Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

HP HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

The HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner is ideal for photo enthusiasts who want to convert photos, slides, negatives or medium/large format transparencies into professional-quality, color-accurate digital files. 6-color, 96-bit scanning provides a striking 4800 x 9600-dpi hardware resolution. Includes infrared-based dust and scratch removal.
Average Customer Rating:
3.607 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(163 Reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
34
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation69%113 out of 163reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
34
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

Excellent scanning

08/30/2009
By ,
Helena, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent scanner for scanning various sizes off negatives. Very helpful for family history.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

Major waste of time and money

01/29/2010
By ,
Tupper Lake NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I thought that I was going to live to be 150 I might be able to accomplish the project that I am working on, or if I purchased 5 G4050s and used them all at once I might accomplish my project in 30 years. Without my 7 phone calls which totalled 20 hours, two software patches, and finally a new version of software I wouldn`t even be able to complete my project in 300 years. The software is absolutely garbage. Major problems in the slides area. Scans originals alright. Color is a little off. You need photoshop to adjust colors.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

One of the worst products I bought

11/14/2008
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is one of the worst products I purchased and I am an avid HP owner (computer/printer, previous scanner was an HP).
1. Did not live up to expectations.
2. Did not function properly.
3. Would not load software.
4. Froze up the computer on several occasions.
You name it, it went wrong. To this day, we still cannot uninstall the whole program. 6-7 hours spent trying to get this product to work and nothing, naddah.
Would I recommend this scanner - NO WAY!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

Works as Advertised!

09/11/2009
By ,
Enid, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything I've tried with this scanner works just as it is supposed to. The quality of the output has been excellent. Copying pictures and converting text with OCR has been done with ease.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

Limited purpose!

02/03/2011
By ,
Clare, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
One major reason for purchasing this Scanner was to scan medium format, black and white negatives. The results were terrible! I also had some color transparencies that turned out fair. It worked very well with my 35mm slides. I enjoyed being able to do 16 slides at a time! This is not a multi purpose Scanner. It works well for scanning photos, documents and 35mm slides. For this reason I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

Negatives Scan too Dark

10/17/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I needed to scan old negatives. Found that this scanner over-exposes negatives, compared to an Epson scanner I used before. Too bad - because I could really use that multi-negative frame! But resulting quality is just unacceptible. This puppy is going back to where it came from.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

HP Scanjet G4050

03/03/2010
By ,
Findlay, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product turned out to be everything I was looking for. I use it for the business I am in as a document scanner. Had issues with set up, ie:CD downloading. Ended up going to HP web site to download it from there. Works wonderfully.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

Good product

11/30/2010
By ,
Lincoln, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I tried 4 different scanners before I purchased the HP G4050 a few weeks ago. None of them measured up until now. I have scanned over 500 35mm slides and the HP has worked perfectly. Hopefully, this scanner will last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner
03/07/2011
By ,
Summerville, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Does ok for a non professional device. When finished with my slides, product won't be used any more. I reccomend it for the non professional user.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

The second one is fine

07/05/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have ordered this scanner twice. The first one was non-functional. It just emitted a series of pops when powered up and did nothing else.
Because this scanner had features I wanted, I ordered another one. If the second scanner had been my first experience, it would have gotten all five stars. This is my third scanner over the years and is by far the best.
I do a lot of scanning of documents for archival purposes and the OCR software accurately identifies the text and embeds the pictures correctly. The final document is almost identical to the original. It is the best I've used.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

It'd just say it'll do

03/02/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It does the job better than my last four scanners but still not the quality (for the price) that I had hoped for. The photos I scanned were old but still in good condition and the scanned image made them look old, rusty, speckled with a linted look despite the lint removal tool. I am going to keep this one because I just don't feel like boxing up another scanner and prepare for it's return. Again, it did do better than the past few I had purchased, so I'll settle.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner
11/09/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good quality, rather pricy, I should have done more homework before purchase. I bought this product to scan pictures, I have found other brands that would do the job much cheaper
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

Questionable design

07/15/2009
By ,
Taylorville,IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The on/off switch is BEHIND the scanner and required that I reconfigure my entire setup to access the switch. A poor design choice.
Help/Support with setup was unsurpassable
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

Great Slide Scanner

12/09/2008
By ,
Columbus OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convertes 16 slides within 10 to 12 minutes to
jpg files.
Only problem encountered is the photo support software installed with an error.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

Very Pleased

09/07/2008
By ,
Peabody, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a scanner that you scan pictures with good quality and sharpness. This scanner meets my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

Excellent Scanner

05/23/2009
By ,
Valdez, Ak
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets all expection. Produces excellent scans of documents and photos.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner

09/09/2008
By ,
Stickney, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased to scan old pictures. It has worked well for this purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Flatbed Scanner
Based on the average of (146) ratings-only reviews
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5