Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Wake up with America's Original Coffeemaker. From the scent of a fresh brewed pot of coffee to the flavor you get from your cup, Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12 knows how important your morning ritual is. Mr. Coffee machine is committed to brew a full-flavored cup of coffee you desire. This machine has a pause n' serve feature that helps you to pour a cup of coffee while the coffee is still brewing. The glass flask has a measuring scale, while the water windows enable you to use the right measure of water for refilling. This Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12 comes handy when you have guests coming in a large group. The off/on indicator will keep you informed about the status.
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(319 Reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
65
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
40
Customer Recommendation80%255 out of 318reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 273 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
65
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
40
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

This is the pot!! Halelujah!!

10/27/2009
By ,
Baltimore, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I'm sitting here holding my favorite coffee cup filled with freshly brewed coffee from my new pot. Yes, I've only owned it about an hour but I feel compelled to share my experience.
I must admit that I read each review, both for and against this pot, before actually owning it. I was wary of the posts that said the countertops were covered with water after making a pot or that the pot was filled with grounds, etc., so I paid close attention to each complaint as I ran a full 12 cup pot of water through to test so that I could still return it if it didn't work.
I put the water exactly at the 12 cup line and when it was done percolating, it was EXACTLY at the 12 cup line on the pot again. Very cool! My last pot lost a few cups in the translation which was very irritating. Not this one!
I love the basket and how it is flat. I love the arm that swings over the basket when ready to brew and slides back out of place when ready to empty the grounds. I know I won't be seeing grounds escaping the filter any more! (I never did understand those cone shaped filters)
I am perfectly happy with a pot that has no bells and whistles. I had a pot for years that could program the time to auto make a pot and never used it once so if you are like me, this will suit you just fine. I don't need it to auto turn off after 2 hours (a feature not on this machine) since I shut it down when the pot is done dripping. I can reheat the coffee in the microwave!
Mmmm. I'm going to start buying decaf so I can drink coffee and brew all day long after the initial pot to wake me up.
Thank you, Mr. Coffee!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+127points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

very good, basic,at a reasonable price

02/03/2014
By ,
pittsburgh pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This makes the perfect cup of coffee, I tried others and they just don't work as well as this one. keep it clean. Don't leave it on all day. Let the pot cool before washing and should last a long time. Its better to make two half pots than one full pot, your coffee will taste better.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Water spout not designed correctly causing grounds

03/11/2012
By ,
TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was looking for a basic coffe maker and purchased this one. But atleast 7 out of 10 times there are coffee grounds in the coffee pot. Above the filter basket is the spout that pumps the hot water over the coffee grounds to make the coffee. It rotates so you can get the filter basket out. But when it is rotated over the filter basket it is not centered over the basket. It is designed too short, thus leaving it close to the edge of the filter. And the water will catch the edge of the filter and collapse it causing coffee grounds to run over. I even made sure the spout was rotated fully and it still collapses the filter running grounds into the coffee pot.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NJ
Posted 02/19/2014
Then you are doing something wrong. You are letting the filter paper fold over or not using the proper filter. It is not the maker. This is the original Mr. coffee and actually I consider the best one they made.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Coffee Maker Cracked

03/06/2013
By ,
towson, MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This coffee maker lasted three months of me using it. One morning I started brewing coffee and I heard a crack from my kitchen. The bottom of this coffee pot cracked. After only a few months I was disappointed to see this product break.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NJ
Posted 02/19/2014
You heard a crack because the pot was cracked already and you put it on the hot plate and it snapped. OR you washed it with cold water and placed it on the element when the hot plate was on for a while.
0points
Customer Avatar
palatine
sounds normal
Posted 11/18/2013
Ive done this before on accident. If you get the pot ice cold from cold water filling the tank then immediately brew it, the pot will crack from thermal expansion. Ive done this at work on accident as well in a hurry. when two extreme temperatures meet things crack. metal, plastic, and yes glass^_^
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Problem Solved with pot leaking!!

