Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

Black & Decker Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

The Black & Decker Cordless Chain Saw (Model CCS818) lets you cut wood and other material conveniently and with freedom of movement. It operates on an 18-Volt NiCd battery which will last for up to 150 1-½" cuts before needing to be recharged. To start this cordless electric chain you simply unlock the safety and pull the trigger. A wraparound handle offers multiple gripping positions that allow you to work with ease and in safety by maintaining a firm grip. This 18-volt Black & Decker electric chain saw contains an onboard oiling feature and has a transparent window to view the oil level so you know when oil needs to be added. It is also an ENERGY STAR product and therefore consumes less power by using energy more efficiently. It is intended for use on smaller jobs like removing limbs from trees.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation80%57 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 33 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

BOUGHT IT FOR THE WIFE

03/24/2014
By ,
Moneta, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just used the pole saw version to take down a 25 foot river birch (stump in picture) over a period of three days (battery needed recharging and I cut it up for firewood). I bought this handheld version for the wife because she didn't like the long handle of the pole saw. Now we have two saws and three batteries (bought a spare) so that we can use these tools longer to speedup the jobs that can't be done with hand loppers. Of course, for the really big jobs, I still have to take out the gas chain saw, gasoline, oil and rags. Otherwise, for the smaller or no rush jobs, these battery saws (no extension cord required) are really handy. But remember, that they won't take a whole tree down in just one day with just one battery. But for certain jobs they are the perfect, no mess, no fuss, wife can do it herself, fast and easy tools.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

As usual for B & D, nice tool, battery is a dud.

06/09/2011
By ,
Canon City, Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was hoping that this one would be different, but its about course for the par for B&D. The Chain Saw itself is very nice. Has plenty of power, to start with, easy to use, and fairly light. There are a few things that could be better.
The front of the saw next to the blade has a piece with ridges on it to butt the saw up against the log that your cutting and keep it from bouncing and to grip the log so that you can lever the saw down into its cut. I'm not sure what that piece is called, but having it made out of plastic is a bad choice. Something like that should have been made from cast aluminum. After the short time that I've used mine the plastic ridges are already worn down and mashed. The bigger gas engine chain saws have a piece there with long sharp steel points to grip the log that its cutting.
Other than that, my only complaint is the battery. I've looked into getting an extra one or two so that I can swap them out and keep cutting for more than 30 minutes, but which one is the best? I found at least 6, 18-volt B&D batteries that run from $36 to $79-( that's as much as the saw by itself!) and one pair that was $109. But cant find which one has the longest life. I've also found 2 different generic batteries that say they are extended life for the B&D tools and one was $39 and the other was $90 for a pair. Even the B&D web site isn't any help. They say that one type of the 18-V batteries are for the smaller low power draw tools like the drill and the other type is for the high power drawing tools like the chain saw and hedge clippers. But they don't say which one is for which! I had the same problem with the B&D Versa Pack Tools that took the long round batteries. They started out great but the batteries die after just a short use time and after only a few cycles they wont take a charge. And again, a new pair of batteries for the drill cost more than the drill did.
The first time that I used this chain saw I managed to cut down 3 small apple trees that winter killed last year. All together I got about 12 cuts out of it in about 30 minutes before the battery died. I was cutting pieces that were from 1”- 1.5” dia. Up to 3”- 3.5” dia. The only reason it lasted 30 minutes is that I'm a slow mover due to a bad back. That's part of the reason I bought this small saw, so that it wouldn't be so hard for me to use. Instead of getting just another battery I bought the other battery powered chain saw with the gator grip lower jaw. It's still charging so I haven't had a chance to try it yet so that will be tomorrow.
Over all, once you get a good supply of batteries with the low trickle chargers that keeps them topped off this will be a nice little saw. The main reason I bought this chain saw is that its nice and quiet. I'm a amateur wood turner and with this little battery powered saw I can take it out in the mountains with me and use it to cut out some choice turning pieces of wood from dead falls. And do it without getting in trouble or accused of cutting firewood without a permit. So if you have a similar use in mind this saw will work great. It would probably work great for doing chain saw art in soft wood like Aspen or Poplar. But if you’re expecting to cut a bunch of firewood with it, forget it.
If it wasn't for the problem with the Batteries and the lack of information from B&D about them I would have gave this 5 stars. But since the battery is such an important part of this they really need to work on it. And make them a little cheaper too! Would you buy an electric car that the batteries for it cost as much as the car did?
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

The Little chainsaw that could!

