Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tramontina Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Tramontina Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

The Tramontina 6.5-quart green cast-iron Dutch ovenis durable and contains a porcelain interior for cooking ease. For use on the stovetop or in the oven, this green cast-iron Dutch oven doubles as an elegant serving piece that can go straight to the table after cooking to keep food hot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(327 Reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
252
4 stars
57
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation96%314 out of 327reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
252
4 stars
57
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

Good product. Great price

06/11/2009
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very happy with the size and weight. Didnt find the seasoning explanation to be elaborated enough (because I have heard you are not suposed to use a liquid oil) so I googled "seasoning" and ended up making a mess and stainning the pot so I had to work really really hard to get the fat stains away. it was really hard to get off. but I think it was my fault. I later only greased the edges which I guess is what I should have done to negin with and not grease the entire pot. after all it is covered with the white stuff. then I made rissoto in it and it turned out great and was easy to clean. The color is not that attractive but I guess you cannot have it all for this price. I want a Le Creset but I cannot afford it at the moment. and I bought it because Food Ilustrated said basically that it is just as good as the expensive thing. So all in all I am happy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 2 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

Surprised

02/18/2008
By ,
Homewood, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My only dislike of this dutch oven is the knob. I wish it could withstand higher temperatures. The color is a bit odd for me, but the quality of the pot is really good. I will most likely try to replace the knob on the lid so that I can use this pot at higher temperatures. I made a big pot of country style beans and they cooked perfectly. I can't wait to make coq au vin in this pot. I definitely tried finding a similar pot at TJMaxx/Marshall's but could not find a pot of this size at this price. Since I don't have an unlimited budget and would like to be able to afford to cook in the pot after my purchase this is definitely a great bargain. I can afford to shop for food after purchasing it.
Not sure if this is an issue for LeCreuset, Chantal, or Lodge dutch ovens but one down side to this pot is that you have to season the rims of the lid and the pot. Not a big deal though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Review 3 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

Limited by Temperature!

02/28/2008
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was really excited when I purchased this Dutch Oven. I love my old cast iron, but not the maintenance.
Upon opening this I found that the maximum temp for the base is 450 and for the lid 350 (because of the cheap knob).
This is a well-made, sturdy Dutch Oven, but those temperature limits will also limit what I can cook in it (I use my Big Green Egg for a lot of cooking in the 500-600 range and the old cast iron can handle it).
Also found out that the porcelain coated cast iron cannot be preheated in the oven empty (which I also do for several recipes).
I also wish they had offered this in something other than avocado green!
All that being said, if you cook your soups, cobblers, casseroles and roasts using "normal" temperatures you'll love this dutch oven.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+119points
Review 4 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

Knob suggetion

10/16/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On America's Test Kitchen they suggested going to your local hardware store to pick up an oven save knob. Just get a metal draw pull, I did this for just over $1 it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+73points
Review 5 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

cooks illutstrated was right!

12/23/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I made my first loaf of no knead bread ala Cooks Illustrated who also recommended this dutch oven.
Happy with the pot and the bread!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Review 6 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

Cast Iron Dutch Oven

02/25/2009
By ,
Danvers, Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item on recommendation of America's Test Kitchen. It is everything they said it was! Cooked a couple stews and soups.
You must remember to follow usage directions as properly. For example: not to raise the heat too high. Low and low/medium seems to be the best on the stove top.
It can also be used in a 400F oven. Haven't tried that yet.
Yes it is heavy. It is enameled cast iron after all! But, its 6.5 quart capacity is more than enough even for a family of four or five. Clean up was a snap with a non-scratch Scotch-like scrubber [Didn't need to actually scrub.].
Cook times are long, but that was the whole point of this type of purchase. Great tender and tasty is the final product. You want fast, get a microwave. You want tender tasty meat and veggies? This is the way to go, if you do not want a crock pot.
Cost wise, I think it is a great deal for the quality! The most expensive Dutch oven got the best ratings from ATK. This one was very close and for the money was a better buy for the occasional user like me.
Definitely a great buy! Walmart had a great price too! Their site to store with no shipping cost is a definite plus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 7 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green
05/14/2011
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted an enameled cast iron pot/dutch oven. Checked prices all over the place - on line, local stores with sale events, etc. Accidently saw an on-line comment about a review/comparison in Cook's Illustrated and searched for it. In the neighborhood of $40 to $50 including shipping, this absolutely cannot be beaten. The Tramontina dutch oven is heavier than others from Le Crueset, Mario Batali, and others I saw on line, which is not a bad thing. If any vapors get out of that lid leave the house because they must be poison gas. The edge of the lid and bottom are not enameled - not a big deal. Tramontina makes commercial coookware and if you think about it, the edges of the lid and bottom portion would be the places most likely for chips to occur through use. Once that happens, you would need to season them to avoid rusting. Not a big deal.
Love this pan and every time we use it we thing about the $250 we saved. You won't go wrong with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 8 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

