Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Generic Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Tantalize your taste buds with delicious hot dogs made in your home with the Nostalgia Electrics Old-Fashioned Hot Dog Roller. The Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller brings those memories of carnivals, ball games, family gatherings, and more right into your home. This Nostalgia Electrics hot dog roller unit can hold up to 8 regular sized hot dogs or 4 foot long hot dogs at a time. It also features convenient bun storage warmer in the canopy top to keep your food warm all day. This hot dog roller is a fun, flashy way for guests to select and make their own hot dogs easily. Simple control knobs enable even an amateur cook to make mouth-watering hot dogs. The grills in the electric hot dog roller are non-sticky and can be easily cleaned. These grills rotate continuously to provide even cooking results.
Average Customer Rating:
4.482 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(488 Reviews) 406
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
330
4 stars
113
3 stars
17
2 stars
6
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation93%450 out of 485reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 159 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
330
4 stars
113
3 stars
17
2 stars
6
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Best and cutest best ever...

02/27/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it ...I bought this for my daughter birthday and I tried first before de party....and I love it....cook fast the hod dogs and really easy to clean..... I wil recommend this product ...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

One Of My Better Investments

08/15/2008
By ,
Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The hot dog cooker was extremely easy to assemble. Right off the bat, it made a batch of very tasty dogs. From first opening of the box to done dogs: 45 minutes. on subsequent uses, from setup to meal = 20 minutes. Clean-up was easy, once it cooled down.
The bun warmer/awning assembly came apart easily for storage The four supporting posts for the warmer and the grill attachment fit neatly into the bun warmer for storage on an average-size shelf.
The one annoying thing about the unit was the lettering on the bun warmer: "Old Fashioned Hot Dog's". As a stickler for spelling and punctuation, I object to the inclusion of the apostrophe. It makes me want to ask the manufacturer what it is that belongs to the old fashioned hot dog.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

great hot dog machine for partys

06/19/2013
By ,
towson MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

The hot dog caddy

09/12/2010
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG this is the perfect item for parents and those hot dog fanatics. Lite enough to take to the park or any where you'd like. I took an adapter and plugged it in to the cigarette lighter in my car! Since the entire surface does not get hot you can sit it on many surfaces but common sense is always a must with any cooking utensil. The product has easy turn dials and settings for low to high for hot dog roasting perfection ! The bun warmer on top keeps everything right at your finger tips and away from flies :-) So over all I rate this the ideal product for anyone who entertains and is kid friendly if you instruct them on how to properly use it! Oh by the way it catches the juices from the dogs and is extremly easy to clean!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Good value with one caution

10/13/2009
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cooker is attractive and makes preparing hot dogs, link sausages, etc. an easy, trouble free job. The results are far more tasty, as well, in our opinion, than stove top preparation.
Our sample, however, had one defect that may or may not be common - maybe just bad luck on our part. The first time we used it, everything started out properly, but within a couple of minutes the rollers ( which should rotate continuously in one direction, turning the hot dogs ) began to rotate only a partial turn in one direction, then reverse and turn a slight amount in the opposite direction. Needless to say, continuing operation in that fashion would result in dogs that were cooked to a crisp on one side only. Rather than go through the inconvenience of returning a relatively inexpensive item that had a problem I could remedy, I fixed the cooker by adding a spacer washer that had apparently been left out during assembly. After that, the unit worked well, and has continued to do so.
In spite of this experience, I recommend this cooker, and would have rated it five stars if not for the glitch we experienced.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Small, Practical and Functional

07/19/2007
By ,
Sandy, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for anyone who serves 4-8 hotdogs at a time. For 3 or less, the microwave works ok. It does work fine for up to 4 of the larger "Polish Sausages".
I have never used the supplied pan for hamburgers, bacon, etc. and probably never will (other products are much more practical).
Warnings:
Hotdogs will overheat (burn) if you set the heater dial to the highest setting and you leave them on the grill too long.
The bun warmer should be used for only a minute or 2 or it will dry out and probably toast the buns.
Other comment: I have used the distributor (The Helman Group) product service in the past with another product and have received exceptional (well beyond expectation) product support.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Works Grear

04/05/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An inexpensive way to cook your hot dogs or sauasages. Works Great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Fun and Easy

03/31/2014
By ,
Lithonia, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little guy worked phenomenally! I purchased it for my daughter's 8th birthday celebration along with the popcorn machine and cotton candy maker, and they all brought a functional, yet asthetic component to the party! The kids enjoyed the hotdog bar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Good machine

12/16/2013
By ,
Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good hot dog roller. I had to leave it on the hottest setting in order to actually cook the hot dogs, but they came out great. I used it for a carnival party and everyone loved the way it looked.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Awesome Product

