Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Wake up with America's Original Coffeemaker. From the scent of a fresh brewed pot of coffee to the flavor you get from your cup, Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12 knows how important your morning ritual is. Mr. Coffee machine is committed to brew a full-flavored cup of coffee you desire. This machine has a pause n' serve feature that helps you to pour a cup of coffee while the coffee is still brewing. The glass flask has a measuring scale, while the water windows enable you to use the right measure of water for refilling. This Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12 comes handy when you have guests coming in a large group. The off/on indicator will keep you informed about the status.
Average Customer Rating:
4.052 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(366 Reviews) 301
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
207
4 stars
76
3 stars
23
2 stars
15
1 star
45
Customer Recommendation81%294 out of 365reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
207
4 stars
76
3 stars
23
2 stars
15
1 star
45
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Great product for the price

12/03/2012
By ,
Winslow, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted something simple and easy to use and this is exactly that. It's makes great coffee with only an off and on switch to contend with. You will love the decanter because it has a spout that never drips when you pour because of it's unique design. An overall easy to use coffee maker at a great price for a good cup of coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Water spout not designed correctly causing grounds

03/11/2012
By ,
TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was looking for a basic coffe maker and purchased this one. But atleast 7 out of 10 times there are coffee grounds in the coffee pot. Above the filter basket is the spout that pumps the hot water over the coffee grounds to make the coffee. It rotates so you can get the filter basket out. But when it is rotated over the filter basket it is not centered over the basket. It is designed too short, thus leaving it close to the edge of the filter. And the water will catch the edge of the filter and collapse it causing coffee grounds to run over. I even made sure the spout was rotated fully and it still collapses the filter running grounds into the coffee pot.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
michigan
stretchmark
Posted 08/18/2014
I have had the same problem, I use "junior size filters, they have shorter sides and work great, also make sure the carafe is properly seated on the hot plate to fully depress the valve on the filter basket, I'm sure yours will work great, I get the filters at the grocery store,
stretch
0points
Customer Avatar
Lebanon, MO
Solution to your problem
Posted 04/24/2014
There are 2 things you can do. Prior to inserting the paper filter, rinse the basket with water and the filter will stick to the edges. Be sure it's a filter for a 12 cup coffee maker. The second thing you can do is purchase a water filter for the basket. It costs around $6 and has replaceable filters. The water filter fits into the top of the basket and keeps the paper filter in place. We do both of these things and have never had grounds in our coffee pot again. To us, this is still the best coffee make on the market.
+1point
Customer Avatar
NJ
Posted 02/19/2014
Then you are doing something wrong. You are letting the filter paper fold over or not using the proper filter. It is not the maker. This is the original Mr. coffee and actually I consider the best one they made.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

very good, basic,at a reasonable price

02/03/2014
By ,
pittsburgh pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This makes the perfect cup of coffee, I tried others and they just don't work as well as this one. keep it clean. Don't leave it on all day. Let the pot cool before washing and should last a long time. Its better to make two half pots than one full pot, your coffee will taste better.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+24points
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Coffee Maker Cracked

03/06/2013
By ,
towson, MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This coffee maker lasted three months of me using it. One morning I started brewing coffee and I heard a crack from my kitchen. The bottom of this coffee pot cracked. After only a few months I was disappointed to see this product break.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NJ
Posted 02/19/2014
You heard a crack because the pot was cracked already and you put it on the hot plate and it snapped. OR you washed it with cold water and placed it on the element when the hot plate was on for a while.
+1point
Customer Avatar
palatine
sounds normal
Posted 11/18/2013
Ive done this before on accident. If you get the pot ice cold from cold water filling the tank then immediately brew it, the pot will crack from thermal expansion. Ive done this at work on accident as well in a hurry. when two extreme temperatures meet things crack. metal, plastic, and yes glass^_^
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

They fixed some problems

07/19/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to use Braun, but they stopped making 110v coffee makers (only make 220v now). So I switched to Mr Coffee, I bought one with a clock / brew timer, and one with just an On/Off switch. Both previous Mr Coffee had the same four issues:
1. Carafe would drip/spill when you poured the first few cups of coffee (i.e. when it was full).
2. Pause 'N Serve would drip a few drops of coffee onto the hot plate whenever it was used.
3. Water would always be under the filter basket when you lifted it out to refill it for the next cycle.
4. Braun lasted five years, each Mr Coffee lasted under two years. I make a lot of coffee (two pots per day). A thermal fuse blew on the first unit. The second unit clogged, but I should have cleaned it with vinegar more often.
This model is slightly different in appearance (i.e. on my other models, the grey in the front went all the way to the bottom of the Coffee Maker). I was surprised (and pleased) to find the first three issues have been fixed. Time will tell if longevity has been improved.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Problem Solved with pot leaking!!

