Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hoover Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

The new Hoover Hard Floor Cleaner (model FH40010) is the ultimate 3-in-1 cleaner that vacuums, washes and dries hard floors with one simple tool unlike any steam mop or mopping system on the market. The FloorMate floor cleaner's 2-tank system keeps clean and dirty water separate so you never put dirty water back on the floor, and the exclusive Hoover floor cleaner SpinScrub technology with counter-rotating brushes gently scrubs from all angles to get sealed hardwood, tile and vinyl floors truly clean. Quick-drying power gets the water up quickly so you can get back to living on them in minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1118 Reviews) 968
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
608
4 stars
253
3 stars
55
2 stars
53
1 star
149
Customer Recommendation81%901 out of 1,108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
608
4 stars
253
3 stars
55
2 stars
53
1 star
149
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Picks up the dirty water!

12/19/2012
By ,
Tahoe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No more breaking my back to clean the 700 sq feet of flooring in my house! with a husband who works outside all day and a dog that does the same my floors have always been a challenge for me to keep clean! I have many health issues and mopping, steam cleaners and plain old hands and knees scrubbing our now just a memory.
The floor mate goes together fast, stores compactly and is super easy to clean out, and rev up again! I would have wanted a larger capacity of fresh soapy water, but then the machine would be too heavy to push, so I think the size will have to do. Not hard to take out the bins, clean and refill.
Hear are some tips I learned from my friend who owns one:
Be patient at first, you may see streaks or dull looking floors, Why? we both found out our floors were WAY dirty and redoing a few times removes all dirt and things begin to look up! Keeping up with cleaning is easy with the hoover and so getting to it more often is key.
move the machine slowly over surface, give the brushes and water time to scrub.
Do small sections at a time 9if you have a large area) to make sure you do a thorough job. The machine is about 11' wide at the base, so that is the area you will work on with each swipe, you'll have a clean floor, with much less effort, in no time.
You can leave the brushes spinning over areas where there was a missed spill (like a drop or two of tomato sauce no one noticed!) and it'll get clean.
Using the vacuum to suck up the dirty water is the best feature. No more "steamer pads" to clean, and you know the dirt is getting lifted off the floor.
I really like the ease of this floor cleaner and the results are better than all my floor scrubbing efforts.
I saved up for two months to buy this item, it arrived quickly to my door and I've enjoyed using it these last two weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Review 2 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Good Product

07/13/2009
By ,
Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently ordered a new Hoover Floormate, after having my first one for about 6 years. (I wore my first one out from using it so much) I really like this machine. I have both laminate flooring and ceramic tile in my house and a cat, so not only does this machine save my back a lot of work, but I can vaccum up the cat hair too. And the fact that my floors are dry within minutes is nice too. I like the new design as well. There are only 2 things that I can mention that might be downfalls...1) I dont like the fact that I have to emtpy out the compartment after using the dry vaccum, before I can start the wash...I wish I could just switch it over to wash on the fly. That makes it a little more time consuming to use. 2) The washing mode is not something that you can do quickly, you have to take your time, kinda like shampooing your carpets...going over the area slowly. Even though it can be a little more time consuming then regular mopping, I still really like the Hoover Floormate and feel like it does a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+71points
Review 3 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Wish I had purchased before now!

12/21/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have waited to purchase a cleaner for hard/tile floors because I didn't feel they would work very well however, I got tired of scrubbing my tile floors with a brush to get dirt out of the impressions-so I bought the Hoover Floor Mate. I really didn't believe the commercials about go ahead and mop your floors the way you usually do-than us the Floor Mate but today I had just finished my floors when FedEx brought my machine-so I thought I am going to try this and see just how much dirt will be in the dirty tank. I WAS SICK-it was awful, you couldn't even see through the dirt..this machine is great. It is easy to use, and to heavy, nice long cord, easy to take the tanks out to add detergent and water. The only thing I found I would like to change now is that the clean tank with the detergent is alittle small-have to fill it fairly often but I didn't care-it was easy. If you are thinking about purchasing this product---GO AHEAD, I think you will be very pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+104points
Review 4 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Finally, a product that performs as it claims!