05/18/2009
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this little 18-volt B&D chainsaw for a few weeks now. The first thing you should do when buying one is make sure you get a quart of the bar and chain oil because you'll need it before you can use your new saw. It suggests that it is useful for cutting 2-4 inch diameter branches and I can confirm that it has cut much larger limbs and trees on my property. Be advised though, once you start cutting 7+ inch logs the battery will drain quickly. Also, read the section about cutting techniques in the manual. Cutting properly conserves battery time and improves safety and performance. My only beef is that the chain lubrication can be a tad bit messy. Keep a shop rag handy to wipe off batteries when you switch them out. However, this is a great product and a fair price. When you have a couple of other 18-volt B&D products, you have more batteries that are interchangeable. Great concept. I have several B&D 18-volt products and can cut logs and branches continuously for about 2 hours on 4 batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

Just what I expected and wanted.

06/03/2009
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this saw to trim bushes and tree limbs and it does a good job. It is not a full size chainsaw and it will not do a full sized chainsaw's job. Some people seem to expect that it would. It is light weight and east to carry around in my garden cart. I love not having to mix gas and oil and carry that around. Now one extra fully charged spare battery and a small bottle of chain oil and I'm ready to trim all day. Green living branches up to four inches are no problem, but if it is dead and hard two inch branches are just about max size for cutting with this saw.
Out of the box all I had to do was install the bar and tighten the chain, about thirty minutes, and it was ready to go. The allen wrench that was supplied is always handy in it's storage spot on the handle, but I do not like the screwdriver part of it, I prefer to use my on long handled screwdriver. Adjusting the chain tension is very easy and straight forward. A quarter of a turn on two allen screws, a turn or two on the chain adjusting screw, tighten the allen screws and done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

Perfect for everyday small jobs

05/19/2010
By ,
Broadview Hts, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chain saw will not transform you into a lumberjack over night, however it is perfect for the little jobs the come up around the house. I used it to clean up all the of dead or "in the way" limbs and trees in our property line this past weekend. I could get about 15 cut's out of a battery when I was tackling logs over 4", with littler, less then 1", limbs I would get about 40 minutes of cut time.
We also have have a Black and Decker weed trimmer, so in total we have three batteries. This was nice because we could keep rotating the batteries and pretty much keep working throughout the day. I did notice that the weed trimmer batteries did not last as long as the battery supplied with the saw. I think number 11 in this link explains the reason for that:
http://www.blackanddecker.com/18v/string_trimmer_edger/battery_information.aspx
Lastly I did a lot of research and found a lot of reviews that complained of a "leaky" oil tank. I used the proper bar and chain oil that any other chain would use and I have had no problem. Of course if some one puts 5w-30, as I saw in one review, then you will have a leaky mess because 5w-30 is extremely thin. Remember to push and hold the oil button for 3-4 seconds with the thick oil in and the saw will work like it is supposed to!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

Can't beat it for small jobs

01/26/2009
By ,
Rising Sun, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As soon as I received it and charged up the battery I cut a 5" diameter limb out of our maple tree without any problem. By the time I finished cutting up the limb into 2' pieces the battery was ready for a charge, NOT BAD. LOVE IT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

Misleading Item Description

02/12/2014
By ,
Lenoir City, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I checked out this item online on the Walmart website. Under the heading ITEM DESCRIPTION it says that " This Black & Decker electric chain saw contains an onboard oiling feature and has a transparent window to view oil level."
Since my other chain saws have automatic oiling system with a transparent window to view oil level I thought that this was the same. What it actually is is a simitransparent plastic bottle for oil that is attached to the plastic bar cover that you can pull out and squirt oil on the chain as needed. No mention or picture of this oiling with a bottle is on the box.
I have not used the saw yet but without any other surprises it should do what I want to do. I have a Black & Decker weed eater that uses the same battery and it works very well for small jobs, I now have three batteries so I can extend the work time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

Excellent for Cutting and Trimming

06/24/2014
By ,
Sturgeon Bay, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this today and used it to cut down a lilac bush -- about 12 feet tall with branches up to 4 inches thick. I did it with only one battery charge, with juice to spare. I have a Black and Decker 18 volt drill (came with two batteries) and a Black and Decker 18 volt weed trimmer (came with one battery). Now I have four batteries. I like this tool because it uses the same battery as my other devices, so I always have at least two charged up. The saw was easy to assemble - only took about 15 minutes. It is easy to use and cuts pretty well. I think if you were cutting many branches greater than 4 inches fairly often you might want a gas chain saw. But for most average homeowners this saw would be just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

Black & Decker 18volt rechargeable chain saw

08/18/2007
By ,
Putnam, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent little chain saw suited to trimming trees in the yard or cutting lengths of firewood when the total diameter of the tree is less than 3" wide. Very light and easy to use. Very well suited to the purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

No owner's manual!