01/05/2012
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this coffee maker about 6 weeks ago, after our 2nd Hamilton Beach "dispense a cup" coffee maker started leaking all over the counter. Wanted something inexpensive that did the job, no fancy bells or whistles. This coffee maker fit the description and the budget! You put the water in, you put the coffee grounds in and you get great tasting coffee!! We grind our own beans at home before each pot. SOLVED: POT LEAKS WHEN POURING COFFEE - there is a ridge on the inside of the lid of the pot. I think its there to ensure the coffee comes down from brew basket and into the pot without leaking. It also can cause coffee to "leak" out the edges of the pour spout when pouring a cup of coffee when the pot is full. SOLUTION: use your thumb to press the lid up slightly when pouring a cup of coffee, PROBLEM SOLVED!!!!! no more leaks when pouring a cup of coffee!! It took me a couple of uses before figuring this out!! As other reviews stated it can make a mess, but now that I figured this out, not one problem!!! I love this coffee maker and I'm happy I didn't spend a fortune on it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Hot brown water

11/04/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We had an old Mr.Coffee with NO bells and whistles...it made the best coffee for at least 12 years before it quit working and we needed a new one . I buy organic beans and grind them fresh and I pour off the first 4 cups of coffee for the richest and most delicious coffee . So when choosing a new coffee pot I looked for the same no frills Mr. Coffee . This new one makes hot brown water !! The water runs through the grounds so fast that it cannot pick up the good coffee flavor ....I was so disappointed . I experimented with it for a week ...packing the grounds etc. ...but still only hot brown water . I realize now that good coffee is all about how the water drips through the grounds .... wish it was easy to find a good coffee maker. I am still looking .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Take turns on brands

12/21/2013
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What I have figured out thru the years is all drip coffee makers last for about one year. Doesn't matter if you pay $200 or $20 for one it goes bad in one year. I have owned ALL brands, I use it once a day, everyday making a full pot of coffee. My former one was the Black and Decker and I had a date on it of 2-1-13 and it went bad where it didn't give me hot coffee, lukewarm at best. So I just take turns on brands this time Mr Coffee, its the least expensive one, don't need the fancy clock or timer and I expect this one to last for about a year. To me cheaper is better, won't feel as bad when a more expensive coffee maker wears out quickly. Not excited about the Mr Coffee, it does the job, makes coffee, don't expect anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

SIMPLE POT GOOD VALUE

01/17/2011
By ,
Breinigsvill, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this 2 years. I bought it to replace another MR. COFFEE that I had 20 years. The previous maker still worked, but I could no longer find a replacement carafe for it. I've had a few other coffee makers before this, nothing has lasted that long. I stayed with MR. COFFEE because of it's durability. I only gave this one 2 stars on features because it's a basic pot with no features. It has an on/off switch and that's all I need.
I recommend the water filter to go with if you have hard water. This seems to make a difference as the coffee is smother due to filtering the water.
I don't have the problems others have listed. No grounds in the pot, no water on the counter. Don't try to pour the pot too fast, make sure the grounds are even in the filter before you start brewing.
MR COFFEE has always worked well for me over years with no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NJ
Posted 02/19/2014
EXACTLY You are correct. Simple ON OFF coffee maker mine is 15 years old. I purchased a new one and put it away because this one will quit one day.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Good deal.

01/13/2014
By ,
Tarzana, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Attractive and small enough for tight counter. Heats quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Very simple

