Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bell Sports Bell Combo Cable Lock with Kevlar, 5' x 12mm

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Bell Sports Bell Combo Cable Lock with Kevlar, 5' x 12mm

Keep your bike safe with this durable 5' x 12mm Combo Cable Lock. For extra durability, the lock features Kevlar-brand fiber, which is 50% stronger than steel. The lock allows you to set your own personalized combination.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation60%6 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bell Combo Cable Lock with Kevlar, 5' x 12mm

Easy to Set Up and Use

07/29/2007
By ,
College Station, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This combo lock is easy to program, and the number selectors are fairly movable. The 5' lock is long enough to loop through a lot of parts (i.e. the car rack, front tire, and the handlebar). It also comes with a bike holder to mount it on your bike when it's not in use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 2 for Bell Combo Cable Lock with Kevlar, 5' x 12mm

Don't Buy This Lock

08/21/2007
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these locks expecting security... that was until a vandal sliced right through the cable with some cutters and took off with my brand new hybrid bike. The cable looks as though it was cut through like butter.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 3 for Bell Combo Cable Lock with Kevlar, 5' x 12mm

exellent for the money

08/31/2008
By ,
Hudson NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very rugged lock for LOW crime areas. i live in hudson new hampshire (not that many people) i use it when going to a resturant frends house even at walmart itself. (usually where people arnt likely to theft a bike with anyone seeing them). the only problem i have with this lock is that it came with no directions they probibly do now but i figured it out:
when you open it with the factory combination there is a little switch with red painted at the top of it where it seas push up you shift the entire switch upwards by pushing down bouth sides of the switch and gliding it upwards then you set your combination once that is done you snap it back to where it was before. then your current combination is set. like i sead before this is a lock for low crime areas and if your bike (like mine) cost you over $1,500 get a chain lock for going in plases you dont trust.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Bell Combo Cable Lock with Kevlar, 5' x 12mm

Waste of Money

09/03/2007
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this July 2007 and I used this for about 2 weeks-- to go back and forth from school.
One day, I was about to come home but my lock won't unlock! It was working fine for about two weeks but all of a sudden, my combination didn't work. I called a police man to come and cut the chain. He cut the chain within 2 minutes!
It says that it has a lifetime warranty but BELL still hasn't called or replied back regarding this incident. I think it won't pull open because perhaps the rain may have caused the metal part to get oily and thus eventually stuck?
Don't get this unless you have the time to drive back and forth to the store to get it exchanged everytime something like this were to happen. I have a police report as evidence but let's just say that I wasted 2 hours outside waiting for someone to come and cut the chain.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Bell Combo Cable Lock with Kevlar, 5' x 12mm

GOOD

08/30/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
USEFUL EVERYWHERE
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 6 for Bell Combo Cable Lock with Kevlar, 5' x 12mm

Great SECONDARY Lock

10/10/2007
By ,
Avon Park, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent light bike lock; It's flexible and easy to use. However, I think people are mislead into believing this is the only lock they'll ever need to keep there bike safe. The truth is, If you have a really nice bike, that people would <3 to steal, you really need 2 locks:
1.) A heavy chain, or u-lock to attach to the back (or front) wheel and frame to a stationary object (like a bike rack).
2.) A light weight-lock to attach the frame to the other wheel.
( people generally aren't going to go to any great effort just to take your front wheel ;-) )
This lock works excellent for #2, but if you use it as #1 or as your only lock, chances are your bike will get stolen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Bell Combo Cable Lock with Kevlar, 5' x 12mm

Instructions not included

03/14/2008
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered this product on line for my daughter who is a college student and after she picked up an entire order which included a bike, helment, and lock. The bike which required assembley was missing the pedals and this lock came with no instructions about how to set the combination. Now she has to make another trip to the store with the hopes of finding another one just like it and either exchange the locks or get the directions.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Bell Combo Cable Lock with Kevlar, 5' x 12mm
11/04/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i locked my bike right in front of my house with this lock. i came outside, an old rusty bike was on the driveway, the my lock lying next to it.
a thief broke open this lock, regardless of the thick layer wrapping the steel. the lock ITSELF was hammered and opened, the cable not even needed to be cut through.
ridiculous..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 9 for Bell Combo Cable Lock with Kevlar, 5' x 12mm

Not bad!

07/19/2008
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I opened the package and I did not find the user manual! After a couple of minutes I came to realize how to set up a combination.
This product is OK ...so far! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bell Combo Cable Lock with Kevlar, 5' x 12mm
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5