heavy but good

03/29/2009
By ,
wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because of the Cooks Illustrated review. We already have 2 stainless steel dutch ovens, which we use constantly, but they are small and lightweight. We also have a cast iron dutch oven, but acidic food has problems in it, and it rusts when you store food in it. So now we have 4 dutch ovens, including this one. We cook a lot of grass-fed meat at very low temperatures, so dutch ovens are my main cooking tool. The more the merrier.
This dutch oven is very heavy, but the quality seems excellent. The beef coquette recipe from Cooks Illustrated worked very well, and food came off easily. We will replace the plastic handle with a steel one asap, even though we'll mostly use this at very low oven temperatures.
25 years ago I was given a bunch of Le Creuset, but they left with an ex-husband. It's nice to find much less expensive versions (of the cookware, if not the first husband).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 9 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

Great Value

04/28/2010
By ,
Glendale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this dutch oven after reading about it on cooks.com. They rated it very highly just ahead of the lodge porcelain dutch oven which costs 10 dollars more. After using it several times I can tell you it is an incredible value and I am shocked that it is as affordable as it is. It heats and cooks evenly and quickly and I love it. You have to read the instructions and take care of it or you will scratch or nick the porcelain enamel. I have had absolutely no issues with mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 10 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

Perfect

04/06/2009
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No difference between the Tramontian at $40 and the top of the line Le Creuset dutch oven for nearly $275. Have tried both.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 11 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

Best bread I ever made!

01/04/2008
By ,
Windsor, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On the strength of the Cook's Illustrated recommendation in the February 2008 issue, I purchased this Dutch oven at a store 30 miles away -- yes, a 60 mile round trip just to buy a pot! Most Walmarts carrying this item within a 100 mile radius of where I live are constantly out of stock, and I'm starting to wonder if Cook's Illustrated has provoked a nationwide "run" on this product! I've only had this Dutch oven for 4 days, but I have already made the most beautiful round loaf of bread I've ever made in my life; it looks exactly like the ones you see on all the bread cookbook covers. It has a perfect crust and tender crumb with the prerequisite holes found in European style artisan breads, and the recipe ("No-Knead Bread 2.0") can be found in the same February issue of Cook's Illustrated. I can't wait to start braising meat and look forward to a long and happy relationship with my new Dutch oven! I had a few dark streaks from baked-on oil (possibly from the seasoning I gave the raw edge around the rim), but a damp paper towel with a little baking soda took it off easily. I'm very happy with this product, and delighted with the money I saved.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 12 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

Recommended by America's Test Kitchen

08/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
America's Test Kitchen rated this as performing as well as the most expensive brand. A couple of important information items they mention. 1) Handle: Only safe to 400 degrees. However, you can purchase a metal cabinet handle at the hardware store to use in an oven up to 500 degrees. 2) They claim they contacted the manufacturer who said it would be safe to use in a 500 degree oven as long as you put it in the oven before turning on the heat. The danger is putting it into an already hot oven.
This is such a great value! Don't forget to season the exposed cast iron before use. I expect I'll get many years of use out of this, and I saved a ton of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 13 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

Perfect for No-Knead Bread!

06/01/2008
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Dutch Oven is the perfect heavyweight pot for baking the no-knead (or low-knead) bread popularized by Mark Bittman of the New York Times. When baking this bread, the oven (and the pot) must be preheated to 500F, and the actual baking is done at 425F. Since this Dutch Oven's resin knob is only rated to 350F, it is a simple matter to replace the knob with a metal knob for a cabinet door (available for a couple of dollars at any hardware store) and a stainless steel or brass screw. If you want to keep the bread off the bottom of the pot (to prevent burning or overbaking), an 8" round wire cake rack inserted in the Dutch Oven will do the trick!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 14 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

Nice Dutch Oven, bad packaging

01/23/2011
By ,
Long Island NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had high hopes for this Dutch Oven. It was highly recommended by America's Test Kitchen. It's perfectly sized and it would have fit my needs pefectly. But alas, like many other reviewers, mine arrived damaged. The blame for the damage lies entirely with Tramontina. The plastic shims used to keep the top and bottom from grinding into each other during shipping became dislodged and the top took a good sized chip out of the bottom. It's not a Fedex problem. It's not a Walmart problem. It's Tramontina's packaging that caused the problem. I took the oven to my local store and they promptly refunded my money. I could have taken a chance and re-ordered the Tramontina but it's very likely the next one is going to arrive in the same condition. I decided to go with the Lodge. That arrived in perfect condition. In both cases Walmart's service was 5 Stars. I received both items in less that 48 hours from time of order.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

