Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunpentown Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Sunpentown Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Stay cool and breathe fresh air with this powerful and portable Sunpentown WA-1220E Air Conditioner. This attractive portable unit effectively improves air circulation while it's cooling you and your environment. Cooling a space up to 400 sq ft, this 12,000-BTU Air Conditioner is a workhorse that's compact enough to take with you to a stuffy office, vacation cabin, anywhere! Using innovative self-evaporating technology, it dehumidifies as it cools the air, making your space even more comfortable. Other features of the Sunpentown WA-1220E Air Conditioner include a digital temperature display, two fan speeds, an activated carbon filter for odor removal and a fire-resistant PVC plastic housing. The environmentally-conscious 12,000-BTU portable air conditioner uses less than 1,000 watts of power and boasts the EPA's coveted High Efficiency seal.
Average Customer Rating:
3.765 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation79%54 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 62 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Works Awesome

12/01/2008
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great AC unit. The window kit is flimsy though. We ordered an upgraded hard plastic window kit. (Kind of pricey.) But was well worth it.
We also used "Bill Me Later" and "Site To Store" which I highly recomend for big ticket items.
Buy this unit, you will be glad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

great purchase!

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never heard of the brand before so i was a little hesitant but it has kept 3 large rooms very comfortable. Affordable and exceeds expectations. Would highly recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Gets the job done

07/30/2014
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit has an awesome install kit including an expandable fiberglass window exhaust kit. My window was smaller (15 ¾”) than the kit supplied, but it was easily modified with the table saw. Cools my living and kitchen fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Does the job

09/20/2013
By ,
Long Beach, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading many reviews, I decided to buy this model. It was delivered in just a couple of days. The instruction manual that came with the unit was for a different model. I was able to email the company directly and they sent me a pdf file with the correct info. The set up, even with the wrong instructions, was fairly user friendly. My only two frustrations are the noise - too loud to talk on the phone or watch TV in the same room and the other is that it does not cool off my tiny 400 SF apartment well. If I close off a few doors and use a couple of ocillating fans, then the temp is cool enough and at least the air is dryer. I used some of the white foam cushioning boards to help seal up the window along with the panel provided for venting. The unit is about 65lbs. Very awkward to drain the water without help.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

So far so good

07/30/2007
By ,
Benicia, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We used our portable air conditioner throughout most of summer this year and cannot complain about this little great machine. All you need to do is to place the unit right next to a window to vent the hot air outside, set the unit on cool at 64 degree and left it to do it’s work. When the room gets too cold, we'll raise the temperature higher. The temperature in our bedroom was a lot less than the rest of the house. The only downside was the unit was a bit noisy to leave on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Surprisingly positive purchase

08/28/2010
By ,
Skiatook, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Up to now, I've had only negative experiences with portable air conditioners. My wife suggested that this one would be different, and against my better judgment, I caved. This particular AC unit is in the hottest room of the house, and it keeps things nice and regulated. I was skeptical about the advertised lack of drainage, but it's been running for about a week solid, and I haven't seen a single drip. I would definitely recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner
06/15/2013
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first it was a waste of time and money. I was going to return it, but had other things to do, so I just left it to do it's thing.
A few hours later I went back to pack it up. I opened the door and got hit in the face with a wall of cold air. There was so much cold air it not only cooled a 10x20 bedroom that is full of stuff, but it also cooled in seconds, the whole top hall way in a 4 bedroom town house by about 15 degrees!
The only down fall I can see is, you have to drain the drain pan. 3 weeks running and still waiting to drain the drain pan. Oh what a tough life to have cooool dew blowing 24/7 (-=
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

cant cool on hot days

05/06/2014
By ,
San Diego, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This a.c. cant keep a master bedroom cool on a 100° day my old 10000 btu had no prob but this 12000 btu cant cool for dookie , plan on returning it if possible....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

I would recommend it

07/26/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the SPT 12,000 BTU after moving into an apartment complex that does not allow window units and has a central air conditioning unit that runs constantly because it is old and can't handle the heat in my apartment. I read alot of reviews online so I did not expect this product to be as good as a 12,000 BTU window unit.
I also read that some people had problems with the condensation overflowing onto the floor. I have this unit in my living room and it is on a second floor. The heat comes up my steps from the front door and seeing how this unit is able to keep this room at 80 degrees when the heat index outside is 107 is to me amazing! The central air is running but the termostat reads near 90. Where this unit is, the temp is 80. Without running this unit, my entire apartment would be up near 90. Yes, it is still hot in here but this summer has been a record breaker. I have it set on 74 today and it is in the upper 80's today and it has kept it very cool.
I'm very happy with this unit and have decided to ditch the central air. I'm purchasing a 14,000 btu unit from another manufacturer since it has some features that this unit doesn't have and put it in my living room and moving the SPT into my bedroom so it will be very cool at night.
I make sure I empty the water in it every other day. It only takes a few minutes and hopefully it will prolong the life of this unit. I also have it up on a table so that the hose going out the window has absolutely no bends in it and I have put it as close to the window as I possibly could. All this is in the owners manual so I followed the instructions and so far I'm very happy with this unit and would recommend it to someone wanting to cool a smaller room. It does a pretty good job cooling my living room considering the kitchen entrance is on one side of the room and the steps are on the other both putting heat into this room.
If you don't expect this to cool a room like a window unit and you follow all the instructions, you should be very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Overszed electric fan