04/17/2014
By ,
coastal town
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The simplicity of this coffee maker is perfect for me. I live at the beach and wanted something that would not develop mold in the corners of the water tank. This tank has no sharp corners and just lifting the lid when done allows the tank to dry. I have not had to clean the crevasses of the tank which was a hassle. The only draw back is the coffee maker does not turn itself off after two hours so you have to remember to shut it off before you leave for the day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12
02/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm amused by some of the reviews for this $17.00 Mr Coffee. The one I have now has lasted for over 10 years in daily use. It finally gave up and I need a new one which will be replaced by the very same model. Coffe spills when pouring? Put the carafe lip over the rim of the cup. Can't get that instant cup before it's done brewing without dripping? When rinsing the filter basket push the plunger up and release a few times. Grounds in your coffee? Try making a bit less than 10 cups at once and make sure your filter is at the edges of the basket. Won't stay hot? Sometimes ya' win some, sometime ya' lose some. Mine overheated if left on too long. I rarely made over 6 cups at a time so that was rarely a problem. Won't stay hot enough? You have a microwave oven, don't you?
If you think you will do better with a $50.00 coffee maker, good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Just what I needed.

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is exactly what I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

fantastic coffee maker!!!

09/22/2013
By ,
southern arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought the black one and it's very easy to use, just one button you gotta worry about [on/off switch]. also, you're able to enjoy a cup of coffee and it'll keep brewing. even if it isn't finished, it'll pause until the pot is back in it's place!! i recommend flushing out with a full pot of water for the 1st time use and after that, drink away!! ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

broke right out the box

04/01/2014
By ,
Sacramento
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As soon as I tried to lift the lid to wash the coffee pot the hinge snapped. Im sure it was a one time flaw but I took it back to the closest Walmart and returned it and it was on sale $13 _ $6 cheaper than when I bought it. Got a black and Decker coffee pot with clock and auto brew for same price
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Doesn't last.

02/17/2010
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted a cheap, reliable, no-frills coffee maker, with the idea that the fewer bells and whistles, the less to go wrong. However, this coffee maker failed after only a few months - it stopped heating water. There's not much to it, so I took it apart to see what was wrong. One of the thermal fuses in the heating element circuit had failed. I replaced it with an identical fuse from Radio Shack - that got me another month. Don't waste your time or mony on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ithaca
Cleaned with vinegar, but makes only 1 c. coffee
Posted 10/22/2013
If you wonder if something can be too cheap........Ran vinegar through my coffee maker (6 c. vinegar, 6 c. water), then ran two complete pots of water through it. It still makes 1 c. coffee, even when you put 10 c. water in it----where does the water go???????????????????
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Mr. Coffee is dependable

06/09/2010
By ,
Vacaville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We're both retired and don't need the auto brew feature. Mr. Coffee product has always been our choice of coffee makers, for looks and dependability. This coffee maker is so reasonably priced we bought two of them to have on hand when our other one stops working. Grandnana2
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Good Office Coffee Maker

03/20/2009
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee maker has only one button, ON/OFF. It has no other bells and whistles but does what it is supposed to do and that is make coffee. A great coffee maker if you don't want to spend a fortune but want something that get's the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+224points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Great job, awesome coffee.

03/29/2014
By ,
Port Saint Joe, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, I don't like the two holes in the top of the tank in the back of the coffee maker, however it is an exceptional machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

thumbs up

01/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the inexpensive model of Mr. Coffee, 12 cup coffee maker. I've been very pleased with it. It is very easy to clean, the grounds basket removes very easily, too. It makes very good coffee, and it gets plenty hot! I've had no problems with leaking water, coffee grounds in the coffee, spillage when pouring, etc. that some others have mentioned. The only fault I find is that it does not have the automatic shut-off after 2 hrs feature --but that's a simple thing. I would give this coffee maker a big thumbs up! I recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Switch Coffee Maker, CG12

Good basic coffee maker

12/12/2013
By ,
Brandon FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a replacement for a same model - I made a mistake in not using filtered water & de liming it often enough - we have very minerally water here in Tampa area. My "old" one only lasted a couple of years, for under $20 I can't complain. This is a good basic coffee maker. No bells or whistles, just add water ground coffee turn on & it brews. I have had none of the pouring problems some have described. It has the pour a cup while brewing feature & I have had no problems with it - just be sure when rinsing the basket out to push the button up & rinse it. We get a good pot of coffee every morning - Love this coffee maker. And the price is right
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 255 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next