04/10/2012
By ,
New Orleans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this thing! It worked great for a one year old party. Fed 52 people warm hot dogs for 3 hours. Worked better than I expected. Everyone was asking where I got it from and even sold a few. Unlike reviews I had read it does fit 8 normal sized hot dogs and doesn't make any noises. Only tip I have is let it warm up first before you put the dogs on. Hope this review helps others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Fantastic little machine

02/01/2014
By ,
central Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love hot dogs that are made on roller grills so imagine my surprise when I found one for such a cheap price. I've had it for over a month and right out of the package we made hot dogs and brats. I just wish there was a bun warmer with it but this is fantastic as it is. Just like being at the state fair or a ball game.
Get one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Great machine for the price

03/17/2014
By ,
Hillsboro Wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does what it says. A little slow but we love roller dogs. Especially natural casing ones. When they start to pop open they are done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Hot Dogs are yummy

08/20/2007
By ,
Bel Air, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great fun with the Nostalgia Hot Dog Roller. Put them on and let’m cook. The kids loved it and I do too! I found that Wal-Mart had the best buy and service. I just picked it up at the store in my area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

FANTASTIC

03/15/2014
By ,
Garland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hotdog machine is not only whimsical to watch,, but your hotdogs turn out soo GREAT! This is definately a great value and well worth your consideration to purchase. Don't hesitate!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller
01/27/2012
By ,
Yuma Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I see some reviews where the roller won't turn. I had the same problem until I realized I installed the rollers backwards. So make sure the turning mechanism is on the correct (left) side ( as you face the machine).
Use Farmer John Beef franks for best appearance on the grill. The other brands expand wierd -like on the rollers as they heat up. Maybe it's the mix of ingredients.
I wish I had bought one a bit bigger because this machine really can only handle one column of about 4 hotdogs at a time. There is room leftover on the sides, but not enough to do a side by side (8) at a time.
Since we have a small family, we can get by with just 4 at a time. The dogs cook quickly too, so keep an eye out they don't burn. The machine has a bun "holder" on top. Nice feature but it doesn't warm the buns. Still, it's nice to hide the buns when not needed.
My wife loves the fact that it is very easy to clean, whatever that means. She takes the rolling mechanism off easily and the machine also has a small tray below to catch the runoff grease: also easy to wash.
Overall, we love the machine and would definitely recommend to family & friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Hot dog roller

04/17/2008
By ,
Richmond, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Somehow hot dogs cooked at home don't quite taste like you get out, BUT with this gadget they do! The first time I used it, there were some quirks like the hot dogs don't roll completely until they plump up a bit. I had to stand there and keep them rolling for the first few minutes. Then after cooking them and letting them roll there on medium heat, the rollers got sticky and one hot dog rolled right off the machine. BUT overall I am pleased with the results - YUMMY. And now that I know the little quirks, I know what to expect. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cincinnati, OH
Make sure you have the roller in right...
Posted 01/18/2014
When we first got ours, it didn't turn very well. I was thinking about returning it. Then we read the directions and realized that we had the roller in wrong, and now it works perfectly!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

For Hot Dog Lovers

10/28/2010
By ,
San Bernardino County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is so cool. I highly recommend it! Its great for private and social events. It gives Hot Dogs, Polish Sausages, Hot Links, etc., that good ole old fashsioned Carnival taste! Its easy to clean and it breaks down easily for storage! The only down fall is the bun warmer up top tends to dry the buns out if unattended for long period of time; What you might want to try is placing a damp paper towel inside before the buns but only leave inside until the bun, or buns has warmed up!! But other than that you'll love using this appliance time & time again...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Waste of money

02/05/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It takes too long at the max setting for the hot dogs to cook. Much faster in the frying pan and you can burn them a little if you like them that way as I do.
The bun keeper at the top dries out the buns and makes them hard and at my age I need all the teeth I have left. I gave it thirty minutes at MAX and the hot dogs were just warm with a little sweat of grease. I also found out that if your dogs aren't round they won't turn on the rollers and will only cook in that spot.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

We love it !

08/05/2007
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this camping and all family functions.. everyone loves it and we use it all the time.. just turn down the heat and people will snack on them all night long ! works very good and I am glad we bought it !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nostalgia Electrics HDR565 Vintage Collection Old Fashioned Hot Dog Roller

Simply the Best!!!

07/12/2008
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hot dog roller produces the best hot dogs i've ever tasted and my family agrees. My son is waking me up 7:00 in the morning asking can he have a hot dog. My mother calls when she is on her way home from work and asks can I put some hot dogs on for her. The hot dogs are juicy and very flavorful (no matter what brand you get). They don't take long to cook and you can cook eggs, bacon and burgers as well. My family has been eating hot dogs for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I put sweet italian sausages on the hot dog roller just for a little variety. The built in bun toaster is excellent as well. And the compartment is also good for keeping extra hot dogs warm. The roller is very easy to clean. It's removable and wipes off easily. Please know that my family was not obsessed with hot dogs until we got this machine. The flavor is delicious!!! I shopped online and WalMart has the best price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 407 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next