Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Venturer Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Venturer Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

Take your favorite DVDs on the road with this 7" dual-screen portable DVD player from Durabrand. The two screens ensures that everyone gets a great view, so just settle in and enjoy the show.
Average Customer Rating:
3.381 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation67%14 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

Beware!!!

08/24/2007
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We thought we had found a great buy when we happened upon this at the store. We used it for about a month when I looked in the rear-view mirror and noticed my two-year old watching his brother's screen rather than his...thought this was kind of strange, but forgot about it. A week or so later, I was getting some things into the trunk when it was late at night and the player was on in the car. I realized that the 2nd screen (the one without the player) was not working. Sometimes it's gray in color, or else it looks like the "brightness" setting is turned up all the way. We've emailed Durabrand, but the suggestions they've given have not worked. I guess on the plus side, one of the screens works great.
Overall, pretty disapointed about this product. Would not reccommend it. It would be worth it to spend a little more to get a more reliable brand. This is the 2nd product of Durabrand we've purchased in a year...the other player we bought speakers blew out...we didn't have it turned up loud.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+7points
Review 2 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player
07/17/2007
By ,
greensboro,nc
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It broke after one trip. Keep getting invalid disc no matter how many different movies I tried.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 3 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

F.Y.I.

08/06/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this product for a 900 plus mile move to keep the kids entertained.
It works great except the base seems to get A really hot after about 6 hours of non-stop use.
Also had an issue with it not playing disc's as A few other reviewers have stated,I called the manufacturer and they said to send it back to them ,my cost was for A flat rate of $45.00,and the problem was fixed within A few weeks.
Anytime you have A problem with this product they can take it back and fix it for the flat rate of $45.00.
All of ya'll that have this problem, just call up the manufacturer and they should do the same for ya'll.I hope this helps someone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

Ventura DVD

07/29/2007
By ,
Salem, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product for a road trip with my 5yr. old and 3yr. old, it really helped with the drive. Recently though, it won't recognize any DVD I try, even ones I know worked in it before. Due to the return policy of 15 days, I am afraid that I am going to be stuck with a product that doesn't work. I am disappointed that I got less than two months out of this, but what can you expect from the most inexpensive dual screen DVD player?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 5 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

low quality DVD Player

08/04/2007
By ,
Oshkosh, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this produst for a road trip with my 4 children. It worked great for about 2 weeks. Now it displays invalid disc no matter which disc I use. I will buy a more reliable brand next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 6 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

Good deal for the price, but.....

07/08/2007
By ,
TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The dual screen portalble DVD player is a good product for the price. The two things that I did not like about it is the fact that there is no power source other than the car adapter. The other issue is that when the car is turned off, the players still play, but when the vehicle is restarted only the passenger side DVD keeps the picture going. The driver side does not come back up and I found that I had to pull the power source from the cigarette lighter and plug it back in. After the first time it happens, you get used to it. The kids really enjoyed these during our 10 hour road trips last month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 7 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

Perfect for Road Trips

07/09/2007
By ,
Hattiesburg, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this before a 900+ mile family road trip. This happened to be the first time we brought our 3 year old and 1 year old daughters along on an extended trip. We purchased headphones separately so that we could have adult conversation without being interrupted by various Disney movies. The dual screens kept both girls occupied for hours. I wasn't able to find a comperable dual screen player for a price anywhere near what I paid. This was a very worthwhile investment for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 8 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

poor choice

07/04/2007
By ,
Smithfield, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have several relatives that live out of state and take the family to see them each year. I thought the kids would like to watch some shows to pass the time on the long trips. I was very disappointed with this product. Every time the vehicle hits even the smallest bump in the road causes the DVD to skip chapters. Very, very frustrated with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 9 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

Easy to watch

07/07/2007
By ,
Riverside, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These work great for viewing since the screens hang on the back of both headrests. Our grandkids watch them on trips with us. The sound level is low on them though, and the little ones don't wear earphones to well. The picture and sound on the second screen isn't as good as the main screen either. So I would say you get what you pay for!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 10 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

Great travel pastime

07/09/2007
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are so happy with the Ventura DVD player! We drove out west with our four grandchildren for two weeks and it really made the driving time pass quickly. Even the adults enjoyed watching movies. I am so glad I purchased this product before leaving on vacation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

Good Value

07/11/2007
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item for a vacation trip to occupy our boys. It work great. The only hitch was trying to watch a recorded DVD. For some reason we had to try 3 or 4 times to get a recorded DVD to start playing, but regular DVD's worked fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

poor product

07/08/2007
By ,
Andover, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
product does not work have returned and got a new and it does the same thing. Will not play an entire dvd. Returned it and found out it was a similar problem for other people who bought it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 13 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

not a very good product

11/29/2007
By ,
Chicago IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is so horrible we had to exchange it 4 times because it would break after two short months I would not recommend this product to anyone it's waste of money and time
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 14 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

Wow! Two screens

07/05/2007
By ,
Farmington, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We never thought we could afford a decent car DVD player, but thought we'd give this one a whirl. Wow, it delivered. Good quality and it's easy to work, even for me!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player
07/06/2007
By ,
Scottsboro, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this product. Easy to install. Stops all the fussing about "I can't see".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player

very entertaining

07/03/2007
By ,
W. Covina, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture quality, very easy to use
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Venturer 7" Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5