Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

Oster Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

The Oster 4722 6-Cup Rice Cooker will make a useful addition to any busy kitchen. Use it for anything from sticky white rice for sushi rolls to brown rice for a spicy Mexican dish. Simply add a measured amount of rice and water to the nonstick inner pot, secure the lid, and turn the unit on. Once fully cooked, the appliance automatically switches over to keep-warm mode, which keeps food at an ideal serving temperature without overcooking. It features a tempered glass lid that allows you to keep monitor your recipes without having to open a lid each time. Find an aluminum steaming tray, a rice paddle, and a measuring cup included along with this steaming rice cooker. This stylish rice cooker is compact and consumes less space on your kitchen countertop.
Average Customer Rating:
4.104 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(154 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
41
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation83%127 out of 153reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
41
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

LOVE this rice cooker!

08/08/2007
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to try this one, because it's super cheap and cute too. This is my first rice cooker, and I have to say I really, really love it. I am using it to cook rice, quinoa, steel cut oat groats, and various types of beans. It works great! I haven't used the veggie steamer as of yet. The review below states you can't feed more than 3 people with a full pot of rice. That family must be some serious rice eaters, because a full pot is around 10 cups of rice. I cook a full pot and store my food in the fridge for easy re-heating. And, true, there is no place to hang the rice paddle (wah!) but I just stick the handle of the rice paddle under the handle of the lid. My only complaints, if you'd call them that, is that I use more water than it calls for in the booklet. (I use a 2:1 ratio on my rice, maybe a little more.) Also, the veg steamer is a little bit small. You could probably squeeze two nice portions out of it, maybe three. But if this is no big deal for you, then I definitely suggest you try this rice cooker!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Jersey
Question for the person who wrote this review
Posted 10/05/2011
I just bought this rice cooker and I see that you said you cook Quinoa and steel cut oats in this cooker...could you please tell me how I cook those two things in this cooker. I want to cook them too. Thank you very much
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

Awesome Product

07/26/2010
By ,
Kokomo, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes perfect rice every time. Even if I could make perfect rice on my own, which I can't, this would still save me time and the trouble. Literally you put the rice & water in, turn it on, and leave it. If you stir it 15 mins into the cook time you can avoid rice sticking to the bottom, but I don't bother to. Only a small amount sticks and it comes off very easy with water.
For the record, with cooking rice the "old-fashioned" way, I always had trouble when cooking small amounts of rice. But this rice cooker cooks 1/4 cup of uncooked rice just fine. Usually I cook 1/2 cup for myself, just because I love rice. For "normal" portion sizes 1/4 cup is usually enough, though.
If you have a family of 4, I know the rice cooker can handle at least 2 cups (1/2 cup per person) uncooked rice as well and work just fine. So because it's aesthetically nice looking and takes up little counter space, I would recommend getting this even for a family of 4. I have not tried to cook the max 3 cups though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

Top-notch rice cooker!

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cook brown rice perfectly, just add extra water. Add fresh mushrooms and seasoning for a great side dish. Worry free cooking! You can create unique rices and side dishes while the unit cooks and auto-switches to the "keep warm" until serving time. Shipping was free for picking up at the store.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

Excellent product for the money

04/17/2008
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Oster Rice/Steamer cooker was purchased as a gift to some one that had started on a diet. Rice is part of the diet with of course steamed veggies. She reported to me how easy it was to use & she's not a veteran of kitchen applicances. Her food and the smaller portion met her needs perfectly. She said that she was going to recommend it to her friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

Taking a chance...

08/23/2007
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm very disappointed with this product. Yes, the purchase price is great, but after shipping, it's the same price or more than others offered.
It is extremely cute, don't get me wrong, and for a single person, it's probably just perfect. But the capacity is misleading. You would expect it to hold 80 fluid ounces with a 10 cup capacity, right? Nope. They mean 10 of the 5oz. cups that you measure rice with - you can put in 3 of those and the water to cook it in, that's all. And the "steamer basket"? not like the little insert that goes in the bottom of others to hold your veggies out of the water, this is a 1.5" deep basket that holds maybe 2 handfuls of baby carrots. Again, maybe for a single person or college student, but my fiance and I mow through the rice really fast and there's not enough room for veggies for both of us...
Oh, and the fuse on mine broke after only a month. So it's useless. By the time I package it (if I can find all of the packaging, register for the warranty, and send it back, it'll take too long and not be worth the wait for a cooker I wasn't that psyched about to start with.
I'll probably go purchase the $19.96 plain ol' black and decker one from the store if they ever have one back in stock. That way at least I can return it if it doesn't work without spending over $20 in shipping both ways.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

A cute product

07/31/2007
By ,
Walla Walla, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is easy to use like other rice cooker I've used before. It has an additional item which is a steamer. However it is a bit too small ... smaller than what I expected from the photo that I saw on the website. It also doesn't have a place to hang the rice paddle. Overall, it is a good cooker to cook for 4-5 people. But if your main food is rice, it can only feed 3 people the most per cooking. I love the color, look & cuteness, plus it's easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

Great!!!

