Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Haier Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Haier Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Invest in the Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest that can hold approximately 175 lbs of frozen food. This utilitarian Haier 5 Cu Ft freezer chest helps you stack up on frozen food items so that you can prepare your favorite dishes for holidays or for parties with ease. It has a removable basket that helps you to arrange the food items variety wise. It also has an adjustable thermostat control and manual defrost that helps to regulate the temperature. Cleaning up is easy as the freezer has an easy-access defrost drain. You can easily fit in this small freezer chest even into the tightest of spots as it has a space-saving flat back design. This Haier Chest freezer is simple to operate, reliable and a great addition to every home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.62 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(297 Reviews) 283
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
218
4 stars
59
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation96%280 out of 293reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 67 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
218
4 stars
59
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

13 years....

08/27/2011
By ,
Augusta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes, that is correct! This wonderful freezer finally gave out on me yesterday after 13 long years. This was one of the best investments made. It is tough & sturdy (my now teenage daughter would constantly slam the door when she was little and it never once damaged it), reliable and excellent cooling.
It fit nicely in our attached pantry and was whisper quiet. Even though it was considered a "compact" freezer, it held a great amount of food (I buy meats, veggies, and other frozen items in bulk at Sam's on a weekly basis). I know right off hand, I have had 2 - 11 lb bags of boneless chicken breasts; 16 ct. box Boca veggie burgers; 3 - 1/2 gallon containers of ice cream; 2 loafs of bread; 6+ frozen kid meals and several bags of frozen fruits and vegetables. That is right off the top of my head.
I also like the ease of cleaning. Due to its size, it was a breeze to fully clean without asking my hubby to help.
For the money, it is definitely a best buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Great for a small space

07/13/2010
By ,
Gainesville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After getting a Sams Club card I quickly learned I needed more space, so I purchased this back in 2004 or so. It fits into a little nook in my dining room between the wall and my table. I installed a cabinet light on a shelf that is above it to shine into the freezer since it can be hard to see what is at the bottom of the freezer.
5 cubic feet sounds small, but you can fit a LOT of stuff in this freezer - I can fit three gallons of milk on the shelf (but I wouldn't recommend it because since they expand when they freeze, you won't be able to get them out!). I have 8 packages of bacon, 4 packages of hot dogs and about a dozen packages of Kraft singles in the basket alone!
It can be kind of hard to organize since it is basically a big ol box, but you learn what you can put where. I can stuff this thing super full and have never had an issue with loss of freezing.
It is the best $200 you can spend if you are a bulk-shopper, couponer, or just someone who buys a lot of meat (or ice cream!)
Do yourself a favor and also invest in a Food Saver (or similar). You can keep stuff in the freezer forever!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

We'llseeinayear

06/11/2010
By ,
Alpena, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only had this for a month. Ask me again this time next year to see if my opinion has changed.
Make sure you read the directions BEFORE plugging this in. The store put it in my truck for me but there are no "arrows" to say "This side up". They layed it on it's side, the directions say that if it was not upright for any period of time then don't plug it in for 24 hours. This is so the "freon" can settle in the condenser.
It works great, so far. Also, the instructions say to put a layer of Vaseline on the seal. I did this to my fridge as well and it really makes a great seal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Wonderful Product

11/06/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received exactly the product that we expected and it works wonderfully. We have been able to stock up and buy bulk type of items to put in the freezer. The size of the freezer works excellent with the small space we had to put it in without taking away from the freezer space. The lid for the freezer also is nice in that we were able to put the freezer up to the wall and still use the freezer. We did have some surprises with shipping. Communication on when our freezer would arrive could have been better. We actually received the freezer before we expected it which was a nice surprise.This is an excellent freezer with great features. I would recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LAS VEGAS NV
How do you defrost the deep freezer
Posted 01/14/2014
My question is can I defrost the deep freezer in the house or must I unplug every outlet I asking before I do anything first I have it in my house and spring cleaning is coming up an I want to do it right the first time I see the drainage on the bottom I'm asking in case any water spills out onto the floor ?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

good freezer

11/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whisper Quiet!... when I first purchased it I thought it wasn't running!
The freezer arrived damaged and had to be returned.
CAUTION... save the box your freezer comes in, because you are responsible for boxing it up for return. you cannot return an item bought online to a physical walmart store. Walmart pays for the shipping, but good luck finding a freezer box.
Recommends this product? Yes
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Only lasted a few days over a year.