01/05/2012
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this coffee maker about 6 weeks ago, after our 2nd Hamilton Beach "dispense a cup" coffee maker started leaking all over the counter. Wanted something inexpensive that did the job, no fancy bells or whistles. This coffee maker fit the description and the budget! You put the water in, you put the coffee grounds in and you get great tasting coffee!! We grind our own beans at home before each pot. SOLVED: POT LEAKS WHEN POURING COFFEE - there is a ridge on the inside of the lid of the pot. I think its there to ensure the coffee comes down from brew basket and into the pot without leaking. It also can cause coffee to "leak" out the edges of the pour spout when pouring a cup of coffee when the pot is full. SOLUTION: use your thumb to press the lid up slightly when pouring a cup of coffee, PROBLEM SOLVED!!!!! no more leaks when pouring a cup of coffee!! It took me a couple of uses before figuring this out!! As other reviews stated it can make a mess, but now that I figured this out, not one problem!!! I love this coffee maker and I'm happy I didn't spend a fortune on it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

SIMPLE POT GOOD VALUE

01/17/2011
By ,
Breinigsvill, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this 2 years. I bought it to replace another MR. COFFEE that I had 20 years. The previous maker still worked, but I could no longer find a replacement carafe for it. I've had a few other coffee makers before this, nothing has lasted that long. I stayed with MR. COFFEE because of it's durability. I only gave this one 2 stars on features because it's a basic pot with no features. It has an on/off switch and that's all I need.
I recommend the water filter to go with if you have hard water. This seems to make a difference as the coffee is smother due to filtering the water.
I don't have the problems others have listed. No grounds in the pot, no water on the counter. Don't try to pour the pot too fast, make sure the grounds are even in the filter before you start brewing.
MR COFFEE has always worked well for me over years with no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+48points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NJ
Posted 02/19/2014
EXACTLY You are correct. Simple ON OFF coffee maker mine is 15 years old. I purchased a new one and put it away because this one will quit one day.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Basic Bottom of the Line

07/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This coffeemaker does just that: makes decent coffee. For the price, it is a good deal with nothing complicated to malfunction.
That said, there are two drawbacks to this model. The carafe has a stated 12 cup capacity. There are two mystery holes in the back wall of the water reservoir (perhaps for evaporation post brew)? If you attempt to brew the full 12 cups as measured on the carafe, water spills out the holes and down the back of the machine. Additionally, the yield of brewed coffee in the carafe is not 12 but 10/11 cups.
After covering the holes with duct tape and filling the water tank to 12 cup capacity, it works just fine.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12
02/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm amused by some of the reviews for this $17.00 Mr Coffee. The one I have now has lasted for over 10 years in daily use. It finally gave up and I need a new one which will be replaced by the very same model. Coffe spills when pouring? Put the carafe lip over the rim of the cup. Can't get that instant cup before it's done brewing without dripping? When rinsing the filter basket push the plunger up and release a few times. Grounds in your coffee? Try making a bit less than 10 cups at once and make sure your filter is at the edges of the basket. Won't stay hot? Sometimes ya' win some, sometime ya' lose some. Mine overheated if left on too long. I rarely made over 6 cups at a time so that was rarely a problem. Won't stay hot enough? You have a microwave oven, don't you?
If you think you will do better with a $50.00 coffee maker, good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Good till the last drop

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent coffee pot. I have a white one and a black one. I make coffee in one and tea in the other. It makes the best coffee and tea. I would recommend them to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Hot brown water

11/04/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We had an old Mr.Coffee with NO bells and whistles...it made the best coffee for at least 12 years before it quit working and we needed a new one . I buy organic beans and grind them fresh and I pour off the first 4 cups of coffee for the richest and most delicious coffee . So when choosing a new coffee pot I looked for the same no frills Mr. Coffee . This new one makes hot brown water !! The water runs through the grounds so fast that it cannot pick up the good coffee flavor ....I was so disappointed . I experimented with it for a week ...packing the grounds etc. ...but still only hot brown water . I realize now that good coffee is all about how the water drips through the grounds .... wish it was easy to find a good coffee maker. I am still looking .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

champ so far

10/27/2009
By ,
vancouver wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is so inexpensive I still do not believe it works so well and looks so good. But it is used daily (more than once!) and makes excellent coffee, quickly, easily, amd neatly. The only drawbacks so far: as said it is so inexpensive I amost expect it to fail or engage in some other unpleasant behavior, BUT IT WON'T! It just WORKS!
Walmart's lawyers must have gotten at the design team - it has severral idiot-proofing features, which I find to be annoying in principle, although so far none of them has proven annoying in any other way. It has a short cord (as does any other newer kitchen appliance) - but it also has a cord storage compartment, which is kinda neat; the basket has a valve under it, it will not drain without the caraffe under it (but you can pause it and pour from the caraffe); and the water resevior has some holes in the back, above the maximum fill level, so it is impossible to over-fill it (and thus one can't overflow the caraffe).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Works as expected.