12/03/2011
By ,
Saint David, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hard floor cleaner has exceeded my expectations! The vacuum is plenty powerful; the spin brushes get in to all the nooks and cranies and grout lines of my textured porcelain tile; the squeegy and suction cycle dries the floor very well. I was most impressed with the results on my bamboo hardwood floor. I have spent the past six months trying to get that floor looking just right - I tried microfibre cloths/mops, cotton mops, polishing cloths, even paper towels. And finally, the Hoover Hard Floor Cleaner with the same hardwood floor cleaner I had been using - Bona, has accomplished what I was looking for - no streaks, no dull spots, just a beautiful shine! No more sore knees and back! I guess I'll keep my bamboo floor - I was considering having it replaced (it is only 7 months old.) No more embarassing streaks and paw prints from my cats & dogs.
The Hoover Hard Floor Cleaner was simple to put together and it didn't take very long. It is easy to use; the solution tank is well designed and easy to fill; and taking it apart to clean is a just a snap.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 5 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Home use hardsurface floor scrubber/cleaner

03/10/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent, not great. You will have to go over dirtier areas several times before you can get deep dirt and grim out...well most of it out. The detergent/cleaner dispenser needs to be larger, but is acceptable. Not only does this scrub it has a vaccum feature that pulls the liquid cleanser and dirt into a container for storage till you dispose of it. Both dispensers are easy to use and go in and out easily. The biggest issue that I have is the scrub brushes need to have more downward pressure on them to perform their intended use more efficiently and quickly. Of course that would add weight to the unit as a whole, in turn generating complaints from people that the unit is too heavy and cumbersome....no win either way. Generally speaking for a home use hardsurface cleaner - Good to better than Good. For large or involved projects...hire a floor cleaning service then use this unit for the regular cleaning....that if you did in the first place you would not need this unit...just like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 6 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

worth the money

10/11/2011
By ,
waco, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one of these 8 years ago when I moved to a house with a lot of tile. It worked okay for about six years then the vacuum finally stopped picking up water. I scrubbed the floors the old fashioned way but today I decided enough of that, let's try one of the FLoorMates again. This machine is superior in every way to the old model, as well it should be. The vacuum seems much stronger with a better seal and it is easier to get the detergent chamber and waste water chambers out of the machine. In the old machine, getting the top off the waste water chamber was a real pain as you had to angle it in to make it fit, not so with the new one. Also, you really don't need to go back over the wet area with the machine on dry to vacuum up the excess water, just keep it on wet and don't use the spray as it works just as well. The only complaint I really have is the stiffness of the brushes. I understand why they don't make them any stiffer as they don't want to scratch finishes on wood but if they would offer a stiffer brush for tile it would make this machine a true grand slam.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Review 7 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Animal owner desperate for clean floors!!

09/18/2010
By ,
Tomball Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Hoover products; i have had numerous steam cleaners of theirs.
I am commenting on those who complain about the grout not getting clean;
Grout gets stained -these machines clean surface dirts -not set in stains.
Nothing more will clean it than getting on hands and knees with a scrub brush and a soap with bleach mixture sprayed on and allowed to saturate the area to get it clean.
By the way; if your grout looks like this? it probably has never been sealed or the sealing needs to be re-done.
If you go to the hardware store-you can buy cleaners specific for cleaning grout and also there are good grout dyes-they are painted into the grout with a toothbrush-easy but time consuming.If you elect the latter, make sure you get one with an epoxy in it -or it wont last long.
I do hope this helps for those "deciding" if the floor mate is right for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+55points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Potomac, MD
GROUT
Posted 11/04/2011
I agree with you, there should not be any expectation that this or any other floor cleaning machines,or steam mops will clean grout. I further agree that Clorox Cleanup sprayed on, allowed to soak, and then scrubbed with grout brush is the way to clean it. Where we differ is the sealing. Our was sealed when it was installed, and yet it became dirty agin within a year. We cleaned it, and bought a great sealant. Again in a bit less than a year, it was dirty again. always, of course, in traffic areas. When I had to hire "Tile Doctor" to replace a cracked tile, I spoke with gim about applying dye as I have natural colored grout. He said he could take m money, but no matter what he used, it would not hold up more than a year or two in traffic areas. it's fairly expensive to have it done as well. By the way, there are only two, pretty tidy adults living in our home, and no pets. I've just accepted the fact that we are going to have to scrub it annually.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Im In Love!