A beautiful product

07/03/2010
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wouldn't have known about the Tramontina Dutch oven if it hadn't been for America's Test Kitchen, which recently rated Dutch ovens under $100. I needed a Dutch oven for soups, stews and curries, but couldn't afford Le Creuset. The French cookware maker is the Gold Standard, no question, but I couldn't afford the almost $300 price tag. So I was interested in the ATK's assessment, which ranked the Tramontina tops -- and attributed its affordable price to its country of origin: China. I Googled the company, read about the product, then shopped online. Amazon.com wanted $59. Walmart's price was $34. With tax and shipping my gorgeous new Dutch oven was $42.12. It's a beauty -- it's heavy, the finish is perfect, the lid fits as it should and, since I don't have cupboard space big enough for it, it sits on top of my stove … a place of honor. This was my first-ever Walmart purchase and I'm thrilled with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green
04/05/2010
By ,
Connecticut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
America's Test Kitchen recommended this product in as a good purchase instead of the$200.00 purchase. I was so excited because I always wanted this pot. I washed and seasoned the pot as recommended. There was a rust like substance dripping from the ridge of the pot. Walmart was extremely cooperative and gave me the option of either getting another pot,which I wanted, or a full refund. I thought since there was a lifetime limited warranty I would call the manufacture. They were not very helpful and gave me the impression they would not stand behind there product. They told me they would clean it and return it to me. I asked what if the stains were still there. I had the pot for days at this time. They refused to answer the question. I told them I tried to clean the stains with oxiclean to no avail. They could care less. That is the reson I would not recommend this pot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 17 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

Best Bang for The Buck!

11/25/2007
By ,
Baltimore, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was so excited to see this in the Canal Winchester, Ohio Walmart because I wouldn't have to go to Williams Sonoma!
My first dish was Boeuf Bourguignonne and it turned out FANTASTIC! I am cursed (for now) with using an electric range but this product was made so well, temp. control was not a problem. I am hoping that the Canal Winchester store carries the the Tramontina cast iron line as well as the cutlery.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 18 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

Very pleased!

01/31/2009
By ,
Van Nuys, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I, like many others, heard of this dutch oven from Cooks Illustrated. It seemed to always be sold out, but one day it was back in stock and I ordered it online quickly. I've only used this once (made a delicious Beef Burgundy), but it cooked well and was amazingly easy to clean. I suggest lining your sink with a silicone/rubber mat when you wash it (to protect your sink and the pot). I don't know if I'll be making the infamous no-knead bread in this; if I do, I'll just unscrew the knob and plug the hole with foil. (I might order the Le Creuset stainless steel knob someday, but I don't need it yet.) Contrary to what one reviewer said, the instructions DON'T say you can't preheat this -- especially since the lid rim requires seasoning, which means that it's okay to heat the pot while it's empty. Overall, I'm very pleased with this dutch oven, especially for the price I paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

tramontina dutch oven

03/18/2010
By ,
southern california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are some recipes that call for braising (stews for example) my clay pot just doesn't handle that very well! so I subscribed to cooksillustrated and checked out their reviews of dutch ovens, being the frugal person I am I choose their choose for greatest value which at $50 is Tramontina the high end was Le Creuset at $270. My first use was a French Chicken (braising the top and bottom in the Trmontina was trivial) fortunately I chose the largest dutch oven at 6.5 quarts (still 20 lbs) and therefore avoided the recipes suggestion that I not use a chicken over 5lbs in their 4 or so qt oven, NO problem here with a 5.75 lb chicken in the 6.5 qt oven. I look forward to more recipes in the dutch oven. great value but even a greater value when you consider walmart's site to store free shipping policy. you can imagine the shipping cost of something of this weight across the country would quickly overwhelm the walmart price advantage in favor of local stock, the site to store process was trivial. emailed me when it arrived, printed out the email had the associate scan it in at the pickup counter walked out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Tramontina 6.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven, Green

GREAT value!!!!

12/23/2007
By ,
Paramus, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been wanting to buy a dutch oven for years, but although I wasn't prepared to paid $230 for a LeCrueset, I also wasn't willing to settle for something that called itself a dutch oven, but was little more than a glorified pot. Then I saw a review in my last issue of 'Cook's Illustrated'. If you're not familiar with it, it's reviews are the cooking equivelant of Consumer Reports. Thoroughly tested, and completely unbiased. This is where I found the Tramontina Cast Iron Dutch Oven. They said it was as close as you could get to LeCrueset, without breaking the bank. Being that I've been a subsriber to Cook's Illustrated for years and I completely trust them, I didn't hesitate for a second. So far, I've made 2 Oven Roaster Chickens and they were absolutely amazing. So juicy that even after I'd let them rest for 20 minutes before cutting them, the juice just ran out everywhere.
I read a review from someone here that said they had a problem with cleanup, but I did not have that same experience. I found cleanup a breeze.
At under $40, I can't recommend this product enough. If you're looking for a dutch oven... THIS IS THE ONE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 255 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next