07/31/2014
By ,
Independence, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Take turns on brands

12/21/2013
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What I have figured out thru the years is all drip coffee makers last for about one year. Doesn't matter if you pay $200 or $20 for one it goes bad in one year. I have owned ALL brands, I use it once a day, everyday making a full pot of coffee. My former one was the Black and Decker and I had a date on it of 2-1-13 and it went bad where it didn't give me hot coffee, lukewarm at best. So I just take turns on brands this time Mr Coffee, its the least expensive one, don't need the fancy clock or timer and I expect this one to last for about a year. To me cheaper is better, won't feel as bad when a more expensive coffee maker wears out quickly. Not excited about the Mr Coffee, it does the job, makes coffee, don't expect anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Doesn't last.

02/17/2010
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted a cheap, reliable, no-frills coffee maker, with the idea that the fewer bells and whistles, the less to go wrong. However, this coffee maker failed after only a few months - it stopped heating water. There's not much to it, so I took it apart to see what was wrong. One of the thermal fuses in the heating element circuit had failed. I replaced it with an identical fuse from Radio Shack - that got me another month. Don't waste your time or mony on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ithaca
Cleaned with vinegar, but makes only 1 c. coffee
Posted 10/22/2013
If you wonder if something can be too cheap........Ran vinegar through my coffee maker (6 c. vinegar, 6 c. water), then ran two complete pots of water through it. It still makes 1 c. coffee, even when you put 10 c. water in it----where does the water go???????????????????
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

This is the pot!! Halelujah!!

10/27/2009
By ,
Baltimore, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I'm sitting here holding my favorite coffee cup filled with freshly brewed coffee from my new pot. Yes, I've only owned it about an hour but I feel compelled to share my experience.
I must admit that I read each review, both for and against this pot, before actually owning it. I was wary of the posts that said the countertops were covered with water after making a pot or that the pot was filled with grounds, etc., so I paid close attention to each complaint as I ran a full 12 cup pot of water through to test so that I could still return it if it didn't work.
I put the water exactly at the 12 cup line and when it was done percolating, it was EXACTLY at the 12 cup line on the pot again. Very cool! My last pot lost a few cups in the translation which was very irritating. Not this one!
I love the basket and how it is flat. I love the arm that swings over the basket when ready to brew and slides back out of place when ready to empty the grounds. I know I won't be seeing grounds escaping the filter any more! (I never did understand those cone shaped filters)
I am perfectly happy with a pot that has no bells and whistles. I had a pot for years that could program the time to auto make a pot and never used it once so if you are like me, this will suit you just fine. I don't need it to auto turn off after 2 hours (a feature not on this machine) since I shut it down when the pot is done dripping. I can reheat the coffee in the microwave!
Mmmm. I'm going to start buying decaf so I can drink coffee and brew all day long after the initial pot to wake me up.
Thank you, Mr. Coffee!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+129points
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Water disappears?....weird...

07/21/2014
By ,
Caldwell Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm not a heavy coffee drinker (maybe 4 out of 7 days week) It does the job well enough. If you put 6 cups of water in, for some reason you only get back 4.5 brewed....since I put in the same amount of coffee grounds, I have had to adjust the water. Doesn't make any noises like my old Mr. Coffee. But also, it doesn't make the aroma of brewing coffee like my old one did...I love the smell of coffee brewing, but that's OK....Easy to clean....Not bad for the money spent. Last Mr. Coffee, lasted me about 20 years....we shall see how long this one lasts.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Mr. Coffee is dependable

06/09/2010
By ,
Vacaville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We're both retired and don't need the auto brew feature. Mr. Coffee product has always been our choice of coffee makers, for looks and dependability. This coffee maker is so reasonably priced we bought two of them to have on hand when our other one stops working. Grandnana2
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+77points
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Does the work

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It turns on to heat water/brew coffee.
Shut it off afterwards. Simple. On /Off, as it should be.
Suggest a metal/permanent filter to save $$.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

reliable

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic coffee pot but makes great coffee. No frills but easy to brew!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
1-20 of 300 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next