12/06/2010
By ,
Rogers AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all let me say that I purchased this mop/vac while I was 34 weeks pregnant and on bedrest for pre term labor. My husband had tried to keep up with the house work, but the floors were filthy.
We have two dogs and live in the country, I have approximately 1200 sq ft of hard flooring. Hardwood laminate and slate tile. Keeping them clean is always a challenge.
I saw the commercials for this product and did research, I was pleased with what I read. I broke the bedrest rules and went out and purchased it. Then I broke the rules again and used it. It is FANTASTIC! I was able to clean every inch of my hard flooring for the first time in weeks and they were SPOTLESS! I will say that if you are considering this product as a time saver, you may not be happy. It took me just as long to use this as it does to vaccume and manualy mop my flooring.
What amazed me first was the ease of use. I usually break a sweat cleaning the floors and here I am 34 weeks pregnant and not even out of breath. The second thing I love was how astonishingly clean my floors are! I wish I could post a picture to show the crud that came up! I will be telling anyone who listens about how amazing this product is! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+300points
Review 9 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Overall its a nice unit BUT it has its flaws.

01/26/2011
By ,
Mesa, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all it is VERY loud(Id say as loud as a shopVac or twice as loud as a standard vaccum cleaner). It scares my 2yr old to the point that I have to hold her while I use the machine which makes it that much more difficult.
Second of all it doesnt scrub the floors as I would like. It also leaves quite a bit of water on the floor so its almost like cleaning the floors twice. You have to wash the floors and then go back and get the water the cleaners didnt such up initially. This makes it difficult for us because we have about 1000sqft of dark cherry(almost black) scraped laminate wood floors. It at times leaves water marks when the water isnt sucked up right away.
Our floors have the standard wood flooring gap and its where all the dust/dirt/etc gets into and this cleaner gets most but not all of it.
This is just one step above a mop and a bucket. There are pros and cons to the cleaner. Id save my money for the next model. Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Review 10 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Hoover Floormate

08/20/2009
By ,
Saint Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. I had one previously that lasted years and years. My new one is even better (improvements made). It eliminates having to be on your hands and knees scrubbing floors or using a type of skinny handled "manual cleaner" that does havoc to carpal tunnel and expends a lot of energy. This product sucks the water off the floors really well on hardwood and linoleum/tiled floors. Would highly recommend it! I also purchase Hoover's Hardwood Floormate Cleaner Solution as it works better than other brands out there. With the correct cleaner, you don't have to wax afterward. I had been using another name-brand "low suds/foaming" cleaner, but found I always had to wax after as it seemed to leave a residue that made the floors rather "gummy" if I didn't wax.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
+244points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
colorado
Posted 06/25/2013
while i have not purchased this product yet, for $140.00 do you really expect to use it everyday or on 3000 sq ft and have it last??????? It is obviously not meant for that type of use
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Better than anything else on the market...