09/15/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product arrived without an owner's-manual. Had to return it the next day. Do not purchase unless you know how to assemble a chain saw on your own.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

How Do I Love Thee? Let Me Count The Ways

03/24/2010
By ,
Hurdle Mills, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this chainsaw from Site To Store yesterday and had it set up in a very few easy minutes. All of the tools (Allen Wrench) are conveniently stored in the handle and I used 30 weight oil as suggested to fill the chain lubrication reservoir then charged the battery overnight. I had a 5" dead tree that had fallen into a nice Spruce on my property. My grandson and I were able to get it onto the ground and cut it up into 30" pieces which I plan to use to outline a small raised bed garden for pepper plants. I will use the chain saw to notch the logs to interlace. The chainsaw, my grandson and I are going to have lots of fun this summer. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

Not Much Power

09/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This chain saw is only intended for small jobs. It does not hold a charge for an extended period of time and is limited in its usefulness based on its size.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

Poor performance

09/01/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This saw struggled to cut cleanly through even half inch branches on a hedge.
Package did not contain an alun key so more expense and a trip to the local hardware store.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

great 8" saw

08/20/2014
By ,
georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
used for 1 1/2 years. cut down and cut up many trees up to 8" round plus limbs from larger tees.
never had a problem. very easy to use. have always kept oil full, chain tight and have had 3 batteries which i have from buying other tools. to buy battery by itself is to costly. price for one
battery is $38.00, better to buy tool on sale which comes with one or two batteries. chargers
only last about 2 years, have had to buy a double one for $24.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

Great for people who don't do a lot of big work.

06/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our second purchase of this chain saw. Plenty of power for small jobs. Assembles easily. Good strength for many small jobs. Loved the first chain saw. Unfortunately, didn't read the instructions, left plugged in over winter and fried it. READ THE INSTRUCTIONS! If you aren't a lumberjack, this is plenty!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

Perfect no-fuss saw for small/moderate yard work.

07/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been needing a chainsaw for years, but didn't want a heavy, gas one. My needs were to work on small to medium yard issues and leave any main tree trunks to friends with these larger saws. And having financial concerns limited what I could do. I was also in need of a new cordless trimmer and wanted to stay with Black and Decker. I bought this saw after getting the new trimmer, both using this new 18V Single Source system. Love them both and can interchange batteries. If I can swing it, I need to add the cordless circular saw from B & D. After using the chainsaw a few times, I did have a small piece go missing that was affecting the chain staying on the bar for any length of time. I called B & D and they suggested returning it to Walmart since such a short time had passed since purchase. I did and the Walmart from which I picked it up gave me an exchange with no problems. I believe this issue was just an odd flaw, and I don't diminish how convenient this chainsaw is because of it. It was easy to put together, is easy to maintain, and cuts nicely through smaller limbs and branches. And it isn't heavy, along with no gasoline and oil issues. This is a good value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

Handy little gadget

02/10/2009
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As long as you don't expect this little fella to do a gas powered chain saw's job, he is excellent. We have had ours over 2 years and we love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

Perfect for its intended use

02/21/2010
By ,
Montague, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect tool for small limb trimming. Easy to assemble and it is light and easy to use. The battery lasted about 2 hours which gave me plenty of time to do the trimming I set out to do. Would highly recommend. Works as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

helpful product

09/04/2009
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to take camping and it has worked out wonderfully. No gas to transport. Don't expect it to do the job of a gas saw but it will give you 10 cuts of a 4-5 inch log. Many more cuts on smaller pieces. Perfect for camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Chain Saw CCS818

ok, but don't expect too much

06/06/2011
By ,
Rocky Mount, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought the saw as I have a ton of Black and Decker tools and this uses the same battery pack as several of my other tools. That said I knew it had a small blade, but was sorely disappointed with how little the battery held up. In taking out 3 holly bushes from my yard I actually went through all 3 fully charged batteries on the 1st bush. Later I tried quartering a normal wood pallet and was barely able to complete that on one battery. For small limbs and and really small projects it's fine, but don't expect much out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next