" for my alltime great reads.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

A good book and a good buy

01/21/2009
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WalMart had this book where others didn't, it cost less, and it got to me faster than other booksellers have gotten items to me. AND, it costs less for s&h than other sellers. All that adds up to value in my book.
As for the book itself, though I haven't yet completed it, it's interesting, well-written and thought provoking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Powerful Story

05/26/2011
By ,
Lafayette, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A precious and powerful book about the wonder of relationships when God is involved. I will forever be inspired by Debbie, Ron, and Denver. This is my fourth book. I have purchased them as gifts and a new copy for my husband and I. This book is simply beautiful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

A must read!

11/16/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great story! This book is for anyone who has ever encountered the homeless and been repulsed. It is also for those who want to help, but don't know how. Denver's story and Ron's true conversion is really amazing. We can all benefit from their examples.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together
12/10/2009
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Wonderful Book! After I read it, I bought 15 more and gave them to my friends and family for Christmas. I'll never forget the impact this book had on me after reading it. What a great story!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Beautiful book!

11/10/2008
By ,
Victoria,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a life-changing book. We've given two as gifts and placed one in our church library in memory of my mother. It came highly recommended by several friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Wonderful Book!

01/04/2009
By ,
Fort Worth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is truly inspirational. Once you start to read it, you won't be able to put it down until you are finished. It will challenge you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Great book!

06/08/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well written.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5