09/18/2010
By ,
Sarasota, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using the floormate for almost 5 years now. I am on my 3rd unit which is the only drawback on these machines. They only last about a year or so if you use it on a daily basis. I have had two motor burn outs and now my water tank lever won't draw the water out of the tank. I have nothing but tile in my home with 4 kids and two dogs I am using my floormate every one to two days. If your tile is on the flat side it will work fine. It does work considerably better on vinyl flooring. I throw the Floormate cleaning solution in the trash every time I buy a new Floormate since it is worthless soap. IMO the best and only solution to use in these units is "Armstrong No Rinse Floor Cleaner". Been using it for 5 years and my tile is clean, fresh and beautiful. If you use the tank cap as a measure, just use less than half a cap full. Never have to rinse! I also sometimes mix white vinegar in with warm water to clean once in a while. To the person who stated that they would return their Floormate if they can't find the Floormate cleaning solution.. are you serious? If you don't want the unit to suck up the water while you are scrubbing simply remove the squeegie head, and replace when ready to pick up the water. This unit is a back saver and does work well, especially if you use the "Armstrong" floor cleaning solution instead of the floormate solution.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+564points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Louisville, KY
Thanks FLKracker for the Armstrong suggestion
Posted 03/16/2013
So, I'm not the only one who removes the squeegee in order to have scrub power without suction? I surely wish Hoover would modify future designs so they have separate motors for the scrubber and for the vacuum so we can just flip a switch to scrub without suction. Or maybe they could install a valve so we could vent vacuum while brush scrubbing.
Thanks for the Armstrong cleaning solution suggestion. I will certainly try it. I've seen it on the shelf at Walmart. I also throw away the Hoover liquids. I agree they are useless. I, too, have tile. I hate it but I'm stuck with it for now.
If I had just about any floor type except stone tile, I'm sure the Hoover FloorMate would be enough all by itself. However, the Hoover FloorMate is not really very good at getting to the grout in my floors. I do have the optional grout brush block for my Hoover and I use it but it's still pretty weak as far as grout goes. To do some forceful grout scrubbing, I've got one of those rotary floor/carpet scrubbers. It's like the Koblenz P2500 but I bought it under the Sears model 680.84973 online for about $150. If you get one, you'll want the "tampico" brushes which will probably be optional. Those are the round brushes with bristles of all one color--light brown. They are stiff enough to scrub the floor but flexible enough to allow the bristles to reach the grout. You will probably want to avoid the brushes that have both dark brown and light brown bristles. Those are cocoa and tampico bristles and the combination is too stiff to allow the bristles to reach the grout. (There's also some brushes for those machines that have white plastic bristles but those are way too soft for hard floors. The white plastic brushes are only for carpets.) That scrubber has a tank for dispensing cleaning solution but I don't use it for that. I do put some water in that tank to add weight to the scrubber. To dispense cleaning solution, I use the Hoover FloorMate and begin the scrubbing process with the Hoover. Then, I use the Sears/Koblens unit to do some heavy grout scrubbing. You can add or subtract water from the tank to adjust the weight of the unit until you discover what works best to allow the tampico bristles to get to the grout.
So, I'll be trying your suggested Armstrong cleaning solution. (I do the serious floor cleaning in this house. My wife only uses a Swiffer-type mop.)
So, though I do use the Hoover FloorMate, I'm not a daily user. You use it daily? You're amazing! We use a mop like a Swiffer wet-jet for daily cleanings. (It's a mop type that allows us to mix our own floor cleaning solution so I'll be trying the Armstrong cleaner in it also.) I use the Hoover FloorMate about every week or two. Then, every month or two, I get out the heavy duty Sears/Koblenz floor scrubber that I mentioned above.
Gosh. Every time I clean the floor now you're making me think: "There's someone out there who cleans the flloors EVERY DAY with a Hoover FloorMate." I'm not as extreme as I thought.
0points
Customer Avatar
CLERMONT, FL
LOVE THIS MACHINE!
Posted 07/17/2011
I'm only on my second one in ten years, but I don't use mine as often as you do. I use Armstrong Once 'N Done Floor Cleaner. I will NEVER go back to mopping!
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Wow!

02/06/2012
By ,
Tatum, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously owned a Floormate about 6 years ago and the suction went out after about 3 years, then I went to the Steam Mop, and now I'm back! I love the vacuum feature, which is easy enough to use every day. The dry feature leaves my hardwoods pretty near dry, and the scrub function scrubs the grout and tile in the bathroom like a champ. I don't remember my last model ever cleaning this well, and I really could do a commercial for Floormate vs. Steam Mop. The first time I used it, it was a little embarrassing, even though I had steamed my house from top to bottom only days before (my steam mop blew up, so I had to find a replacement). Don't hesitate. Great investment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 13 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

good product

07/20/2007
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have 3000 sq. ft. of tile and hard wood floors in my home. I was looking for something to quickly clean my floors and clean them good (better than a swifer). Well I wouldn't say that my floors are perfect they are pretty clean. I will say that the floor mate does save my back. Using a conventional mop kills my back. With the Floormate I go over it several times in the wash mode then suck up the water. I will say I like the fact that my floors dry quicker and now all that dirty water doesn't sit on the floors but I put it down the drain.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+260points
Review 14 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Using it to clean a grouted tile floor.

02/04/2013
By ,
Philadelphia PA metro area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I’m using it on a grouted tile floor that probably hasn’t been thoroughly cleaned in 20 years. Every time I go over the floor, it accumulates a little more stuff. You know some cleaners, if you just wet them, and put on their holder, they look dirty? That was my concern, that the Hoover detergent was all I might see. However, I was wrong, the water isn’t very grey, but there are particles, from the floor. I don’t know how clean I’ll be able to get the floor, but little by little, it’s getting cleaner.
About the Floor Mate itself, where the handle fits is really, really tight. The two halves of the electrical connectors are only about ½” square. And you have to push the handle until it’s flush with the body. First time I was about a 1/2” out, it worked 2x’s then quit.
When I’m washing the floor, I turn the dial to Wash, then remove the front squeegee assembly. Then I run it back and forth for a while, just scrubbing. Put the squeegee back on, turn the dial to Dry. And empty the dirt.
Ordered Hoover’s Grout & Tile Cleaner. Hope it’ll speed up things. Wish Walmart carried it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 15 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Makes Chores Easy