08/02/2007
By ,
Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The unit works, and does put out a good volume of air, but doesn't cool the 500 sq ft room as advertised, it does help. If all possible, I'd go for the window installation with 40K BTU's, not the weakie 14K. However compared to another portable, I would have to say this one tops my friends by far. I'd recommend this unit for a small bedroom or small living space, something under 500 sq ft.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Works great!! Also on cooler days fan is great

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems to work great. Fan setting has been used on cooler days .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Good Cool Air

06/30/2008
By ,
Beckley, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product works great, the cost at $500 is a little high. Changes that could increase the value would be to add a 24 hour timer cylce so that you would not have to keep reseting the timer each day or night. 2nd a power save on the fan feature to shut down the unit when it is cooling below the target temp. 3rd a battery back up for the timer feature so that if the power blinks off you don't loss the timer setting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Sunpenbelt Portable Air Condtioner

07/07/2009
By ,
San Antonio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works fine, though I have given it the task of cooling my garage which is a losing battle in these very hot months here in Southern Texas. The sun bakes down on the garage door and there no insulation above or around the garage. If it is warm in the garage it cools it nicely, but if it is very hot it takes it down a few degrees, but the benefit comes from the loss of humidity. I can work in the heat, but the heat plus humidity is what makes it unbareable.
The control did not work. I called the distributor and they had a replacement to me with very little fuss; taking care to make sure I got the right one.
This is a nice unit as long as you do not have unrealistic expectations. The vent is sturdy and it is not too noisey.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

No supply duct!

06/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit was advertised to have a duct so that you could direct the supply air to a specific location. This is not true. It also said that this was a dripless system but the book said you need to put a bucket under the unit to catch the condensate.
I am very disappointed and am very likely not to believe anything that you people advertise in the future.
Is there any way I can get my money back?
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

good choice for a spur of the moment purchase

06/07/2010
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this air condition after the temp outside soared and my central air is not working. It cools my bedroom and bathroom great! The plastic piece that fits in the window for the large heat exhaust is flimsy and does not fit well and I was under the false impression that "portable" meant you did not need to have an exhaust outlet. It is noisy but it is like white noise and actually helps me fall asleep at night! Over all I would recommend this product but do not know how it will hold up in the long term.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Not what I expected

06/28/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very large piece of equipment. Extremely heavy. The hose gets very hot which pretty much defeats the purpose. Window unit works so much better and looks better. I purchased this to work along with our full house air conditioning for the upstairs which can stay at 80 degrees when it is 100. Even with the other air conditioning, this unit still would not bring down the temp. Returning and putting the window unit back in. Walmart customer service was friendly and set up the return schedule immediately.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Excellent AC

07/27/2007
By ,
Carrollton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the ease of operation and function of this portable air conditioner. It delivers very cold air along with being very quiet. The power consumption is less than 1,000 watts.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Easy to set up

10/30/2012
By ,
IOWA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We replaced our 8000 BTU Pelonis window unit with this portable unit and it does cool our 210 square foot room a little better and faster.
One thing worth mentioning about a portable versus a window unit is the fact that it causes the room pressure to be more negative. This is do to the fact that it pushes the hot air through the high pressure side and out of the room. We have a plasma in the next room and there is a noticeable difference in the performance when the TV is on.
Our windows are small so I had to cut one of the installation kit pieces down to fit it in the window.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Works for me

06/14/2008
By ,
St. Charles, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does cool the room I have it in very well. we find it best to close our door to the room it is in. One drawback is that its fan runs all the time and would like it if it would shut down all together once room temperture has been reached. We tested ours by using the window attachment, but now that we know it works we are considering installing a perment venting into our celing to exshast into our attic space. Then will attach the perminate drain. That is another issue is.. yes it does not require the process of emptying the water (because it resuses it to cool its self), but unless you have it hooked up to drain it does not dehumidify as well.
All in all it does what it is suppose to do. we only run it at night while we sleep. So if you like to sleep with a fan running it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunpentown WA-1220E 12,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner

Excellent product

08/14/2010
By ,
Fallbrook, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, so good...very pleased with the upgrades from last years model. Just a note to other buyers of this product, be sure (if you use the exhaust hose) to keep the hose straight, otherwise it makes the current temperature reading inaccurate. (I believe it "back-builds" pressure)...but the unit cools very effectively and is very easy to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next