12/15/2009
By ,
Austin, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just stopped working properly only 1 year after we bought it. Called Haier, they were absolutely worthless since it was just days after the year. Pay a few bucks more and get a better brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Great buy

12/03/2010
By ,
Irvine, Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the freezer site to store and it was delivered earlier than promissed. I brought it home let it sit overnight, The next morning I plugged it in and everything works great. The freezer is actually real quiet, My kitchen fridge makes more noise than this freezer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

just what i needed

08/12/2007
By ,
galesburg il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i am a mother of 5 4 boys and 1 girl with dad and me that makes 7 i was looking for something compact and big enough so i could stock up for the month and it did just that with the freezer and my freezer on top of my fridge i can make one trip to the store and stock up for the month thanks i love u walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

bad picture but good product

06/06/2009
By ,
sidney, nebraska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this product on line, the picture made it seem smaller. this is almost the size of a full size and I like it as it fits where I wanted it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Terrible!

07/04/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Dissapionted in this product. Completely stopped working within a few weeks of purchasing! All our frozen food unthawed and went bad..obviously defeats the purpose of purchasing this product! Would not recommend!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

THIS ROCKS!!

10/07/2008
By ,
missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought one of these over a yearago and had a house fire six months ago. it was one of the few appliances that still worked and i had had no problems out of it ever. I was skkptical at first because it was so inexpensive. WELL WORTH MONEY!!! we keep it stocked up and i have never had to defrost it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

This is a wonderful freezer

04/18/2011
By ,
Dahlgren, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I buy lots of frozen veggies because fresh is too expensive and canned has all that added sodium and preservatives. So I got this because I needed extra space.
After upacking it I let it sit for 24 hours then plugged it in and you could hear the motor kick in right away. My model doesn't have a power on indicator light for some reason so I check on it every so often to make sure it's still running because it's VERY, VERY quiet.
Only reason I didn't give it a rating for durabilty is because I've only had it for just a little over 2 weeks at the time of this review so I can't speak on it's durability yet.
And it only gets a 4 for features because unfortunately it's a manual defrost but I can live with that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Not a good buy

01/25/2008
By ,
chattanooga, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am mad. I was buying a new house so I wanted all new appliances so I am in walmart shopping and I saw this nice freezer at a reasonable price so I purchase it got it home and it worked great for awhile but in a couple of months it stop working.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Great product

10/27/2010
By ,
OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had our freezer for over 7 years and have had no problems. It is perfect size and only takes up a small space. I would recommend this product 100%.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Owned for 5 years

08/22/2012
By ,
South Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this freezer for 5 years and have never had a problem with it. They only thing that I would say is that it shows that it is 5 years old, the paint on the top of the lid is scrached, but I also sat stuff on top of it so that could be my fault. The vent dents easily, but I was able to bend it back just the same. This is a great freezer for a family of 2 to 4.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White
06/03/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this freezer for 3 yrs and it has been wonderful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Fantastic machine

03/01/2012
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this 9 years ago. Nothing fancy, just a plain jane basic freezer. It went to my brother about 6 years ago, and is still in his garage, plugging away. You cant ask for more than that. I may try to get it back and give him my larger one. I'll buy a Haier any time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Great Value

07/30/2010
By ,
Silverdale, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this freezer because our family is expanding and we needed more storage for food than a basic freezer. It holds a lot for its size and has kept everything nicely so far. We have had it for about 3 weeks now and I love it. Even though it is a lot cheaper than most of the other ones this size I don't see any draw backs thus far for paying less. The only real "issue" I have had is it says it is quiet (if I remember correctly) and it is a little noisy, but nothing loud or obnoxious. Definitely a good buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Very Quiet Product

04/25/2011
By ,
Temecula, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product about 3 weeks ago & I love it. It's quieter than my dishwasher and fits perfectly in my 2 bdrm 2bath apartment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest, White

Junk

11/11/2008
By ,
Kingsville, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy, I owned for 14 months and quit working. I lost all food in freezer. DO NOT BUY
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next