12/30/2011
By ,
Pinellas County, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two labs, a husband and 1100 square feet of tile floors. I have had this floor cleaner for over 6 months and use it at least a couple times a week. So far it has been durable for me. Forget about buying any kind of special floor cleaner to go in it, I use Pine Sol or Mr. Clean liquid cleaners and they work just fine and leave your house smelling fresh. This unit is not meant to replace the vacuum. I usually run the regular vacuum first and then run the FloorMate and it always scrubs and dries the floors clean so I am not sure where people are coming from saying that the brush needs to be stiffer. The vaccum feature is not meant to be a replacement to your regular vacuum. It does, however, fit under the edge of my kitchen cabinets where my regular vacuum cannot. The unit is also easy to clean and replacement parts are available from Hoover should the need arise. I would recommend the FloorMate to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 16 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

customer service issues!

06/15/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I clean houses for a living. We do vacation rentals at the beach. There are a lot of hardwood and tile floors to clean. We use this model since its easier than getting on your hands and knees in every house. This product will only last about a year. After that they will tell you that it would be cheaper to buy another one than to go to their "official repair shops" and have it fixed. I found that my scrubbers on the bottom stopped working on not only mine but all the (about 5) ones we used for my employer. I am still looking for a good floor cleaner that the manufactor will stand behind and will last. I think that if something costs over $100 it should not have to be replaced every year - especially when it only has a one year warranty! This is something that the manufactor is aware of and havent fixed!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Review 17 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Best hard surface floor cleaner out there!

04/07/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works better than any swiffer, shark, or mop I've ever tried. I have textured white linoleum in my kitchens and bathrooms and I gave up on getting them shinny and looking spotless. This did a amazing job. Works great on my laminate also but it is a god send for people with tile or linoleum floors that are so hard to get into the grout or the textured dimples and get them clean. It's easy to use and I love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+35points
Review 18 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Satisfied the product meets expectations.

08/23/2007
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read some reviews before I purchased this product so I knew what to expect and got just that.
The dry-vac is not very strong I agree, so understand that you will use your broom first. The washing and wet pickup is very effective. Leaves my floors shiny and streak free and I can walk on it immediately. Noise level is not louder than a vacuum cleaner. I like the fresh smell of the cleaning solution but very hard to find on shelves including Walmart, King Sooper, Home Depot, Lowes and Sam's club. I will try the manufacturer next but that is a pain.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+108points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bakersfield, CA
floor cleaning solution
Posted 10/10/2012
I use a vinegar/water solution which cleans great! I read on someones blog that about two cap fulls using the provided measuring cap that seals the clean water tank works well!
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010

Very pleased

01/14/2008
By ,
New Albany, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading many reviews of this cleaner I decided to give it a try. My kitchen and dinette area are tile and I was interested in finding a cleaner that would eliminate dirty mop water collecting in the grout. It did a very good job cleaning the tile and I was very pleased with the results. It's also excellent for getting up spills off of the floor. No mop or repeated cleaning the area after a spill...just suck it up and clean it. Job done!
Features: The only problem I have with the design is that I wish the two dispensers (soap & water) were larger. My tile floor area is large and it takes about 4 times of emptying and filling up again...but I am very satisfied with the results.
Durability: I've only owned the Floormate for about 6 months...but it still performs as it did the first time I used it. I like it well enough that I bought one for my parents and one for my daughter and they're both very pleased with theirs too. Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 20 for Hoover FloorMate SpinScrub Hard Floor Cleaner, FH40010
08/06/2010
By ,
Dickinson, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My tile floor was starting to look really dirty even after I mopped it. I started reading reviews on this product. The Hoover FloorMate got the better reviews. I had it delivered to my house and started using it 30 minutes after I read the instructions. I used it for 2 hours in my kitchen and living room floors. It worked fabuloso. My floor looks like new tile again. My sister called me to ask me about it. I recommended it highly. She got it on order.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+37points
1-20 of 739 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  37 Next