11/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
love how it cooks... perfect size...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

The Tiny Helper

11/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Must watch the measurements of the cup that came enclosed. Instructions could be clearer on the recipe, first attempt not so pleased. Tried again and was more successful, I'm counting on the 3rd try a charm. Can't imagine how 6 cups cooked would fit but sure 5 is safe. Over all for up to serving 4 people well worth it. Clean up is a snap.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

Perfect size for our daily needs.

05/31/2011
By ,
Lynnwood, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent choice for those that enjoy rice and steamed vegitables, cooked to perfection. The variety this unit provides is endless. Easy set-up and use, wonderful texture and flavor results. A snap to clean, as surface is treated for maximun convenience with minimal fussing afterwords. One minor issue is the stowage factor; the very necessary (metric) measuring cup and rice paddle create a major neusance when storing; these two items do not fit or nest inside the steamer basket. As such, it's an effort to store and then relocate the accesories when needed. I can shorten the paddle handle, though the cup remains a challange. Perhaps the next edition will include a redesigned measuring vessle? A wonderful unit, and I have referred others. Quite the pleasure to have and use daily. Thank you Walmart for this item!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

good rice cooker

08/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this product for less than a week. So we got this cause we had so much cooking rice and every time I tried to cook it normally. Well let me say I failed at this. The only thing I do not like is the bottom of the rice gets hard and crunchy. Other than that I am enjoying it. So Far.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

CUTE & CONVENIENT

07/03/2010
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this particular rice cooker for it's size and appearance. With just my husband and I, the three cup capacity is just perfect and, I love the cute shape and color. I actually purchased it to cook steel cut oats which, cooked traditionally, take about thiry minutes for breakfast. For this purpose, I use my rice cooker like a crock pot. Before bed time, I place my oats in the cooker; pour boiling water over them; set the temperature to the warm setting; put the cover on and leave it over night. In the morning? Perfect oats! Yumm!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

Great for the price and I love the red color.

04/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The rice cooker is great for the price. I chose it because it was within my price range and it was red. Performance is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

Really a good rice cooker

09/08/2014
By ,
goldsboro, n.c.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cooks rice with out rice sticking and all the rice is fluffy all the way to the bottom .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

It OK, but....

08/31/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My husband and I received this as a wedding gift and we loved it at first. The red color was cool and it was perfect for the two of us. We used it almost on a daily basis for 1 year and took good care of it. All of a sudden one random day, it stopped working for no apparent reason. SO although it worked great at first, I think in the long run it's best to invest in something of a little better quality. But I guess you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DC
What you paid for
Posted 06/25/2014
Well since it was a wedding gift, you paid nothing. So if you lamented the guests didn't spend enough for a better one, at least you didn't lose anything.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

excellent customer service

10/07/2011
By ,
phililadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice!!!!!! cook really in 15 min. I love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

Looking 4 Steamer Advice

07/17/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Makes good rice, was somewhat easy, BUT the center round part in the base unit is on a spring and there seems to be no way to seed it back into its correct position, which means the removable pot flops around in the base. Is this normal? I've only used it once, not sure whether to use it again because it states in direction to be sure the removable part is secure. Any suggestions?
These were all marked down in what appeared to be a clearance section I'm wondering if this may be the reason why.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

Serves its purpose.

09/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product definitely serves its purpose. The rice cooks thoroughly and in a reasonable amount of time. I was glad to simple tap the button and proceed with the rest of my dinner preparations. My only qualm with this product is that it states it is "6 cup" capable. In actuality, you measure in 3 cups, which expand. Do NOT expect to place 6 dry cups of rice in it - it is not of that capability.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

Awesome Rice cooker

09/29/2011
By ,
Abilene Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I been looking for a small rice cookie and was surprise when I saw that they had one on this site, The one I had before was large and it lasted through 5 kids now that it is only my husband and I we don't need a large one and I was really happy to get this one as it cooks just the right amount for us and never no waste, It has a stream basket and I put my veggie in as the rice cooked and it turn out to be a wonderful meals, Thanks Wal-mart great site to order from,
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722

versatile pot.

07/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cooks rice quick and practical.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster 6-Cup Rice Cooker and Steamer 4722
07/03/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use and cooks any kind of rice. It does tend to slightly over cook the rice if you let it run to completion. A little sticks to the bottom, so you can just throw that away or do like I do and turn it off when I see the water isn't bubbling any more, then let it sit for 5 minutes. Comes out perfect then. You get what you pay for, I'm not willing to spend $100 to get the perfect rice cooker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next